Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) in Canada

Executive Summary

The Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus (Opuntia humifusa) is a perennial, low-spreading, succulent cactus with jointed, rounded, but flattened, green stems measuring 5 to 12 cm in length. Stem segments are fleshy or firm, and sparsely covered with clusters of barbed bristles and spines. It occurs in small patches or large, scattered colonies of thousands of stems.

An Endangered plant species in Canada, it reaches the northern edge of its range in the southern tip of Ontario. It occurs there in two protected areas: two native populations in Point Pelee National Park and one in Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve on Pelee Island. These populations are threatened mainly by loss and degradation of suitable habitat and by collection. In Canada, the species is limited to dry, sandy substrates, typically dunes, that are in the early stages of succession in habitats known collectively as Lake Erie Sand Spit Savannas.

The population and distribution objectives for the recovery of Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus are as follows:

  1. To maintain the current number of microsites (345) of the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus in Point Pelee National Park over the next five years, and to increase the total number of microsites by 5% over the next 10 years.
  2. To maintain the population size (five microsites) at Fish Point Provincial Nature Reserve on Pelee Island over the next five years.

The primary threats to the species, critical information requirements for recovery, and additional steps needed to attain these objectives are addressed within the Broad Strategies and Approaches to Recovery section.

Critical habitat for the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus is identified in the recovery strategy for all three native populations. Where conditions appear to be suitable, critical habitat is identified by vegetation communities using the standardized Ecological Land Classification system. In degraded, secondary successional habitats and areas where the vegetation has succeeded beyond optimal growing conditions for Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus, the species' critical habitat is identified using an occupancy-based approach.

One or more action plans identifying specific actions in relation to this strategy will be completed within five years of the final posting of this recovery strategy.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) au Canada

Résumé

L'oponce de l'Est (Opuntia humifusa) est un cactus vivace, bas et rampant à tiges succulentes, vertes et plutôt arrondies, mais aplaties, mesurant de 5 à 12 cm de long. Les segments de tige sont charnus ou fermes et portent ici et là des touffes d'épines et de soies raides barbelées. La plante pousse en petites colonies serrées ou en grandes colonies de sujets éparpillés se comptant parfois par milliers.

L'oponce de l'Est est une espèce en voie de disparition au Canada. La pointe méridionale de l'Ontario constitue la limite septentrionale de son aire de répartition. L'oponce de l'Est y pousse dans deux aires protégées, soit le parc national de la Pointe Pelée (deux populations indigènes) et la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish (une population indigène), sur l'île Pelée. Ces populations sont principalement menacées par la perte et la dégradation d'un habitat convenable et par la cueillette. Au Canada, ces espèces poussent exclusivement dans des milieux pourvus d'un substrat sec et sablonneux, habituellement des dunes, où la végétation se trouve à un stade peu avancé de la succession. Ces milieux sont connus collectivement sous le nom de savanes des flèches de sable du lac Érié.

Voici les objectifs (population et répartition) du rétablissement de l'oponce de l'Est:

  1. Maintenir le nombre actuel de microsites (345) d'oponce de l'Est dans le parc national de la Pointe Pelée au cours des cinq prochaines années et accroître ce nombre de 5 % au cours des dix prochaines années.
  2. Maintenir la taille de la population (cinq microsites) à la réserve naturelle provinciale de la Pointe Fish, sur l'île Pelée, au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Les principales menaces de l'espèce, les renseignements essentiels requis pour le rétablissement ainsi que les étapes additionnelles nécessaires à l'atteinte de ces objectifs sont abordées dans la section intitulée Programmes et approches généraux de rétablissement.

L'habitat essentiel des trois populations indigènes de l'oponce de l'Est est décrit dans le programme de rétablissement. Lorsqu'un habitat présente des conditions favorables, il est désigné habitat essentiel en fonction des communautés végétales qui le composent, à l'aide du système de classification écologique des terres. Dans les habitats et zones de succession secondaire détériorés où l'oponce de l'Est pousse malgré des conditions de croissance suboptimales, l'habitat essentiel est désigné à l'aide d'une approche fondée sur les milieux occupés.

Un ou plusieurs plans d'action proposant des mesures précises relatives au programme de rétablissement seront élaborés dans les cinq années suivant la publication finale du programme.