Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report 2003

Part 1

 

November 25-29, 2002 meeting

 

General Information

The fall, 2002, meeting of COSEWIC took place at the Cartier Place Suite Hotel, Ottawa, Ontario, chaired by Dr. Marco Festa-Bianchet.

All members were in attendance. World Wildlife Fund Canada, Canadian Nature Federation and Canadian Wildlife Federation attended the meeting as continuing observers.

Workshop/Presentation/Special Meeting

On November 25 during the afternoon a Workshop entitled "Approaches to Status Assignments Below the Species Level" took place. All members were in attendance as well as a number of observers. Several presentations were made by members and invited guest speakers.

On November 26 in the evening, a meeting took place between members of COSEWIC as well as some observers at the Species Assessment Meeting, Lynda Maltby, director of the Species at Risk Branch of the Canadian Wildlife Service and two representatives of the Canadian Wildlife Directors' Committee (CWDC), Bruce Morgan, British Columbia and Steve Bowcott, Ontario. Marco Festa-Bianchet, chair of COSEWIC, was invited to attend part of a meeting of the CWDC during the week of February 10, 2003 in Victoria, British Columbia, to address mutual concerns with the CWDC as well as other issues which arose during the course of the Species Assessment Meeting held that week.

On November 27 in the evening, members/observers attended an interesting and informative presentation by Steve Carr on the "Use of Molecular Genetics to Identify Taxonomic Units".

Approval of Changes to Membership

It was decided that following public calls for membership in Species Specialist Subcommittees (with the exception, of course, of co-chairs) renewals/new member selections will be recorded in the minutes of the Co-chairs Subcommittee meeting and that it was not necessary for these changes to be provided to the full committee.

Note: A reallocation of responsibilities for the Plants & Lichens Specialist Subcommittee was announced. Erich Haber will be responsible for all vascular plants and René Belland will not only handle mosses but will also be responsible for lichens.

The following committee members were recommended for approval for a four-year term effective January 1, 2003:

Species Specialist Subcommittee co-chairs

Following a public call for members and submission by the chairs of Selection Committees of top candidates where there were more than one applicant, the members voted either by e-mail or at the full committee meeting with the following results:

Marty Leonard is the new co-chair of the Birds Specialist Subcommittee.
Gerry Mackie, renewed as co-chair for Molluscs of the Lepidopterans & Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee
Ron Brooks, renewed as co-chair of the Amphibians & Reptiles Specialist Subcommittee.

Non-government Member
Steve Carr, renewed.

Jurisdictional Members
Juanita Ptolemy, new alternate from British Columbia.
Gilles Seutin (formerly alternate), now member from Parks Canada.
Earl Wiltse, (member from Saskatchewan) announced he will no longer be the member.
Irene Bowman announced that she will be retiring from Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, and as COSEWIC member from Ontario).

The above membership changes/renewals are herein submitted for your recommendation to the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council (CESCC).

A schedule of renewal dates for jurisdictional members was circulated and Marco stated that this process needs to be clearly defined.

Organization and Procedures Manual - Version # 17

  • Steve Brechtel, outgoing chair of the Organization & Procedures Manual Working Group attended to present this version. Marco thanked Steve for his hard work and dedication to this task. The members of the working group, Michael Bradstreet, Ron Brooks, Joe Brazil and Ruben Boles, were also thanked.
  • Steve stated that the working group built on the work of many people, first Bob Campbell and then Theresa Fowler and for two and a half years tried to pull together existing practice, make improvements and put together a cohesive text.
  • Steve recommended that a permanent subcommittee be set up with least one jurisdictional member, one co-chair and one non-government member and someone from the Secretariat as ex officio allowing the manual to continue to evolve without taking up too much time at future meetings.
  • Michael Bradstreet was chosen as chair of the Organization & Procedures Manual Subcommittee which will include the following members: Ron Brooks, Jake Rice, Siu-Ling Han, Lynda Maltby and someone from the Secretariat as ex officio.
  • The subcommittee was charged to begin working under its Terms of Reference to monitor operations and procedures of COSEWIC, identify opportunities to improve efficiency and/or compliance with appropriate guidelines and policies and propose changes as appropriate.

Terms of Reference for COSEWIC

Some modifications to the Terms of Reference (ToR) were discussed and a further draft of the revised ToR was circulated after the meeting for review/comment by members.

