Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Blackfin Cisco in Canada

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
blackfin cisco
Coregonus nigripinnis
in Canada
2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

Kingdom:
Animalia
Phylum:
Chordata
Class:
Actinopterygii
Order:
Salmoniformes
Family:
Salmonidae
Subfamily:
Coregoninae
Genus and Species:
Coregonus nigripinnis (Milner 1874)
Common Name
English:
blackfin cisco (Nelson et al. 2004)
French:
cisco à nageoires noires (Scott and Crossman 1973)
Other:
blackfin, black-fin tulibee, black-back tullibee, black-fin, mooneye cisco and bluefin (Scott and Crossman 1973).


The blackfin cisco is one of 10 cisco species found in Canada (Scott and Crossman 1973), one of seven cisco species found in the Great Lakes (Cudmore-Vokey and Crossman 2000), and one of six cisco species identified as an incipient species flock endemic to the Great Lakes by Koelz (1929). These counts exclude the longjaw cisco (C. alpenae), described by Koelz (1929) and included in Scott and Crossman (1973), as it is considered a synonym of shortjaw cisco (C. zenithicus) by Todd et al. (1981).

The blackfin cisco (Coregonus nigripinnis) was originally named by Gill (in Hoy 1872). Hoy’s 1872 paper did not describe the species but gave Gill as the authority for C. nigripinnis. Recent questions on the authority of this species have arisen. Eschmeyer (1998) noted that Hoy or Milner (1874, in Eschmeyer 1998) may be the authority, as Gill’s manuscript was never published (Nelson et al. 2004). Based on additional information from Eschmeyer (1998), Milner’s 1874 paper is presently considered by the AFS as the first valid description of the blackfin cisco (Nelson et al. 2004).


Taxonomy

In terms of its taxonomic nomenclature, especially as related to the Great Lakes basin and to inland waters, blackfin cisco has long been recognized as a problematic species. Koelz (1929) originally recognized four subspecies of C. nigripinnis within the Great Lakes, with each restricted to the following specific lakes: C. n. nigripinnis (lakes Michigan and Huron), C. n. cyanopterus (Lake Superior) and C. n. prognathus (Lake Ontario). However, Koelz (1929) noted difficulty in the ability to distinguish small C. n. nigripinnis and C. n. cyanopterus from C. kiyi (kiyi) in lakes Huron and Superior, respectively. More recently, C. n. cyanopterus in Lake Superior was synonymized with the shortjaw cisco (C. zenithicus) (Clarke and Todd 1980; Todd and Smith 1980; Becker 1983). The Lake Ontario type material of C. n. prognathus was examined by Todd (1981) and considered as a mixture of coregonine species with the holotype considered a nomen dubium. As a result of these findings, no valid forms of blackfin cisco are considered to have occurred in lakes Superior and Ontario.

Outside of the Great Lakes, Koelz (1929) classified one subspecies from Lake Nipigon as C. n. regalis Clarke (1973) and Scott and Crossman (1973) have suggested that these fish were more probably C. artedii; while Nelson et al. (2004) considered the blackfin cisco to be extant in Lake Nipigon. According to recent observations, blackfin cisco are still found in Lake Nipigon (R. Salmon, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR), Nipigon District, Nipigon, ON, personal communication 2003; T. Todd, United States Geological Survey (USGS), Ann Arbour, MI, personal communications 2003, 2005).

The blackfin cisco has been recorded as present in inland lakes across central Canada (Nelson et al. 2004); however, the taxonomic identity of these fish is uncertain. Scott and Crossman (1973) suggested that, “C. nigripinnis is a problem species in inland waters and is most decidedly in need of critical systematic review”, and that the species, “may well prove to be taxonomically inseparable from a broadly redefined C. artedii”. To date, a comprehensive systematic and taxonomic review of the North American ciscoes has not been undertaken. Therefore, there is no formal taxonomic description or authority for the purported blackfin ciscoes reported present in the inland lakes of central Canada (see also Distribution – Canadian Range).

