Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

5. Population and Distribution

5.1 Population and Distribution Context

The range of the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus extends from Massachusetts through extreme southwestern Ontario, west to Minnesota and south to Oklahoma and Florida (Figure 1). The Canadian population represents much less than one percent of the global abundance of this species. The species is common throughout the southern and eastern parts of its United States range. However, the species' conservation status rank is S1 (Critically imperiled) in Wisconsin and S3 (Vulnerable) in Iowa, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Connecticut (NatureServe 2009).

Figure 1: North American distribution of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus. The arrows point to outliers in the species' range (Pinkava 1993).

Figure 1: North American distribution of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus. The arrows point to outliers in the species' range (Pinkava 1993).

In Canada, the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus reaches the northern edge of its range in the southern tip of Ontario. Extant, native populations are only known to occur at two locations in southwestern Ontario: two populations in Point Pelee National Park in Essex County and one in Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve on Pelee Island (Figure 2).

Figure 2: Distribution of extant, native populations of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Canada.

Figure 2: Distribution of extant, native populations of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Canada.

The two distinct, native, Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus sites in Point Pelee National Park - one in primary successional shoreline areas and the other located in secondary successional, abandoned farm field sites, total 2 070 individuals (VanDerWal et. al. 2007a). A single site exists at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve on Pelee Island totaling 11 individuals (S. Dobbyn pers. comm. 2009). In addition to these native populations, there are five known populations of planted Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in southwestern Ontario for which the origin is unknown, or suspected to be from one of the two native populations. Note that planted populations are not considered part of the Endangered Canadian population, but may potentially play a role in their recovery. The COSEWIC Reason for Designation considers only the two native populations (since determined to be three native populations at two locations) in its decision. There are also six populations of unconfirmed origin that are now extirpated (Table 2).

Table 2: List of extant and extirpated Canadian Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus populations.

Population - Site NameLocationOriginStatus
Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve (1 population)Pelee Island, Essex CountyNativeExtant
Point Pelee National Park (2 populations)Point Pelee National Park, Essex CountyNativeExtant
Chatham-Kent RoadsideMunicipality of Chatham-KentUnknown (P.A. Woodliffe pers. comm. 2005)Extant
Rondeau Provincial ParkMunicipality of Chatham-KentIntroduced presumably from Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve (P.A. Woodliffe pers. comm. 2003)Extant
Howard Township CemeteryHoward Township, Municipality of Chatham-KentIntroduced from Point Pelee National Park (White 1998)Extant
Turkey PointNorfolk CountyIntroduced from an unknown location (P. Carson pers. comm. 2003)Extant
South barrier beach of Big Creek MarshPort Rowan, Norfolk CountyIntroduced (S. Brinker pers. comm. 2008, J. Robinson pers. comm. 2008)Extant
Cedar BeachColchester South Township, Essex CountyUnknown (no voucher)Extirpated
Harwich Township CemeteryHarwich Township, Municipality of Chatham-KentIntroduced from Point Pelee National Park (White 1998)Extirpated
Bradley's MarshDover Township, Municipality of Chatham-KentUnknown (no voucher)Extirpated
West of Port StanleyElgin CountyUnknown (no voucher)Extirpated
Long PointNorfolk CountyUnknown (Macoun 1883, no voucher)Extirpated
Ruscom Shores Conservation AreaEssex CountyUnknown (P.A. Woodliffe pers. comm. 2005)Extirpated

The demographic record for Canadian populations is too inconsistent to accurately assess population trends, although some losses are known to have occurred. To more accurately estimate the size of the populations at Point Pelee National Park, population size was determined by using "microsites" as a surrogate. A microsite represents one or more groups of cacti less than 1.0 m from other groups (Lovett-Doust et al. 2004). It was estimated that each Point Pelee National Park microsite contains, on average, six individuals. Based on this, approximately 2 070 naturally established individuals occur in 345 microsites at Point Pelee National Park - 209 microsites along the west beach and 136 in the Park interior, approximately 250 m from the west beach (VanDerWal et al. 2007a). There are five microsites containing only 11 individuals at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve (S. Dobbyn pers. comm. 2009).

