Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Canada

Ontario recovery strategy series
Recovery strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario

As provided by the government of Ontario

National Deerberry Recovery Team. 2010. Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario. Prepared for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Peterborough, Ontario. vi + 27 pp.

Ontario Recovery Strategy Series

Ontario Recovery Strategy Series Recovery Strategy prepared under the Endangered Species Act, 2007 Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario December 2010

Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario

Recovery Strategy prepared under the Endangered Species Act, 2007

February 2010

About the Ontario Recovery Strategy Series

This series presents the collection of recovery strategies that are prepared or adopted as advice to the Province of Ontario on the recommended approach to recover species at risk. The Province ensures the preparation of recovery strategies to meet its commitments to recover species at risk under the Endangered Species Act, 2007 (ESA, 2007) and the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada.

What is recovery?

Recovery of species at risk is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of a species' persistence in the wild.

What is recovery strategy?

Under the ESA, 2007, a recovery strategy provides the best available scientific knowledge onwhat is required to achieve recovery of a species. A recovery strategy outlines the habitat needs and the threats to the survival and recovery of the species. It also makes recommendations on the objectives for protection and recovery the approaches to achieve those objectives, and the area that should be considered in the development of a habitat regulation. Sections 11 to 15 of the ESA, 2007 outline the required content timelines for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Recovery strategies are required to be prepared for endangered and threatened species within one or two years respectively of the species being added to the Species at Risk in Ontario list. There is a transition period of five years (until June 30, 2013) to develop recovery strategies for those species listed as endangered or threatened in the schedules of the ESA, 2007. Recovery strategies are required to be prepared for extirpated species only if reintroduction is considered feasible.

What's next?

Nine months after the completion of a recovery strategy a government response statement will be published which summarizes the actions that the Government of Ontario intends to take in response to the strategy. The implementation of recovery strategies depends on the continued cooperation and actions of government agencies, individuals, communities, land users, and conservationists.

For more information

To learn more about the species at risk recovery in Ontario, please visit the Ministry of Natural Resources Species at Risk webpage.

Recommended citation:

National Deerberry Recovery Team. 2010. Recovery Strategy for Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) in Ontario. Prepared for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Peterborough, Ontario. vi + 27 pp.

Cover illustration:

Rob Tervo

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2010
ISBN: 978-1-4435-2091-1 (PDF)

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Authors

National Deerberry Recovery Team (see list of members).

Acknowledgments

We thank recovery team members for their contributions to the preparation of the Deerberry Recovery Strategy. We also thank Adele Crowder for her work in writing the initial draft recovery strategy. Special thanks to both the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Parks Canada Agency for the financial support required to complete this strategy.

Declaration

The Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources has led the development of this recovery strategy for Deerberry in accordance with the requirements of the Endangered Species Act, 2007 (ESA 2007). This recovery strategy has been prepared as advice to the Government of Ontario, other responsible jurisdictions and the many different constituencies that may be involved in recovering the species.

The recovery strategy does not necessarily represent the views of all of the individuals who provided advice or contributed to its preparation, or the official positions of the organizations with which the individuals are associated.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best available knowledge and are subject to revision as new information becomes available. Implementation of this strategy is subject to appropriations, priorities and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy.

Responsible jurisdictions

Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
Parks Canada Agency
Environment Canada - Canadian Wildlife Service, Ontario

Executive summary

Deerberry (Vaccinium stamineum) is a short, colonial shrub in the Heath family, in the genus Vaccinium which includes blueberries and cranberries. Deerberry is designated as threatened by both the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and by the Committee on the Status of Species at Risk in Ontario (COSSARO). Deerberry is listed as threatened under Schedule 1 of the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA) and under the Species at Risk in Ontario List (Ontario Reg. 230/08).

Less that one percent of the global range of Deerberry occurs in Canada, where it is located in only two areas, both in Ontario: the Niagara region and the Thousand Islands region. There are a total of six sites with extant populations in Ontario, one in the Niagara region and five in the Thousand Islands region. At least six additional populations in the Niagara region have been extirpated in the last 70 years. The overall population in the Thousand Islands region has been fairly stable for the last 40 years. The extant Niagara population consists of only three colonies with a total of nine stems and is protected by the Niagara Parks Commission. The population in the Thousand Islands region is larger. There, St. Lawrence Islands National Park protects four of the five sites. Two of these sites contain populations that originated from introductions. One site in the Thousand Islands region is located on private property.

