Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Blackfin Cisco in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The blackfin cisco is part of the subfamily Coregoninae which have a global distribution within North America, Europe and Asia. As a species, blackfin cisco is only known to occur, or have occurred, within the Laurentian Great Lakes and Lake Nipigon. It has also been reported in several lakes in central Canada, but the taxonomy of the fish in these lakes has not been resolved.


Canadian Range

Historically, the blackfin cisco was reported by Koelz (1929) as an endemic species to each of the Great Lakes bordering Ontario, except Lake Erie; and also Lake Nipigon. More recently, the Lake Superior form was synonymized with the shortjaw cisco (Clarke and Todd 1980) and the Lake Ontario form was deemed invalid (Todd 1981).

Blackfin cisco have been reported within the Little Jackfish River watershed adjacent to Lake Nipigon in 1986 and 2004, and Ombabika Bay, the outlet of the Little Jackfish River in Lake Nipigon (UMA 1987). The identification of the specimens from these locations was confirmed (T. Todd, USGS, pers. comm. 2005). It is plausible that fish from these locations are related to, or originated from, the Lake Nipigon population. However, it seems unusual for a species with a deepwater affinity to have a riverine occurrence, and these may be accidentals that have migrated into the river and are not resident there.

The blackfin cisco has also been reported in lakes throughout central Canada (Figure 2, Appendix 1). In Ontario, it has been reported from lakes in northwestern and central Ontario. Deepwater cisco have also been reported in the Ogoki River, which was originally part of the Albany River drainage, but has been diverted south to flow into the Great Lakes drainage. These have also been confirmed as blackfin cisco by Todd, but their affinity is unknown. Ryder et al. (1964) tentatively reported blackfin cisco from several lakes in northwestern Ontario; however, they cautioned that, “Until a comprehensive taxonomic study on the coregonids of the northern inland lakes has been completed, the identifications of C. nigripinnis and C. zenithicus are tentative. It is possible that C. nigripinnis is merely a deep-water form of C. artedii”. Such a taxonomic study has not taken place on specimens from these lakes, nor from any other inland lake in Ontario; therefore, the taxonomic identify of these specimens is unresolved.

The blackfin cisco has also been reported in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta (Figure 2; Appendix 1). Hinks (1957, in Stewart et al. 2004) reported the species from Lake Winnipeg. However, Clarke (1973, in Stewart et al. 2004) did not consider the Lake Winnipeg and Lake Manitoba specimens to be different from C. artedii. As a result, there are presently no confirmed records of blackfin cisco reported in Manitoba (M. Erickson, Manitoba Water Stewardship, Fisheries Branch, Winnipeg, MB, personal communication 2005; K. Stewart, Professor (retired) Department of Zoology, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, personal communication 2005). 

In Saskatchewan, Dymond (1943, in Scott and Crossman 1973) considered the species to occur in Waskesiu, Little Trout, Burntwood and Heart lakes. Additional occurrences have been reported for Clearwater, Kingsmere and Reindeer lakes. However, these records are no longer considered as valid as specimens collected from these lakes are now considered to be forms of C. artedii and not C. nigripinnis (J. Pepper, Saskatchewan Conservation Data Centre, Fish and Wildlife Branch, Saskatchewan Environment, personal communication 2005).

Dymond (1943) reported the species from Lake Athabaska; however, this occurrence is now considered invalid (Kooyman 1970, in Scott and Crossman, 1973; J. Nelson, Professor Emeritus, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB, personal communication 2005).

Therefore, the Canadian range of the blackfin cisco is Lakes Huron, Lake Nipigon and its tributaries, and possibly some of the inland lakes in northwestern and central Ontario.


Figure 2: Reported Distribution of Blackfin Cisco in Canada

Figure 2: Reported distribution of blackfin cisco in Canada. Data compiled from museum collection data and reports from literature.

Data compiled from museum collection data and reports from literature. Historical records of blackfin cisco for inland lakes in Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta are now considered to be invalid due to taxonomic uncertainty.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco à nageoires noires au Canada - Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le cisco à nageoires noires appartient à la sous-famille des Corégoninés, dont la répartition mondiale englobe l’Amérique du Nord, l’Europe et l’Asie. Toutes les occurrences historiques ou actuelles connues du cisco à nageoires noires proviennent des Grands Lacs laurentiens et du lac Nipigon. L’espèce a également été signalée dans plusieurs lacs de la région centrale du Canada, mais la taxinomie des poissons de ces lacs demeure incertaine.


