Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

4. Threat Identification

The three extant native populations of the species at two locations (two populations at Point Pelee National Park [PPNP] and one at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve [FPPNR]) face three significant threats: loss of habitat through succession, loss of suitable habitat through the alteration of natural disturbance regimes and collection (Table 1).

Table 1: Threat classification table.

ThreatExtentCausal CertaintyOccurrenceFrequencySeverityOverall Level of Concern
Vegetation successionWidespreadHighCurrentContinuousHighHigh
Alteration of natural disturbance regimesWidespreadHigh (shoreline populations)Current (shoreline populations)ContinuousHighMedium
CollectionWidespreadHigh (FPPNR), Medium (PPNP)CurrentRecurrentMediumMedium


4.1 Loss and Degradation of Suitable Habitat

The loss of suitable habitat detailed below places the few, small, Canadian Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus populations, already living in a dynamic and harsh environment, in danger of complete loss due to stochastic (random) events.

4.1.1 Vegetation Succession

Suitable habitat for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus has been lost or degraded due to vegetation succession. Alteration of the natural disturbance regimes can result in direct competition with other plants as succession proceeds. Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is intolerant of such competition. This is the most imminent threat posed to the species and of the highest concern. This threat is considered current and severe at all three extant, native populations.

4.1.2 Alteration of Natural Disturbance Regimes

Shoreline erosion is leading to the loss of individuals and habitat, caused in part by interference with Lake Erie sediment transport dynamics (COSEWIC 2000). Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus individuals have been relocated away from the shoreline at Point Pelee National Park in the past to prevent their loss from storm action (Klinkenberg and Klinkenberg 1984).

4.2 Collection

The collection of whole specimens representing genetically unique individuals, or their parts, for horticultural purposes has, and continues to pose a threat to native Canadian populations at both sites, particularly the small population at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve (Canadian Parks Service 1991, COSEWIC 2000). Two instances of collection or attempted collection were reported in 2009 at Point Pelee National Park (V. L. McKay pers. obs., L. Ritchie pers. comm. 2009).

4.3 Other Threats

The following threats are considered to be potential or historical and are thought to be of low concern in terms of population-level effects to the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus at this time.

  • Disease: Monitoring of the Point Pelee National Park population demonstrated that clusters of cactus with more than 75 stems having 70 percent or more shading suffered from an unspecified blight that decreased the health and survival of the cactus (Chiarot 1992).
  • Non-Indigenous, invasive species:Non-indigenous, invasive plants represent an important threat to the habitats in which Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is found. Daylily (Hemerocallis species), Spotted Knapweed (Centaurea maculosa) and White Sweet-clover (Melilotus alba) have been noted to competitively exclude Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Canadian Park Service 1991). Other invasive, woody species advance rates of natural succession.
  • Loss of genetic integrity through the introduction of non-native genes: Should cacti that are not of local provenance be planted in areas immediately adjacent to the native populations, cross-pollination could potentially result in the alteration of the native genetic makeup.
  • Loss of genetic integrity through genetic isolation occurring in small populations: Genetic isolation can lead to random fluctuations in the frequency of the appearance of a gene in a small population, presumably owing more to chance rather than natural selection. This can affect the genetic makeup of the population, leading to differences from the main population (founder effect). The effect of this genetic drift is more pronounced in small isolated populations and can result in reduced fitness.
  • Off-trail traffic: Point Pelee National Park experiences high rates of visitor traffic during peak seasons. These visitors do not always remain on trails. Soil compaction, the introduction of exotic species and trampling of species at risk result (Geomatics International Inc. 1994). The effect of this perceived threat remains to be clarified and quantified. While increased pedestrian traffic may have its impacts, such disturbances may also contribute to the maintenance of the open nature of the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas ecosystem upon which Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus depends.
  • Introduction of non-indigenous, invasive species, including exotic pests and diseases: This concern relates primarily to a potential, future invasion of the Cactus Moth (Cactoblastis cactorum), a South American species native to Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay and southern Brazil. The larvae feed on Opuntia species' cactus pads and resulting wounds and secondary pathogens are often fatal to the plant (Zimmermann et al. 2000). Although it has recently appeared in Florida, the Canada Food Inspection Agency does not consider this tropically adapted species to be a risk as it is felt that it would be unable to survive the harsh Canadian winter. However, impacts could be catastrophic for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus if this is not the case.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

4. Détermination des menaces

Trois menaces importantes pèsent sur les trois populations indigènes existantes d'oponce de l'Est aux deux sites (deux populations au parc national de la Pointe Pelée [PNPP] et une à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish [RNPPF]) : la perte d'habitat causée par la succession végétale, la perte d'habitat convenable attribuable à l'altération des régimes de perturbations naturelles et la cueillette (tableau 1).

Tableau 1 : Tableau de classification des menaces

MenaceÉtendueCertitude causaleOccurrenceFréquenceGravitéNiveau de préoccupation globale
Succession végétaleRépandueÉlevéeEn coursContinueÉlevéeÉlevé
Altération des régimes de perturbations naturellesRépandueÉlevée (populations des rives)En cours (populations des rives)ContinueÉlevéeModéré
CueilletteRépandueÉlevée (RNPPF), Modérée (PNPP)En coursRécurrenteModéréeModéré


4.1 Perte et détérioration de l'habitat convenable

La perte d'habitat convenable décrite ci après menace de faire disparaître les quelques petites populations canadiennes d'oponce de l'Est, déjà exposées à un environnement dynamique et rigoureux, en raison des phénomènes stochastiques (aléatoires).

