Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

8. Critical Habitat Identification

Critical habitat for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is identified for three extant, native populations of the species: two in Point Pelee National Park and one in Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve on Pelee Island.

8.1 Approaches Used to Identify Critical Habitat

The Ecological Land Classification (ELC) vegetation types where Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus naturally occurs have been used to identify its critical habitat. However the spatial arrangement and the amount of each vegetation type are not fixed. This is because these vegetation types occur along a dynamic shoreline where natural disturbance regimes make them shift in space and time. In degraded, secondary successional habitats and areas where the vegetation has succeeded beyond optimal growing conditions for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus, the species' critical habitat is identified using an occupancy-based approach. This provides an opportunity for recovery work to be undertaken to restore habitat conditions appropriate to the species rather than requiring the preservation of the habitat that is currently present and that may not continue to support cacti in the future.

Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus critical habitat descriptions and mapped delineations will be refined as new information or improved techniques for critical habitat identification become available.

8.2 Maps of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus Critical Habitat

Precise geographic locations for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus critical habitat are not presented in this recovery strategy, and will not be presented in any action plan, to protect the species from the threat of collection. Under advice from the Recovery Team, the SRA, and the chair of COSEWIC, precise geographic locations for critical habitat will not be presented in the Recovery Strategy in order to protect the species from the threat of harvesting or wilful destruction of individuals and their habitat.

The Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus critical habitat map for Point Pelee National Park is housed at Point Pelee National Park, Leamington, Ontario, and in the Parks Canada Ontario Service Centre in Cornwall. ELC mapping and mapping of all Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus occurrences at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve are housed at the Ontario Parks, Southwest Zone office in London, Ontario.

8.3 Critical Habitat Within Point Pelee National Park

Within the boundaries of Point Pelee National Park, as identified on the National Topographic System (NTS) map 40G/15 (edition 7, printed 2001), part of the critical habitat for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is identified as the three primary successional Lake Erie Sand Spit Savanna ELC vegetation types in which the cactus is currently found at this site (Lee et al. 1998, Lee 2004, Dougan & Associates 2007). These types are:

  • Little Bluestem-Switchgrass-Beachgrass Open Graminoid Sand Dunes,
  • Hoptree Shrub Sand Dunes and
  • Red Cedar Treed Sand Dunes.

The remaining parts of the species' critical habitat are identified as a circle with a radius of 25 m from the centre point of each of these two groups of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus microsites:

  • those found in secondary successional ELC vegetation types that are degraded Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas, and
  • those found in sites that have succeeded beyond optimal conditions for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus, such that the cactus is considered to be a relict of past conditions.

The 25 m radius used was chosen to minimize shading of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus sites that might result from the placement of new infrastructure, as these cacti grow optimally with 50 to 70 percent light availability.

8.4 Critical Habitat within Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve

Within Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve, as identified on the NTS map 40 G/15, critical habitat for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is identified as the entire area within the Red Cedar Treed Sand Dunes ELC vegetation type, the primary successional Lake Erie Sand Spit Savanna ELC vegetation type in which Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is currently found at this site (Lee et al. 1998, Lee 2004, Dobbyn 2006).

8.5 Parts of Occupied Habitat not Included in the Species' Critical Habitat

Existing anthropogenic features, including, but not limited to, parking lots, roads, trails, footpaths, cemeteries and septic fields, are excluded from the species' critical habitat because they are not suitable for supporting the species. Areas where all Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus microsites have been planted or transplanted, where records remain unverified or where its location or origin is uncertain, are not considered critical habitat. Two areas within Point Pelee National Park currently fit within this category. Complete geographical descriptions of these two areas are housed at Point Pelee National Park. Elsewhere, Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus that remains extant has been determined to be planted at:

  • Rondeau Provincial Park, Municipality of Chatham-Kent
  • Howard Township Cemetery, Municipality of Chatham-Kent
  • Turkey Point, Norfolk County
  • The south barrier beach of Big Creek Marsh, Port Rowan, Norfolk County
  • Harwich Township Cemetery, Municipality of Chatam-Kent
  • in various private gardens throughout the range

No areas at Long Point are identified as critical habitat, as records of the locations are not specific and cannot be verified.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

8. Désignation de l'habitat essentiel

L'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est est délimité pour trois populations indigènes existantes : deux au parc national de la Pointe Pelée et une à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish sur l'île Pelée.

8.1 Approches utilisées dans la désignation de l'habitat essentiel

L'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est a été délimité en fonction des communautés végétales où l'espèce vit naturellement indiquées dans la classification écologique des terres (CET). Toutefois, la répartition spatiale et la superficie de chaque communauté végétale ne sont pas stables. En effet, ces communautés végétales sont établies le long d'un littoral dynamique où les régimes de perturbations naturelles entraînent leur déplacement dans le temps et l'espace. L'approche fondée sur les milieux occupés par l'espèce a été utilisée pour délimiter l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce dans les milieux dégradés et dans les milieux de succession secondaire où la végétation a atteint un stade ne fournissant plus les conditions optimales de croissance à l'oponce de l'Est. Il sera donc possible d'entreprendre des travaux de rétablissement de l'habitat de l'espèce plutôt que de conservation du milieu actuel qui risque éventuellement de ne plus convenir à l'oponce.