Reports from Existing Ad Hoc Working Groups

a) Instructions to Authors Working Group (WG)

Gerry Mackie, chair, provided a revised draft for review along with eight motions which were approved. The WG will finish these Instructions for the spring, 2003 Species Assessment Meeting.

b) Intellectual Property (IP) WG

Ruben Boles gave a presentation on IP matters after which it was agreed that status reports will now undergo an additional step wherein the draft report will be revised by the report writer who will produce a "background report". A second contract will then be issued, possibly to the same individual who wrote the draft report, to produce the interim report.

c) Taxonomic Coverage within COSEWIC WG

Gerry Mackie, chair, provided a report following which it was recommended that a new Species Specialist Subcommittee (SC) be added to COSEWIC resulting from the separation of the current Lepidopterans and Molluscs SC into Molluscs as one separate SC and Lepidopterans being included in a new SC for Arthropods. This will create one additional vote and two additional co-chairs.

d) Guidelines for Data Deficient WG

Following discussion, David Green was charged to provide by e-mail appropriate wording for further review/comment.

New Ad Hoc Working Groups Established

a) Template for Technical Summary WG

David Green, chair and Gerry Mackie.

b) Habitat and Threats WG

Jake Rice, chair, Erich Haber, Gerry Mackie and Gina Schalk (Secretariat). It was suggested that this Working Group liaise with someone from the Recovery Secretariat as a succinct identification/reporting of threats is very important for recovery purposes. The Chair of COSEWIC and the Chair of RENEW (Lynda Maltby) are to meet to discuss how the two committees can better liaise.

c) Designatable Units WG

Gilles Seutin, Sherman Boates, Howard Powles, David Green, Suzanne Carrière, Jeff Hutchings, Mart Gross are to provide wording for the O & P Manual under guidelines for listing units below the species level. Marco suggested that this working group should liaise with the Ecozones Working Group.

d) Ecozones WG

Bob Campbell, chair, Maureen Toner, Rosemary Curley, Howard Powles, Gilles Seutin, Tom Jung, Andrew Trites or Hal Whitehead, Gerry Mackie, someone from the Secretariat, Mart Gross (unsure).

e) Criteria for Delisting WG

Dave Fraser, chair, Lucie Métras, Al Dextrase, David Green, Sherman Boates.

f) Long Term Planning WG

Jim Duncan, chair, René Belland, Suzanne Carrière, Tom Jung, Dave Fraser, someone from Secretariat.

Report from the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge (ATK) Subcommittee.

Henry Lickers, interim Co-chair of the ATK Subcommittee advised as follows:

  • There was a good meeting with the Aboriginal Working Group (AWG)
  • It was decided to retain the word "Recovery" in the ATK Terms of Reference (ToR) because native groups feel that recovery is very important.
  • The AWG is looking across the country for people to serve on the ATK Subcommittee.
  • They are also trying to decide who will be other co-chair.
  • They think it is a good idea to meet with the WMBs, COSEWIC and the Recovery Secretariat.
  • The AWG hope that by the next meeting, they will have people who can provide advice - contacts within each major ecozone of Canada.

David Green added that reference to Recovery in the ToR of the ATK Subcommittee will allow them to obtain information about assessment and recovery all at once rather than contacting the elders twice).

Emergency Assessments

A request for an emergency status assignment for two populations of sockeye salmon. (Cultus Lake population and Sakinaw Lake population) was received. An emergency assessment subcommittee was struck comprised of Marco , Mart Gross, Richard Haedrich, Bob Campbell as co-chairs of the Marine and Freshwater Fishes Specialist Subcommittees, Howard Powles, Dave Fraser, Theresa Fowler as jurisdictional members and Henry Lickers from the Aboriginal Traditional Knowlege (ATK) Subcommittee because of the importance of salmon to native groups. The request was evaluated during a teleconference that first determined the eligibility and need for emergency assessment. The status of "endangered" was given to both populations on October 24, 2002. The assessments were based on two excellent reports prepared by the Department of Fisheries & Oceans and the Emergency Assessment Subcommittee commented on the good information provided. Mart Gross is having these reports converted to COSEWIC reports to be considered at the spring meeting in Whitehorse at which time they will be reassessed.

