Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Barrens Willow (Salix jejuna Fernald)

PART II. RECOVERY

10.       Recovery Goal

The fact that the Barrens Willow is naturally restricted to a relatively rare habitat affects the scope of recovery. Increased risk of extinction is inherent to high habitat specificity in space and time (Keith 1998). This species will always remain rare with a relatively small population and very restricted distribution. Recovery in this case is dependent upon the removal or mitigation of anthropogenic threats. Notwithstanding natural limiting factors that might have a significant impact on the population, threat abatement should result in the long-term survival of the species; natural population size and distribution should remain stable. The recovery goal for the Barrens Willow is therefore to secure the long term persistence of the natural population throughout its range.

11.       Recovery Objectives

Recovery actions undertaken over the next five years should address the following five objectives towards the achievement of long-term recovery goals.

I.                                                       Assess and monitor the status of the natural population.

II.                                                    Assess range and population dynamics of the natural population.  

III.                                                  Define threats and limiting factors and mitigate controllable ones.

IV.                                                 Lessen to the extent possible additional habitat loss and degradation due to

                                    human activities.

V.                                                    Implement a stewardship program with local residents and targeted       

                                   groups.

 

12.       Approaches to Meet Recovery Objectives 

PriorityObjectivesActionsSpecific StepsKey Performance Indicators
UrgentI, II, III & IVBiological surveys

- Survey potential habitat within and around the species’ known range, to determine complete distribution and population size, and identify threats and their impact

- Identify and map areas where the species occurs

- Complete survey of potential habitat within the known range

- Comprehensive estimate of population size

- Geo-referenced data and maps available to managers, stakeholders and enforcement officers

- List of threats and their impact as observed in the field

UrgentI, II, III & IVHabitat protection

- Support the establishment by the provincial government of the proposed Cape Norman Ecological Reserve (type locality)

- Delineate critical habitat

- Identify and support other protection measures for occurrences outside reserves

- Advise the appropriate property custodian (Department of Fisheries and Oceans) and the federal Minister of the Environment regarding the protection of the Barrens Willow in the Cape Norman federal property

- Establishment of Cape Norman Ecological Reserve

- Map of critical habitat

- List of protection measures required at each site

- Initiation of protection process at each site

- Drafting of necessary regulations under the Provincial Endangered Species Act and Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act

- Completion of protection plan

- Drafting of the appropriate management policies for the Cape Norman federal property as required by the federal Species at Risk Act

 

UrgentI & IIMonitoring

- Establish long term monitoring of each population

- Determine and monitor land use patterns

- Establishment of monitoring plots

- Establishment and maintenance of geo-referenced database on land use activities

NecessaryI & IIDemographic research- Determine key demographic parameters (reproduction, growth, longevity, survivorship, persistence of seed bank and seed viability) based on monitoring data- Continued collection and analysis of demographic data
NecessaryI & IIITaxonomic research- Improve understanding of species definition- Preparation of descriptions, keys, illustrations and collection of specimens that clarify identification of this and other species of willows, and their hybrids
NecessaryI, II, III, IV & VEcological research

- Determine the ecological requirements of the species

- Define critical habitat

- Identify limiting factors and natural threats, including climate change

- Description of ecological requirements of the species

- List of limiting factors and natural threats and their actual and potential effect

- Use of ecological data in critical habitat models and analysis of viability of the population

NecessaryIV & VPublic outreach

- Survey local communities to determine the attitudes of local populations towards conservation of the species

- Encourage stewardship opportunities and produce education material

- Completion of initial survey

- Involvement of residents in stewardship initiatives

 

NecessaryI, II & IIICompliance to regulations- Work to ensure compliance to protection measures under the Endangered Species Act and the Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act (e.g. training of conservation officers and public information)

- Training of local conservation officers in the recognition of the species and its habitat

- Involvement of all relevant government departments

- Public awareness regarding the acts and attached regulations

- Frequent and regular of visits by compliance officers to the area

BeneficialIGenetic research

- Determine genetic diversity within and between populations

- Determine breeding system

- Description of genetic variability within and between populations

- Description of breeding system

BeneficialI, IV & VEx-situ conservation

- Establish an ex-situ collection of living plants and a tissue bank

- Develop techniques for cultivation and re-introduction if ever necessary

- Existence of an ex-situ collection of living plants and a tissue bank representative of genetic diversity observed in wild population

