Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin (Proposed)


6. Critical Habitat

Identification and protection of critical habitat is vital for management of species at risk. While defining critical habitat is one of the most challenging aspects of species management, it is vital to ensuring a species' long-term survival. This rationale is central to endangered species legislation in general, and specifically to the Species at Risk Act (SARA), where critical habitat is defined as:

“…the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species' critical habitat in a recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species.” [s. 2(1)]

The need to designate and protect critical habitat is clearly recognized by scientists, resource managers, and the general public. Despite its complexity, the core issue is the same for all species: to determine the role of habitat in population limitation, and to answer the question, How much habitat is necessary for the survival and recovery of a listed wildlife species?

6.1 Identification of the Species' Critical Habitat

At this point, it is possible to indicate general habitat features that are likely important. For example, if it is true that Cultus pygmy sculpin nest in the deep benthic areas of Cultus Lake, some or all of this habitat could qualify as critical. Cultus pygmy sculpin use the limnetic areas of the lake during the majority of their life and likewise some or all of this habitat could qualify as critical. Clearly, these habitats, or portions of them, will feature in the definition of the species' critical habitat. However, due to a number of information gaps, we are unable to provide a defensible demarcation of critical habitat at this time. General knowledge gaps are discussed in Section 13.

6.2 Schedule of Studies

Very little is known about Cultus pygmy sculpin. The following schedule of studies should allow delineation of critical habitat for Cultus pygmy sculpin. A more detailed description of each task will be developed in one or more Action Plans. These studies are projected to be undertaken in the next five years, and reassessed in conjunction with updates to the recovery strategy.

Habitat Use. -- The first task is to develop a better understanding of habitat use by different life stages of Cultus pygmy sculpin. A description of the basic habitat associations for each life stage is a core information need for defining critical habitat (Rosenfeld and Hatfield 2006), in particular spawning habitat of Cultus pygmy sculpin. There is a general understanding of habitat types used by Cultus pygmy sculpin, but a more precise understanding is essential. Where possible, habitat requirements will be defined in terms of microhabitat components such as depth, substrate type and condition, physical water characteristics, etc.

Habitat Availability. -- The second task is to review historic and current habitat availability. Information on the extent and distribution of different habitat types available to a species is also a key component of critical habitat delineation. Studies are required that describe abundance and distribution of different habitats in the wild. Where possible, historic habitat availability should be explored to help provide context for the present condition and the final delineation of critical habitat.

Population Abundance. -- Clearly defined population recovery targets for each life stage are integral to the identification of critical habitat because the quantity of habitat designated as critical must be related to a population benchmark (Rosenfeld and Hatfield 2006). This task is to review historic and current population abundance, as part of the process of setting recovery targets. Both the current and historic population abundance provide meaningful context for the recovery target, though we recognize that historic abundance may be difficult to ascertain with accuracy. It may only be possible to qualitatively assess historic abundance of Cultus pygmy sculpin.

Recovery Targets. -- Setting recovery targets may require several steps and the collection of several pieces of information. Recovery targets may be based on rules of thumb (e.g., Thomas 1990; IUCN 2001; Reed et al. 2003), numeric analyses such as population viability analysis (PVA; Morris and Doak 2002), or a combination of techniques. For organisms such as Cultus pygmy sculpin, where relatively little information exists and additional information takes a long time to collect, it may be beneficial to use targets based on rules of thumb. However, it is nevertheless valuable to examine such targets by assessing key population parameters (e.g., survival and fecundity) and to undertake specific population modeling (e.g., elasticity analysis, see Gross et al. 2002) to explore which life stages are most limiting to sculpin abundance. It will be necessary to set targets for each major life stage (Rosenfeld and Hatfield 2006).

Relationship Between Habitat and Abundance. -- Designation of critical habitat requires quantitative relationships between habitat and abundance because these relationships are needed to establish the amount of habitat required to achieve a population recovery target (Rosenfeld and Hatfield 2006). Developing such a relationship is not a straightforward task and may need to rely, at least in part, on expert judgement.