In Point Pelee National Park, the average age of microsites, the number of stems per microsite and the number of reproductive individuals in the population have declined (VanDerWal et al. 2007a). At the same time, the average number of fruits recorded per stem has increased, although this increased emphasis on sexual reproduction may be a stress response to declining habitat suitability. Based on the size, genetic variability and recruitment levels of Point Pelee National Park's existing populations, the populations are thought to be viable (L. Lovett-Doust pers. comm. 2005). In contrast, the viability of the Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve population is questionable due to the small number of microsites and individuals and an apparent lack of recruitment (L. Lovett-Doust pers. comm. 2005).

5.2 Population and Distribution Objectives

Based on the information presented above, the population and distribution objectives for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus are:

  • To maintain the current number of microsites (345) of the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Point Pelee National Park over the next five years, and to increase the total number of microsites by 5% over the next 10 years.
  • To maintain the population size (five microsites) at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve on Pelee Island over the next five years.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

5. Population et répartition

5.1 Contexte lié à la population et à sa répartition

L'aire de répartition de l'oponce de l'Est s'étend depuis le Massachusetts jusqu'à l'extrême sud ouest de l'Ontario, jusqu'au Minnesota vers l'ouest et la Floride et l'Oklahoma vers le sud (Figure 1) Les populations canadiennes représentent beaucoup moins de un pour cent de la population mondiale. L'espèce est commune partout dans le sud et l'est de son aire de répartition aux États Unis. Toutefois, elle est classée SI (gravement en péril) au Wisconsin et S3 (vulnérable) en Iowa, en Ohio, en Pennsylvanie et au Connecticut (NatureServe 2009).

Figure 1 : Répartition nord américaine de l'oponce de l'Est. Les flèches indiquent les observations marginales de l'espèce (Pinkava 1993).

Figure 1 : Répartition nord américaine de l'oponce de l'Est. Les flèches indiquent les observations marginales de l'espèce (Pinkava 1993).

Au Canada, la pointe méridionale de l'Ontario constitue la limite septentrionale de son aire de répartition. Les trois seules populations indigènes existantes se trouvent à deux sites dans le sud ouest de l'Ontario : deux dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, dans le comté d'Essex County, et une dans la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish sur l'île Pelée (Figure 2).

Figure 2 : Répartition des populations indigènes existantes d'oponces de l'Est au Canada.

Figure 2 : Répartition des populations indigènes existantes d'oponces de l'Est au Canada.

Les deux populations distinctes d'oponce de l'Est indigène dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée - celle dans les zones littorales de succession primaire, et celle dans des terres en friche de succession secondaire - comptent 2 070 individus (VanDerWal et. al. 2007a). Une seule population constituée de 11 individus se trouve à la réserve naturelle provinciale Fish Point, à l'île Pelée (S. Dobbyn comm. pers., 2009). Outre ces populations indigènes, il existe dans le sud ouest de l'Ontario cinq populations connues d'oponce de l'Est qui ont été plantées et dont l'origine est inconnue, ou qui pourraient être issues d'une des deux populations indigènes. Signalons que les populations qui ont été plantées ne font pas partie des populations canadiennes en voie de disparition, mais qu'elles pourraient jouer un rôle dans leur rétablissement. Dans sa justification de la désignation, le COSEPAC a tenu compte des deux populations indigènes pour rendre sa décision (depuis, on a appris qu'il en existe trois à deux sites différents). Il y a également six populations d'origine non confirmée maintenant disparues (Tableau 2).

Tableau 2 : Liste des populations d'oponce de l'Est existantes et disparues.