- Description of techniques required for cultivation and re-introduction of the species

BeneficialIII, IV & VRestoration- Identify and restore disturbed areas within the range with the aim of improving the aesthetic value of the landscape

- List of disturbed areas within the range

- Elaboration and completion of a restoration plan

13.       Ecological and Technical Feasibility of Species Recovery

As discussed above, the Barrens Willow will always remain rare and its survival is dependent upon the removal or mitigation of anthropogenic threats. Commercial exploitation and other development of the limestone barrens can be limited through internal cooperation among governmental agencies responsible for resource management. On the other hand, global warming, which may prove to be a significant anthropogenic threat, would be very difficult to address at a regional scale. It is beyond the scope of this recovery strategy.

Highest priority actions for recovery of this species consist of surveys, monitoring and habitat protection. Other important steps include demographic, taxonomic and ecological research, public outreach and compliance to regulations. Surveys, ecological research and habitat protection for the limestone barrens are already under way as part of recovery efforts for Long’s and Fernald’s Braya (Hermanutz et al. 2002). The same is true for public outreach, under the auspices of the Limestone Barrens Habitat Stewardship Program.

In order to clarify our understanding of threats and limiting factors, to complete surveys, and to set up monitoring sites, a large initial investment of time and resources will be needed. Efforts in terms of research, monitoring and compliance to regulations, and involvement with local communities will be long-term. Because the area where the species occurs is far from major centres, any work in the area and contact with local communities involves significant investments in terms of travel time and communication costs.

The ex-situ collection will provide an alternate source of material for research and possibly reduce costs as well as the need for destructive sampling of the wild population. This collection will also serve as a backup to conservation in the wild.

14.       Potential Impacts of Recovery Strategy on Other Species/Ecological Processes

The Barrens Willow is restricted to a rare habitat type,and lives within a unique biological community. Protection of this habitat will ensure protection of many of the other rare species and ecological processes characteristic of this unique ecosystem. Rare species found within the range of the Barrens Willow include the threatened Fernald’s Braya. Restoration aimed at improving the esthetic value of the landscape will increase its stewardship value and in the long-term possibly provide renewed natural habitat for limestone barren species. 

15.       Anticipated Conflicts or Challenges

The general area where this species occurs has been, and will likely continue to be, exploited as a source of limestone gravel for road building and maintenance. Management of local quarry operations is starting to take into account the presence of rare plants. However, conservation efforts should continue; and appropriate tools to inform managers of the occurrence of potential habitat should be developed and communications improved.

Part of the species’ range (Cape Norman) has been identified as the most important dolomite deposit on the west coast of Newfoundland. At this point in time, interest in this mineral resource, by the Newfoundland and Labrador Department of Mines and Energy, is only at the exploratory stage. No claim has been established.

Maintenance of roads and infrastructure within the range of the species could directly threaten portions of the population and conflict with recovery efforts. Mitigation measures may need to be developed.

Finally, there are economic challenges in the area which have the potential to create additional development pressure on the species and its habitat. These challenges have recently been aggravated by the collapse of the local fishery.

17.       Actions Completed or Underway

This recovery strategy will be implemented as part of a multi-species recovery effort centered on the coastal limestone barren habitats of the Great Northern Peninsula of Newfoundland (Hermanutz et al. 2002). Several actions are already underway, including a habitat stewardship program, ecological research into the physical factors and processes characterizing limestone barren habitats, surveys of potential habitat, and the development of an ex-situ collection of live specimens. Actions completed include the creation of an Ecological Reserve for the protection of rare plants in the southern portion of the species range (Watt’s Point). Potential habitat has been mapped. Finally, known areas of occurrence have been identified on the provincial Crown Lands Atlas as Sensitive Wildlife Areas, to ensure the referral of all development proposals for these areas to the Inland Fish and Wildlife Division for review.  

