Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Bluehearts in Canada

Distribution


Global Range

Buchnera americana is extant in 11 states from Ohio and Indiana to Georgia and Missouri (The Nature Conservancy 1997) (Figure 2). The areas of greatest concentration are in Tennessee, Kentucky, Arkansas and Missouri (Brownell 1981, The Nature Conservancy 1997). It is considered to be extirpated from Pennsylvania (Rhoads and Klein 1993), Michigan, and New Jersey and a historical occurrence in D.C., Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina and New York (The Nature Conservancy 1997). Its status in 6 southern states is unknown.


Figure 2: Distribution of Bluehearts in North America

Figure 2: Distribution of bluehearts in North America (map from Brownell 1983).

Map from Brownell 1983.


Canadian Range

In Canada, this species is confined to a 10 km stretch of Lake Huron shoreline in south- western Ontario (Figure 3). Its known geographical range in Ontario has not changed since 1981 when fairly extensive field studies were conducted in the Ipperwash/Port Franks area.


Figure 3: Distribution of Extant Sites of Bluehearts in Ontario

Figure 3: Distribution of extant sites of bluehearts in Ontario(map from White, Maher and Argus (1983).

Map from White, Maher and Argus (1983).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le buchnéra d’Amérique au Canada - Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le buchnéra d’Amérique est présent dans 11 États des États-Unis, depuis l’Ohio et l’Indiana jusqu’à la Géorgie et au Missouri (The Nature Conservancy, 1997) (figure 2). Elle se trouve en plus fortes densités dans le Tennessee, le Kentucky, l’Arkansas et le Missouri (Brownell, 1981; The Nature Conservancy, 1997). L’espèce est considérée disparue en Pennsylvanie (Rhoads et Klein, 1993), au Michigan et au New Jersey, et d’occurrence historique dans le district de Columbia, le Delaware, le Maryland, la Caroline du Nord et l’État de New York (The Nature Conservancy, 1997). Son statut est indéterminé dans six États du Sud.


Figure 2 : Répartition du buchnéra d’Amérique en Amérique du Nord

Figure 2 : Répartition du buchnéra d’Amérique en Amérique du Nord (carte tirée de Brownell, 1983).

Carte tirée de Brownell, 1983.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au Canada, le buchnéra d’Amérique se trouve uniquement sur 10 km de la rive du lac Huron, dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario (figure 3). L’aire de l’espèce dans cette province est demeurée inchangée depuis la vaste campagne de recensement effectuée en 1981 dans la région d’Ipperwash/Port Franks.


Figure 3 : Sites existants du buchnéra d’Amérique en Ontario

Figure 3 : Sites existants du buchnéra d’Amérique en Ontario (carte tirée de White, Maher et Argus, 1983).

Carte tirée de White, Maher et Argus, 1983.