Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Blackfin Cisco in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Blackfin Cisco
Coregonus Nigripinnis

Species Information

The blackfin cisco is a freshwater fish characterized by its darkly pigmented fins and deep body. It is one of the largest of the 10 cisco species found in Canada, averaging 330 mm in length and 0.7 kg in weight although, it may reach lengths of up to 510 mm and weigh up to 1 kg or more.

 

Distribution

Historically, the blackfin cisco was reported as an endemic species to each of the Great Lakes, except Lake Erie and Lake Nipigon. However, the occurrence of blackfin cisco in lakes Superior and Ontario was never confirmed. Recent sampling suggests that the stocks from the Great Lakes are extirpated. Historical records of blackfin cisco for inland lakes in Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta are now considered to be invalid due to taxonomic uncertainty.

 

Habitat

The blackfin cisco was considered to have inhabited the deeper waters of the Great Lakes, occurring at depths of 90-183 m in lakes Huron and Michigan. In Lake Nipigon, the blackfin cisco has been captured at depths to 104 m. However, the species has been found at shallower depths in riverine situations, perhaps related to spawning.

 

Biology

Little is known of the biology of the blackfin cisco. Age of maturity, breeding frequency, fecundity, early life history, age/sex ratio and population structure are all unknown or poorly defined and no information related to survival, growth rates or population structure is available for this species. Limited species-specific information has been reported for blackfin cisco regarding its movement/dispersal for the purposes of spawning or seasonal migration. Information on food preferences indicate that blackfin cisco feed almost exclusively on opossum shrimp (Mysis relicta). The blackfin cisco was a likelyprey species of sea lamprey (Petromyzon marinus) and lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) within the Great Lakes, and may still be an important prey item for lake trout and other larger, predacious species within Lake Nipigon and other inland water locations.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Little or no information exists on population size or trends for this species. Currently, the species is felt to be extirpated within the Great Lakes. In Lake Nipigon, the species is considered to be extant and is reported as an incidental species in the lake whitefish (Coregonus clupeaformis) fishery at a rate of approximately 4500 kg/year. Other existing populations of blackfin cisco are reported in the Little Jackfish River, a tributary of Lake Nipigon.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

Factors suspected to have caused the decline of blackfin cisco in the Great Lakes are over-exploitation by commercial fisheries, sea lamprey predation and competition from other invasive fish species such as alewife (Alosa pseudoharengus) and rainbow smelt (Osmerus mordax). Continued capture of blackfin cisco as an incidental catch species in commercial fish nets on Lake Nipigon may have a detrimental effect on species populations in that lake; however, present information is insufficient to quantify this effect.

 

Special Significance of the Species

Within the Great Lakes, blackfin cisco would have formed a part of the deepwater community where it was known to occur. Blackfin cisco would also have served as a traditional forage fish for lake trout populations in the Great Lakes. Its continued presence as part of the deepwater community of Lake Nipigon is of continued value to the ecological integrity of the lake. Similarly, its occurrence in other inland waters enhances the biodiversity of those waterbodies where it is found.

 

Existing Protection or Other Status

General protection is afforded to this species through the fish habitat sections of the federal Fisheries Act. Although listed under Schedule 2 of the federal Species at Risk Act as a species to be reassessed for consideration on Schedule 1, it receives no official protection as a species at risk.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco à nageoires noires au Canada - Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Cisco à nageoires noires
Coregonus nigripinnis

Information sur l’espèce

Le cisco à nageoires noires est un poisson d’eau douce qui se distingue par la pigmentation foncée de ses nageoires et son corps large. Il est l’un des plus grands représentants des 10 espèces de ciscos du Canada, avec une longueur et un poids moyens de 330 mm et de 0,7 kg. Certains individus peuvent mesurer jusqu’à 510 mm et peser plus de 1 kg.

 

Répartition

Historiquement, le cisco à nageoires noires est mentionné comme une espèce endémique à tous les Grands Lacs sauf le lac Érié et le lac Nipigon. Cependant, la présence du cisco à nageoires noires dans le lac Supérieur et le lac Ontario n’a jamais été confirmée. De récents échantillonnages suggèrent que les populations des Grands Lacs ont disparu. Les enregistrements historiques de ciscos à nageoires noires dans les lacs intérieurs de l’Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta sont aujourd’hui considérés comme non valides à cause d’incertitudes taxinomiques.

 

Habitat

On présume que le cisco à nageoires noires occupait les eaux profondes des Grands Lacs, vivant à des profondeurs de 90 à 183 m dans les lacs Huron et Michigan. Le cisco à nageoires noires a été capturé à une profondeur de 104 m dans le lac Nipigon. Mais l’espèce a aussi été observée à de moindres profondeurs dans des rivières; ce phénomène est peut-être lié au frai.

 

Biologie

On sait peu de choses sur la biologie du cisco à nageoires noires. L’âge auquel il atteint la maturité sexuelle, la fréquence de reproduction, la fécondité, les premiers stades du cycle vital, le ratio âge--sexe et la structure de la population sont inconnus ou méconnus, et il n’existe aucune information sur la survie, le taux de croissance et la structure de la population de cette espèce. On ne dispose que de quelques renseignements sur les déplacements et la dispersion de l’espèce pour le frai ou les migrations saisonnières. L’information disponible sur ses habitudes alimentaires indique que le cisco à nageoires noires se nourrit presque exclusivement de mysis (Mysis relicta). Le cisco à nageoires noires était probablement chassé par la grande lamproie marine (Petromyzon marinus) et le touladi (Salvelinus namaycush) dans les Grands Lacs, et il constitue peut-être encore une proie d’importance pour le touladi et d’autres espèces prédatrices de grande taille dans le lac Nipigon et d’autres plans d’eau intérieurs.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Il n’existe pratiquement aucune information sur la taille et les tendances de la population de ciscos à nageoires noires. À l’heure actuelle, l’espèce est considérée comme disparue des Grands Lacs. On présume qu’elle est encore présente dans le lac Nipigon, car les pêches au grand corégone (Coregonus clupeaformis) de ce lac rapportent une prise accessoire de l’espèce d’environ 4 500 kg par année. D’autres populations de ciscos à nageoires noires sont signalées dans la rivière Little Jackfish, un affluent du lac Nipigon.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Parmi les facteurs qui auraient provoqué le déclin du cisco à nageoires noires dans les Grands Lacs, on compte la surexploitation par les pêcheries commerciales, la prédation par la grande lamproie marine et la compétition par des espèces envahissantes de poissons comme le gaspareau (Alosa pseudoharengus) et l’éperlan (Osmerus mordax). La prise accessoire de ciscos à nageoires noires qui se poursuit dans les pêches commerciales au filet du lac Nipigon pourrait avoir des effets néfastes sur les populations de l’espèce dans ce lac, mais on manque de données pour quantifier ces impacts.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Dans les Grands Lacs, le cisco à nageoires noires aurait appartenu à la communauté d’espèces des profondeurs. Il aurait également servi de source d’alimentation de base pour les populations de touladis des Grands Lacs. Sa persistance dans la communauté d’espèces des profondeurs du lac Nipigon demeure importante pour l’intégrité écologique du lac. Il contribue de même à la biodiversité des autres eaux intérieures où il est présent.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

L’espèce est protégée de façon générale en vertu des dispositions sur l’habitat des poissons de la Loi sur les pêches du Canada. Bien qu’inscrite à l’annexe 2 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril fédérale en tant qu’espèce devant être réévaluée pour inscription possible à l’annexe 1, elle ne bénéficie d’aucune protection formelle en tant qu’espèce en péril.