Request for Reassessment of four species from Ontario

Prior to the scheduled status assessments, Irene Bowman (member from Ontario) moved that COSEWIC reassess the following four species which were assigned status at the prior spring meeting of COSEWIC. At the prior meeting, no member was present from Ontario due to the provincial public service strike. Justifications were provided by Irene Bowman for each request but following discussion, COSEWIC decided not to reassess these species at this time and provided the following recommendations:

1) Climbing Prairie Rose
Recommendation - That Ontario provide to the Plants & Lichens Specialist Subcommittee an addendum or update report incorporating new information so that the species could come back as soon as possible (maybe at the spring 2003 meeting).

2) Lakeside Daisy
Recommendation: That the chair of the Plants & Lichens Specialist Subcommittee further discuss with Ontario the concerns addressed regarding this report.

3) Grey Fox
Recommendation: That the chair of the Terrestrial Mammals Specialist Subcommittee accelerate the process of revisiting this species.

4) Stinkpot
Recommendation: That Ontario discuss this matter further with the Amphibians and Reptiles Specialist Subcommittee.

Designations
See Appendix I.

Press Release
See Appendix II.

Other Business

Some discussion took place regarding the definition of observer status at a meeting indicating that anyone who is not a voting member or required secretariat staff is an observer. Marco suggested that the status of Lynda Maltby, director of the Species at Risk Branch (which includes the COSEWIC Secretariat) of the Canadian Wildlife Service should be normalized as "ex officio". There was general agreement with this but it was felt that some appropriate wording needs to be developed to be subsequently discussed and recommended for approval. Marco was charged to come up with some appropriate wording for further discussion.

Other Scheduled Meetings, Etc.

  • Marco was invited to meet with the CWDC February 12, 2003 in Victoria.
  • Marco and some members of COSEWIC will meet with the Fisheries Council of Canada and the Fisheries Resource Conservation Council in the afternoon of January 13, 2003 at Place Vincent Massey, Hull (Gatineau) to discuss some issues and concerns from these two organizations.
  • Marco to co-chair with Bob Stevenson a meeting of COSEWIC members and members of the AWG March 8, 2003 at the Odawa Centre in Ottawa to discuss the ATK Terms of Reference.
  • A Workshop with WMBs and COSEWIC to take place April 26-27, 2003 immediately prior to the next COSEWIC Species Assessment meeting in Whitehorse, Yukon. This workshop is scheduled as an opportunity to meet face to face to see how COSEWIC can continue to work together with WMBs.

Next Species Assessment Meeting

April 28 - May 2, Whitehorse.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC 2003

Partie 1

 

Réunion du 25 au 29 novembre 2002

 

Renseignements généraux

La réunion de l'automne 2002 du COSEPAC a eu lieu à l'hôtel Cartier Place Suite, à Ottawa, en Ontario.

Tous les membres étaient présents. Le Fonds mondial pour la nature (Canada), la Fédération canadienne de la nature et la Fédération canadienne de la faune ont assisté à la réunion à titre d'observateurs permanents.

Atelier, exposés et réunion spéciale

Le 25 novembre, en après-midi, s'est tenu un atelier intitulé " Approches aux désignations de statut concernant des unités systématiques inférieures à l'espèce ". Tous les membres étaient présents, ainsi qu'un certain nombre d'observateurs. Des membres ainsi que des conférenciers invités ont présenté plusieurs exposés.

Le 26 novembre, en soirée, a eu lieu une réunion entre les membres du COSEPAC, certains observateurs qui se trouvaient à la Réunion d'évaluation des espèces, Lynda Maltby, directrice de la Direction des espèces en péril du Service canadien de la faune, et deux représentants du Comité des directeurs canadiens de la faune (CDCF), Bruce Morgan, de la Colombie Britannique, et Steve Bowcott, de l'Ontario. Marco Festa-Bianchet, président du COSEPAC, a été invité à assister à une partie d'une réunion du CDCF pendant la semaine du 10 février 2003, à Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique, pour discuter des préoccupations mutuelles avec le CDCF ainsi que d'autres questions soulevées pendant la Réunion d'évaluation des espèces de cette semaine là.

Le 27 novembre, en soirée, les membres et les observateurs ont assisté à un exposé intéressant et informatif donné par Steve Carr sur l'" Utilisation de la génétique moléculaire pour identifier les unités taxinomiques ".

