Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

Acknowledgments

The authors and recovery team members would like to thank former recovery team members Julie Rosenthal (Ontario Parks), Kelly Scott (Parks Canada), Chuck Fawdry (Ontario Parks) and Irena Knezevic (Pelee Island Heritage Centre) and Recovery Team Advisor Roy Isaac (Walpole Island Heritage Centre, Walpole Island First Nation) for their assistance in developing this recovery strategy.

In addition to the authors, current recovery team members and their support staff, the following individuals and organizations are acknowledged for contributing their time, expertise or information to assist in the development of a comprehensive, ecosystem-based recovery strategy: Danielle Breault (Essex Region Conservation Authority), Tricia Radburn (Essex County Stewardship Network), Marc Allan (Ontario Nature), Lisa Solomon (Ontario Parks), Ron Tiessen (Pelee Island Heritage Centre), and Stéphane Bruneau, Geordan Harvey, Josh Keitel and Shawna Lee Currie (Parks Canada). Peer reviewers Anton A. Reznicek and Rose Klinkenberg are kindly thanked for their review of a draft as are Nikki May (Carolinian Woodlands Recovery Team), Karen Hartley and Julia Talotti (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources), Christine Vance, Angela McConnell and Barbara Slezak (Canadian Wildlife Service, Ontario) and Marian Stranak, Dan Reive, Dan Dufour, Lindsay Rodger, Kara Vlasman, Kent Prior, Marie-Josée Laberge and Richard Pither (Parks Canada). Appreciation is extended to Jane Bowles for her review of the document.  Consultation with First Nations on the draft recovery strategy was led by Kim Borg and Aimee Johnson (Parks Canada), and the input from Walpole Island FN and Caldwell FN is greatly appreciated. Clint Jacobs and Jared Macbeth of Walpole Island First Nation were most helpful in providing comments on the draft recovery strategy, and also provided the textual references on Traditional Ecological Knowledge.

Thanks are also extended to the Species at Risk Programs of Parks Canada and Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources for providing the funding and resources for the development of the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus and ecosystem-based recovery strategies.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

Remerciements

Les auteurs et les membres de l'Équipe de rétablissement tiennent à remercier Julie Rosenthal (Parcs Ontario), Kelly Scott (Parcs Canada), Chuck Fawdry (Parcs Ontario) et Irena Knezevic (Pelee Island Heritage Centre), tous anciens membres de l'Équipe, ainsi que Roy Isaac (Première nation de Walpole Island, Walpole Island Heritage Centre) pour leur soutien dans l'élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement.

Nous remercions aussi les auteurs, les membres actuels de l'Équipe ainsi que leur personnel de soutien. Nous sommes reconnaissants aux personnes et aux organisations suivantes qui ont contribué de leur temps, de leurs connaissances et de leur expertise à l'élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement écosystémique détaillé : Danielle Breault (Office de protection de la nature de la région d'Essex), Tricia Radburn (Essex County Stewardship Network), Marc Allan (Ontario Nature), Lisa Solomon (Parcs Ontario), Ron Tiessen (Pelee Island Heritage Centre) ainsi que Stéphane Bruneau, Geordan Harvey, Josh Keitel et Shawna Lee Currie (Parcs Canada). Nous remercions les pairs examinateurs Anton A. Reznicek et Rose Klinkenberg pour leur examen de l'ébauche finale, ainsi que Nikki May (Équipe de rétablissement de la forêt claire carolinienne), Karen Hartley et Julia Talotti (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario), Christine Vance, Angela McConnell et Barbara Slezak (Service canadien de la faune - Région de l'Ontario) et Marian Stranak, Dan Reive, Dan Dufour, Lindsay Rodger, Kara Vlasman, Kent Prior, Marie Josée Laberge et Richard Pither (Parcs Canada). Nous remercions également Jane Bowles d’avoir examiné le document. Les consultations avec les Premières Nations au sujet de l’ébauche du programme de rétablissement ont été menées par Kim Borg et Aimee Johnson (Parcs Canada), et la participation de la Première Nation de Walpole Island et de la Première Nation de Caldwell est grandement appréciée. Clint Jacobs et Jared Macbeth, de la Première Nation de Walpole Island, ont formulé des commentaires très utiles sur l’ébauche du programme de rétablissement; notons aussi qu’ils ont fourni les références textuelles sur les connaissances écologiques traditionnelles.

Nous remercions également le Programme des espèces en péril de l'Agence Parcs Canada et le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario qui ont fourni les ressources nécessaires à l'élaboration du programme de rétablissement écosystémique de l'oponce de l'Est.