Aire de répartition canadienne

Historiquement, le cisco à nageoires noires a été décrit par Koelz (1929) comme une espèce endémique à tous les Grands Lacs touchant à l’Ontario, sauf le lac Érié et le lac Nipigon. Plus récemment, la forme du lac Supérieur a été associée avec le cisco à mâchoires égales (Clarke et Todd, 1980) et la forme du lac Ontario a été jugée non valable (Todd, 1981).

On a signalé le cisco à nageoires noires dans le bassin de la rivière Little Jackfish adjacent au lac Nipigon en 1986 et en 2004, ainsi que dans la baie Ombabika, soit le lieu où la rivière Little Jackfish se jette dans le lac Nipigon (UMA, 1987). L’identification de spécimens provenant de ces emplacements a été confirmée (T. Todd, USGS, comm. pers., 2005). Il est plausible que les individus de cette région soient des proches parents ou des descendants de la population du lac Nipigon. Il semble toutefois inhabituel de trouver des occurrences en rivière pour une espèce privilégiant les eaux profondes. Il pourrait s’agir d’individus ayant migré accidentellement dans la rivière, mais qui n’y résident pas.

Le cisco à nageoires noires a également été signalé dans des lacs de la région centrale du Canada (figure 2, annexe 1). En Ontario, il a été signalé dans des lacs du nord-ouest et du centre de l’Ontario. Des ciscos de profondeur ont également été signalés dans la rivière Ogoki, qui faisait partie à l’origine du bassin hydrographique de la rivière Albany, mais qui a été détournée vers le sud pour se jeter dans le bassin des Grands Lacs. Ces individus ont été identifiés comme des ciscos à nageoires noires par Todd, mais leur parenté est inconnue. Ryder et al. (1964) ont signalé la présence possible de ciscos à nageoires noires dans plusieurs lacs du nord-ouest de l’Ontario. Ils ont cependant averti que tant qu’une étude taxinomique exhaustive des corégonidés de la région des lacs intérieurs du nord n’aura pas été menée, l’identification du C. nigripinnis et du C. zenithicus demeurera provisoire. Il est possible que le C. nigripinnis soit simplement une forme d’espèce d’eau profonde du C. artedii. Une telle étude taxinomique n’a pas été menée sur des spécimens provenant de ces lacs, ni d’aucun autre lac intérieur de l’Ontario d’ailleurs; par conséquent, l’identité de ces spécimens demeure irrésolue.


Figure 2 : Distribution du cisco à nageoires noires au Canada

Figure 2 : Distribution du cisco à nageoires noires au Canada. Sources de données : collections de musées et publications scientifiques

Sources de données : collections de musées et publications scientifiques. Les enregistrements historiques de ciscos à nageoires noires dans les lacs intérieurs de l’Ontario, du Manitoba, de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta sont aujourd’hui considérés comme non valables en raison d’incertitudes taxinomiques.

Le cisco à nageoires noires a également été signalé au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta (figure 2, annexe 1). Hinks (1957, in Stewart et al., 2004) signale cette espèce dans le lac Winnipeg. Mais Clarke (1973, dans Stewart et al., 2004) considère que les spécimens du lac Winnipeg et du lac Manitoba ne sont pas différents du C. artedii. Ainsi, il n’existe aucun enregistrement confirmé de cisco à nageoires noires au Manitoba (M. Erickson, Manitoba Water Stewardship, Fisheries Branch, Winnipeg, Manitoba, comm. pers., 2005; K. Stewart, professeur à la retraite, département de zoologie, Université du Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, comm. pers., 2005).

En Saskatchewan, Dymond (1943, dans Scott et Crossman, 1973) estime que l’espèce est présente dans les lacs Waskesiu, Little Trout, Burntwood et Heart. Des occurrences additionnelles ont été signalées dans les lacs Clearwater, Kingsmere et Reindeer. Mais ces enregistrements ne sont plus considérés comme valables, car on estime aujourd’hui que les spécimens recueillis dans ces lacs sont des formes du C. artedii et non des C. nigripinnis (J. Pepper, Saskatchewan Conservation Data Centre, Fish and Wildlife Branch, Saskatchewan Environment, comm. pers., 2005).

Dymond (1943) signale l’espèce dans le lac Athabaska; cependant, cette occurrence est aujourd’hui jugée non valide (Kooyman, 1970, dans Scott et Crossman, 1973; J. Nelson, professeur émérite, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Alberta, comm. pers., 2005).

En somme, l’aire de répartition canadienne du cisco à nageoires noires est le lac Huron, le lac Michigan ainsi que le lac Nipigon et ses affluents et peut-être même quelques-uns des lacs intérieurs dans le centre et le nord-ouest de l’Ontario.