Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) in Canada [Proposed]

7. Critical Habitat

7.1 Identification of the Species’ Critical Habitat

The False Hop Sedge colonizes natural shorelines of various types of wetlands. In Canada, biophysical attributes of suitable habitat for this species include:

For all populations:

  • Sufficient light to ensure the germination of seeds as well as the vigour and survival of the plants;
  • Reduced competition from other species (herbaceous or shrubs) that impede the growth of individual plants
  • Adequate water table so as not to encourage competition from other species or impede growth.

For populations in Ontario:

  • Wooded swamps and wooded swamp edges, including the vernal pools and isolated marshes within them.
  • Associated species such as Bog Hemp, Rice Cutgrass, Hop Sedge, Clearweed, Beggarticks, Knotweed, Common Burdock as well as Red Ash, Red Maple or Silver Maple.
  • A soil composed of a clay loam.

For populations in Quebec :

  • Silver Maple swamps or shrub swamp in small isolated bays that are sheltered from currents but near a natural shoreline subjected to periodic flooding of short duration.
  • Associated species such as Reed Canary Grass, Bog Hemp, Rice Cutgrass, Water Parsnip, Prairie Cordgrass, Hop Sedge.
  • A soil composed of a gleysol with recent alluvia ranging from sandy loam to clay loam.

The critical habitat of False Hop Sedge in Canada is partially identified in this recovery strategy. It corresponds to the suitable habitat at 13 of the 20 locations where populations of the species are found and described, including all of the populations that have benefitted from reintroduction or transplantation efforts or within which the existence of suitable habitat has been recently confirmed. Of the seven remaining locations, four need further investigations to determine if the species or suitable habitat is still present or to establish their area of occupancy (quality ranking codes E and H) and a schedule of studies is proposed to that effect in section 7.2. Three locations no longer provide suitable habitat (code X) and will not be designated as critical habitat unless restoration efforts are undertaken. In Quebec, critical habitat is identified at seven locations (six with extant populations, three of which have benefitted from transplantations efforts and two that have benefitted from reintroductions; and one in which the population is extirpated but suitable habitat is still available). Six of these populations are identified as conservation targets in the Government of Quebec’s conservation plan for the False Hop Sedge plus the Sainte-Anne-de-Sabrevois population which is included in the federal recovery strategy because successful reintroduction efforts started after the publication of the provincial conservation plan in 2006. In Ontario, critical habitat is identified at six of the seven locations hosting extant False Hop Sedge populations. More precision for the boundaries of the Lambeth location are necessary to identify it as critical habitat.

The boundaries of locations containing critical habitat correspond to the extent of the woodlot and associated wetlands containing suitable False Hop Sedge habitat. Any element contained within the boundaries that does not correspond to the biophysical attributes of suitable habitat (ex. agricultural field, road) is not considered critical habitat. Appendix D lists the 13 critical habitat parcels identified for Quebec and Ontario, their status (extant, have benefited from reintroduction or transplantation efforts or not) as well as general localisation coordinates (1 x 1 km resolution). No maps or specific coordinates are provided for this species’ critical habitat as the data is considered to be sensitive in Ontario.    

7.2 Schedule of Studies to Identify Critical Habitat

Table 3. Schedule of Studies.

Description of ActivityOutcome/RationaleTimeline
Determine if individuals and/or suitable habitat are still present at the Galt and Amherstburg (Ontario) populations; establish the boundaries of the Lambeth (Ontario) population and characterize the Oka (Quebec) populationIdentification of additional critical habitat2013-2018

7.3 Examples of Activities Likely to Result in Destruction of Critical Habitat

Destruction is determined on a case by case basis. Destruction would result if part of the critical habitat was degraded, either permanently or temporarily, such that it would not serve its function when needed by the species. Destruction may result from a single activity or multiple activities at one point in time or from the cumulative effects of one or more activities over time (Government of Canada, 2009).

The critical habitat of False Hop Sedge may be destroyed through two main mechanisms associated with human activities:

Changes in the water regime

  • Changes in water levels due to drainage, dam construction/regulation or similar activities can cause shoreline erosion, excessive saturation or drying of the substrate as well as indirectly affect the level of canopy closure. This can make a site unfavourable for the germination of seeds or the growth of individuals that require a suitable level of soil water saturation. In addition, plants may experience a reduction in vigour due to increased competition from other plant species. Drier sites are also more easily colonized by competing plants, especially invasive species, which can lead to closure of the vegetation and increased shading.  