Deerberry occurs in open oak woodland in the Niagara region and in woodland containing Red Oak (Quercus rubra), Pitch Pine (Pinus rigida), and White Pine (Pinus strobus) in the Thousand Islands region. These vegetation types are usually considered to be associated with past fires and are seral communities (intermediate successional stages).

Several inherent characteristics may be limiting factors for Deerberry at its northernmost range limit. These include low reproductive success, lack of winter hardiness, low genetic diversity, a possible lack of seed or pollen vectors, and competition from other plant species such as blueberries. The lack of reproductive success is the most serious challenge for Deerberry recovery. No natural seedling establishment has been observed in Ontario to date although plants set fertile fruit.

Threats to Deerberry include a lack of available habitat due to natural succession or fire suppression, trampling, and erosion or soil slumping. In some areas deer browsing may be a significant threat. Several factors not currently thought to seriously affect populations may actually be or become potential threats, including invasive species, urbanization, and disease pathogens.

Many recovery actions have already been completed or are underway, most notably reintroductions at St. Lawrence Islands National Park, research on germination and genetics, and spraying to eliminate European Buckthorn (Rhamnus cathartica) at the Niagara site.

Knowledge gaps that must be filled in order to make recovery efforts more effective include determining the cause of Deerberry's low reproductive success, the habitat requirements of the species, the role of fire in habitat creation and maintenance, the genetic variability of local populations, the environmental conditions necessary for seedling establishment, and the life history of Deerberry such as knowledge of vectors, mycorrhizal associations and pathogens.

The goal of this recovery strategy is to ensure that Deerberry persists in its natural habitat at known sites with no decline in population sizes over the short term and with increases in both the number of populations and population sizes until it is deemed that the species is no longer at risk in either of the two regions where it is found in Ontario.

The recovery objectives are:

  1. Persistence of Deerberry in its current habitat at all known natural and viable reintroduction sites, with population sizes remaining stable or increasing for the next 10 years and beyond.

  2. Identification of measures necessary to mitigate threats to the species and its habitat, and implementation of mitigation as appropriate.

  3. Completion of research and monitoring needed to document and assess habitat requirements, genetic diversity, life history, and population trends.

  4. Provision of adequate habitat for species recovery through planning for, protecting and restoring existing and potential habitat, and the augmentation, reintroduction and introduction of populations into suitable habitat.

Recommended approaches to help achieve these objectives are outlined in areas of management and stewardship, research and monitoring, restoration, and outreach and collaboration. Performance measures are given which tie recovery milestones to timelines over the next five years.

It is recommended that areas where natural populations or successfully introduced populations occur be prescribed as habitat within a habitat regulation. It is further recommended that the area within 30 metres around the external extent of each occurrence be prescribed as habitat within the regulation. Where occurrences are separated by more than 30 metres but there is contiguous suitable habitat in the intervening area (based on Ecological Land Classification), this area should also be included in the habitat regulation.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) au Canada

Collection des programmes de rétablissement de l'Ontario
Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) en Ontario

Telle que fournie par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Équipe du rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. 2010. Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) en Ontario Préparé par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario. Peterborough, Ontario. vi + 27 p.

Collection des programmes de rétablissement de l'Ontario

Programme de rétablissement préparé en vertu de la Loide 2007 sur les espéces en voie de disparition Collection des programmes de rétablissement de l'Ontario Airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) de l'Ontario Décembre 2010

Airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) de l'Ontario

Programme de rétablissement préparé en vertu de la Loi de 2007 sur les espéces en voie de disparition

Février 2010

Quelques mots sur la collection des programmes de rétablissement de l'Ontario

La collection des programmes de rétablissement vise à conseiller le gouvernement de l'Ontario quant à l'approche recommandée pour le rétablissement des espèces en péril. Ces programmes s'inscrivent dans le cadre des engagements pris par la province aux termes de la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en vole de disparition (LEVD, 2007) et de l'Accord pour la protection des espéces en péril au Canada.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Le rétablissement des espèces en péril est Fensemble des mesures visant à arréter our à inverser le déclin d'une espéce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays et à supprimer les menaces pesant sur elle, de manière à améliorer ses chances de survie dans la nature.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Selon la Loi de 2007 sur les espè en voie de disparition, les programmes de rétablissement doivent fournir les meilleures données scientifiques disponibles pour favoriser le rétablissement de Fespèce visée. Ils énoncent les besoins de l'espèce en matière d'habitat ainsi que les menaces à sa survie et à son rétablissement. Ils présentent également des recommandations sur les objectifs à atteindre en vue de protéger et de rétablir l'espèce, sur les approches à adopter pour atteidre les objectifs recommandés et sur Faire qui devrait ètre prise en considération lors de Félaboration d'un règlement concernant l'habitat de l'espèce. Les articles 11 à 15 de la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition traitent des exigences relatives au contenu et au calendrier entourant l'élaboration des programmes de rétablissement publiés dans la collection.

