Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Baikal Sedge in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Carex sabulosa occurs only on semi-stabilized or active sand dunes. These dunes are usually 0.6 to 4 m deep. Although the ramets of these rhizomatous plants have the ability to send up new ramets when older ones have been completely buried, sand deposits greater than 1 m in depth, occurring over short periods, appear to restrict the growth of the ramets.

In the Kluane National Park Reserve, Carex sabulosa forms a plant community type that occurs only on the semi-stabilized sand dunes near the confluence of the Kaskawulsh and Dezadeash rivers (Figure 4, Douglas 1974). In 2003, almost all of the available dunes system was vegetated with the Carex sabulosa community type. This community type is a pioneer community on the dunes and appears to be relatively stable with only minimal invasion on the dune edges. It is a relatively young community since it is located on the site of Recent Lake Alsek. This proglacial lake, formed by the damming of the Alsek River by the Lowell Glacier, existed 150 years ago and had an upper shoreline at an elevation of about 604 to 640 m (Kindle 1952, Johnson and Raup 1964).

The Carex sabulosa community type at the Kaskawulsh and Dezadeash rivers has a low mean average cover of 15% and a frequency of 98% and is the only prominent species in this community type (Douglas 1974). Other constant species, with low prominence, include Elymus calderi (formerly known as Agropyron yukonensis), Equisetum pratense, and Artemisia alaskana. An average of five species per stand (total of 10) occur in this community. Juniperus communis, which was not encountered in any of the sampled stands, is a sporadic invader of the Carex sabulosa community. Only one other rare plant species, Corispermum ochotense var. alaskanumFootnote 4, occurs on the dunes. It occurs at only two other sites in the Yukon (Douglas et al. 2004).

At the Takhini River and the Bennett Lake dune systems the dunes are generally much more active than those at the Kaskawulsh and Dezadeash rivers. Sand accumulations, however, are not greater than the species can tolerate. About 75% of these dunes were vegetated in 2003. On these sparsely vegetated dunes, Carex sabulosa is always the most prominent species and may occur with a number of other species (Figures 5 and 6) or may be the sole species present (Figures 7 and 8). Other frequent, but sparse, dune species include Artemisia campestris, Aster sibiricus, Bromus pumpellianus, Calamagrostis purpurascens, Elymus calderi, Equisetum arvense, Festuca saximontana, Kobresia myosuroides, Lupinus kuschei, Oxytropis campestris, Pinus contorta, Populus balsamifera, Polemonium pulcherrimum, Silene acaulis and Solidago simplex.


Figure 5: The Semi-stabilized Dunes Near the Confluence of the Kaskawulsh and Dezadeash Rivers Occur on the Former Lakebed of Recent Lake Alsek

Figure 5: The semi-stabilized dunes near the confluence of the Kaskawulsh and Dezadeash Rivers occur on the former lakebed of Recent Lake Alsek.

The beach ridges of Recent Lake Alsek are evident on the lower mountain slopes (Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Figure 6: The Well-vegetated Portion of the Dune System at Takhini River (South Dunes)

Figure 6: The well-vegetated portion of the dune system atTakhiniRiver(south dunes).

Carex sabulosa is the most abundant species in this view but many associates are also evident (Photo by S.J. Smith,Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Figure 7: The Entrance to the Takhini River (North Dunes) System

Figure 7: The entrance to the Takhini River (north dunes) system.

Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.


Figure 8: Carex sabulosa Abundance on Parts of the Dune System at Bennett Lake, Near the Town of Carcross

Figure 8. Carex sabulosa abundance on parts of the dune system at BennettLake, near the town of Carcross.

It is essentially the only species on the active dunes (Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Figure 9: Extent of Vegetational Cover of Dune System Near Carcross

Figure 9: Extent of vegetational cover of dune system near Carcross.

Almost 90% of this dune system along the Klondike Highway, near the town of Carcross, is unvegetated. This is due mainly to extremely high winds that move large amounts of sand that completely cover the vegetation (Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).

The dune system along the Klondike Highway, near Carcross, included the most active dunes encountered. In fact, sand distribution and accumulations are so great that Carex sabulosa is unable to persist on about 90% of the dunes. Although there is evidence of invasion by Pinus contorta and Populus balsamifera, it is likely that sand movement eliminates about the same percentage of older trees. Most of the vegetation at the dunes consists solely of Carex sabulosa, but in some areas many of the species mentioned above may be found.

The habitat of the Christmas Bay, Kluane Lake, location remains unknown since collection label information is lacking and attempts to relocate the site in 2003 were unsuccessful. There were only several m² of dune blowouts and less than 200 m² of sandy beach at this location.