18.       Evaluation

See key performance indicators in Section 12. As well, an action plan detailing the approaches to meet recovery objectives will be prepared within a year of the release of this plan.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Saule des landes (Salix jejuna Fernald)

PARTIE II. RÉTABLISSEMENT

10.  But du rétablissement

Le fait que la présence du saule des landes est naturellement limitée à un habitat relativement rare a une incidence sur la portée du rétablissement. L'accroissement du risque d’extinction est une caractéristique inhérente aux espèces très dépendantes d’un habitat spécifique dans l’espace et dans le temps (Keith, 1998). Cette espèce restera toujours rare, aura toujours une population relativement petite et une répartition très limitée. Le rétablissement, dans ce cas, repose sur l’élimination ou l’atténuation des menaces anthropiques. Nonobstant les facteurs limitatifs naturels pouvant avoir une incidence importante sur la population, la réduction des menaces devrait entraîner la survie à long terme de l’espèce; la taille et la répartition naturelles de la population devraient rester stables. Le but du rétablissement du saule des landes est donc d’assurer la persistance à long terme de la population naturelle dans toute son aire de répartition.

11. Objectifs du rétablissement

Les mesures de rétablissement qui seront prises au cours des cinq prochaines années devront avoir les cinq objectifs suivants, qui permettront d’atteindre les buts à long terme du rétablissement.

I.         Évaluer et effectuer le suivi de la situation de la population naturelle.

II.       Évaluer l’aire de répartition de l’espèce et la dynamique de la population naturelle.

III.    Définir les menaces et les facteurs limitatifs et atténuer ceux qu’il est possible de gérer.

IV.    Réduire, dans la mesure du possible, toute perte ou dégradation additionnelle de l’habitat par les activités humaines.

V.      Mettre en œuvre un programme d’intendance destiné aux résidants locaux et à certains groupes cibles.

12. Approches pour l’atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement 

PrioritéObjectifsApprochesMesures précisesIndicateurs clés du rendement
UrgentI, II, III et IVRelevés biologiques

-    Faire un relevé de l’habitat potentiel dans l’aire de répartition connue et ses environs pour établir la répartition complète et la taille de la population, identifier les menaces et évaluer leur impact.

-    Repérer et cartographier les régions où l’espèce est présente.

-    Étude complète de l’habitat potentiel dans l’aire de répartition connue.

-    Estimation exhaustive de la taille de la population.

-    Données et cartes géoréférencées à la disposition des gestionnaires, des intervenants et des agents de l’application de la loi.

-    Liste des menaces et de leurs incidences tels qu'observées sur le terrain.

UrgentI, II, III et IVProtection de l’habitat

-    Appuyer la création, par le gouvernement de la province, de la réserve écologique proposée du cap Norman (localité type de l’espèce).

-    Délimiter l’habitat essentiel.

-    Repérer et appuyer d’autres mesures de protection pour les occurrences à l’extérieur des réserves.

-    Conseiller le gardien de biens responsable (ministère des Pêches et des Océans) et le ministre fédéral de l’Environnement sur la protection du saule des landes dans la propriété fédérale du cap Norman.

-    Création de la réserve écologique du cap Norman.

-    Carte de l’habitat essentiel.

-    Liste des mesures de protection nécessaires à chacun des sites.

-    Mise en branle d’un processus de protection pour chacun des sites.

-    Rédaction des règlements nécessaires aux termes de l’Endangered Species Act et de la Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act de la province.

-    Achèvement d’un plan de protection.

-    Rédaction des politiques de gestion appropriées pour la propriété fédérale du cap Norman, comme l’exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril du gouvernement fédéral.

UrgentI et IISuivi

-    Établir un suivi à long terme de chacune des populations.

-    Déterminer les modes d’utilisation des terres et effectuer le suivi.

-    Création de parcelles de suivi.

-    Création et maintien d’une base de données géoréférencées sur les activités d’utilisation des terres.