Research on the shortjaw cisco (C. zenithicus) revealed that Great Lakes and inland populations of this species were genetically indistinguishable from the cisco (C. artedii); however, the shortjaw cisco is still considered to be a valid species (Todd et al. 1981, Turgeon et al. 1999, Turgeon and Bernatchez 2003). This may be an indication that some, or all, of the endemic cisco species may actually be ecomorphotypes of the cisco (C. artedii), rather than valid species. If, in future, this was shown to be true for the blackfin cisco, it would still be considered an evolutionarily significant unit (ESU) or, at the very least, a unique morphotype.

Turgeon and Bernatchez (2003) suggested a possible resolution to the taxonomic confusion related to ciscoes, including the blackfin cisco. Based on their work on reticulate evolution and phenotypic diversity in North American ciscoes, Turgeon and Bernatchez (2003) suggested a single taxon, C. artedii (sensu lato), which includes blackfin cisco, be recognized as the sole legitimate taxon for North American ciscoes distributed in central Canada and the northern United States. This suggestion has not gained wide acceptance by others in the field and, at the time of preparing this update status report, the troubling taxonomy of this species remains unresolved and the taxonomy of Koelz (1929) isaccepted by Nelson et al. (2004).


Description

The blackfin cisco was described by Koelz (1929) based on specimens collected in Lake Michigan (the type locality). However, within the Great Lakes, ciscoes as a group are noted to have changed considerably since Koelz’s time, exhibiting morphological variation within, and among, species that currently makes their classification difficult (Todd and Smith 1992). Parallel evolution, hybridization, local adaptation and phenotypic plasticity are believed to have interacted in varying degrees to produce a confounding array of forms and species in the Great Lakes and inland lakes that challenge traditional classification (Todd and Smith 1992; Steinhilber 2002).

As a result of the taxonomic uncertainty related to the blackfin cisco, the following description is based on Great Lakes specimens only (from Scott and Crossman 1973). The blackfin cisco is an elongate, lateral compressed fish whose greatest body depth is found anteriorly (Figure 1). The average adult length is approximately 330 mm and McAllister et al. (1985) reported a maximum length of 510 mm.


Figure 1: Fresh Specimen of a Blackfin Cisco (Coregonus nigripinnis) Caught in the Little Jackfish River in 2004

Figure 1: Fresh specimen of a blackfin cisco (Coregonus nigripinnis) caught in the Little Jackfish River in 2004. Photograph courtesy of David Stanley.

Photograph courtesy of David Stanley.

The head is broadly triangular with a blunt snout and terminal mouth that has the lower jaw usually projecting beyond, or sometimes equal to, the upper jaw. The eyes are large, with a diameter equivalent to about 25% of the head length. The gill rakers are long; the longest gill raker is greater in length than the longest gill filaments. The number of gill rakers ranges from 36-54, depending on geographic location.

A small adipose fin is present, and all other fins are relatively long. The dorsal fin has 9-11 rays. The caudal fin is widely spread and deeply forked. The anal fin has 10‑13 rays, the pelvic fins have 11-12 rays, and the pectoral fins have 15-18 rays. Scales are cycloid and large; the scale count along the lateral line ranges from 74-89 (Scott and Crossman 1973).

The overall colouration of blackfin cisco is dark silvery, with pink or purple iridescence on the sides. The back is dark green to black and silvery below. The upper and lower jaws are whitish but darkly pigmented. All fins are typically heavily pigmented black, particularly on the outer half. Breeding males and some females are described as developing nuptial tubercles or pearl organs during spawning periods.


Designatable Units

All Great Lakes and Lake Nipigon populations described by Koelz (1929) are found within the Great Lakes-Upper St. Lawrence ecozone of the freshwater ecozone classification adopted by COSEWIC. Based on morphological data, Koelz (1929) considered the lakes Huron and Michigan population(s) to be one subspecies (C. n. nigripinnis), and the Lake Nipigon population to consist of a second subspecies (C. n. regalis). Koelz (1929) also described subspecies from Lake Ontario (C. n. prognathus) and Lake Superior (C. n. cyanopterus); however, these forms have been since synonymized with the shortjaw cisco (Clarke and Todd 1980) and deemed invalid (Todd 1981), respectively.

