Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

3. Description of the Species and its Needs

3.1 Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus Description

Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is a perennial, low, spreading, succulent cactus with jointed, rounded, but flattened, green stems measuring 5 to 12 cm in length. Stem segments are fleshy or firm and become wrinkled under drought stress. Stems are sparsely covered with clusters of barbed bristles and spines. It has a shallow, efficient root system consisting of a central taproot and fleshy, lateral roots. Flowers appear in June. They are large, waxy and yellow with red centres. The fruits are oblong and turn red when mature. Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus occurs as small patches or large scattered colonies of thousands of stems. For more detailed information on this species' description please consult Benson (1982).

3.2 Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus Needs

Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus can survive across a wide range of environmental conditions as it is highly drought tolerant and has low nutrient requirements. In Canada, the species is limited to dry, sandy substrates, typically near shore dunes and sand barrens, that are in the early stages of succession (Reznicek 1982, Klinkenberg and Klinkenberg 1984, Chiarot 1992). The species is associated with the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas ecosystem. This ecosystem includes habitats along the shorelines of Lake Erie sand spits and in the dry interior areas of these sand spits (dry Open and Shrub Shoreline; Open, Shrub and Treed Sand Dune; Tallgrass, Mixed Tallgrass and Coniferous Savanna and some Coniferous and Mixed Woodland vegetation communities) that are characterized by the presence of semi-open, early successional vegetation situated on well-drained, nutrient-poor, sandy substrates (Geomatics International Inc. 1994). Together, these habitats share biophysical attributes and are subject to comparable geophysical processes. The more open of these habitats (Little Bluestem-Switchgrass-Beachgrass Open Graminoid Sand Dunes, Hoptree Shrub Sand Dunes and Red Cedar Treed Sand Dunes) support, or are capable of supporting, Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus. However, relict plants can be found in later successional stages of thicket, woodland and forest.

This species is limited by light exposure conditions. Optimal growth occurs with 50 to 70 percent lighting (VanDerWal et al. 2007b), while full light may result in rapid drying of the sandy soils, contributing to reduced vigour. Seedlings survive best in more open primary and secondary successional habitats.

Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus relies on bumblebees and other bee species for pollination (Kevan and Aiello 2002) and on birds and mammals for seed dispersal. It may be limited where pollinators and dispersers are in short supply or where unsuitable habitat (e.g. forests) acts as a barrier to pollinator movement (Kevan et al. 2003).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

3. Description de l'espèce et de ses besoins

3.1 Description de l'oponce de l'Est

L'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) est un cactus vivace bas et rampant à tiges succulentes, vertes et plutôt arrondies, mais aplaties, mesurant de 5 à 12 cm de long. Les segments de tige sont charnus ou fermes et se plissent en période de sécheresse. Les tiges portent ici et là des touffes d'épines et de soies raides barbelées. L'oponce de l'Est est pourvu d'un système radiculaire efficace et peu profond qui comporte une racine pivotante centrale et des racines latérales charnues. La floraison a lieu en juin. Les fleurs sont grandes, cireuses, jaunes, à centre rouge. Le fruit est oblong et rouge à maturité. La plante pousse en petites colonies serrées ou en grandes colonies de sujets éparpillés se comptant parfois par milliers. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur cette espèce, veuillez vous reporter à Benson (1982).

3.2 Besoins de l'oponce de l'Est

L'oponce de l'Est tolère un vaste éventail de conditions environnementales, car il est très résistant à la sécheresse et nécessite peu d'éléments nutritifs. Au Canada, l'espèce pousse dans des milieux au substrat sec et sablonneux, habituellement des dunes et des terrains sableux, où la végétation se trouve aux premiers stades de succession (Reznicek 1982, Klinkenberg et Klinkenberg 1984, Chiarot 1992). Elle est associée à l'écosystème des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié. Cet écosystème comprend des habitats situés le long des rives des flèches de sable du lac Érié et dans les secteurs secs à l'intérieur de ces flèches (herbaçaie littorale sur sol sec, arbustaie littorale sur sol sec; herbaçaie dunaire, arbustaie dunaire, arboraie dunaire; savane à grandes graminées, savane mixte, savane coniférienne, certaines communautés végétales de forêt claire coniférienne et de forêt claire mixte) caractérisés par la présence d'une végétation semi ouverte à un stade de succession peu avancé, sur des sols sablonneux, bien drainés et à faible teneur en éléments nutritifs (Geomatics International Inc. 1994). Ces habitats ont les mêmes caractéristiques biophysiques et sont sujets à des processus géophysiques comparables. L'oponce de l'Est pousse ou peut pousser dans des habitats plus ouverts (herbaçaie dunaire à graminoïdes, type à barbon à balais, à panic raide et à ammophile à ligule courte; arbustaie dunaire à ptéléa trifolié; arboraie dunaire à genevrier de Virgine). Il est par contre possible de trouver certaines plantes reliques dans des communautés associées à un stade plus avancé de succession comme des fourrés, des zones arborées et des forêts.

This species is limited by light exposure conditions. Optimal growth occurs with 50 to 70 percent lighting (VanDerWal et al. 2007b), while full light may result in rapid drying of the sandy soils, contributing to reduced vigour. Seedlings survive best in more open primary and secondary successional habitats.

La croissance de cette espèce dépend de la luminosité. L'oponce de l'Est a besoin de 50 à 70 pour 100 de lumière pour atteindre sa croissance optimale (VanDerWal et al. 2007b). Un plein ensoleillement assècherait rapidement les sols sablonneux, ce qui rendrait la plante moins vigoureuse. Les semis ont de meilleures chances de survie dans des communautés de succession primaire et secondaire.

L'oponce de l'Est dépend des bourdons et d'autres espèces d'abeilles pour la pollinisation (Kevan et Aiello 2002) ainsi que des oiseaux et des mammifères pour la dispersion des graines. Le taux de reproduction de la plante sera moindre si les pollinisateurs et les agents de dispersion sont en nombre insuffisant ou si un habitat (p. ex., les forêts) agit comme barrière à la pollinisation (Kevan et al. 2003).