Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Annual Report 2003

Appendix III

Revised May 27, 2003
(with new text bolded)

 

TERMS OF REFERENCE

COMMITTEE ON THE STATUS OF

ENDANGERED WILDLIFE IN CANADA

(COSEWIC)

 

Role:

To assess the conservation status of species that may be at risk in Canada, to report the results of its assessments, including their reasons and uncertainties, to the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council (CESCC) and to the Canadian public. COSEWIC uses the best available scientific, Aboriginal and community knowledge to assess species. The assessment process is independent and transparent.

Context:

On behalf of the CESCC, the Canadian Wildlife Directors Committee provides general direction to COSEWIC on matters of organization and procedures, such as membership, structure and criteria. Within this framework, COSEWIC's assessments are carried out and reported in an independent and transparent manner. To determine candidate species for assessment, COSEWIC uses, among other sources of information, the evaluations provided by the National General Status Working Group. COSEWIC documentation is provided to the National Recovery Working Group as a starting point for recovery planning.

Structure and Composition:

COSEWIC includes scientific experts in conservation biology, ecology, taxonomy, wildlife management, stock assessment, population biology, Aboriginal or community knowledge, and related fields. It is composed of experts from each of the provinces and territories (1 each for a total of 13), one from each of four federal agencies/departments (CWS, DFO, Parks Canada, and the Museum of Nature on behalf of the Federal Biosystematics Partnership), their alternates, the Co-Chairs of the Species Specialist Subcommittees, the Co-Chairs of the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee and three Non-government scientific experts. All members are appointed under federal legislation to four-year, renewable terms. Details of member selection are provided in Annex 1. The Chair of COSEWIC is a two-year appointment elected by COSEWIC from among its members by secret ballot.

Species Specialist Subcommittees- Species Specialist Subcommittees (SSCs, Annex 2) include two Co-Chairs and a minimum of five members. They develop status reports for COSEWIC assessments. The need for new Species Specialist Subcommittees is assessed by COSEWIC in consultation with CESCC.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee- The Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee facilitates the incorporation of Aboriginal traditional knowledge into the COSEWIC status assessment process. It is led by two Co-Chairs, selected by the Subcommittee from among its members.

Co-Chairs Subcommittee - The COSEWIC Co-Chairs Subcommittee includes the Co-Chairs of the Species Specialist and Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittees, and is chaired by the chair of COSEWIC. It deals with technical aspects of the work of the SSCs and provides advice on such matters to COSEWIC.

Emergency Assessment Subcommittee- The Chair of COSEWIC may set up an Emergency Assessment Subcommittee to deal specifically with a request for Emergency Assessment. An Emergency Assessment Subcommittee includes the Chair of COSEWIC, COSEWIC members from the species' range jurisdictions, the Co-Chairs of the appropriate SSC and other COSEWIC members at the Chair's discretion. The Subcommittee assesses the available evidence and may classify the species into an appropriate risk category. As soon as possible, a report on the species will be examined by COSEWIC at a Species Assessment Meeting and the species will be re-assessed.

Operations and Procedures Subcommittee- This Subcommittee is composed of COSEWIC members and updates the COSEWIC Operations and Procedures Manual as requested by COSEWIC. All substantive changes to the Manual must be approved by COSEWIC.

Secretariat - Administration services and technical support will be provided by a Secretariat funded and staffed by the Canadian Wildlife Service.

Mode of Operation:

Assessments are made on the basis of the best available biological information, including scientific, Aboriginal and community knowledge.

COSEWIC will be guided by the precautionary approach as set out in the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada.

COSEWIC meets at least once a year. Quorum is two thirds of the voting membership.

COSEWIC develops its own operations and procedures, including the creation of subcommittees and working groups, recognizing its accountability to the Canadian Wildlife Directors Committee.

Assessment decisions are made on the basis of consensus whenever possible. When unanimity is not possible, decisions are based on a two-thirds majority vote.

COSEWIC provides to CESCC and to the public the complete reasons for each status assessment and identifies any uncertainties noted during the assessment.

The Chair of COSEWIC may seek advice from appropriate members on any issue of concern to COSEWIC.

Functions:

COSEWIC

To review and approve candidate and priority lists of species for assessment as submitted by the Co-Chairs Subcommittee.

To assess the status of species using accepted criteria and definitions.

To report its assessments and findings to the CESCC, and to publish its assessments and status reports.

To develop and periodically review scientific definitions, guidelines, standards and criteria to assess the status of wildlife species, to forward them to CESCC for endorsement and to publish them.

