Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Red Crossbill percna subspecies Loxia curvirostra percna in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Red Crossbill
Percna subspecies
Loxia curvirostra percna
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:
Loxia curvirostra percna Bent 1912
English name:
Red Crossbill percna subspecies
French name:
Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce percna
Class:
Aves
Order:
Passeriformes
Family:
Fringillidae
Subfamily:
Carduelinae
Genus:
Loxia
Species:
curvirostra
Subspecies:
percna

 

Vernacular Names:

Vernacular synonyms (both current and historical) for the Red Crossbill in Newfoundland include Spruce Mope (Peters and Burleigh 1951), Large Spruce Bird (Reeks 1869), and Spruce Bird (Montevecchi and Wells 1987).

Subspecies Nomenclature:

Red Crossbills (Loxia curvirostra) in North America have historically been classified into a number of subspecies, based on morphological differences in body and bill size/shape, as well as differences in plumage characteristics (Griscom 1937). Further research has demonstrated that the variation in bill size of subspecies results in different conifer seed preferences (Lack 1944; Benkman 1993a) and that Red Crossbill taxa are separated by vocal distinctions that correlate with positive assortative mating (Groth 1993a).

Ornithologists have long recognized Red Crossbills found in Newfoundland as a distinctive crossbill variant, owing to a large body and bill size and darkish plumage. Bent (1912) first identified the Newfoundland subspecies of Red Crossbill in the scientific literature, and designated it Loxia curvirostra percna. This taxonomy is accepted in Noble’s (1919) subsequent publication on Newfoundland’s avifauna, and in the American Ornithologists’ Union (AOU) Checklist of North American Birds, 4th edition (American Ornithologists' Union 1931). However, around this period, earlier collections of New World Red Crossbills were being re-examined, given the emergence of new crossbill subspecies. In 1922, Stresemann examined specimens at the Berlin Museum which had been identified as Loxia pusilla and/or Crucirostra americana by Gloger (1843, as discussed in Groth 1993b). Stresemann gave the larger specimens the designation pusilla (Groth 1993b). In 1934, van Rossem concluded that the Berlin pusilla specimens were morphologically matched to Red Crossbills from Newfoundland, although van Rossem did not consult any additional North American specimens. Thus, van Rossem replaced percna with pusilla for the Red Crossbill Newfoundland subspecies, even though Stresemann had concluded that the Berlin pusilla type came from Georgia (as discussed in Groth 1993b).

Griscom’s (1937) major work on crossbill taxonomy supported van Rossem’s ideas, and refers to the Red Crossbill Newfoundland subspecies as Loxia curvirostra pusilla Gloger. Griscom assumed that the Newfoundland subspecies wandered great distances, thus justifying that “the type [specimen] apparently came from Georgia” (Griscom 1937). The use of pusilla for the Newfoundland subspecies was adopted in Peters and Burleigh’s (1951) The Birds of Newfoundland and in the AOU’s Checklist of North American Birds, 5th edition (American Ornithologists' Union 1957). This taxonomy is also used in Godfrey’s (1966) The Birds of Canada and also in the revised edition (Godfrey 1986). 

By the 1980s, authors such as Phillips (as discussed in Groth 1993b and Dickerman 1987) were reverting back to the use of percna in reference to the Newfoundland subspecies, recognizing that the use of pusilla was likely in error. Payne (1987), in a detailed study of variation within pusilla, concluded that percna is a distinct form, and not a synonym of pusilla. Phillips even suggested the elimination of subspecies names in favour of grouping North American crossbill types based on size similarities. Phillips’ research led him to suggest that percna be grouped with California Red Crossbills into a large-sized type Class III (as discussed in Dickerman 1987). 