Define Critical Habitat. -- The final step in delineating critical habitat is to use population targets and relationships between habitat types and abundance to determine how much of the different habitats are required to maintain a viable population of Cultus pygmy sculpin, and to then identify the specific locations of these habitats in the wild.

6.3 Examples of Activities that Are Likely to Result in Destruction of Critical Habitat

Until critical habitat is formally delineated it is not possible to provide specific guidance on which activities are most likely to destroy critical habitat, other than in very general terms. For example, activities that threaten deep littoral areas or those that alter the productivity of limnetic areas may have negative impacts on Cultus pygmy sculpin. The more general threats to some of the important habitat types for Cultus pygmy sculpin are discussed in Section 3.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée (proposition)


6. Habitat essentiel

La désignation et la protection de l'habitat essentiel est un composant clé de la gestion des espèces en péril. Même si la définition de l'habitat essentiel est l'un des aspects les plus complexes de la gestion d'une espèce, cette étape est essentielle si l'on veut assurer la survie à long terme d'une espèce. Ce principe est un élément central de la législation sur les espèces menacées en général et de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en particulier, qui définit l'habitat essentiel comme étant :

« … l'habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d'action élaboré à l'égard de l'espèce. » [par. 2(1)].

La nécessité de désigner et de protéger l'habitat essentiel est clairement reconnue par les scientifiques, les gestionnaires des ressources et le grand public. Malgré sa complexité, la question centrale est la même pour toutes les espèces, à savoir déterminer le rôle de l'habitat sur le plan de la limitation de la population et répondre à la question suivante : quelle quantité d'habitats est nécessaire pour assurer la survie et le rétablissement d'une espèce sauvage inscrite?

6.1 Désignation de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce

Présentement, il est possible de relever des caractéristiques générales relatives aux habitats qui sont vraisemblablement importantes. Par exemple, s'il s'avère que le chabot pygmé fait son nid dans les zones benthiques profondes du lac Cultus, une partie ou la totalité de cet habitat pourrait se qualifier comme étant essentiel. Le chabot pygmé utilise les zones limnétiques du lac pendant la majorité de sa vie, de sorte qu'une partie ou la totalité de cet habitat pourrait se qualifier comme étant essentiel. Ainsi, ces habitats ou des parties de ceux-ci seront désignés comme faisant partie de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce. Toutefois, en raison d'un certain nombre de lacunes au chapitre de l'information, nous ne pouvons établir une démarcation précise de l'habitat essentiel pour le moment. Les lacunes générales dans les connaissances sont analysées dans la section 13.

6.2 Programmes d'étude

Nous savons très peu de chose à propos du chabot pygmé. Le programme d'études suivant doit permettre la délimitation de l'habitat essentiel du chabot pygmé. Une description plus détaillée de chacune des tâches sera exposée dans au moins un plan d'action. On projette que ces études soient entreprises au cours des cinq années à venir, et réévaluées en même temps que les mises à jour du programme de rétablissement.

Utilisation de l'habitat -- La première tâche consiste à acquérir une meilleure compréhension de l'utilisation de l'habitat par le chabot pygmé à ses différents stades de vie. La description des associations à un habitat fondamentales pour chaque stade de vie est une information dont il faut absolument disposer pour définir l'habitat essentiel (Rosenfeld et Hatfield, 2006), en particulier pour ce qui est de l'habitat de frai du chabot pygmé. En général, on s'entend sur les types d'habitats utilisés par le chabot pygmé, mais une compréhension plus précise est essentielle. Dans la mesure du possible, les exigences en matière d'habitats doivent être définies sur le plan des éléments des microhabitats tels que la profondeur, le type de substrat et son état ainsi que les caractéristiques physiques de l'eau.