In Ontario, the blackfin cisco has been reported in several lakes, outside of the Great Lakes and Lake Nipigon, in the Great Lakes-Upper St. Lawrence ecozone. However, the taxonomy of the fish in these lakes has not been resolved.

Due to the taxonomic uncertainties described above it is not possible at this time to determine if we are dealing with ecomorphotypes of a common and widespread species (Coregonus artedi), or distinct populations of blackfin cisco (C. nigripinnis). The uncertainty of systematic status can probably only be resolved through a comprehensive taxonomic/systematic review of the sub-genus, and therefore we will consider a single designation for the species.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco à nageoires noires au Canada - Mise à jour

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
cisco à nageoires noires
Coregonus nigripinnis
au Canada
2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Règne :
Animal
Embranchement :
Chordés
Classe :
Actinoptérygiens
Ordre :
Salmoniformes
Famille :
Salmonidés
Sous-famille :
Corégoninés
Genre et espèce :
Coregonus nigripinnis (Milner, 1874)
Nom commun
Français :
cisco à nageoires noires (Scott et Crossman, 1973)
Anglais :
blackfin cisco (Nelson et al., 2004)
Autres :
blackfin, black-fin tulibee, black-back tullibee, black-fin, mooneye cisco et bluefin (Scott et Crossman, 1973).


Le cisco à nageoires noires compte parmi les dix espèces de ciscos vivant au Canada (Scott et Crossman, 1973), les sept espèces de ciscos vivant dans les Grands Lacs (Cudmore-Vokey et Crossman, 2000) et les six espèces de ciscos appartenant au groupe d’espèces naissantes endémiques aux Grands Lacs identifiées par Koelz (1929). Le cisco à grande bouche (C. alpenae), décrit par Koelz (1929) et inclus dans Scott et Crossman (1973) n’en fait pas partie, car cette espèce est considérée comme un jumeau du cisco à mâchoires égales (C. zenithicus) par Todd et al. (1981).

Le cisco à nageoires noires (Coregonus nigripinnis) a été nommé par Gill (dans Hoy, 1872). La publication de Hoy (1872) ne décrivait pas l’espèce, mais mentionnait Gill comme la référence faisant autorité en ce qui concerne le C. nigripinnis. On a récemment remis en question cette référence. Eschmeyer (1998) remarque que Hoy ou Milner (1874, in Eschmeyer, 1998) pourrait être la véritable référence, puisque le manuscrit de Gill n’a jamais été publié (Nelson et al., 2004). À la lumière de renseignements additionnels fournis par Eschmeyer (1998), la publication de Milner (1874) est actuellement considérée par la Stratégie des pêches autochtones (SPA) comme la première description valable du cisco à nageoires noires (Nelson et al., 2004).


Taxinomie

En matière de nomenclature taxinomique, et surtout dans le bassin des Grands Lacs et les eaux intérieures, le cisco à nageoires noires est reconnu depuis longtemps comme une espèce problématique. À l’origine, Koelz (1929) a identifié quatre sous-espèces de C. nigripinnis dans les Grands Lacs, chacune confinée aux lacs suivants : C. n. nigripinnis (lacs Michigan et Huron); C. n. cyanopterus (lac Supérieur); et C. n. prognathus (lac Ontario). Toutefois, Koelz (1929) fait mention de difficultés à distinguer le petit C. n. nigripinnis et le C. n. cyanopterus du C. kiyi (cisco kiyi) dans les lacs Huron et Supérieur, respectivement. Plus récemment, le C. n. cyanopterus du lac Supérieur a été considéré comme un jumeau du cisco à mâchoires égales (C. zenithicus) (Clarke et Todd, 1980; Todd et Smith, 1980; Becker, 1983). Des spécimens types du C. n. prognathus du lac Ontario ont été examinés par Todd (1981) et considérés comme un amalgame d’espèces de corégoninés; l’holotype a été désigné nomen dubium. Par conséquent, aucune forme reconnue de cisco à nageoires noires n’est considérée comme ayant occupé les lacs Supérieur et Ontario.