To review plans, annual reports, budgets, and activities of COSEWIC and its Subcommittees.

To establish working groups to deal with specific issues.

To provide direction to the Secretariat.

To prepare an annual report of all COSEWIC activities.

To receive unsolicited reports that have been reviewed by the appropriate SSC.

Species Specialist Subcommittees

To establish, with input from the Co-Chairs Subcommittee, priority lists of species to be assessed.

To commission status reports on eligible candidate species.

To review unsolicited reports and ensure that they meet the standards of commissioned reports.

In cooperation with COSEWIC members from range jurisdictions, wildlife management boards and outside experts, to review draft status reports to ensure accuracy, completeness, quality of analysis and application of relevant listing criteria.

To recommend a status to COSEWIC.

Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee

[The roles and functions of the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommitee are currently being developed.]

Co-Chairs Subcommittee

To recommend priorities for assessments within and among each taxonomic group.

To establish guidelines for the selection of competing bids for status reports, the drafting of status reports, and for the assessment of the quality and suitability of unsolicited reports.

To undertake actions requested by COSEWIC.

To provide advice to COSEWIC on matters related to the work of SSCs.

Secretariat

To provide administrative services, such as organizing and servicing meetings.

To provide administrative and technical support to subcommittees.

To administer financial support for status reports.

To maintain financial records.

To maintain files, records and other archival materials.

To disseminate information to the public, including the publication of status reports in both official languages.

Responsibilities

Members

To perform their duties in an independent manner.

To attend COSEWIC meetings, including Emergency Assessment meetings as requested by the Chair.

To review draft and interim status reports and contribute to status assessment deliberations to the best of their knowledge and ability.

For jurisdictional members, to advise writers of status reports of known sources of information, suggest species for the priority list and for status reports, guide report writers to appropriate contacts within their jurisdictions, review draft and interim reports, and provide regional expertise on the status of, and threats to species within their jurisdiction.

Chair

To ensure that meetings proceed in an orderly fashion maintaining the principles of independence, transparency, and scientific integrity upon which COSEWIC is based.

To head the Co-Chairs subcommittee.

To initiate Emergency Status Assessments.

To serve as contact person and spokesperson to CESCC, news media, and the general public.

Observers

At the discretion of the Chair, observers may attend COSEWIC meetings with advance special permission if their presence assists COSEWIC in fulfilling its mandate. Observers will maintain confidentiality over the proceedings and decisions of COSEWIC.

 

ANNEX 1

Selection of COSEWIC membership:

Species Specialist Subcommittee Co-Chairs and Non-government experts are recommended to CESCC by COSEWIC after an open competition. SSC members are selected by the SSC through an open competition. Jurisdictional members are recommended by their jurisdiction to the CESCC. All jurisdictional members of COSEWIC have one Alternate, also recommended by their jurisdiction. Alternates are members of COSEWIC. The Co-Chairs of the ATK Subcommitee are recommended to the CESCC by COSEWIC following nomination by appropriate aboriginal organizations.

 

ANNEX 2

COSEWIC Species Specialist Subcommittees:

There are nine* Species Specialist Subcommittees representing birds, terrestrial mammals, freshwater fishes, marine fishes, marine mammals, plants and lichens, amphibians and reptiles, molluscs and arthropods.*

* COSEWIC received approval from the Canadian Wildlife Directors in May 2003 to replace the previous Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee with a new Arthropod Specialist Subcommittee and a Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee. All lepidopterans will henceforth be considered by the new Arthropods Specialist Subcommittee.

 

ANNEX 3

COSEWIC Membership and voting structure:

Members of COSEWIC include 3 Non-government experts, 18** Co-Chairs of Species Specialist Subcommittees, 2 Co-Chairs of the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee, one Member and one Alternate of the following Federal Agencies: Parks Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service, and the Canadian Museum of Nature on behalf of the Federal Biosystematics Partnership. There are one Member and one Alternate from each of the following Provincial and Territorial agencies:
Yukon: Department of Environment
Northwest Territories: Department of Resources, Wildlife and Economic Development
Nunavut: Department of Sustainable Development
British Columbia: Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection
Alberta: Department of Sustainable Resource Development
Saskatchewan: Saskatchewan Environment
Manitoba: Manitoba Conservation
Ontario: Ministry of Natural Resources
Québec: (1) Société de la Faune et des parcs du Québec (for animals) and (2) Ministère de l'Environnement (for plants, mosses and lichens)
New Brunswick: Department of Natural Resources and Energy
Nova Scotia: Department of Natural Resources
Prince Edward Island: Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Environment
Newfoundland and Labrador: (1) Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation (for plants and animals except saltwater fishes) and (2) Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture (for saltwater fishes)
There are 30**voting members: the 3 Non-government experts, 1 Co-Chair for each of the 9** Species Specialist Subcommittees, 1 Co-Chair of the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee, 1 for each of the 4 Federal agencies and 1 for each of the 10 provinces and 3 territories.