Population - siteEmplacementOrigineStatut
Réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish (1 population)Île Pelée, comté d'EssexIndigèneExistante
Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée (2 populations)Parc national de la Pointe Pelée, comté d'EssexIndigèneExistante
Bord de chemin, Chatham-KentMunicipalité de Chatham-KentInconnue (P.A. Woodliffe comm. pers., 2005)Existante
Parc provincial RondeauMunicipalité de Chatham-KentPrésumée introduite à partir de la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish (P.A. Woodliffe comm. pers., 2003)Existante
Cimetière du canton d'HowardCanton d'Howard, municipalité de Chatham-KentIntroduite à partir du parc national de la Pointe Pelée (White, 1998)Existante
Pointe TurkeyComté de NorfolkIntroduite à partir d'un emplacement inconnu (P. Carson comm. pers. 2003)Existante
Cordon littoral méridional du marais du ruisseau BigPort Rowan, comté de NorfolkIntroduite (S. Brinker comm. pers., 2008, J. Robinson comm. pers., 2008)Existante
Cedar BeachCanton de Colchester Sud, comté d'EssexInconnue (aucun spécimen de référence)Disparue
Cimetière du canton d'HarwichCanton d'Harwich, municipalité de Chatham-KentIntroduite à partir du parc national de la Pointe Pelée (White, 1998)Disparue
Marais BradleyCanton de Dover, municipalité de Chatham-KentInconnue (aucun spécimen de référence)Disparue
À l'ouest de Port StanleyComté d'ElginInconnue (aucun spécimen de référence)Disparue
Pointe LongComté de NorfolkInconnue (Macoun 1883, aucun spécimen de référence)Disparue
Aire de conservation de Ruscom ShoresComté d'EssexInconnue (P.A. Woodliffe comm. pers., 2005)Disparue

Les données démographiques sur les populations canadiennes sont trop variables pour permettre une évaluation précise de leurs tendances, mais il est évident que des populations ont disparu. Pour évaluer avec précision la taille des populations dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, on a privilégié les « microsites », qui représentent un ou plusieurs groupes d'oponces séparés les uns des autres par moins d'un mètre (Lovett-Doust et al. 2004). Il a été estimé que chaque microsite du parc national de la Pointe Pelée contient en moyenne six individus. Selon ces données, le parc national de la Pointe Pelée compte environ 2 070 individus établis naturellement dans 345 microsites, soit 209 le long de la plage ouest et 136 à l'intérieur du parc, à environ 250 m de la plage ouest (VanDerWal et al. 2007a). Cinq microsites de la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish ne contiennent que 11 individus (S. Dobbyn comm. pers., 2009).

Il y a eu une diminution de l'âge moyen des microsites, du nombre de cladodes par microsite et du nombre d'individus reproducteurs dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée (VanDerWal et al. 2007a). Par contre, le nombre moyen de fruits par cladode a augmenté. Toutefois, cette intensification de la reproduction sexuée pourrait être une réaction au stress causé par la réduction de la qualité de l'habitat. En raison de leur taille, de leur variabilité génétique et de leurs niveaux de recrutement, les populations existantes du parc national de la Pointe Pelée seraient viables (L. Lovett-Doust comm. pers., 2005). En revanche, la viabilité de la population de la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish est douteuse vu le petit nombre de microsites et d'individus et le manque manifeste de recrutement (L. Lovett-Doust comm. pers., 2005).

5.2 Objectifs relatifs à la population et à la répartition

Les objectifs relatifs à la population et à la répartition de l'oponce de l'Est sont fondés sur les renseignements présentés ci dessous. Voici ces objectifs:

  • Maintenir le nombre actuel de microsites (345) d'oponce de l'Est dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée au cours des cinq prochaines années et accroître ce nombre de 5 % au cours des dix prochaines années.
  • Maintenir la taille de la population (cinq microsites) à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish, sur l'île Pelée, au cours des cinq prochaines années.