À l’extérieur des Grands Lacs, Koelz (1929) a classifié une sous-espèce du lac Nipigon, le C. n. regalis. Clarke (1973) et Scott et Crossman (1973) ont avancé que ces poissons étaient probablement le C. artedii; alors que Nelson et al. (2004) croient que le cisco à nageoires noires vit encore dans le lac Nipigon. Des observations récentes indiquent que le cisco à nageoires noires se trouve encore dans le lac Nipigon (R. Salmon, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO), district de Nipigon, Nipigon, Ontario, comm. pers., 2003; T. Todd, United States Geological Survey (USGS), Ann Arbour, Michigan, comm. pers., 2003, 2005).

La présence du cisco à nageoires noires a été signalée dans les lacs intérieurs de la région centrale du Canada (Nelson et al., 2004), mais l’identité taxinomique de ces poissons demeure incertaine. Scott et Crossman (1973) ont conclu que le C. nigripinnis est une espèce problématique dans les eaux intérieures et demande un sérieux réexamen taxinomique et que l’espèce pourrait bien se révéler impossible à distinguer taxinomiquement d’une définition élargie du C. artedii. À ce jour, aucun examen taxinomique systématique approfondi des ciscos de l’Amérique du Nord n’a été entrepris. Par conséquent, il n’existe aucune description taxinomique formelle ni de référence faisant autorité concernant les ciscos à nageoires noires dont la présence est signalée dans les lacs intérieurs de la région centrale du Canada (voir aussi Répartition - Aire de répartition canadienne).

La recherche sur le cisco à mâchoires égales (C. zenithicus) a révélé que les populations des Grands Lacs et de l’intérieur sont impossibles à distinguer génétiquement du cisco de lac (C. artedii); cependant, le cisco à mâchoires égales est toujours considéré comme une espèce valable (Todd et al., 1981; Turgeon et al., 1999; Turgeon et Bernatchez, 2003). Cela suggère que certaines, voire toutes les espèces de ciscos endémiques, pourraient être en fait des écomorphotypes du cisco de lac (C. artedii), et non des espèces valables en soi. Si, dans le futur, cela était démontré dans le cas du cisco à nageoires noires, celui-ci serait tout de même encore considéré comme une unité évolutionnaire significative (evolutionarily significant unit) ou, à tout le moins, un morphotype unique.

Turgeon et Bernatchez (2003) ont proposé une solution à la confusion qui entoure la taxinomie des ciscos, y compris le cisco à nageoires noires. D’après leurs travaux sur l’évolution en réseau et la diversité phénotypique chez les ciscos d’Amérique du Nord, Turgeon et Bernatchez (2003) suggèrent qu’un unique taxon, C. artedii (sensu lato), qui engloberait le cisco à nageoires noires, soit reconnu comme le seul taxon légitime pour les ciscos d’Amérique du Nord répartis dans le centre du Canada et le nord des États-Unis. Cette proposition n’a pas été accueillie très favorablement par les spécialistes du domaine et, au moment de rédiger la présente mise à jour du rapport de situation, la question de la taxinomie de l’espèce demeurait irrésolue, et la classification de Koelz (1929) est acceptée par Nelson et al. (2004).


Description

Le cisco à nageoires noires a été décrit par Koelz (1929) à partir de spécimens capturés dans le lac Michigan (la localité type). Mais on a remarqué que les ciscos des Grands Lacs, en tant que groupe, ont changé considérablement depuis l’époque de Koelz, et qu’ils présentent des variations morphologiques tant intraspécifiques qu’interspécifiques, ce qui complique aujourd’hui leur classification (Todd et Smith, 1992). On croit que la coévolution, l’hybridation, les adaptations locales et la plasticité phénotypique se sont conjuguées à divers degrés pour produire une déconcertante variété de formes et d’espèces dans les Grands Lacs et les lacs intérieurs qui met à l’épreuve la classification conventionnelle (Todd et Smith, 1992; Steinhilber, 2002).