Habitat loss or degradation

  • Infrastucture (e.g. roads, trails, houses, wharves, bank stabilisation structures) and land use changes (e.g. wood harvesting, mowing, haying) can cause the direct destruction and/or fragmentation of habitat leading to a reduction in the availability of suitable habitat and of the connectivity between populations.
  • Tree harvesting and recreational activities can alter the soil structure through compaction caused by the passage of machinery or by trampling which can negatively affect the growth of individuals or lead to difficulties with seed germination.
  • Garbage or waste deposition can prevent the production of seeds or affect the vigour of the plants.

These examples do not represent an exhaustive list of the activities likely to destroy the critical habitat of False Hop Sedge.

Top of Page

8. Measuring Progress

The performance indicators presented below propose an approach for defining and measuring progress towards the achievement of the population and distribution objectives. The success of the recovery strategy will be evaluated every five years on the basis of the following performance indicators:

  • the population size of False Hop Sedge and the area of occupancy are maintained or, where feasible, increased in Canada.

Top of Page

9. Statement on Action Plans

One or more action plans for False Hop Sedge will be posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry within five years after the final recovery strategy is published.

Top of Page

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) au Canada [Proposition]

7. Habitat essentiel

7.1 Désignation de l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce

Le carex faux-lupulina colonise les rives naturelles de divers types de milieux humides. Au Canada, l’habitat convenable de l’espèce présente les caractéristiques biophysiques suivantes :

Dans le cas de toutes les populations :

  • lumière suffisante pour la germination des graines ainsi que la vigueur et la survie des individus;
  • compétition réduite d’autres plantes herbacées et d’arbustes pouvant faire obstacle à la croissance des individus;
  • nappe phréatique située à un niveau ne favorisant pas la compétition d’autres espèces et ne faisant pas obstacle à la croissance du carex faux-lupulina.

Dans le cas des populations de l’Ontario :

  • marécages boisés, y compris le bord de ces marécages ainsi que les mares printanières et les marais isolés se trouvant à l’intérieur;
  • présence d’espèces associées telles que le bœhméria cylindrique, la léersie faux-riz, le carex houblon, le piléa nain, les bidents, la renouée persicaire et la lampourde glouteron ainsi que le frêne rouge, l’érable rouge ou l’érable argenté;
  • sol de type loam argileux.

Dans le cas des populations du Québec :

  • marécages à érable argenté et marécages arbustifs situés dans de petites baies isolées, protégées des courants mais près d’un rivage naturel soumis à de brèves crues périodiques;
  • présence d’espèces associées telles que l’alpiste roseau, le bœhméria cylindrique, la léersie faux-riz, la berle douce, la spartine pectinée et le carex houblon;
  • sol de type gleysol sur alluvions récentes, à texture variant du loam sableux au loam argileux.

L’habitat essentiel du carex faux-lupulina au Canada est partiellement désigné dans le présent programme de rétablissement. Il correspond à l’habitat convenable dans 13 des 20 localités où des populations de l’espèce se trouvent et sont décrites, y compris toutes les populations ayant bénéficié de mesures de réintroduction ou de transplantation ou au sein desquelles la présence d’habitat convenable a récemment été confirmée. Parmi les sept autres localités, quatre exigent des recherches plus approfondies visant à déterminer s’il y a encore présence de l’espèce ou de l’habitat convenable ou pour établir leurs limites (cotes de qualité E et H), et un calendrier d’études est proposé à cet égard dans la section 7.2. Les trois autres localités ne renferment plus d’habitat convenable (code X) et ne feront l’objet d’aucune désignation d’habitat essentiel, sauf si des mesures de restauration sont entreprises. Au Québec, l’habitat essentiel est désigné dans sept localités (six abritent des populations existantes, trois de celles-ci ont bénéficié de mesures de transplantation, et deux ont bénéficié de mesures de réintroduction; dans la septième localité, la population est disparue, mais il reste de l’habitat convenable). Six de ces populations sont considérées comme des cibles prioritaires dans le Plan de conservation du carex faux-lupulina du gouvernement du Québec; la septième population, celle de Sainte-Anne-de-Sabrevois, est également ciblée dans le présent programme de rétablissement fédéral, parce que des mesures de réintroduction y ont été réalisées avec succès après la publication du plan de conservation provincial, en 2006. En Ontario, l’habitat essentiel est désigné à six des sept localités abritant actuellement des populations de carex faux-lupulina. Des précisions sur les limites de la localité de Lambeth sont nécessaires pour la désignation de l’habitat essentiel à cet endroit.