** One each of the Co-chairs of the previous Lepidopterans and Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee will become a Co-chair of the Arthropods Specialist Subcommittee and the Molluscs Specialist Subcommittee, respectively. A call for applications for the remaining two Co-chair positions and any additional members that may be required by the two subcommittees is planned for the fall of 2003.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport annuel du COSEPAC 2003

Annexe III

Revisé le 27 mai 2003
(Le nouveau texte est en caractère gras)

 

MANDAT COMITÉ SUR

LA SITUATION DES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

AU CANADA

(COSEPAC)

 

Rôle :

Évaluer la situation en matière de conservation des espèces qui peuvent être en péril au Canada, faire rapport sur les résultats des évaluations, y compris sur leurs raisons et leurs incertitudes, au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril (CCCEP) et au public canadien. Le COSEPAC se sert des meilleures connaissances scientifiques, autochtones et communautaires disponibles pour évaluer les espèces. Le processus d'évaluation est indépendant et transparent.

Contexte :

Au nom du CCCEP, le Comité des directeurs canadiens de la faune fournit une orientation générale au COSEPAC sur des questions d'organisation et de procédures, telles que la composition, la structure et les critères. Dans ce cadre, les évaluations du COSEPAC sont effectuées et font l'objet d'un rapport de manière indépendante et transparente. Pour déterminer les espèces candidates aux évaluations, le COSEPAC se sert, parmi d'autres sources d'information, des évaluations fournies par le Groupe de travail national sur la situation générale. La documentation du COSEPAC est fournie au Groupe de travail national sur le rétablissement comme point de départ en ce qui concerne la planification du rétablissement.

Structure et effectif :

Le COSEPAC comprend des experts scientifiques en biologie de la conservation, en écologie, en taxinomie, en gestion des espèces sauvages, en évaluation des stocks, en biologie des populations, en connaissances autochtones ou communautaires et dans des domaines afférents. Il est composé d'experts de chacune des provinces et chacun des territoires (1 chacun pour un total de 13), un expert de chacun de quatre ministères ou organismes fédéraux (SCF, MPO, Parcs Canada et le Musée de la nature au nom du Partenariat fédéral sur la biosystématique), leurs remplaçants, les coprésidents des Sous comités de spécialistes des espèces, les coprésidents du Sous comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones ainsi que trois experts scientifiques non gouvernementaux. Tous les membres sont nommés au titre du droit fédéral à des mandats renouvelables de quatre ans. Les précisions sur le choix des membres sont présentées à l'annexe 1. Le président du COSEPAC est membre du comité et il est élu pour deux ans par vote secret des membres du COSEPAC.

Sous-comitésde spécialistes des espèces - Les Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces (SSE, annexe 2) comprennent deux coprésidents et un minimum de cinq membres. Ils préparent des rapports de situation pour les évaluations du COSEPAC. Le besoin de nouveaux Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces est évalué par le COSEPAC en consultation avec le CCCEP.

Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones - Le Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones facilite l'incorporation des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones au processus du COSEPAC pour l'évaluation de la situation. Il est dirigé par deux coprésidents choisis parmi les membres du Sous comité.

Sous-comité des coprésidents- Le Sous-comité des coprésidents du COSEPAC comprend les coprésidents des Sous-comités des spécialistes des espèces et des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones, et il est présidé par le président du COSEPAC. Il s'occupe des aspects techniques des travaux des SSE et donne des conseils sur ces questions au COSEPAC.

Sous-comité des évaluations d'urgence- Le président du COSEPAC peut établir un Sous comité des évaluations urgentes pour s'occuper spécifiquement d'une demande d'évaluation d'urgence. Un Sous-comité des évaluations d'urgence comprend le président du COSEPAC, les membres du COSEPAC des compétences responsables de l'aire de répartition de l'espèce, les coprésidents des SSE appropriés et d'autres membres du COSEPAC au choix du président. Le Sous-comité évalue les données disponibles et peut classifier l'espèce dans une catégorie de risque appropriée. Dès que possible, un rapport sur l'espèce sera examiné par le COSEPAC au cours d'une réunion d'évaluation des espèces, et l'espèce sera réévaluée.

