Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Crossbill (Percna) in Canada

Biographical Summary of the Report Writers

L. S. Wren undertook M.Sc. research at Memorial University of Newfoundland, studying spatial and temporal trends in the continental and regional biogeography of cardueline finches. Since completing this degree, she has worked on manuscripts related to this research, and has been employed doing research and writing on conservation challenges to Newfoundland fisheries. Presently, she is working on bird conservation issues at the Canadian Nature Federation in Ottawa.

W. A. Montevecchi is a Professor in the Psychology and Biology Departments and the Ocean Sciences Centre of Memorial University of Newfoundland and an Associate of the Ornithology Department in the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University. His research is focused on animal responses to environmental change and multi-species interactions in marine and terrestrial ecosystems. Much of his research is directed at conservation ecology. He is a member of the Newfoundland and Labrador Species Status Committee, the former Chair of the Harlequin Duck Recovery Team, a member of the Board of Directors of the Nature Conservancy of Canada / Atlantic Region, Co-Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Advisory Council, East Coast Co-Chair of the Interdisciplinary Coasts Under Stress Research Project involving Memorial University of Newfoundland and the University of Victoria, and a former Board member of the Canadian Nature Federation.


Authorities Contacted

Brazil, J. Endangered Species and Biodiversity Section, Inland Fish and Wildlife Division, Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, Box 2007, 50 Main St. (Commerce Court), Corner Brook, Newfoundland, A2H 7S1

Bredin, K. Zoologist. Atlantic Canada Conservation Data Centre, P.O. Box 6416, Sackville, New Brunswick, E4L 1G6.

Cohlmeyer, C. Conservation Officer. Newfoundland Forest Service, Department of Forest Resources and Agrifoods, Fortis Building, Corner Brook, Newfoundland.

Dunn, E. Migratory Bird Population Division, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada. 1125 Colonel By Drive, Raven Road, Carleton University, Ottawa, ON K1A 0H3.

Etcheberry, R. Isle Miquelon, France. Gosselin, M. March 2003. Collection Manager, Vertebrate Section, Collection Services, Canadian Museum of Nature, PO Box 3443 Stn D, Ottawa, Ontario, K1P 6P4.

Maunder, J.E. Curator of Natural History, Provincial Museum of Newfoundland and Labrador, Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Box 8700, St. John's, Newfoundland, A1B 4J.

Seutin, G. Coordinator, Species at Risk Program, Parks Canada, 25 rue Eddy, 4ième étage, Gatineau, Québec, K1A 0M5.

Summers, R.W. Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, North Scotland Regional Office, Etive house, Beechwood Park, Inverness IV2 3BW U.K.


Collections Examined

Avian Collection, Canadian Museum of Nature, Natural Heritage Building, 1740 Pink Road, Aylmer, Québec, J9H 5E1.

Department of Ornithology. Museum of Comparative Zoology. Harvard University. 25 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138. (WAM unpublished files)

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bec-croisé des sapins (percna) au Canada

Sommaire biographique des rédacteurs du rapport

L. S. Wren a rédigé à l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve un mémoire de maîtrise sur les tendances spatiales et temporelles dans la biogéographie des Carduélinés à l’échelle continentale et régionale. Après l’obtention de son diplôme, elle a travaillé sur des manuscrits se rapportant à cette recherche et a été engagée pour mener des recherches et rédiger des textes sur les défis liés à la conservation dans les pêches de Terre-Neuve. Actuellement, elle s’occupe de conservation des oiseaux à la Fédération canadienne de la nature à Ottawa.

W. A. Montevecchi est professeur aux départements de psychologie et de biologie ainsi qu’au Ocean Sciences Centre de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve et collaborateur à la section d’ornithologie du Museum of Comparative Zoology de l’Université Harvard. Ses recherches portent sur les réponses des animaux aux changements environnementaux et sur les interactions interspécifiques dans les écosystèmes marins et terrestres. Une bonne partie de ses recherches ont trait à l’écologie de la conservation. Il est membre du Newfoundland and Labrador Species Status Committee, ancien président de l’Équipe de rétablissement du Canard arlequin, membre du conseil d’administration de la Société canadienne pour la conservation de la nature - Région de l’Atlantique, coprésident du Newfoundland and Labrador Wilderness and Ecological Reserves Advisory Council, coprésident (côte est) du projet de recherche interdisciplinaire Coasts Under Stress auquel participent l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve et l’Université de Victoria, et ancien membre du conseil d’administration de la Fédération canadienne de la nature.


Experts contactées

Brazil, J. Endangered Species and Biodiversity Section, Inland Fish and Wildlife Division, Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, Box 2007, 50 Main St. (Commerce Court), Corner Brook (Terre-Neuve) A2H 7S1

Bredin, K. Zoologiste. Centre de données sur la conservation du Canada atlantique, C. P. 6416, Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick) E4L 1G6

Cohlmeyer, C. Conservation Officer. Newfoundland Forest Service, Department of Forest Resources and Agrifoods, Fortis Building, Corner Brook (Terre-Neuve)

Dunn, E. Division des populations d’oiseaux migrateurs, Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada. 1125, Colonel By Drive, chemin Raven, Université de Carleton, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H3

Etcheberry, R. Île Miquelon, France.

Gosselin, M. Mars 2003. Responsable des collections, Service des collections, Division des vertébrés, Musée canadien de la nature, C.P. 3443, Succursale D, Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 6P4.

Maunder, J. E. Curator of Natural History, Provincial Museum of Newfoundland and Labrador, Department of Tourism, Culture and Recreation, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Box 8700, St. John's, (Terre-Neuve) A1B 4J

Seutin, G. Coordonnateur, Programme des espèces en péril, Parcs Canada, 25, rue Eddy, 4ième étage, Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0M5

Summers, R.W. Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, North Scotalnd Regional Office, Etive house, Beechwood Park, Inverness IV2 3BW U.K.


Collections consultées

Collection d’oiseaux du Musée canadien de la nature, Édifice du patrimoine naturel, 1740, chemin Pink, Aylmer (Québec) J9H 5E1.

Department of Ornithology. Museum of Comparative Zoology. Harvard University. 25 Oxford Street, Cambridge, MA 02138. (WAM, fichiers inédits)