Le programme de rétablissement d'une espèce menacée et en voie de disparition doit ètre élaboré dans l'année ou les deux années suivant son inscription sur la Liste des espèces en péril en Ontario. Dans le cas des espèces en voie de disparition, le gouvernement dispose d'une période de transition de cinq ans (jusqu'au 30 juin 2013) pour agir. Un programme de rétablissement doit ètre préparé pour les espèces disparues seulement si on estime que leur réintroduction est réalisable.

Prochaines étapes

Dans les neuf mois suivant l'élaboration d'un programme de rétablissement, une déclaration résumant les mesures que le gouvernement de l'Ontario entend prendre en réponse au programme sera publiée. La mise en œuvre des programmes de rétablissement repose sur la collaboration soutenue des orgranismes gouvernementaux, du grand public, des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des protecteurs de l'environnement ainsi que sur les mesures qu'ils appliquent.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir davantage au sujet du rétablissement des espèces en péril en Ontario, consultez le site Web des espèces en péril du ministère des Richesses naturelles.

Citation recommandée :

Équipe du rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. 2010. Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) en Ontario. Préparé pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario. Peterborough, Ontario. vii + 33 p.

Illustration de la couverture :

Rob Tervo

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2010
ISBN : 978-1-4435-2091-1 (PDF)

Le contenu (sauf l'illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, en citant convenablement la source.

Auteurs

Équipe nationale du rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines (voir la liste des membres).

Remerciements

Nous remercions les membres de l'Équipe du rétablissement pour leur participation à la préparation du Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. Nous remercions également Adele Crowder pour la rédaction de la première ébauche du programme de rétablissement et tout particulièrement le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario et l'Agence Parcs Canada pour l'appui financier nécessaire à l'achèvement du présent programme.

Déclaration

Le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario a dirigé l'élaboration du présent Programme de rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines conformément aux exigences de la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition (LEVD, 2007). Le Programme de rétablissement a été préparée à titre consultatif pour le Gouvernement de l'Ontario, d'autres compétences responsables et les nombreux intervenants qui pourraient participer au rétablissement de l'espèce.

Le programme de rétablissement ne représente pas nécessairement les opinions de toutes les personnes qui ont prodigué des conseils ou participé à sa préparation, ni la position officielle des organisations auxquelles ces personnes sont associées.

Les buts, les objectifs et les méthodes de rétablissement présentés dans le programme se fondent sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles et pourraient être modifiés au fur et à mesure que de nouveaux renseignements deviennent disponibles. La mise en œuvre du programme est assujettie aux crédits et contraintes budgétaires ainsi qu'aux priorités des instances et des organisations participantes.

La réussite du rétablissement de l'espèce se fonde sur l'engagement et la coopération des nombreux et différents intervenants qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des orientations énoncées dans le programme.

Autorités responsables

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario
Agence Parcs Canada
Environnement Canada - Service canadien de la faune, Ontario

Résumé

L'airelle à longues étamines (Vaccinium stamineum) est un arbuste colonial de la famille des éricacées et du genre Vaccinium, qui comprend les myrtilles, les bleuets et les canneberges. Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) ainsi que le Comité de détermination du statut des espèces en péril en Ontario (CDSEPO) ont tous deux désigné l'airelle à longues étamines comme " espèce menacée ". L'espèce figure sur la liste des espèces menacées de l'Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada et sur la Liste des espèces en péril en Ontario (Règlement de l'Ontario 230/08).

Moins de 1 % de l'aire de répartition mondiale de l'airelle à longues étamines se trouve au Canada où on la rencontre dans seulement deux secteurs de l'Ontario, le secteur du Niagara et le secteur des Mille-Îles. En Ontario, il existe six emplacements où subsistent des populations, un dans la région de Niagara et cinq dans la région des Mille Îles. Au cours des 70 dernières années, au moins six autres populations de la région du Niagara sont disparues. La population globale du secteur des Mille-Îles est demeurée relativement stable pendant les quarante dernières années. La population qui subsiste dans le secteur du Niagara ne compte que trois colonies avec un total de neuf tiges et est protégée par la Commission des parcs du Niagara. La population du secteur des Mille Îles est plus vaste. À cet endroit, le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent protège quatre des cinq emplacements. Parmi ceux-ci, deux abritent des populations issues d'introductions. Un emplacement du secteur des Mille-Îles est situé sur une propriété privée.