Sous-comité du Manuel des opérations et des procédures- Ce Sous-comité est composé des membres du COSEPAC et il met à jour le Manuel des opérations et des procédures du COSEPAC à la demande du COSEPAC. Tous les changements importants au Manuel doivent être approuvés par le COSEPAC.

Secrétariat - Les services administratifs et le soutien technique seront fournis par un Secrétariat dont le financement et le personnel proviennent du Service canadien de la faune.

Mode de fonctionnement :

Les évaluations sont faites à l'aide de la meilleure information biologique disponible, y compris les connaissances scientifiques, autochtones et communautaires.

Le COSEPAC sera guidé par l'approche préventive, tel que le prévoit l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril au Canada.

Le COSEPAC se réunit au moins une fois l'an; le quorum est obtenu par la présence des deux tiers des membres ayant droit de vote.

Le COSEPAC élabore ses propres modes de fonctionnement et ses propres procédures, y compris la création de sous-comités et de groupes de travail, reconnaissant sa responsabilité envers le Comité des directeurs canadiens de la faune.

Les décisions en matière d'évaluation sont prises par consensus lorsque cela est possible. Lorsque l'unanimité est impossible, les décisions sont fondées sur un vote majoritaire des deux tiers des membres.

Le COSEPAC fournit au CCCEP et au public les raisons exhaustives pour chaque évaluation de situation et décrit toute incertitude constatée au cours de l'évaluation.

Le président du COSEPAC peut demander conseil de membres appropriés sur toute question que le COSEPAC juge préoccupante.

Fonctions :

COSEPAC

Examiner et approuver les listes d'espèces candidates et prioritaires pour évaluation présentées par le Sous-comité des coprésidents.

Évaluer la situation des espèces à l'aide des définitions et des critères acceptés.

Rapporter ses évaluations et ses résultats au CCCEP et publier ses évaluations et ses rapports de situation.

Élaborer et réviser de manière périodique les définitions scientifiques, les lignes directrices, les normes et les critères servant à évaluer la situation des espèces sauvages, et les transmettre au CCCEP pour que celui ci les entérine et les publie.

Examiner les plans, les rapports annuels, les budgets et les activités du COSEPAC et de ses sous-comités.

Établir des groupes de travail qui s'occuperont de questions précises.

Donner une direction au Secrétariat.

Préparer un rapport annuel sur toutes les activités du COSEPAC.

Recevoir les rapports non sollicités qui ont été examinés par le SSE approprié.

Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces

Établir, avec les commentaires du Sous-comité des coprésidents, les listes de priorité des espèces à évaluer.

Commander des rapports de situation au sujet des espèces candidates admissibles.

Examiner les rapports non sollicités et s'assurer qu'ils respectent les normes des rapports commandés.

En collaboration avec les membres du COSEPAC des compétences responsables de l'aire de répartition, les conseils de gestion des ressources fauniques et des experts externes, examiner les rapports de situation provisoires pour en assurer l'exactitude, l'intégralité, la qualité de l'analyse et l'application de critères d'inscription appropriés.

Recommander un statut au COSEPAC.

Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones

[Les rôles et les fonctions du Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones sont actuellement en préparation.]

Sous-comité des coprésidents

Recommander les priorités des évaluations au sein de chaque groupe taxinomique et parmi ceux-ci.

Établir des lignes directrices quant à la sélection des offres concurrentielles relatifs à la production de rapports de situation, la rédaction de rapports de situation et l'évaluation de la qualité et du caractère adéquat des rapports non sollicités.

Entreprendre les mesures demandées par le COSEPAC.

Donner des conseils au COSEPAC sur des questions liées aux travaux des SSE.

Secrétariat

Fournir des services administratifs tels que l'organisation et la prestation des services pour les réunions.

Fournir un soutien administratif et technique aux sous-comités.

Administrer le soutien financier relatif aux rapports de situation.

Maintenir des dossiers financiers.

Maintenir des dossiers, des enregistrements et d'autre matériel d'archive.

Diffuser l'information au public, y compris la publication des rapports de situation dans les deux langues officielles.

Responsabilités

Membres

Accomplir leurs tâches d'une manière indépendante.

Participer aux réunions du COSEPAC, y compris les réunions d'évaluation d'urgence à la demande du président.

Examiner les rapports de situation provisoires et intermédiaires et participer aux délibérations d'évaluation de la situation au meilleur de leurs connaissances et de leurs habiletés.

