Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Blackfin Cisco in Canada

Biology

General

There is limited information on the biology of the blackfin cisco in Canadian waters. Standard lengths for adults reported from the Great Lakes have ranged from 230‑370 mm (Clarke and Todd 1980). McAllister et al. (1985) reported a maximum length of 510 mm. Dymond (1926) gave a length of 388 mm for a specimen taken from Lake Nipigon. A small sample of blackfin cisco (n=4) taken from the Ogoki River in October 2004 had standard lengths of 431 and 465 mm for two males, and 485 and 499 mm for two females. Weights of these specimens were 660 and 1090 g for the males, and 1060 and 1110 g for the females (D. Stanley, pers. comm. 2005).


Reproduction

Little is known of the reproductive habits of blackfin cisco. Age of maturity, breeding frequency, fecundity, early life history, age/sex ratio and population structure are all unknown or poorly defined. Information originally reported by Koelz (1929) for the Great Lakes suggests that blackfin cisco spawned from October to January. Scott and Crossman (1973) suggest that spawning took place between November and January within the Great Lakes, possibly over a clay bottom.

Blackfin cisco in northwestern Ontario have been reported as co-occurring with C. artedi during a fall spawning run on the Little Jackfish River and on Crescent Lake (UMA 1987). The apparent similarity of spawning location and timing, at these locations, suggests a probable reason for encountering many intergrades between the two species.


Survival

No information related to survival, growth rates or population structure is available for this species. The growth potential of any remnant Great Lakes population (if existing), the Lake Nipigon population, and any other inland lake or river populations is unknown.

Scott and Crossman (1973) indicate that data on age of maturity, etc., for C. artedi could be used to give some idea of age of maturity, etc. for C. nigripinnis. This would suggest that males reach sexual maturity at age 4 or 5 and females at age 5, with a maximum age of 11 years. On this basis the generation time for the species would be 7.5 years.


Physiology

No information on the specific physiology of blackfin cisco was found during the preparation of this update status report.


Movements/Dispersal

Limited species-specific information has been reported for blackfin cisco regarding its movement/dispersal for the purposes of spawning or due to seasonal migration. Spawning areas have not been documented in the literature; however, ripe specimens collected from the lower Little Jackfish River in October (UMA 1987) suggest there may be movement of blackfin cisco from Lake Nipigon into this river to spawn.

Dymond (1926) suggested that the difference in depth distribution of blackfin cisco in Lake Nipigon may be the result of seasonal movement from deep to shallower waters during the summer months. No information is available regarding breeding or wintering ranges.


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Koelz (1929) reported that blackfin cisco fed almost exclusively on opossum shrimp (Mysis relicta). Food in the stomachs of a limited number of individuals caught off the Michigan shore of Lake Huron and in Georgian Bay (1917 and 1919, respectively) contained primarily opossum shrimp with small amounts of plant fragments, insect remains and fish scales. All fish sampled were captured at depths of more than 110 m. Beyond this observation, little is known of the feeding habits of this species.

As a prey species, blackfin cisco, along with other cisco species, were believed to form the basic food of lake trout (Salvelinus namaycush) within the Great Lakes and Lake Nipigon until at least the 1950s (Scott and Crossman 1973). The blackfin cisco in the Great Lakes was also reported to have been preyed on by sea lamprey (Petromyzon marinus) (Moffett 1957).


Behaviour/Adaptability

No specific information was found during the preparation of this update status report regarding the behaviour of blackfin cisco, particularly as related to the ability of the species to cope with human disturbance. Such information is difficult to assess because human interference, where documented, has been of a dramatic nature. The intense exploitation of deepwater ciscoes, including blackfin cisco, by the commercial fisheries from the early 1900s to the 1950s contributed to the dramatic decline of populations in the Great Lakes (Smith 1964; Berst and Spangler 1972; Christie 1972; Lawrie and Rahrer 1972).

Similarly, information on the ability of blackfin cisco to adapt to environmental change or degradation (e.g., water temperature changes, water level fluctuation, and industrial discharges to water) is lacking.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco à nageoires noires au Canada - Mise à jour

Biologie

Généralités

On dispose de peu d’information sur la biologie du cisco à nageoires noires dans les eaux canadiennes. Les longueurs standard des adultes rapportées dans les Grands Lacs varient entre 230 et 370 mm (Clarke et Todd, 1980). McAllister et al. (1985) rapportent une longueur maximum de 510 mm. Dymond (1926) décrit un spécimen du lac Nipigon d’une longueur 388 mm. Dans un petit échantillon de ciscos à nageoires noires (n=4) recueilli dans la rivière Ogoki en octobre 2004, deux mâles avaient une longueur standard de 431 et 465 mm et elle était de 485 et 499 mm chez deux femelles. Le poids total était de 660 et de 1 090 g pour les mâles et de 1 060 et 1 110 g pour les femelles (D. Stanley, comm. pers., 2005).