Des améliorations seront apportées aux descriptions de l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est et aux cartes délimitant les zones d'habitat essentiel à mesure que de nouvelles informations ou des méthodes plus efficaces de désignation de l'habitat essentiel seront disponibles.

8.2 Cartes de l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est

Dans le but de prévenir tout risque de cueillette de l'espèce, l'emplacement précis des zones d'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est ne sera pas divulgué dans le présent programme de rétablissement, ni dans le plan d'action connexe. Sur recommandation de l'équipe de rétablissement, de l'organisme responsable en vertu de la LEP et du président du COSEPAC, l'emplacement géographique précis de l'habitat essentiel ne sera pas présenté dans le programme de rétablissement afin de protéger l'espèce contre la récolte et la destruction délibérée des individus et de leur habitat.

Les cartes délimitant l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée sont conservées au parc national, à Leamington, en Ontario, et au centre de services de Parcs Canada à Cornwall, en Ontario. Les cartes des communautés végétales définies par la CET et celles indiquant l'emplacement de toutes les occurrences de l'oponce de l'Est à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish sont conservées au bureau de la zone sud ouest de Parcs Ontario, à London, en Ontario.

8.3 Habitat essentiel à l'intérieur du parc national de la Pointe Pelée

Dans les limites du parc national de la Pointe Pelée, comme l'indique la carte 40G/15 (7e édition, impression 2001) du système national de référence cartographique (SNRC), une partie de l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est est constituée des trois communautés végétales de succession primaire des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié (CET) où pousse actuellement l'oponce de l'Est de ce site (Lee et al. 1998, Lee 2004, Dougan & Associates 2007). Il s'agit des communautés végétales suivantes:

  • herbaçaies dunaires à graminoïdes, type à barbon à balais, à panic raide et à ammophile à ligule courte,
  • arbustaies dunaires à ptéléa trifolié
  • arboraies dunaires à genévrier de Virginie.

Les autres parcelles de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce sont définies par un cercle ayant un rayon de 25 m à partir du centre de chacun des deux microsites d'oponces de l'Est suivants:

  • ceux se trouvant dans les communautés végétales de succession secondaire de la CET qui sont des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié dégradées;
  • ceux se trouvant dans les sites où l'espèce s'est maintenue en présence de conditions de croissance subobtimales, de sorte que l'oponce est considéré comme une relique.

Le rayon de 25 m utilisé vise à réduire au minimum l'ombre qui pourrait affecter les sites de l'oponce de l'Est si de nouvelles infrastructures étaient aménagées, car la croissance optimale de l'espèce nécessite une luminosité de 50 à 70 %.

8.4 Habitat essentiel dans la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish

Dans la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish, comme l'indique la carte 40G/15 du SNRC, l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est englobe toute la zone comprise dans l'arboraie dunaire à genévrier de Virginie, communauté végétale de succession primaire des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié (CET) où pousse actuellement l'oponce de l'Est de ce site (Lee et al. 1998, Lee, 2004, Dobbyn, 2006).

8.5 Parcelles de l'habitat occupé exclues de l'habitat essentiel de l'espèce

Les éléments anthropiques existants, tels que stationnements, routes, sentiers, allées piétonnières, cimetières et champs d'épuration, entre autres, sont exclus de l'habitat essentiel de l'oponce de l'Est, car ils ne conviennent pas à la croissance de l'espèce. Les microsites où l'oponce de l'Est a été planté ou transplanté, les sites non validés et les sites dont l'emplacement exact ou l'origine est incertain ne constituent pas un habitat essentiel. Dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée, deux sites appartiennent à cette catégorie. Une description détaillée de l'emplacement de ces deux sites est conservée au parc national de la Pointe Pelée. Ailleurs, il a été déterminé que l'oponce de l'Est existant a été planté aux endroits suivants:

  • parc provincial Rondeau, municipalité de Chatham-Kent;
  • cimetière du canton de Howard, municipalité de Chatham-Kent;
  • pointe Turkey, comté de Norfolk;
  • cordon littoral méridional du marais du ruisseau Big, Port Rowan, comté de Norfolk;
  • cimetière du canton de Harwich, municipalité de Chatham-Kent;
  • divers jardins privés dans toute l'aire de répartition.

Aucun secteur de la pointe Long n'est désigné comme habitat essentiel étant donné que les renseignements sur les emplacements sont imprécis et ne peuvent être vérifiés.