Approbation des changements au sein des membres

Il a été décidé qu'à la suite d'appels publics de candidatures pour les sous-comités des spécialistes des espèces (à l'exception, évidemment, des coprésidents) le choix des nouveaux membres et les renouvellements seront consignés dans le procès-verbal de la réunion du Sous-comité des coprésidents et qu'il n'est pas nécessaire que ces changements soient transmis au comité plénier.

Nota : Les responsabilités des membres du Sous-comité des spécialistes des plantes et lichens ont été réaffectées. Erich Haber s'occupera de toutes les plantes vasculaires et René Belland, outre les mousses, se chargera également des lichens.

L'approbation des membres suivants du Comité a été recommandée pour un mandat de quatre ans, à partir du 1er janvier 2003 :

Coprésidents des sous-comités des spécialistes des espèces

Après des appels publics de candidatures et la présentation par les présidents des comités de sélection du nom des meilleurs candidats, lorsqu'il y en avait plus d'un, les membres ont voté, soit par courriel ou pendant la réunion du comité plénier, et ont choisi les personnes suivantes :

Marty Leonard est la nouvelle coprésidente du Sous-comité des spécialistes des oiseaux.
Gerry Mackie dont le mandat à titre de coprésident pour les mollusques du Sous-comité des spécialistes des lépidoptères et mollusques est renouvelé.
Ron Brooks dont le mandat à titre de coprésident du Sous-comité des spécialistes des amphibiens et reptiles est renouvelé.

Membre non gouvernemental
Steve Carr, renouvellement.

Les modifications et les renouvellements mentionnés ci dessus vous sont soumis par la présente pour recommandation au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril (CCCEP).

Membres des compétences

Juanita Ptolemy, nouvelle remplaçante pour la Colombie-Britannique.
Gilles Seutin (auparavant remplaçant), maintenant membre officiel pour Parcs Canada.
Earl Wiltse (membre de la Saskatchewan) a annoncé qu'il ne sera plus membre.
Irene Bowman a annoncé qu'elle prend sa retraite du ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario et à titre de membre du COSEPAC pour l'Ontario.

Un calendrier des dates de renouvellement pour les membres des compétences a été remis aux membres, et Marco a mentionné que ce processus doit être clairement défini.

Manuel de l'organisation et des procédures - version no 17

  • Steve Brechtel, président sortant du Groupe de travail sur le Manuel de l'organisation et des procédures, était à la réunion pour présenter cette version. Marco a remercié Steve pour tout le travail ardu qu'il a effectué et pour son dévouement à cette tâche. Il a également remercié les membres du Groupe de travail, Michael Bradstreet, Ron Brooks, Joe Brazil et Ruben Boles.
  • Steve a affirmé que le Groupe de travail s'est appuyé sur ce qui a été effectué par de nombreuses personnes, d'abord Bob Campbell, puis Theresa Fowler, et a essayé depuis les deux dernières années et demie de réunir les pratiques existantes, d'apporter des améliorations et de produire un texte cohérent.
  • Steve a recommandé qu'un sous-comité permanent composé d'au moins un membre des compétences, d'un coprésident et d'un membre non gouvernemental et de quelqu'un du Secrétariat comme membre d'office soit constitué, ce qui permettra au Manuel de continuer à évoluer, sans que trop de temps lui soit consacré aux futures réunions.
  • Michael Bradstreet a été choisi comme président du Sous-comité du Manuel de l'organisation et des procédures, qui sera formé des membres suivants : Ron Brooks, Jake Rice, Siu-Ling Han, Lynda Maltby et quelqu'un du Secrétariat, comme membre d'office.
  • Ce sous-comité a été chargé de commencer à travailler, dans le cadre de son mandat, à la surveillance des activités et des procédures du COSEPAC, à déterminer quand il serait possible d'améliorer l'efficacité et/ou la conformité aux lignes directrices et aux politiques appropriées et à proposer les modifications qui s'imposent.

Mandat du COSEPAC

Les membres du Comité ont discuté de certaines modifications à apporter au mandat; une nouvelle version du mandat révisé leur a été fournie après la réunion à des fins d'examen et de commentaire par ces derniers.