Reproduction

On sait peu de choses sur la reproduction du cisco à nageoires noires. L’âge auquel il devient mature, sa fréquence de reproduction, sa fécondité, les premiers stades de son cycle vital, le ratio âge-sexe et la structure de sa population sont inconnus ou méconnus. L’information recueillie par Koelz (1929) dans les Grands Lacs suggère que l’espèce y frayait entre octobre et janvier. Scott et Crossman (1973) avancent que le frai avait lieu entre novembre et janvier dans les Grands Lacs, peut-être sur fond argileux.

On rapporte que le cisco à nageoires noires, dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario, était associé au cisco de lac durant une migration de frai automnale dans la rivière Little Jackfish et dans le lac Crescent (UMA, 1987). L’apparente similitude dans l’emplacement et la périodicité du frai dans cette région pourrait expliquer pourquoi on y trouve plusieurs formes intermédiaires entre ces deux espèces.


Survie

Il n’y a aucune information liée à la survie, au taux de croissance ou à la structure de la population de cette espèce. Le potentiel de croissance d’une population vestige dans les Grands Lacs (si une telle population existe), de la population du lac Nipigon et de toute autre population des lacs ou des rivières intérieurs est inconnu. Scott et Crossman (1973) indiquent que les données sur l’âge auquel l’espèce C. artedii devient mature sexuellement, entre autres, pourraient aider à situer l’âge auquel le C. nigripinnis le devient, entre autres également. Ces données laissent présumer que les mâles atteignent leur maturité sexuelle à 4 ou 5 ans et les femelles, à 5 ans, et vivent tout au plus 11 ans. En se fondant sur ces renseignements, la durée de vie d’une génération serait de 7,5 ans.


Physiologie

Aucune information sur la physiologie du cisco à nageoires noires n’a été trouvée dans le cadre de la préparation de cette mise à jour du rapport de situation.


Déplacements et dispersion

Il existe quelques renseignements sur les déplacements et la dispersion de l’espèce pour le frai ou les migrations saisonnières. Les frayères ne sont pas décrites dans la documentation scientifique; par contre, la présence de spécimens matures recueillis dans le bas de la rivière Little Jackfish en octobre (UMA, 1987) suggère que les ciscos à nageoires noires pourraient migrer du lac Nipigon vers cette rivière pour frayer.

Dymond (1926) avance que la différence dans la distribution par profondeur du cisco à nageoires noires dans le lac Nipigon pourrait s’expliquer par des déplacements saisonniers vers des eaux moins profondes durant l’été. Il n’existe aucune information sur les aires de reproduction ou d’hivernage.


Alimentation et relations interspécifiques

Koelz (1929) rapporte que le cisco à nageoires noires se nourrissait presque exclusivement de mysis (Mysis relicta). L’estomac de quelques individus capturés au large de la côte du Michigan du lac Huron et dans la baie Georgienne (en 1917 et en 1919, respectivement) contenait principalement des mysis et des fragments de plantes, ainsi que des restes d’insectes et des écailles de poisson en petite quantité. Tous les individus examinés ont été capturés à des profondeurs de plus de 110 m. Mis à part ces observations, les habitudes alimentaires de l’espèce sont inconnues.

En tant que proie, on croit que le cisco à nageoires noires, comme d’autres espèces de ciscos, constituait la principale source d’alimentation du touladi (Salvelinus namaycush) dans les Grands Lacs et le lac Nipigon, jusqu’aux années 1950 à tout le moins (Scott et Crossman, 1973). Moffett (1957) a également signalé que, dans les Grands Lacs, la grande lamproie marine (Petromyzon marinus) chassait le cisco à nageoires noires.


Comportement et adaptabilité

Aucune information sur le comportement du cisco à nageoires noires n’a été trouvée dans le cadre de la préparation du présent rapport de situation, notamment en ce qui concerne sa capacité à composer avec les perturbations humaines. Cela est difficile à évaluer puisque ces perturbations, du moins les perturbations documentées, ont été de nature extrêmement sévère. L’exploitation intensive des ciscos de profondeur, y compris le cisco à nageoires noires, par les pêcheries commerciales entre le début des années 1900 et les années 1950 a été l’une des causes du grave déclin des populations des Grands Lacs (Smith, 1964; Berst et Spangler, 1972; Christie, 1972; Lawrie et Rahrer, 1972).

De même, il n’existe aucune information sur la capacité du cisco à nageoires noires à s’adapter aux changements ou à la dégradation de son milieu (p. ex. changements de la température de l’eau, fluctuations du niveau de l’eau et décharges industrielles dans l’eau).