Trends

The sand dune habitat of Carex sabulosa has been substantially reduced since glaciation. The reductions are mostly due to invading vegetation through natural succession where dune formation is no longer able to continue. The dunes that remain appear to be maintained at present by a consistent source of materials and consistent winds.

Air photos taken during the mid-1940s and, more recently, between 1977 and 1999, indicate that all but one of the five extant dunes systems remain unchanged. Only the Bennett Lake dunes, near Carcross, show significant changes between 1948 and 1999. There appears to be a reduction of about 15 to 20% in dune area at this site.

Observations made by G.W. Douglas in 1974, 1978, 1992 and 2003 indicate that the large central area of the dunes along the Klondike Highway, near Carcross, has remained mostly unvegetated during recent years. It is likely that winds coming off Bennett Lake are much stronger than those encountered on the other dune systems in the southern Yukon.


Protection/Ownership

The largest population of Carex sabulosa in the Yukon occurs at the confluence of the Dezadeash and Kaskawulsh rivers in Kluane National Park Reserve. The dune systems along the Takhini River will be protected within the boundaries of the proposed Kusawa Territorial Park, the establishment of which was triggered by the signing of the Kwanlin Dun First Nation’s Final Agreement in February 2005. However, a management plan for this park will not be drawn up until the Carcross/Tagish First Nation ratifies their final agreement. The other extant dune systems at the Takhini River and Carcross occur on Crown land.

Footnotes

Footnote 4

This species was recorded by G.W. Douglas at the Kaskawulsh/Dezadeash rivers and at Christmas Bay, Kluane Lake during a 2003 survey. This plant had not been recorded south of the Dawson area previously.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le carex des sables au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Le Carex sabulosa occupe surtout des dunes semi-stabilisées ou actives. Ces dunes sont généralement d’une profondeur de 0,6 à 4 m. Ces plantes rhizomateuses ont la capacité de projeter de nouveaux ramets lorsque les plus vieux ont été complètement enfouis, mais l’accumulation de dépôts de sable de plus d’un mètre d’épaisseur sur une courte période semble entraver la croissance des ramets.

Dans la réserve de parc national Kluane, le Carex sabulosa forme un type de communauté végétale qui n’existe que dans les dunes de sable semi-stabilisées près de la confluence des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash (figure 4; Douglas, 1974). En 2003, presque tous les systèmes dunaires disponibles étaient peuplés par la communauté végétale du Carex sabulosa. Il s’agit d’une communauté pionnière des dunes, qui semble relativement stable et ne subir qu’une invasion minimale en bordure des dunes. Cette communauté est relativement jeune, puisqu’elle est située sur le site du dernier lac Alsek. Ce lac proglaciaire, créé par l’endiguement de la rivière Alsek par le glacier Lowell, existait il y a 150 ans, et ses berges se trouvaient à une altitude de 604 à 640 m environ (Kindle, 1952; Johnson et Raup, 1964).

Le type de communauté à Carex sabulosa des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash a un couvert moyen de 15 p. 100 seulement et une fréquence de 98 p. 100. Le Carex sabulosa est la seule espèce dominante dans ce type de communauté (Douglas, 1974). Parmi les autres espèces généralement présentes, quoiqu’en petit nombre, figurent l’Elymus calderi (ancien nom : Agropyron yukonensis), l’Equisetum pratense et l’Artemisia alaskana. On compte en moyenne cinq espèces par peuplement (dix au total) dans cette communauté. Le Juniperus communis, qui n’a été observé dans aucun des peuplements échantillonnés, est un envahisseur sporadique des communautés de Carex sabulosa. Une seule autre espèce de plante rare existe dans ces dunes, soit le Corispermum ochotense var. alaskanumNote de bas de page 6. On le trouve dans seulement deux autres localités au Yukon (Douglas et al., 2004).

Les dunes des systèmes de la rivière Takhini et du lac Bennett sont généralement beaucoup plus actives que celles des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash. Les accumulations de sable, toutefois, n’y dépassent pas le seuil de tolérance de l’espèce. Environ 75 p. 100 de ces dunes étaient végétalisées en 2003. Sur ces dunes au couvert végétal épars, le Carex sabulosa est toujours l’espèce dominante et peut soit partager l’habitat avec quelques autres espèces (figures 5 et 6), soit être la seule espèce présente (figures 7 et 8). Parmi les autres espèces courantes, mais éparses, que l’on rencontre dans ces dunes, mentionnons : Artemisia campestris, Aster sibiricus, Bromus pumpellianus, Calamagrostis purpurascens, Elymus calderi, Equisetum arvense, Festuca saximontana, Kobresia myosuroides, Lupinus kuschei, Oxytropis campestris, Pinus contorta, Populus balsamifera, Polemonium pulcherrimum, Silene acaulis et Solidago simplex.


