Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

7. Broad Strategies and Approaches to Recovery

In order to attain the Population and Distribution Objectives, the approaches to recover the species are summarized and ranked below by their degree of urgency. Threats to the populations and information requirements are addressed. These approaches will be planned with due regard for negative impacts on other species at risk that the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas ecosystem supports.

7.1 Manage Critical Habitat to Maintain Suitability - Urgent

Without vegetation management interventions to restore early successional stages of the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas ecosystem, the quality and quantity of critical habitat available is expected to decline. Based on monitoring information, plant communities need to be managed to maintain or restore early successional stages using locally developed and appropriate methods.

7.2 Identify Habitat for Restoration - Urgent

In order to meet the Population and Distribution Objectives, areas for habitat restoration in Point Pelee National Park need to be identified, prior to restoration efforts.

7.3 Monitor Populations and Habitats - Necessary

Monitoring of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus individuals, microsites and populations will continue using the existing protocols in both Point Pelee National Park and Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve. As well, monitoring protocols to measure vegetation succession and habitat quality will be developed and initiated. This will provide the data necessary for determining population trends and viability, and allow for the evaluation of progress toward achieving recovery (see Performance Measures section below). This will provide the baseline information needed to measure success in achieving the Population and Distribution Objectives.

7.4 Minimize Collection and Other Human Disturbances - Necessary

Education and communication initiatives will be developed and implemented to reduce the behavior of collection of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus. These may include targeted, effective communications to encourage compliance, as well as enforcement of existing legislation.

7.5 Assess Feasibility of Restoration - Beneficial

Determine whether Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus patches of unknown origin have been transplanted from or are descended from transplanted individuals from the two native populations. Based on the findings, assess the appropriateness and feasibility of restoration in each case.

7.6 Address Major Knowledge Gaps

7.6.1 Threat Clarification - Necessary

Based on the threats identified earlier, characterize the type, magnitude and frequency of threats to populations of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus using a standardized impact assessment protocol.

7.6.2 Spatial Population Structure and Origin - Beneficial

Research on population genetics of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus should continue, specifically addressing genetic relationships and variability among naturally occurring, transplanted and introduced sites and sites of unknown origin, as well as potential or actual natural source sites. A systematic review of the species' records is also needed to confirm its historical range and assist in the identification of potential sites for restoration. Genetic studies will assist in the recovery of critically imperiled and degraded populations through the identification of appropriate source material for restoration to historic sites, supplementation of non-viable populations and increasing the genetic diversity of viable populations. It will also help identify the urgency of restoration and augmentation efforts for extirpated and native populations.

7.7 Protect and Restore Genetic Integrity - Beneficial

Out-crossing of introduced Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus populations with native populations can be prevented by encouraging removal of introduced genotypes and discouraging the sale of plants. Protection of native Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus genotypes and associated adaptations will help ensure long-term sustainability of the species' populations. Depending on whether restoration is feasible, plant material could be repatriated from transplanted sites to the appropriate native population to restore genetic material lost through past collection activities and storm events. This could also restore the size of degraded or imperilled species' populations to viable levels and increase genetic variability within populations.

7.8 Establish Gene Bank - Beneficial

A protocol for collection, processing and storage of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus seeds should be developed. Seeds would be collected and maintained live in a secure gene bank to preserve the native genotype to counteract a catastrophic event, if it occurs.

7.9 Build Community Support for Recovery - Beneficial

The content of existing educational tools for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (e.g. pamphlets, DVDs, lectures, education programs, exhibits) needs to be expanded to include the national and global significance of the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas ecosystem where the cactus and a large number of other species at risk are found. Integral to this approach is the encouragement of the gathering and transfer of Traditional Ecological Knowledge from Knowledge Holders to others.  First Nation communities have maintained local ecosystems for generations through the use of community Traditional Ecological Knowledge.  It is important to gather and share Traditional Ecological Knowledge from Knowledge Holders to others as a means for species and ecosystem protection and recovery.  Traditional Ecological Knowledge and Science can, together, better inform assessment, monitoring, and recovery of the ecosystems that support specific species at risk.

Support for the recommended approach for recovery of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus needs to be developed. The ultimate goal is to increase community involvement in the development of an action plan and active participation in the implementation of ongoing recovery actions and present opportunities.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

7. Stratégies générales et approches de rétablissement

Les approches de rétablissement de l'espèce visant à atteindre les objectifs relatifs à la population et à la répartition ont été résumées et classées selon leur degré d'urgence. Elles portent aussi sur les menaces qui pèsent sur les populations ainsi que sur les besoins en matière de renseignements. Les approches seront planifiées en tenant particulièrement compte des répercussions négatives sur d'autres espèces en péril présentes dans l'écosystème des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié.

7.1 Gérer l'habitat essentiel pour en conserver la qualité - Urgent

En l'absence de mesures de gestion de la végétation visant à restaurer les premiers stades de succession végétale de l'écosystème des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié, la qualité et la quantité d'habitats disponibles pourraient diminuer. Selon les renseignements obtenus à la suite des activités de surveillance, pour maintenir ou restaurer les premiers stades de succession, il faut gérer activement les communautés végétales à l'aide de méthodes adéquates élaborées localement.

