Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Blackfin Cisco in Canada

Existing Protection or Other Status

No specific legal protection exists for this species in Canada, although general protection is afforded through the fish habitat sections of the federal Fisheries Act. Although listed on Schedule 2 of the federal Species at Risk Act as a species to be reassessed for consideration on Schedule 1, it receives no official protection as a species at risk.

As with the taxonomic designation, the current conservation status of blackfin cisco is confusing. Globally, the species is presumed extinct (GXQ) by NatureServe, with the taxonomic distinctiveness of C. nigripinnis at the current level of understanding questionable (NatureServe 2004).

At the national level, the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) considers blackfin cisco to be extinct (E) within Canada and the United States (Gimenez 1996), while NatureServe has assessed the species as extirpated (NX) (NatureServe 2004).

At the provincial level, blackfin cisco has been given the status of presumed extirpated (SX) from the Great Lakes of Ontario, but is still considered extant in Lake Nipigon (NatureServe 2004). Similarly, the Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre (NHIC) also ranks the species as extirpated from the Great Lakes, but considers it extant in Lake Nipigon (NHIC 2004). However, the NHIC status for Ontario also includes an extinct designation based on a determination of status by the OMNR (NHIC 2004).

Within the United States, Illinois, Indiana and Michigan rank the species as presumed extirpated (SX) from lakes Michigan and Huron (NatureServe 2004).

In terms of the species’ commercial value, no specific harvest quotas are currently known to exist for blackfin cisco reported from Lake Nipigon. Commercial fishing quotas for all deepwater cisco species in Lake Nipigon are regulated through the Ontario Fisheries Regulations and enforced by OMNR. General restrictions or closures on the commercial harvest of ciscoes as a group have historically been in effect for Great Lakes waters in both Canada and the United States (Parker 1988).


Existing Status

Nature Conservancy Ranks (Naturserve 2004)

Global - GX

National
 US - NX
 Canada - NX

Regional
 US - IL - SX, IN - SX, MI -SX
 Canada - ON - SX.

Other
 IUCN - EX

Wild Species 2005 (Canadian Endangered Species Council 2006)
 Canada - 5
 Ontario - 5, SK - 5

COSEWIC
 Threatened (1988)
 Data Deficient (2007)

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco à nageoires noires au Canada - Mise à jour

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Le cisco à nageoires noires ne jouit d’aucune protection légale spécifique au Canada. Cependant, il bénéficie d’une protection d’ordre général en vertu des dispositions sur l’habitat des poissons de la Loi sur les pêches fédérale. Bien qu’inscrite à l’annexe 2 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada en tant qu’espèce devant être réévaluée pour inscription possible à l’annexe 1, elle ne bénéficie d’aucune protection formelle en tant qu’espèce en péril.

La taxinomie du cisco à nageoires noires pose actuellement un problème pour la détermination de son statut de conservation. À l’échelle mondiale, l’espèce est présumée vraisemblablement éteinte (Presumed extinct, GXQ) par NatureServe, et la distinction taxinomique du C. nigripinnis, au meilleur des connaissances actuelles, est réputée douteuse (NatureServe, 2004).

À l’échelle nationale, l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN) considère le cisco à nageoires noires comme éteint (Extinct) au Canada et aux États-Unis (Gimenez, 1996), tandis que NatureServe a classé l’espèce comme disparue du pays (Extirpated) (NatureServe, 2004).

À l’échelle provinciale, le cisco à nageoires noires est classifié comme vraisemblablement disparu (Presumed extirpated) des Grands Lacs de l’Ontario, mais est considéré comme encore présent dans le lac Nipigon (NatureServe, 2004). De même, le Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel (CIPN) classe l’espèce comme disparue des Grands Lacs, mais encore présente dans le lac Nipigon (CIPN, 2004). Par contre, le statut du CIPN pour l’Ontario comprend également la désignation d’espèce éteinte, selon une évaluation de la situation par le MRNO
(CIPN, 2004).

Aux États-Unis, l’Illinois, l’Indiana et le Michigan ont classifié l’espèce comme vraisemblablement disparue (Presumed extirpated) dans les lacs Michigan et Huron (NatureServe, 2004).

En ce qui a trait à la valeur commerciale de l’espèce, il n’existe aucun quota de capture visant spécifiquement le cisco à nageoires noires dans le lac Nipigon. Les quotas de pêches commerciales pour toutes les espèces de ciscos de profondeur dans le lac Nipigon sont réglementés par le Règlement de pêche de l’Ontario et mis en application par le MRNO. Des limites générales ou des fermetures de la récolte commerciale de ciscos en tant que groupe ont été mises en œuvre auparavant dans les Grands Lacs, tant au Canada qu’aux États-Unis (Parker, 1988).


Statut actuel

Cotes de Conservation de la nature Canada (NatureServe, 2004)

Mondiale - GX

Nationales
 É.-U. - NX
 Canada - NX

Régionales
 É.-U. - IL - SX, IN - SX, MI -SX
 Canada - ON - SX.

Autres
 UICN - EX

Espèces sauvages 2005 (Conseil canadien de conservation des espèces en péril, 2006)
 Canada - 5
 Ontario - 5, SK - 5

COSEPAC
 Espèce menacée, (1988)
 Données insuffisantes (2007)