Rapport des groupes de travail spéciaux existants

a) Groupe de travail sur les instructions à l'intention des auteurs

Le président, Gerry Mackie, a donné aux membres une version révisée pour qu'ils l'examinent, et a proposé huit motions qui ont été approuvées. Le groupe de travail finira ces instructions pour la Réunion d'évaluation des espèces du printemps 2003.

b) Groupe de travail sur la propriété intellectuelle

Ruben Boles a présenté un exposé sur des questions relatives à la propriété intellectuelle, à la suite duquel il a été convenu que les rapports de situation seront dorénavant soumis à une nouvelle étape, au cours de laquelle le rapport provisoire sera examiné par le rédacteur du rapport, qui produira un " rapport d'information ". On accordera ensuite un deuxième contrat, probablement à la personne qui a rédigé le rapport provisoire, pour produire le rapport intermédiaire.

c) Groupe de travail sur le traitement de la taxinomie au COSEPAC

Le président, Gerry Mackie, a présenté un rapport, après quoi il a été recommandé d'ajouter un nouveau sous-comité des spécialistes des espèces au COSEPAC en raison de la séparation du Sous comité actuel des lépidoptères et mollusques en un sous-comité des mollusques et de l'incorporation des lépidoptères dans un nouveau sous comité des arthropodes. Cela créera un vote et deux autres coprésidents.

d) Groupe de travail sur les lignes directrices pour la catégorie " données insuffisantes "

Après une discussion, David Green a été chargé d'envoyer par courriel un texte formulé de façon appropriée pour qu'il soit examiné et commenté.

Formation de nouveaux groupes de travail spéciaux

a) Groupe de travail sur le modèle du résumé technique

David Green, président, et Gerry Mackie.

b) Groupe de travail sur l'habitat et les menaces

Jake Rice, président, Erich Haber, Gerry Mackie et Gina Schalk (Secrétariat). On propose que ce groupe de travail assure la liaison avec une personne du Secrétariat du RESCAPÉ, car il est très important pour le rétablissement que les menaces soient identifiées et signalées de façon concise. Le président du COSEPAC et la présidente du RESCAPÉ (Lynda Maltby) se rencontreront pour discuter de la meilleure façon pour les deux comités d'assurer la liaison.

c) Groupe de travail sur les unités désignables

Gilles Seutin, Sherman Boates, Howard Powles, David Green, Suzanne Carrière, Jeff Hutchings et Mart Gross présenteront des formules pour le Manuel de l'organisation et des procédures en vertu des lignes directrices pour les unités d'inscription sur la liste inférieures à l'espèce. Marco a suggéré l'établissement d'une liaison entre ce groupe de travail et le groupe de travail sur les écozones.

d) Groupe de travail sur les écozones

Bob Campbell, président, Maureen Toner, Rosemary Curley, Howard Powles, Gilles Seutin, Tom Jung, Andrew Trites ou Hal Whitehead, Gerry Mackie, une personne du Secrétariat, Mart Gross (pas certain).

e) Groupe de travail sur les critères de radiation de la liste

Dave Fraser, président, Lucie Métras, Al Dextrase, David Green, Sherman Boates.

f) Groupe de travail sur la planification à long terme

Jim Duncan, président, René Belland, Suzanne Carrière, Tom Jung, Dave Fraser, une personne du Secrétariat.

Rapport du Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (CTA)

Henry Lickers, coprésident par intérim du Sous-comité des CTA a fait savoir ce qui suit :

  • la réunion avec le Groupe de travail autochtone (GTA) s'est bien déroulée;
  • le terme " rétablissement " a été retenu dans le mandat du SSE des CTA parce que les groupes autochtones estiment que le rétablissement est très important;
  • le GTA est à la recherche dans tout le pays de personnes pour siéger au Sous-comité des CTA;
  • le GTA tente également de choisir l'autre coprésident;
  • le GTA pense que c'est une bonne idée de rencontrer les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques (CGRF), le COSEPAC et le Secrétariat du RESCAPÉ;
  • le GTA espère que, d'ici la prochaine réunion, il y aura des personnes qui pourront donner des conseils - des personnes-ressources dans chacune des grandes écozones du Canada.

David Green ajoute que faire référence au rétablissement dans le mandat du Sous-comité des CTA permettra d'obtenir simultanément de l'information sur l'évaluation et sur le rétablissement plutôt que de consulter les aînés à deux reprises.