L'airelle à longues étamines est présente dans les chênaies ouvertes du secteur du Niagara et dans des forêts à chêne rouge (Quercus rubra), à pin rigide (Pinus rigida) et à pin blanc (Pinus strobus) dans le secteur des Mille Îles. On considère habituellement que ces types de végétation sont associés à d'anciens incendies de forêt et que ce sont des communautés de transition (stades de succession intermédiaires).

Plusieurs caractéristiques inhérentes peuvent constituer des facteurs limitatifs pour l'airelle à longues étamines à la limite la plus nordique de son aire de répartition, notamment un faible succès de reproduction, une faible rusticité, une faible diversité génétique, un possible manque de vecteurs de semences ou de pollens et la compétition d'autres espèces de plantes comme les bleuets. Le faible succès de reproduction représente le problème le plus grave pour le rétablissement de l'airelle à longues étamines. Aucun établissement naturel de semis n'a été observé en Ontario à ce jour même si les plants produisent des fruits fertiles.

Au nombre des menaces pesant sur l'airelle à longues étamines, mentionnons un manque d'habitat disponible en raison de la succession naturelle ou de la suppression des incendies, les dommages dus au piétinement, à l'érosion et à l'affaissement du sol. Dans certaines zones, le broutage des cerfs peut représenter une menace importante. Plusieurs facteurs, non considérés actuellement comme des nuisances sérieuses pour les populations, pourraient en réalité être ou devenir des menaces éventuelles, notamment les espèces envahissantes, l'urbanisation et les agents pathogènes de maladies.

De nombreuses mesures de rétablissement ont déjà été achevées ou sont en cours de réalisation, plus particulièrement des réintroductions au parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint Laurent, de la recherche sur la germination et la génétique de l'espèce ainsi que la pulvérisation visant à éliminer le nerprun cathartique (Rhamnus cathartica) à l'emplacement du Niagara.

Parmi les lacunes en matière de connaissances à combler pour rendre plus efficaces les mesures de rétablissement, on compte le fait de déterminer la cause du faible succès de reproduction, les exigences en matière d'habitat de l'espèce, le rôle des incendies dans la création et le maintien des habitats, la variabilité génétique des populations locales, les conditions environnementales nécessaires à l'établissement des semis et le cycle vital de l'airelle à longues étamines comme la connaissance des vecteurs, des associations mycorhiziennes et des agents pathogènes.

Le présent programme de rétablissement vise à ce que l'airelle à longues étamines demeure dans son habitat naturel sur les emplacements connus sans déclin de la taille des populations à court terme et avec des augmentations à la fois du nombre et de la taille des populations jusqu'à ce qu'on estime que l'espèce n'est plus en péril dans les deux régions où on la retrouve en Ontario.

Les objectifs du rétablissement sont les suivants :

  1. La persistance de l'airelle à longues étamines dans son habitat actuel dans tous les emplacements connus de réintroduction naturels et viables, avec des tailles de populations demeurant stables ou augmentant au cours des dix prochaines années et au delà.

  2. Le fait de cerner les mesures nécessaires afin d'atténuer les menaces pesant sur l'espèce et son habitat ainsi que la mise en œuvre de mesures d'atténuation au besoin.

  3. L'achèvement des recherches et de la surveillance nécessaires afin de documenter et d'évaluer les exigences en matière d'habitat, la diversité génétique, le cycle vital et les tendances démographiques.

  4. Le fait de fournir un habitat convenable pour le rétablissement de l'espèce en planifiant, en protégeant et en remettant en état l'habitat actuel et éventuel, de même que l'augmentation, la réintroduction et l'introduction de populations dans un habitat convenable.

Les méthodes recommandées pour atteindre ces objectifs sont définies dans les domaines de la gestion et de la gouvernance, de la recherche et de la surveillance, de la remise en état, ainsi que de la sensibilisation et de la collaboration. On présente les mesures de rendement qui relient les étapes du rétablissement aux échéanciers des cinq prochaines années.

On recommande que les secteurs où se trouvent des populations naturelles ou des populations introduites avec succès soient considérés comme l'habitat dans le cadre d'un règlement sur la protection de l'habitat. On recommande en outre que la zone de 30 mètres entourant la limite externe de chaque occurrence soit établie comme habitat dans le cadre du règlement. Là où les occurrences sont séparées par plus de 30 mètres mais qu'il existe un habitat convenable contigu dans la zone intermédiaire (en se fondant sur la Classification écologique des terres), cette zone devrait également être visée par le règlement sur la protection de l'habitat.