Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

Appendix 1: Effects on the Environment and Other Species

The ecosystem type within which Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus occurs, the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas, is among the rarest and most imperiled terrestrial ecosystems in North America. This ecosystem supports a large number of species, including 40 other species at risk at the provincial or national scale.

Broad approaches and strategies aimed at the recovery of the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus are expected to either have no significant adverse impacts or to positively affect other species in the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas. Negative environmental effects arising from this strategy will likely be confined to the use of vegetation management techniques. Habitat modifications to enhance suitability for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus may have adverse effects on other species but by applying appropriate mitigation measures these are not expected to be significant. Potential adverse effects associated with fire management techniques are not expected to be significant. Effects could include potential loss of individuals, including Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus and other species at risk, potential damage to archaeological resources, potential loss of mature forest habitat cover and thicket and woodland habitats, loss of downed woody debris that provides important microhabitat for many Lake Erie Sand Spit Savanna species, potential displacement of existing vegetation if Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is repatriated to historic locations, the potential disturbance of soil contaminants and potential impacts to visitor experience due to the control of off-trail activities. The potential loss of individuals from trampling and disturbance due to monitoring activities could also occur.

The approaches currently outlined are mainly oriented towards research, monitoring, and protection. Threat assessments undertaken for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus may benefit other species by clarifying threats that have impacts beyond just that species. Monitoring work may include assessments of cactus habitat, thereby increasing knowledge relating to both the ecosystem and closely associated species.

Similarly, education and communication activities relating to the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus generally include information relating to both the ecosystem and other component species, thereby conferring benefits to these other species. Activities aimed at preventing the collection of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus may help other species, like the Five-lined Skink (Plestiodon fasciatus), as well as some turtles and snakes, which are valued by collectors.

The implementation of any vegetation management program should involve follow-up to determine the success of the techniques implemented, in addition to the impacts on other species, ecosystem processes and the environment. This will allow for adaptive management at these sites, the mitigation of any environmental effects and continual adjustment and improvement of recovery efforts.

Page 26

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

Annexe 1 : Effets sur l'environnement et les autres espèces

L'écosystème des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié, où vit l'oponce de l'Est, compte parmi les écosystèmes terrestres les plus rares et les plus menacés de l'Amérique du Nord. Cet écosystème soutient un grand nombre d'espèces, notamment 40 autres espèces en péril à l'échelle provinciale ou nationale.

Les impacts des approches et des stratégies générales de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est sur les autres espèces des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié devraient être nuls ou bénéfiques. Les effets négatifs sur l'environnement découlant de ce programme se limiteront probablement à l'utilisation de techniques de gestion de la végétation. Les modifications apportées à l'habitat afin d'en améliorer la qualité pour l'oponce de l'Est pourraient avoir des effets néfastes sur d'autres espèces, mais on pourra les atténuer en prenant des mesures adéquates. C'est le cas notamment des techniques de gestion des feux. Les effets pourraient être les suivants : la perte d'individus, y compris l'oponce de l'Est et d'autres espèces en péril; les dommages causés aux ressources archéologiques; la perte de couvert forestier mature, de fourrés et de zones arborées; la perte de débris ligneux au sol qui constituent un microhabitat important pour de nombreuses espèces des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié; l'élimination de la végétation existante si l'on rétablissait l'oponce de l'Est dans les endroits d'où il a disparu; la perturbation des contaminants qui se trouvent dans le sol ainsi que l'incidence sur l'expérience du visiteur en raison des restrictions imposées aux activités hors sentier. Durant les activités de surveillance, le piétinement et les perturbations causées à l'habitat pourraient également provoquer la perte de plants.

Les approches actuellement retenues sont principalement axées sur les recherches, la surveillance et la protection. Les évaluations des menaces pesant sur l'oponce de l'Est permettront de cerner celles qui touchent d'autres espèces. Les mesures de surveillance pourraient inclure des évaluations de l'habitat de l'oponce de l'Est et contribueront ainsi à l'accroissement de nos connaissances sur l'écosystème et les espèces qui lui sont étroitement associées.

De la même façon, les activités d'éducation et de communication sur l'oponce de l'Est incluent généralement la diffusion de renseignements sur l'écosystème et les autres espèces qui y vivent, ce qui est bénéfique pour ces dernières. Les mesures visant à prévenir la cueillette d'oponces pourraient également se révéler avantageuses pour d'autres espèces prisées par les collectionneurs, comme le scinque pentaligne (Plestiodon fasciatus) ou certaines espèces de tortues et de serpents.

Tout programme de gestion de la végétation doit comprendre un suivi pour déterminer le succès des techniques mises en œuvre ainsi que leurs effets sur d'autres espèces, les processus écosystémiques et le milieu. Il sera alors possible de procéder à la gestion adaptée des sites, d'atténuer les impacts sur l'environnement et de corriger et d'améliorer constamment les mesures de rétablissement.