Évaluations d'urgence

Une demande de désignation d'urgence de situation a été reçue pour deux populations de saumons sockeye (population du lac Cultus et population du lac Sakinaw). Un sous-comité d'évaluation d'urgence a été constitué; il comprend Marco Festa-Bianchet, Mart Gross, Richard Haedrich, Bob Campbell à titre de coprésidents des sous-comités des spécialistes des poissons marins et des poissons d'eau douce, Howard Powles, Dave Fraser, Theresa Fowler, à titre de membres des compétences, et Henry Lickers du Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (CTA) en raison de l'importance des saumons pour les groupes autochtones. On a évalué la demande lors d'une téléconférence qui déterminait tout d'abord l'admissibilité et la nécessité d'une évaluation d'urgence. On a attribué le statut " en voie de disparition " aux deux populations le 24 octobre 2002. Les deux évaluations étaient fondées sur deux excellents rapports préparés par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans, et les membres du Sous-comité d'évaluation d'urgence ont souligné la qualité des renseignements fournis. Mart Gross fait actuellement convertir ces rapports en rapports du COSEPAC pour qu'ils soient examinés au cours de la réunion qui doit se tenir au printemps à Whitehorse, où ils seront réévalués.

Demande de réévaluation de quatre espèces de l'Ontario

Avant les évaluations prévues de la situation, Irene Bowman (membre de l'Ontario) a proposé que le COSEPAC réévalue les quatre espèces suivantes, dont le statut avait été déterminé à la réunion antérieure du printemps du COSEPAC. Aucun membre de l'Ontario n'était présent à la réunion antérieure en raison de la grève des fonctionnaires provinciaux. Irene Bowman a justifié chacune des demandes mais, après discussion, le COSEPAC a décidé de ne pas réévaluer ces espèces à l'heure actuelle et a recommandé ce qui suit :

1) Rosier sétigère
Recommandation : Que l'Ontario fournisse au Sous-comité des plantes et lichens un addenda ou un rapport mis à jour en incorporant de nouveaux renseignements pour que l'espèce puisse être étudiée de nouveau le plus tôt possible (peut-être à la réunion du printemps 2003).

2) Hyménoxys herbacé
Recommandation : Que le président du Sous-comité des spécialistes des plantes et lichens poursuive des discussions avec l'Ontario sur les préoccupations soulevées relativement au rapport.

3) Renard gris
Recommandation : Que le président du Sous-comité des spécialistes des mammifères terrestres accélère le processus de réévaluation de cette espèce.

4) Tortue musquée
Recommandation : Que l'Ontario poursuive ces discussions avec le Sous-comité des spécialistes des amphibiens et reptiles.

Désignations
Voir l'annexe I.

Communiqué
Voir l'annexe II.

Autres points à l'ordre du jour

On discute de la définition du statut d'observateur pendant une réunion, qui indique que toute personne qui n'est pas membre avec droit de vote ni un membre du personnel autorisé du Secrétariat est un observateur. Marco propose de régulariser le statut de Lynda Maltby, directrice de la Direction des espèces en péril (qui comprend le Secrétariat du COSEPAC) du Service canadien de la faune comme étant " d'office ". Il y a un commun accord à ce sujet, mais on estime qu'il est nécessaire d'élaborer des formules appropriées pour en discuter un peu plus tard et les recommander pour approbation. Marco est chargé de trouver les formules appropriées.

Autres réunions prévues, etc.

  • Marco a été invité à rencontrer le CDCF à Victoria, le 12 février 2003.
  • Marco et certains membres du COSEPAC rencontreront le Conseil canadien des pêches et le Conseil pour la conservation des ressources halieutiques le 13 janvier 2003, en après midi, à la Place Vincent Massey, à Gatineau, pour discuter certaines des questions et des préoccupations de ces deux organismes.
  • Marco coprésidera avec Bob Stevenson une réunion des membres du COSEPAC et des membres du GTA, qui aura lieu le 8 mars 2003, à Ottawa, au Odawa Centre, pour discuter du mandat du SSE des CTA.
  • Un atelier des CGRF et du COSEPAC aura lieu les 26 et 27 avril 2003, tout juste avant la prochaine Réunion d'évaluation des espèces du COSEPAC, à Whitehorse (Yukon). Cet atelier donnera aux membres l'occasion de se rencontrer en personne pour voir comment le COSEPAC peut continuer à collaborer avec les CGRF.

Prochaine Réunion d'évaluation des espèces

Du 28 avril au 2 mai, à Whitehorse.