7.2 Désigner les habitats en vue de leur restauration - Urgent

Afin d'atteindre les objectifs relatifs à la population et à la répartition, il faut déterminer les zones propices à la restauration de l'habitat dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée avant d'entreprendre des travaux.

7.3 Surveiller les populations et les habitats - Nécessaire

La surveillance des individus, des microsites et des populations d'oponce de l'Est se poursuivra au parc national de la Pointe Pelée et à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish au moyen des protocoles existants. De même, des protocoles de surveillance pour mesurer la succession végétale et la qualité de l'habitat seront élaborés et amorcés. Ainsi, on disposera des données nécessaires pour déterminer les tendances des populations et leur viabilité, et pour évaluer les progrès réalisés relativement au rétablissement des populations (voir Mesures de rendement plus bas). Les renseignements de base recueillis serviront à évaluer si les objectifs relatifs à la population et à la répartition ont été atteints.

7.4 Réduire la cueillette et les autres perturbations anthropiques - Nécessaire

Des initiatives en matière d'éducation et de communication seront conçues et mises en œuvre afin de réduire la cueillette d'oponces de l'Est. Il peut s'agir d'outils de communication efficaces et ciblés pour favoriser le respect de l'interdiction et l'application des lois et des règlements existants.

7.5 Évaluer la faisabilité de la restauration - Utile

Il faut déterminer si les colonies d'oponces de l'Est d'origine inconnue ont été transplantées à partir d'individus provenant des deux populations indigènes, ou si elles en sont issues. Selon les résultats, il faudra évaluer dans chaque cas la pertinence et la faisabilité de la restauration.

7.6 Combler les principales lacunes dans les connaissances

7.6.1 Précisions sur les menaces - Nécessaire

Selon les menaces mentionnées précédemment, il faudra déterminer le type, l'ampleur et la fréquence des menaces qui pèsent sur les populations d'oponce de l'Est à l'aide d'un protocole d'évaluation des impacts normalisé.

7.6.2 Structure spatiale et origine des populations - Utile

Les recherches sur la génétique des populations d'oponce de l'Est devront se poursuivre, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux rapprochements et à la variabilité génétiques entre les populations naturelles, issues de transplantations et réintroduites et celles des sites d'origine inconnue et des sites naturels existants ou possibles. Un examen systématique de la documentation sur l'espèce permettra de confirmer l'aire de répartition historique et d'identifier des sites potentiels en vue de la restauration. Les études sur la génétique favoriseront le rétablissement de populations gravement en péril ou dégradées en permettant d'identifier des sources appropriées pour la restauration de sites historiques, le redressement de populations non viables et le renforcement de la diversité génétique de populations viables. Il sera également plus facile d'évaluer l'urgence des mesures requises pour restaurer les populations disparues et renforcer les populations indigènes existantes.

7.7 Protéger et restaurer l'intégrité génétique - Utile

On peut prévenir le croisement des populations d'oponce de l'Est introduites avec des populations indigènes en encourageant l'extraction des génotypes introduits et en décourageant la vente de plants. La protection des génotypes d'oponces de l'Est indigènes et des adaptations associées favorisera la viabilité à long terme des populations de l'espèce. Si la restauration est possible, du matériel végétal issu de transplantations pourrait être réintroduit dans la population d'origine appropriée en vue de restaurer le matériel génétique perdu à la suite d'activités de cueillette passées ou de tempêtes. Ce transfert de matériel végétal pourrait rétablir la taille des populations d'oponce de l'Est dégradées ou en péril jusqu'au seuil de viabilité et accroître la variabilité génétique au sein des populations.

7.8 Créer une banque de gènes - Utile

Un protocole pour la cueillette, le traitement et l'entreposage de graines d'oponces de l'Est doit être établi. Les graines seront recueillies et conservées vivantes dans une banque de gènes sûre pour conserver le génotype indigène au cas où une catastrophe devait survenir.

7.9 Faire participer la collectivité au rétablissement - Utile

Il faut étendre le contenu des outils éducatifs existants sur l'oponce de l'Est (brochures, DVD, conférences, programmes d'éducation, expositions) de manière à souligner l'importance nationale et mondiale de l'écosystème des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié où vivent l'oponce de l'Est et de nombreuses autres espèces en péril. Le fait de favoriser la cueillette et le transfert des connaissances écologiques traditionnelles est un élément incontournable de la stratégie. Les communautés des Premières Nations ont préservé les écosystèmes locaux pendant des générations grâce à l’utilisation de connaissances écologiques traditionnelles. Il importe de recueillir et de communiquer ces connaissances écologiques traditionnelles afin d’assurer la protection et le rétablissement de l’espèce et de l’écosystème. Ensemble, les connaissances écologiques traditionnelles et la science peuvent étayer les activités d’évaluation, de surveillance et de rétablissement des écosystèmes qui abritent les espèces en péril.

Il faut obtenir l'appui du public pour l'approche privilégiée de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est. Le but est de faire davantage participer la collectivité à l'élaboration d'un plan d'action et à la mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement en cours et des possibilités existantes.