Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Baikal Sedge in Canada

Biology

General

The biology of Carex sabulosa has not been studied. It is evident, however, that this species can withstand high, desiccating winds and tolerates shifting sands, which can bury most of the clones.


Reproduction

Reproduction of Carex sabulosa is by seed and rhizomes. It is apparent, from the widely disjunctive populations in northwestern North America, that dispersal of the seeds, over at least moderate distances, is possible. On both the active (Carcross and Takhini River) and semi-stabilized (Kaskawulsh/Dezadeash Rivers) sand dunes, the rhizomatous nature of the plants is readily evident (Figure 9).


Survival

Sand deposits of depths greater than 1 m, over short periods of time, appear to restrict or prevent the growth of Carex sabulosa ramets.


Physiology

No information is available.


Genetics

No information is available.


Movements/Dispersal

Carex sabulosa reproduces successfully from rhizomes in local populations. The population at the confluence of the Kaskawulsh/Dezadeash rivers occupies, due mainly to its rhizomatous habit, almost all the stabilized sand dune habitat in the area. This is also readily evident on the active dunes at Carcross. Parts of the latter dunes, and about 90% of the dunes along Klondike Highway at Carcross, are so unstable that vascular plants are unable to establish.


Figure 10: Exposed Root System of Carex sabulosa at the Klondike Highway Dunes, Near Carcross

Figure 10: Exposed root system of Carex sabulosa at the Klondike Highwaydunes, near Carcross.

The root system (a rusty-brown colour when seen in the field) is readily evident at this eroded sand bank. All the fibrous roots in this photo belong to Carex sabulosa clones. Below-ground biomass at this site is probably 10 to 20 times greater than above-ground biomass (Photo by S.J. Smith, Douglas Ecological Consultants Ltd.).

Dispersal of C. sabulosa by seeds, over at least moderate distances of 40 to 100 km is demonstrated by the Yukon sites (Figure 4). It is quite evident from geomorphological features that sand dunes were a common feature on the landscape during the Pleistocene. It is likely that Carex sabulosa would have been required to move at intervals to temporarily ice-free sites during the Pleistocene since most of the region was covered by ice at various times. Studies indicate that all the valleys in the region were covered to a depth of 1825 to 2194 m elevation (Kindle 1952, Day 1962, Krinsley 1965, Muller 1967). Wheeler (1963) noted glacial erratics at an even higher elevation than 2194 m on Outpost Mountain just south of Kluane Lake.

Movement of the species between the southern Yukon and the nearest North American site, 900 km away in central Alaska, was probably by occupation of smaller refugia or temporarily ice-free areas during glaciation. Transportation by birds is also a possibility. In Alaska, C. sabulosa occurs in the Nogahabara Sand Dunes within the Koyukuk National Wildlife Refuge (Alaska Natural Heritage Program, 2002). This refuge is within the Alaska/Yukon Refugium, an extensive refugium that was ice-free during the Pleistocene. Rescue of Canadian populations by propagules from Alaskan plants is unlikely.


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

No information is available.


Behaviour/Adaptability

No information is available.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le carex des sables au Canada

Biologie

Généralités

La biologie du Carex sabulosa n’a jamais été étudiée. Par contre, il ne fait aucun doute que cette espèce résiste à des vents violents et desséchants, et tolère des déplacements de sable capables d’enfouir la plupart des clones.


Reproduction

Le Carex sabulosa se reproduit par des graines et des rhizomes. Les populations très disjointes du nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord semblent témoigner de la capacité de dispersion des graines, au moins sur de moyennes distances. Dans les dunes de sable actives (Carcross et rivière Takhini) et semi-stabilisées (rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash), la nature rhizomateuse de cette plante est très évidente (figure 9).


Survie

L’accumulation de dépôts de sable d’une épaisseur excédant un mètre sur une courte période semble ralentir ou empêcher la croissance des ramets de Carex sabulosa.


Physiologie

Aucune information disponible.


Génétique

Aucune information disponible.


Déplacements et dispersion

Le Carex sabulosa se reproduit avec succès en populations locales à partir des rhizomes. La population à la confluence des rivières Kaskawulsh et Dezadeash occupe, grâce à sa nature rhizomateuse, presque tout l’habitat de dunes de sable stabilisées du secteur. Cela est également évident dans les dunes actives de Carcross. Des parties de ces dernières et environ 90 p. 100 des dunes le long de la route du Klondike près de Carcross sont instables au point d’interdire toute colonisation par les plantes vasculaires.

La dispersion du C. sabulosa par les graines, au moins sur de moyennes distances de 40 à 100 km, est démontrée dans les localités du Yukon (figure 4). Les caractéristiques géomorphologiques montrent clairement que les dunes de sable étaient un élément commun du paysage au Pléistocène. Il est donc probable que le Carex sabulosa ait eu à se disperser de temps à autre vers des localités temporairement exemptes de glace au cours du Pléistocène, puisque la majeure partie de la région a été recouverte de glace à diverses époques. Certaines études indiquent que toutes les vallées de la région étaient recouvertes de glace jusqu’à une altitude de 1 825 à 2 194 m (Kindle, 1952; Day, 1962; Krinsley, 1965; Muller, 1967). Wheeler (1963) a observé des blocs erratiques à une élévation supérieure à 2 194 m sur le mont Outpost, tout juste au sud du lac Kluane.

La dispersion de l’espèce entre le sud du Yukon et la station nord-américaine la plus proche, à 900 km de là en Alaska centrale, s’est probablement faite par l’occupation de refuges de petite taille ou de zones temporairement exemptes de glace pendant l’ère glaciaire. Le transport par des oiseaux est également une possibilité. En Alaska, le C. sabulosa occupe les dunes de sable de Nogahabara, dans le Koyukuk National Wildlife Refuge (Alaska Natural Heritage Program, 2002). Cette aire protégée fait partie du refuge Alaska-Yukon, une grande région exempte de glace lors du Pléistocène. Une immigration dans les populations canadiennes de propagules provenant des plantes de l’Alaska est improbable.


Alimentation et relations interspécifiques

Aucune information disponible.


Comportement et adaptabilité

Aucune information disponible.