Figure 5 : Les dunes semi-stabilisées près de la confluence des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash se trouvent sur l’ancien lit du dernier lac Alsek

Figure 5 : Les dunes semi-stabilisées près de la confluence des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash se trouvent sur l’ancien lit du dernier lac Alsek.

Les crêtes de plage du dernier lac Alsek sont visibles au pied des montagnes (photo : S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).

Les dunes les plus actives observées se trouvent dans le système dunaire le long de la route du Klondike, près de Carcross. En fait, le charriage et l’accumulation de sable y sont si importants que le Carex sabulosa est incapable de survivre dans environ 90 p. 100 de ces dunes. Bien que l’on ait observé des invasions par le Pinus contorta et le Populus balsamifera, il est probable que les déplacements de sable éliminent les arbres matures dans une même proportion. La plupart de la végétation de ces dunes consiste en des peuplements monospécifiques de Carex sabulosa, mais en certains endroits beaucoup des autres espèces susmentionnées sont présentes.

L’emplacement de l’habitat de la baie Christmas, au lac Kluane, demeure inconnu, car l’information sur le spécimen est incomplète et les tentatives pour retrouver la localité en 2003 ont échoué. On ne trouve que quelques mètres carrés de creux de déflation et moins de 200 m2 de plage sableuse à cet endroit.


Figure 6 : Partie fortement végétalisée du système dunaire de la rivière Takhini (dunes sud)

Figure 6 : Partie fortement végétalisée du système dunaire de la rivière Takhini (dunes sud).

Le Carex sabulosa y est l’espèce la plus abondante, mais on voit également plusieurs espèces associées (photo : S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Figure 7 : Le passage vers le système dunaire de la rivière Takhini (dunes nord)

Figure 7 : Le passage vers le système dunaire de la rivière Takhini (dunes nord).

Photo : S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.


Figure 8 : Abondance du Carex sabulosa sur une partie du système dunaire du lac Bennett, près du village de Carcross

Figure 8 : Abondance du Carex sabulosa sur une partie du système dunaire du lac Bennett, près du village de Carcross.

Il s’agit essentiellement de la seule espèce poussant sur les dunes actives (photo : S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Figure 9 : Étendue du couvert végétal du système dunaire près de Carcross

Figure 9 : Étendue du couvert végétal du système dunaire près de Carcross.

Presque 90 p. 100 de ce système dunaire, situé le long de la route du Klondike, près du village de Carcross, ne portent aucune végétation, principalement à cause des vents extrêmement violents qui charrient de grandes quantités de sable, couvrant complètement la végétation (photo : S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).


Tendances en matière d’habitat

L’habitat de dunes de sable du Carex sabulosa a considérablement diminué depuis l’ère glaciaire. Ce déclin est principalement attribuable à un processus naturel de succession, par lequel la végétation envahit les dunes et empêche la régénérescence de celles-ci. Les dunes qui persistent aujourd’hui semblent être entretenues par un apport continu de matériau et des vents constants.

Des photographies aériennes prises au milieu des années 1940 et entre 1977 et 1999 révèlent que tous les systèmes dunaires existants, sauf un, n’ont pas évolué pendant cette période. Seules les dunes du lac Bennett, près de Carcross, ont changé entre 1948 et 1999; leur superficie semble avoir diminué d’environ 15 à 20 p. 100.

Les observations de G.W. Douglas, effectuées en 1974, 1978, 1992 et 2003, indiquent que la grande section centrale des dunes courant le long de la route du Klondike, près de Carcross, est demeurée en grande partie dépourvue de couvert végétal au cours des dernières années. Les vents en provenance du lac Bennett sont probablement beaucoup plus violents que ceux soufflant dans les autres systèmes dunaires du sud du Yukon.


Protection et propriété

La plus grande population de Carex sabulosa du Yukon se trouve à la confluence des rivières Dezadeash et Kaskawulsh, dans la réserve de parc national Kluane. Les systèmes dunaires le long de la rivière Takhini seront inclus dans les limites du parc territorial Kusawa proposé, et donc protégés. La création de ce parc a été enclenchée par la signature d’un accord final avec la Première Nation Kwanlin Dun en février 2005. Cependant, le plan de gestion du parc ne sera pas élaboré tant que la Première nation Carcross/Tagish n’aura pas ratifié l’accord final. Les autres systèmes dunaires de la rivière Takhini et de Carcross se trouvent dans le territoire domanial.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 6

Cette espèce a été signalée par G.W. Douglas près des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash et à la baie Christmas du lac Kluane au cours d’un relevé mené en 2003. Elle n’avait jamais été observée au sud de Dawson auparavant.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6