NécessaireI et IIRecherche démographique-    Déterminer les paramètres démographiques clés (reproduction, croissance, longévité, taux de survie, persistance de la banque de semences et de la viabilité des graines), à partir des données des suivis.-    Poursuite de la collecte et de l’analyse de données démographiques.
NécessaireI et IIIRecherche taxinomique-    Améliorer la compréhension de la définition de l’espèce.-    Préparation de descriptions, de clés, d’illustrations et cueillette de spécimens afin de clarifier l’identification de cette espèce et d’autres espèces de saules, ainsi que de leurs hybrides.
NécessaireI, II, III, IV et VRecherche écologique

-    Déterminer les exigences écologiques de l’espèce.

-    Définir l’habitat essentiel.

-    Dégager les facteurs limitatifs et les menaces naturelles, y compris les changements climatiques.

-    Description des exigences écologiques de l’espèce.

-    Liste des facteurs limitatifs et des menaces naturelles ainsi que de leur effet réel et possible.

-    Utilisation de données écologiques dans des modèles de l’habitat essentiel et  analyse de la viabilité de la population.

NécessaireIV et VEngagement du public

-    Faire enquête auprès des collectivités locales pour déterminer les attitudes des populations locales envers la conservation de l’espèce.

-    Favoriser les possibilités d’intendance et produire du matériel éducatif.

-    Réalisation de l’enquête initiale.

-    Participation des résidants à des activités d’intendance.

NécessaireI, II et IIIRespect des règlements-    Travailler à assurer le respect des mesures de protection en vertu de l’Endangered Species Act et de la Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Act (p. ex. formation d’agents de conservation et information pour le public).

-    Formation des agents de conservation locaux pour leur apprendre à reconnaître cette espèce et son habitat.

-    Participation de tous les ministères pertinents.

-    Sensibilisation du public quant aux lois et à la réglementation afférentes.

-    Visites régulières et fréquentes d’agents d’application de la loi dans la région.

UtileIRecherche génétique

-    Déterminer la diversité génétique à l’intérieur des populations et entre celles‑ci.

-    Déterminer le système de reproduction.

-    Description de la variabilité génétique à l’intérieur des populations et entre celles‑ci.

-    Description du système de reproduction.

UtileI, IV et VConservation ex situ

-    Créer une collection ex situ de plantes vivantes et une banque de tissus.

-    Élaborer des techniques de culture et de réintroduction, au cas où celles‑ci deviendraient nécessaires.

-    Existence d’une collection ex situ de plantes vivantes et d’une banque de tissus représentatifs de la diversité génétique observée dans la population sauvage.

-    Description des techniques nécessaires à la culture et à la réintroduction de l’espèce.

UtileIII, IV et VRestauration-    Repérer et restaurer les zones perturbées se trouvant dans l’aire de répartition afin d’améliorer la valeur esthétique du paysage.

-    Liste des zones perturbées dans l’aire de répartition.

-    Élaboration et achèvement d’un plan de restauration.

13.  Caractère réalisable du rétablissement de l'espèce au point de vue écologique et technique

Comme il a été mentionné auparavant, le saule des landes restera toujours une espèce rare, et sa survie nécessitera l’élimination ou l’atténuation des menaces anthropiques. Il est possible de limiter l’exploitation commerciale et les autres activités d’aménagement des landes de calcaire grâce à une coopération interne entre les organismes gouvernementaux chargés de la gestion des ressources. Il sera par contre très difficile de freiner le réchauffement climatique à l’échelle régionale, et ce phénomène pourrait constituer une menace anthropique importante. La portée de ce problème dépasse celle du présent programme de rétablissement.

Pour le saule des landes, les mesures de rétablissement prioritaires sont en tout premier lieu les relevés, les activités de suivi et la protection de l’habitat. Parmi les autres mesures importantes, il y a les recherches démographiques, taxinomiques et écologiques, la sensibilisation du public et l’application des règlements. Des relevés et des recherches écologiques sont déjà en cours, et la protection de l’habitat des landes de calcaire a déjà été entreprise dans le cadre des activités de rétablissement du braya de Long et du braya de Fernald (Hermanutz et al., 2002). La même chose est vraie pour les activités de sensibilisation du public, en raison du Programme d’intendance de l’habitat des landes de calcaire.

