Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

Preface

This recovery strategy addresses the recovery of the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus. In Canada, native populations are only known to occur at two locations in southwestern Ontario - Point Pelee National Park and Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve.

Parks Canada led the preparation of this recovery strategy in cooperation with the Ontario provincial government and Environment Canada. All responsible jurisdictions reviewed and supported posting of the strategy. The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and processes (Sections 39-41).

The proposed recovery strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Canada was adapted from a more comprehensive draft document, prepared by the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus - Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas Recovery Team, describing a strategy for protecting and recovering Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus, the Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas and other species found within that ecosystem in Canada (Dougan & Associates and McKay 2009.). Additional scientific and technical details, as well as detailed references, can be found in either that supporting document, or in the most recent status report for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

Préface

Ce programme de rétablissement traite du rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est. Au Canada, il n'y a que deux endroits, tous deux situés dans le Sud Ouest de l'Ontario, où l'on trouve des populations indigènes, soit au parc national de la Pointe Pelée et à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish.

Parcs Canada a dirigé l'élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement en collaboration avec le gouvernement provincial de l'Ontario et Environnement Canada. Toutes les autorités responsables ont examiné et appuyé la publication du programme. Le programme proposé satisfait aux exigences de la LEP relativement au contenu et aux processus (articles 39 à 41).

Le programme de rétablissement proposé pour l'oponce de l'Est est une version adaptée d'une ébauche plus exhaustive, rédigée par l'Équipe de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est et des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié qui décrit un programme de protection et de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est, des savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié et d'autres espèces qui se trouvent dans cet écosystème au Canada (Dougan & Associates et McKay 2009). Vous trouverez d'autres données scientifiques et techniques, ainsi qu'une bibliographie détaillée, dans l'ébauche ou dans le dernier rapport de situation sur l'oponce de l'Est.