Les limites des localités où se trouve de l’habitat essentiel correspondent à celles des boisés et des milieux humides connexes renfermant de l’habitat convenant à l’espèce. Cependant, tout élément se trouvant à l’intérieur de ces limites mais ne possédant pas les caractéristiques biophysiques de l’habitat convenable (p. ex. champ cultivé, route) n’est pas considéré comme habitat essentiel. On trouvera à l’annexe D une liste des 13 parcelles d’habitat essentiel désignées au Québec et en Ontario, avec leur situation (présence de population existante, réalisation ou non de mesures de réintroduction ou de transplantation) ainsi que leurs coordonnées géographiques (résolution de 1 x 1 km). Aucune carte ou coordonnées permettant de situer l’habitat essentiel de manière plus précise sont fournies, car ces données sont jugées sensibles en Ontario.

7.2 Calendrier des études visant à désigner l’habitat essentiel

Tableau 3. Calendrier des études

Description de l’activitéRésultat ou justificationÉchéancier
Déterminer si des individus et/ou de l’habitat convenable sont toujours présents dans les localités de Galt et d’Amherstburg, en Ontario; établir les limites de la localité de Lambeth, en Ontario et caractériser la population d’Oka, au Québec.Désignation d’habitat essentiel additionnel2013-2018

7.3 Activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel

La destruction est déterminée au cas par cas. On peut parler de destruction lorsqu'il y a dégradation d'une partie de l'habitat essentiel, soit de façon permanente ou temporaire, à un point tel que l'habitat essentiel n'est plus en mesure d'assurer ses fonctions lorsque exigé par l'espèce. La destruction peut découler d'une activité unique à un moment donné ou des effets cumulés d'une ou de plusieurs activités au fil du temps. (Gouvernement du Canada, 2009).

Deux grands facteurs liés aux activités humaines risquent de détruire l’habitat essentiel du carex faux-lupulina.

Changements dans le régime hydrologique

  • Les changements du niveau de l’eau causés par le drainage, la construction de barrages, la régularisation des cours d’eau ou des activités similaires peuvent provoquer une érosion des berges, une saturation trop élevée du substrat ou un assèchement du substrat, ou avoir un impact indirect sur la fermeture du couvert végétal. Cela peut rendre le site impropre à la germination des graines ou à la croissance des individus, qui exigent un sol présentant un certain degré de saturation en eau. De plus, les individus peuvent subir une réduction de leur vigueur, à cause de la compétition accrue d’autres espèces végétales. Les sites devenant plus secs sont plus facilement colonisés par les plantes concurrentes, particulièrement par les espèces envahissantes, ce qui peut entraîner une fermeture du couvert végétal et accroître l’ombrage.

Destruction ou dégradation de l’habitat

  • L’aménagement d’infrastructures (p. ex. routes, sentiers, maisons, quais, ouvrages de stabilisation des rives) ainsi que les changements dans l’utilisation des terres (p. ex. récolte de bois, fauchage, récolte de foin) peuvent provoquer la destruction directe et/ou la fragmentation de l’habitat et ainsi réduire à la fois la quantité d’habitat convenable disponible et la connectivité entre les populations.
  • La récolte d’arbres et les activités récréatives peuvent altérer la structure du sol en raison du compactage causé par le passage de machines ou le piétinement, ce qui peut nuire à la croissance des individus ou à la germination des graines.
  • Le dépôt d’ordures ou de débris peut faire obstacle à la production de graines ou nuire à la vigueur des individus.

Ces exemples ne constituent pas une liste exhaustive des activités susceptibles d’entraîner la destruction de l’habitat essentiel du carex faux-lupulina.

Haut de la page

8. Mesure des progrès

L’indicateur de rendement présenté ci-dessous doit permettre de définir et de mesurer les progrès réalisés vers l’atteinte des objectifs en matière de population et de répartition. Le succès de la mise en œuvre du présent programme de rétablissement sera évalué tous les cinq ans, selon l’indicateur de rendement suivant :

  • L’effectif et la zone d’occupation du carex faux-lupulina au Canada ont été maintenus ou, dans la mesure du possible, augmentés.

Haut de la page

9. Énoncé sur les plans d’action

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action pour le carex faux-lupulina seront affichés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril à l’intérieur d’un délai de cinq ans suivant la publication de la version finale du programme de rétablissement.

Haut de la page