Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Baikal Sedge in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

The greatest threat to the persistence of populations ofCarex sabulosa would be through natural changes to the dune systems. At the Kaskawulsh/Dezadeash river dunes, the Carex sabulosa plant community likely leads a precarious existence. Changes to the habitat could come through natural succession or climate change that might affect the glaciers, and subsequent changes in wind speeds, along the Alsek River.

Threats of disturbance from recreational use are of little concern at the Kaskawulsh/Dezadeash or Takhini River (north) dunes. The former is located in the Kluane National Park Reserve while the latter is accessible only by canoe and is not visible from the river. The remaining three systems may be threatened with increased recreation vehicle use. Carex sabulosa clones at these sites are not drastically impacted with light use since the root and rhizome system is relatively deep (Figure 10) and not disturbed by minimal surface disturbance. Heavy use, however, which packs the sand, can eliminate C. sabulosa clones. This compaction, and subsequent elimination of vegetation, is most evident at the Klondike Highway dunes (Figures 11 and 12).


Figure 11: Heavy Recreational Vehicle Use, Which Packs the Sand and Eliminates Carex sabulosa Clones, is Evident Here on the Klondike Highway Dunes, Near Carcross

Figure 11: Heavy recreational vehicle use, which packs the sand and eliminates Carex sabulosa clones, is evident here on the Klondike Highway dunes, near Carcross.

The vegetation on either side of the tracks, which has received lighter use, is able to persist (Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Figure 12: Recreational Use by an All-terrain Vehicle on the Klondike Highway Dune System Near the Town of Carcross

Figure 12: Recreational use by an all-terrain vehicle on the Klondike Highway dune system near the town of Carcross.

Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.

At the Carcross Klondike Highway dunes, there is the imminent threat of development of a large hotel and resort complex to be completed in 2006. This development could change wind patterns or sand distribution and dune stabilization at this site and would almost certainly lead to vegetation invasion. Increased recreational use of the dunes would also result from the regular, scheduled, tourist stops of the White Pass Railroad at Carcross planned as part of the recent federal and territorial initiatives aimed at increasing economic growth and tourism in the area in 2006.

Another potential threat to the populations of C. sabulosa is their vulnerability to extirpation due to their small area occupied in Canada. Such geographically restricted populations are more vulnerable to demographic and environmental variation and loss of genetic variability (Primack 1998). Since suitable habitats for C. sabulosa are also extremely restricted, the opportunities for colonization and expansion are also limited.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le carex des sables au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

L’évolution naturelle des systèmes dunaires constitue la plus grande menace susceptible de compromettre la survie des populations de Carex sabulosa. Dans les dunes des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash, la population de Carex sabulosa mène probablement une existence précaire. L’habitat pourrait être modifié par la succession naturelle ou les effets des changements climatiques sur les glaciers, qui pourraient s’accompagner d’impacts sur la vélocité des vents le long de la rivière Alsek.

Les perturbations attribuables à l’utilisation des dunes à des fins récréatives ne sont pas une menace sérieuse dans les dunes des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash ou de la rivière Takhini (dunes nord). Les premières sont situées dans la réserve de parc national Kluane, alors que les secondes ne sont accessibles que par canot et impossibles à apercevoir à partir de la rivière. Les trois autres systèmes dunaires pourraient être menacés par l’accroissement de la circulation des véhicules récréatifs. Les clones de Carex sabulosa de ces sites ne sont pas très affectés par une circulation légère, car leur système racinaire et leurs rhizomes sont relativement profonds (figure 10) et peu endommagés par des perturbations de surface de faible intensité. Par contre, la circulation intensive, en compactant le sable, peut détruire les clones de C. sabulosa. Cette compaction et la destruction subséquente de la végétation sont les plus évidentes dans les dunes de la route du Klondike (figures 11 et 12).

Dans les dunes de la route du Klondike près de Carcross, la construction d’un grand hôtel et d’un complexe de villégiature dont l’achèvement est prévu pour 2006 constitue une menace imminente. Cet aménagement risque de modifier la trajectoire des vents ou le charriage du sable et la stabilisation des dunes à cet endroit, et s’accompagnera certainement d’une invasion de végétaux. Les arrêts touristiques réguliers prévus à Carcross sur le chemin de fer de White Pass, qui ont été planifiés dans le cadre de récentes initiatives des gouvernements fédéral et territorial visant à stimuler la croissance économique et le tourisme dans la région en 2006, se traduiront par une intensification de l’exploitation des dunes à des fins récréatives.

Une autre menace potentielle pesant sur les populations de C. sabulosa réside dans la vulnérabilité de l’espèce à la disparition du pays en raison de sa petite zone d’occupation au Canada. De telles populations restreintes dans leur étendue géographique sont plus vulnérables aux variations démographiques et environnementales et à la perte de variabilité génétique (Primack, 1998). Étant donné que les habitats qui conviennent au C. sabulosa sont très rares, les possibilités de colonisation et de dispersion sont également limitées.