Pour les membres des compétences, conseiller les rédacteurs des rapports de situation au sujet des sources connues d'information, proposer des espèces pour la liste des priorités et pour les rapports de situation, guider les rédacteurs des rapports quant aux personnes ressources appropriées dans leur compétence, examiner les rapports provisoires et intermédiaires et fournir une expertise régionale sur la situation des espèces relevant de leur compétence et les menaces auxquelles elles font face.

Président

S'assurer que les réunions se déroulent de façon harmonieuse en maintenant les principes d'indépendance, de transparence et d'intégrité scientifique qui forment l'assise du COSEPAC.

Présider le Sous-comité des coprésidents.

Déclencher des évaluations d'urgence de la situation des espèces.

Servir de personne-ressource et de porte-parole auprès du CCCEP, des médias et du grand public.

Observateurs

À la discrétion du président, des observateurs peuvent participer aux réunions du COSEPAC avec une permission préalable spéciale si leur présence aide le COSEPAC à réaliser son mandat. Les observateurs ne révéleront pas les délibérations ni les décisions du COSEPAC.

 

ANNEXE 1

Choix des membres du COSEPAC :

Les coprésidents des Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces et les experts non gouvernementaux sont recommandés au CCCEP par le COSEPAC après un concours public. Les membres des SSE sont choisis par le SSE par concours public. Les membres des compétences sont recommandés au CCCEP par leur compétence. Tous les membres des compétences du COSEPAC ont un remplaçant, également recommandé par leur compétence. Les remplaçants sont des membres du COSEPAC. Les coprésidents du Sous-comité des CTA sont recommandés au CCCEP par le COSEPAC après avoir été nommés par des organismes autochtones appropriés.

 

ANNEXE 2

Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces du COSEPAC :

Il y a actuellement neuf* Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces représentant les oiseaux, les mammifères terrestres, les poissons d'eau douce, les poissons marins, les mammifères marins, les plantes et les lichens, les amphibiens et les reptiles, les mollusques et les arthropodes.*

*Le COSEPAC a obtenu en mai 2003 l'approbation des directeurs canadiens de la faune de remplacer l'ancien Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et des mollusques par un nouveau Sous-comité de spécialistes des arthropodes et un Sous comité de spécialistes des mollusques. Tous les lépidoptères seront dorénavant étudiés par le nouveau Sous comité de spécialistes des arthropodes.

 

ANNEXE 3

Composition et structure de vote du COSEPAC :

Les membres du COSEPAC comprennent trois experts non gouvernementaux, 18** coprésidents de Sous-comité de spécialistes des espèces, deux coprésidents du Sous comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones, un membre et un remplaçant pour chacun des organismes fédéraux suivants : Parcs Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, le Service canadien de la faune et le Musée canadien de la nature au nom du Partenariat fédéral sur la biosystématique. Il y a un membre et un remplaçant pour chacun des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux suivants :
Yukon : ministère de l'Environnement
Territoires du Nord Ouest : Department of Resources, Wildlife and Economic Development
Nunavut : ministère du Développement durable
Colombie Britannique : Ministry of Water, Land and Air Protection
Alberta : Department of Sustainable Resource Development
Saskatchewan : Saskatchewan Environment
Manitoba : Conservation Manitoba
Ontario : ministère des Richesses naturelles
Québec : (1) Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec (pour les animaux) et (2) ministère de l'Environnement (pour les plantes, les mousses et les lichens)
Nouveau-Brunswick : ministère des Ressources naturelles et de l'Énergie
Nouvelle Écosse : Department of Natural Resources
Île du Prince Édouard : Department of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Environment
Terre Neuve et Labrador : (1) Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation (pour les plantes et les animaux, sauf les poissons marins) et (2) Department of Fisheries and Aquaculture (pour les poissons marins)
Il y a 30** membres ayant droit de vote : les trois experts non gouvernementaux, un coprésident de chacun des neuf** Sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces, un coprésident du Sous-comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones, un pour chacun des quatre organismes fédéraux et un pour chacune des dix provinces et chacun des trois territoires.

**Un coprésident de l'ancien Sous-comité de spécialistes des lépidoptères et des mollusques deviendra coprésident du Sous-comité de spécialistes des arthropodes et l'autre deviendra coprésident du Sous-comité de spécialistes des mollusques. Un appel de demandes pour les deux autres postes de coprésident et pour tout autre membre qui pourrait être requis par les deux sous-comités est prévu pour l'automne 2003.