4.1.1 Succession végétale

La succession végétale a entraîné la perte ou la détérioration de l'habitat de l'oponce de l'Est. En raison de l'altération des régimes de perturbations naturelles, l'oponce de l'Est doit faire concurrence directement à d'autres espèces végétales à mesure que se poursuit la succession végétale. L'oponce de l'Est ne tolère pas une telle concurrence, qui constitue la plus grande menace imminente qui pèse sur l'espèce et une des préoccupations principales. Cette menace, considérée comme grave, est présente dans les trois populations indigènes existantes.

4.1.2 Altération des régimes de perturbations naturelles

L'érosion des rivages entraîne la perte d'individus et d'habitat parce qu'elle nuit au processus de transport des sédiments du lac Érié (COSEPAC2000). Dans le passé, au parc national de la Pointe Pelée, des individus d'oponce de l'Est ont déjà été transplantés dans des endroits loin des rivages afin d'éviter qu'ils soient détruits par des tempêtes (Klinkenberg et Klinkenberg 1984).

4.2 Cueillette

La cueillette de spécimens, en tout ou en partie, représentant des individus génétiquement uniques, à des fins horticoles constitue depuis toujours une menace pour les populations canadiennes indigènes d'oponce de l'Est aux deux sites, plus particulièrement pour la petite population de la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish (Service canadien des parcs 1991, COSEPAC2000). En 2009, deux incidents liés à une cueillette ou à une tentative de cueillette ont été signalés au parc national de la Pointe Pelée (V. L. McKay comm. pers., L. Ritchie comm. pers., 2009).

4.3 Autres menaces

Voici des menaces que l'on considère comme potentielles ou historiques et dont les effets sur les populations d'oponce de l'Est sont jugés peu préoccupants pour l'instant.

  • Maladie: Des activités de surveillance de la population du parc national de la Pointe Pelée ont révélé que les parcelles d'oponces comportant plus de 75 tiges qui poussent dans des milieux recevant moins de 30 pour 100 de lumière étaient atteintes d'une forme de mildiou indéterminée compromettant leur santé et leur survie (Chiarot 1992).
  • Espèces non indigènes envahissantes: Les plantes non indigènes envahissantes constituent une menace importante pour les habitats où l'oponce de l'Est est présent. Des cas d'exclusion compétitive de l'oponce de l'Est par l'hémérocalle (espèce Hemerocallis), la centaurée maculée (Centaurea maculosa) et le mélilot blanc (Melilotus alba) ont été répertoriés (Service canadien des parcs 1991). La présence d'autres espèces ligneuses envahissantes accélère la succession naturelle.
  • Perte de l'intégrité génétique par l'introduction de gènes non indigènes: En cas de plantation d'oponces " exotiques " dans le voisinage immédiat des populations indigènes, la pollinisation croisée pourrait entraîner l'altération de la constitution génétique de la plante indigène.
  • Perte de l'intégrité génétique par l'isolement génétique de petites populations: L'isolement génétique peut causer des variations aléatoires dans la fréquence d'apparition d'un gène dans une petite population, qui deviendrait alors davantage le fruit du hasard que le résultat d'une sélection naturelle. Ce processus peut nuire à la constitution génétique de la population et créer des différences dans la population principale (effet fondateur). La conséquence de cette dérive génétique est plus marquée dans les petites populations isolées qui risquent de devenir moins résistantes.
  • Circulation hors sentier: Le parc national de la Pointe Pelée affiche un taux de fréquentation élevé en haute saison. Les visiteurs quittent parfois les sentiers balisés, ce qui cause la compaction du sol, l'introduction d'espèces exotiques et le piétinement d'espèces en péril (Geomatics International Inc. 1994). Les effets de cette menace perçue doivent être clarifiés et quantifiés. Bien qu'une circulation accrue de piétons puisse avoir des répercussions, ce type de perturbation permet de maintenir le caractère dénudé de l'écosystème des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié, ce qui en fait un habitat convenable pour l'oponce de l'Est.
  • Introduction d'espèces non indigènes envahissantes, y compris des organismes nuisibles et des maladies exotiques: Cette menace se rapporte principalement à une éventuelle invasion par la pyrale du Nopal (Cactoblastis cactorum), espèce sud américaine originaire de l'Argentine, du Paraguay, de l'Uruguay et du sud du Brésil. Les larves se nourrissent des raquettes de l'oponce; les blessures qui en résultent donnent accès aux agents pathogènes secondaires et entraînent des conséquences souvent fatales pour la plante (Zimmermann et al. 2000). Bien que la présence de la pyrale du Nopal ait été répertoriée en Floride, l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments estime que cette espèce adaptée au climat tropical ne constitue pas une menace, car on croit qu'elle serait incapable de survivre à la rigueur de l'hiver canadien. Par contre, les effets sur l'oponce de l'Est pourraient être catastrophiques si ce n'était pas le cas.