En gardant en mémoire l’incertitude taxinomique entourant le cisco à nageoires noires, la description présentée ci-après est fondée sur des spécimens des Grands Lacs seulement (tiré de Scott et Crossman, 1973). Le cisco à nageoires noires est un poisson allongé et trapu dans l’axe latéral qui atteint sa largeur maximale dans la partie antérieure du corps (figure 1). Sa longueur moyenne est d’environ 330 mm; sa longueur maximum enregistrée est de 510 mm (McAllister et al., 1985).


Figure 1 : Spécimen frais de cisco à nageoires noires (Coregonus nigripinnis)

Figure 1 : Spécimen frais de cisco à nageoires noires (Coregonus nigripinnis) capturé dans la rivière Little Jackfish en 2004.

Capturé dans la rivière Little Jackfish en 2004. Photographie reproduite avec la permission de David Stanley.

La tête est à peu près triangulaire, le museau est court et la bouche est terminale. La mâchoire inférieure est généralement plus longue que la mâchoire supérieure, et parfois de même taille. Les yeux sont grands; leur diamètre équivaut à environ 25 p. 100 de la longueur de la tête. Les branchicténies sont longues; la plus longue branchicténie dépasse en longueur la plus longue lamelle branchiale. Le nombre de branchicténies varie entre 36 et 54, selon l’emplacement géographique de l’espèce.

L’espèce porte une petite nageoire adipeuse, et toutes les autres nageoires sont relativement longues. La nageoire dorsale comporte de 9 à 11 rayons. La nageoire caudale est très déployée et échancrée. La nageoire anale comporte de 10 à 13 rayons, les nageoires pelviennes de 11 à 12 et les nageoires pectorales de 15 à 18. Les écailles sont grandes et cycloïdes; on en compte entre 74 et 89 le long de la ligne latérale (Scott et Crossman, 1973).

Le cisco à nageoires noires est de teinte argentée et foncée, avec des reflets roses ou violets sur les flancs. Le dos est vert foncé ou noir et le ventre est argenté. Les mâchoires sont blanchâtres avec des pigments foncés. Toutes les nageoires sont généralement fortement pigmentées de noir, en particulier dans la moitié externe. On a décrit, chez les mâles reproducteurs et certaines femelles, le développement de tubercules nuptiaux ou organes perliformes durant la saison du frai.


Unités désignables

Toutes les populations des Grands Lacs et du lac Nipigon décrites par Koelz (1929) se situent à l’intérieur de l’écozone des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent, selon la classification des écozones d’eau douce adoptée par le COSEPAC. En se fondant sur des caractéristiques morphologiques, Koelz (1929) a réuni les populations du lac Huron et du lac Michigan en une seule sous-espèce (C. n. nigripinnis) et considéré la population du lac Nipigon comme une sous-espèce distincte (C. n. regalis). Koelz (1929) a également décrit une sous-espèce du lac Ontario (C. n. prognathus) et du lac Supérieur (C. n. cyanopterus); depuis, l’une de ces formes a été associée avec le cisco à mâchoires égales (Clarke et Todd, 1980) et l’autre a été jugée non valable (Todd, 1981).

En Ontario, le cisco à nageoires noires a été signalé dans plusieurs lacs autres que les Grands Lacs et le lac Nipigon, dans l’écozone des Grands Lacs et du Haut-Saint-Laurent, l’écozone Saskatchewan-Nelson et l’écozone Sud de la baie d’Hudson et baie James. Par contre, la taxinomie des poissons vivant dans ces lacs n’a pas été résolue.

Par conséquent, trois unités désignables seront traitées dans le présent rapport : C. n. nigripinnis dans le lac Huron; C. n. regalis dans le lac Nipigon et ses affluents (y compris la rivière Little Jackfish); C. nigripinnis (nomen dubium) pour les populations putatives de certains lacs intérieurs du nord-ouest et du centre de l’Ontario, mais dont la classification taxinomique est incertaine.