Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

6. Additional Information Requirements

There has been considerable research conducted on the biology and ecology of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Canada, as well as in the United States, where it is more common and occurs in a diversity of ecosystems (e.g. http://www.fs.fed.us/database/feis/plants/cactus/opuhum/all.html). However, even though there is sufficient information to define broad recovery objectives, strategies and approaches, there are still a number of information requirements that need to be addressed in order to recover the species. These are summarized below.

  • Population monitoring: A standardized protocol for assessing microsites and population size has been developed and tested at Point Pelee National Park. Continued, consistent implementation is required in all three populations.
  • Threat clarification: Threats from collection, trampling and non-indigenous, invasive species (e.g. Cactus Moth) require further investigation. An assessment of the magnitude, severity and frequency of occurrence of these threats and their impacts is needed to focus protection and recovery efforts.
  • Spatial population structure and origin:Genetic investigation of the three native Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus populations, as well as individuals at other sites in Ontario derived from stock of unknown or unconfirmed origin, is underway. While long-term maintenance and recovery of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus at planted sites is not planned, should it be determined that planted individuals originate from the native populations they could assist in efforts to recover the species (for example, as a source for augmenting populations). It is also possible that, through this study, populations believed to have been planted will be determined to be native, which would effectively increase the number of known native populations in Canada.
  • Traditional Ecological Knowledge: The gathering and transferring of Traditional Ecological Knowledge and its integration with science will allow for a holistic approach for recovery and protection of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

6. Renseignements supplémentaires requis

De nombreux chercheurs ont étudié la biologie et l'écologie de l'oponce de l'Est au Canada, de même qu'aux États Unis, où l'espèce est plus commune et se rencontre dans divers types d'écosystèmes. Toutefois, même si les connaissances actuelles permettent de définir des objectifs, des stratégies et des approches de rétablissement généraux, il faudra en acquérir davantage afin de réaliser le rétablissement de l'espèce. En voici un résumé:

  • Surveillance des populations: Un protocole normalisé d'évaluation des microsites et de la taille des populations a été élaboré et expérimenté au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée. Une mise en œuvre continue et cohérente est nécessaire pour les trois populations.
  • Précisions sur les menaces: Les menaces que représentent la cueillette, le piétinement et les espèces non indigènes envahissantes (p. ex. la pyrale du nopal) nécessitent un examen approfondi. Il est nécessaire d'évaluer l'ampleur, la gravité et la fréquence de l'occurrence de ces menaces ainsi que leurs répercussions afin d'orienter les mesures de protection et de rétablissement de l'espèce.
  • Structure spatiale et origine des populations:L'étude de la génétique des trois populations indigènes d'oponce de l'Est et d'individus dans d'autres sites en Ontario provenant de colonies d'origine inconnue ou non confirmée est en cours. Il n'est pas prévu d'assurer le rétablissement et le maintien à long terme des populations d'oponce de l'Est dans des sites où les individus ont été plantés, mais ces derniers, s'ils devaient provenir de populations indigènes, pourraient servir au rétablissement de l'espèce (par exemple, comme source pour accroître les populations). Il est également possible que l'étude montre que des populations que l'on croyait plantées sont en réalité des populations indigènes, ce qui augmenterait de manière significative le nombre de populations indigènes connues au Canada.
  • Connaissances écologiques traditionnelles : La cueillette et le transfert de connaissances écologiques traditionnelles ainsi que l’intégration de ces connaissances à la science permettra d’adopter une approche globale pour le rétablissement et la protection de l’oponce de l’Est.