Il faudra au départ investir beaucoup de temps et de ressources pour clarifier ce que nous savons des menaces et des facteurs limitatifs, pour effectuer des relevés et pour établir des sites de suivi. Les activités de recherche, de suivi et d’application des règlements, ainsi que la collaboration avec les collectivités locales, se feront à long terme. Parce que la région où l’espèce est présente se trouve loin des grands centres, tous les travaux qui s’y déroulent ainsi que les communications avec les collectivités locales supposent des investissements importants en temps de déplacement et en frais de communication.

La collection ex situ fournira une source de remplacement de matériel pour la recherche et réduira peut‑être les coûts ainsi que la nécessité de procéder à un échantillonnage destructeur de la population sauvage. Cette collection servira aussi de réserve de secours pour la conservation dans la nature.

14. Incidences possibles du programme de rétablissement sur d’autres espèces ou sur certains processus écologiques

L’habitat du saule des landes est un milieu rare, et l’espèce pousse au sein d’une biocénose unique. La protection de cet habitat assurera la conservation de bon nombre des autres espèces rares et des processus écologiques caractéristiques de cet écosystème unique. Une des espèces rares signalées dans l’aire de répartition du saule des landes est une espèce menacée, le braya de Fernald. Les mesures de restauration visant à améliorer la valeur esthétique du paysage accroîtront sa valeur pour l’intendance et fourniront peut-être, à long terme, un habitat naturel renouvelé pour les espèces des landes de calcaire.

15.  Conflits ou défis prévus

Le secteur où se trouve l’aire de répartition du saule des landes a été exploité comme source de gravier calcaire pour la construction et l’entretien des routes et continuera vraisemblablement de l’être. Les gestionnaires des carrières locales commence à tenir compte de la présence de plantes rares, mais il faut que les activités de conservation se poursuivent, que des outils permettant d’informer adéquatement les gestionnaires au sujet de la présence d’un habitat potentiel soient élaborés et que les communications soient améliorées.

Une partie de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce (le cap Norman) est considérée comme le plus important dépôt de dolomie de la côte ouest de Terre‑Neuve. À l’heure actuelle, l’intérêt du Department of Mines and Energy de Terre‑Neuve‑et‑Labrador pour cette ressource minérale n’en est qu’au stade de l’exploration. Aucun gisement n’a été concédé.

L’entretien des routes et des infrastructures dans l’aire de répartition de l’espèce pourrait menacer directement certaines portions de la population et contrecarrer les activités de rétablissement. Il faudra peut‑être instaurer des mesures d’atténuation à cet égard.

Enfin, les difficultés économiques que connaît la région pourraient exercer des pressions supplémentaires sur l’espèce et sur son habitat. L’effondrement des pêches locales a récemment aggravé ces difficultés.

17. Mesures achevées ou en cours

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera mis en œuvre dans le contexte d’une initiative de rétablissement plurispécifique portant sur les habitats côtiers des landes de calcaire de la péninsule du Nord, à Terre‑Neuve (Hermanutz et al., 2002). Plusieurs mesures sont déjà en cours, y compris un programme d’intendance de l’habitat, des recherches écologiques sur les facteurs et les processus physiques caractérisant les habitats des landes de calcaire, des relevés de l’habitat potentiel ainsi que la création d’une collection ex situ de spécimens vivants. Les mesures à terminer sont entre autres la création d’une réserve écologique pour la protection des plantes rares dans la partie méridionale de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce (pointe Watt’s). L’habitat potentiel a été cartographié. Enfin, les régions où la présence de l’espèce est connue ont été désignées comme « zones d’espèces sauvages sensibles » (Sensitive Wildlife Areas) dans l’atlas provincial des terres publiques, afin que tous les projets d’aménagement de ces régions soient examinés par la Inland Fish and Wildlife Division (IFWD).

18. Évaluation

Les indicateurs clés du rendement sont énumérés dans la section 12. Un plan d’action expliquant en détail les mesures visant à atteindre les objectifs du rétablissement sera préparé durant l’année suivant la diffusion du présent programme.