Disponibilité de l'habitat -- La deuxième tâche consiste à examiner l'habitat historiquement et actuellement disponible. L'information concernant l'étendue et la répartition des différents types d'habitats disponibles pour l'espèce constitue également un composant clé dans l'exercice de délimitation de l'habitat essentiel. Il faut effectuer des études pour décrire l'abondance et la répartition des différents habitats dans le milieu. Dans la mesure du possible, la disponibilité historique des habitats doit être explorée afin que l'on puisse disposer d'un contexte pour évaluer les conditions actuelles et procéder à la délimitation finale de l'habitat essentiel.

Abondance de la population -- Des objectifs de rétablissement clairement définis pour la population à chaque stade de développement sont essentiels à la désignation de l'habitat essentiel du fait que l'étendue de l'habitat désigné comme étant essentiel doit être liée à un repère démographique (Rosenfeld et Hatfield, 2006). Pour ce faire, il faudra passer en revue les données historiques et actuelles sur l'abondance de la population dans le cadre du processus d'établissement des objectifs de rétablissement. Les données actuelles et historiques sur l'abondance de la population nous donnent un contexte significatif pour situer les objectifs de rétablissement, bien que nous reconnaissions que l'abondance historique puisse être difficile à établir avec précision. Il est possible qu'on ne puisse évaluer que qualitativement l'abondance historique du chabot pygmé.

Objectifs de rétablissement -- L'établissement d'objectifs de rétablissement peut nécessiter plusieurs étapes et la collecte de plusieurs données. Les objectifs de rétablissement peuvent s'appuyer sur des principes de base (p. ex. Thomas, 1990; IUCN, 2001; Reed et al., 2003), des analyses numériques telles que l'analyse de la viabilité de la population (AVP; Morris et Doak, 2002) ou une combinaison de diverses techniques. Dans le cas d'organismes tels que le chabot pygmé, pour lesquels on dispose de relativement peu d'information et pour lesquels l'acquisition de renseignements supplémentaires nécessite une longue période de collecte, il peut être avantageux d'utiliser des objectifs fondés sur des principes de base. Cependant, il n'en demeure pas moins important d'examiner de tels objectifs en procédant à une évaluation des paramètres démographiques clés (p. ex. survie et fécondité) et d'entreprendre une modélisation précise de la population (p. ex. analyse de l'élasticité; voir Gross et al., 2002) pour explorer les stades de développement qui ont le plus grand effet limitatif sur l'abondance du chabot. Il sera nécessaire d'établir des objectifs pour chaque stade de vie important (Rosenfeld et Hatfield, 2006).

Relations entre l'habitat et l'abondance -- La désignation de l'habitat essentiel nécessite l'établissement de relations quantitatives entre l'habitat et l'abondance qui nous permettent ensuite d'établir l'étendue de l'habitat nécessaire à l'atteinte d'un objectif de rétablissement démographique (Rosenfeld et Hatfield, 2006). L'élaboration d'une telle relation n'est pas simple et peut nécessiter, du moins en partie, le recours à l'avis d'experts.

Définition de l'habitat essentiel -- La dernière étape, à savoir la définition même de l'habitat essentiel, consiste à utiliser des objectifs démographiques et les relations qui existent entre les types d'habitats et l'abondance pour déterminer quelles quantités d'habitats différents sont requises pour maintenir une population de chabot pygmé viable et, par la suite, déterminer les emplacements précis de ces habitats dans le milieu.

6.3 Exemples d'activités qui sont susceptibles d'entraîner la destruction de l'habitat essentiel

Tant que l'habitat essentiel n'est pas officiellement délimité, il n'est pas possible de formuler des orientations précises concernant les activités qui sont les plus susceptibles de détruire l'habitat essentiel autrement qu'en employant des termes très généraux. Par exemple, les activités qui représentent une menace pour les zones littorales profondes ou celles qui modifient la productivité des zones limnétiques peuvent avoir des effets négatifs sur le chabot pygmé. Les menaces plus générales pesant sur certains des types d'habitats importants pour le chabot pygmé sont traitées à la section 3.