In the early 1990s, Groth (1993b) published a major revision in North American crossbill taxonomy. This work was based on a study of the morphological, vocal, and genetic traits of the New World Red Crossbill ‘complex’ of types. Groth concluded that the Red Crossbill complex represents a group of eight reproductively isolated sibling species, and not subspecies. Distinct crossbill types that were identified in his analysis do not generally correspond to the traditional subspecies nomenclature. Many of the crossbill types overlap morphologically and geographically, making call type discrimination an essential feature of identification. Genetic analysis done for this study revealed that Red Crossbill types are very similar, showing genetic differences that are not as large as would be seen among different species within a single genus. Similarly crossbill species in the United Kingdom have also been found to be not genetically distinquishable (Summers and Piertney 2003). Groth (1993b) labelled Red Crossbills from Newfoundland as the Type 8 Red Crossbill, based on morphological differences, and based on one recorded call, which was different from all other recorded North American Red Crossbill calls. Groth (1993b) cautioned, “it is not known if mainland crossbills ever reach Newfoundland, nor is it known if Type 8 birds occur on the mainland.” Groth (1993b) stated that scientific binomial names are needed for the ‘species’ in the North American Red Crossbill complex, and he suggested that the name of the Newfoundland type is “most appropriately percna Bent 1912.” The name pusilla is likely inappropriate for this subspecies of Red Crossbill, as it corresponds most closely to crossbills of Type 2 (Groth 1993b). The American Ornithologists’ Union (1983) stopped publishing subspecies nomenclature after its 1957 5th edition checklist but continued to endorse the use of trinomial subspecies nomenclature. Historical taxonomic revisions affecting the nomenclature of the Red Crossbill, percna subspecies are presented in Table 1.

Table 1: Historical Taxonomic Revisions Affecting the Nomenclature of the Red Crossbill, percna Subspecies
NameYearRangeAuthor (Reference)
L. c. percna1912NewfoundlandonlyBent (1912)
L. c. pusilla1934NewfoundlandVan Rossem (Groth 1988)
L. c. pusilla1937Newfoundland, wandering down Eastern SeaboardGriscom (1937)
L. c. pusilla1966Newfoundland, wandering in Canada to Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova ScotiaGodfrey (1966)
Size Class III1981Newfoundland, but including other “large” North American crossbills on the mainlandPhillips (Dickerman 1987)
L. c. percna1987Newfoundland, wandering to North-eastern United States and adjacent CanadaDickerman (1987)
Type 81993Newfoundland; occurrence on mainland unknownGroth (1993b)


Current Consensus?

Some recent scientific publications concerning this Red Crossbill subspecies use the subspecies name percna (see examples in Pimm 1990; Parchman and Benkman 2002). Other recent work advocates an adoption of Groth’s (1993b) type classification system for North American crossbills (Pyle 1997; Kaufman 1999; Sibley 2000), with this taxon classified as Type 8. 

Knox (1992) suggests that Red Crossbills are most correctly identified as “pseudospecies” because they are temporarily sympatric (when birds from widely different core populations occur together on irruptions), but are reproductively isolated populations. Knox (1992) argues that there is no need to consider many Red Crossbill subspecies as separate species because there is no evidence that they act as separate species when they are within their main ranges although he acknowledges that detailed information is lacking. Groth (1993b), however, concludes that North American Red Crossbills are sibling species: gene flow as a result of their vagility has not homogenized their morphology because the forms are reproductively isolated. 

Based on this conclusion, some authors have considered the promotion of Red Crossbill forms to full species status. DeBenedictis (1995), for example, indicates that the eight North American Red Crossbill types fit the contemporary species definitions, and show the same divergence as the Old World Red Crossbills that are recognized as separate species. He recognizes that additional research is required to make definitive assertions about the species statuses of the New World types. The possibility of full species status of the forms L. curvirostra has also been recently demonstrated in Europe (Robb 2000; Summers et al. 2002). These crossbills have sympatric distributions but probably reproduce assortatively based on call type discrimination.

Summary

The Red Crossbill taxon percna is a distinctive group. It is morphologically different from other North American Red Crossbill forms and is considered one of eight reproductively isolated forms found in North America. The past use of the subspecies name pusilla may have been in error, with the more accurate subspecies name for this Red Crossbill taxon being percna.

 

Description

Crossbills are medium sized finches identifiable by their unique crossed mandibles. North American Red Crossbills have no white wing bars, which distinguish them from the other North American crossbill species, the White-winged Crossbill (L. leucoptera). Adult male Red Crossbills are generally a dull red colour above and below, with the rump generally brightest, and the back dullest with some brown colouration (Godfrey 1986). Adult females have a generally greyish olive rather than red colouration, with yellowish rumps (Godfrey 1986). Flight feathers are a blackish brown in both males and females, as is the deeply notched tail (Godfrey 1986; Adkisson 1996). Juvenile Red Crossbills have streaked heads and bodies, and a pale grey colouration with hints of olive or yellow (Godfrey 1986), and are generally distinguished from adults by buffy edges on their wing coverts (Adkisson 1996). Immature male birds are variable, and may possess plumages intermediate between female and adult males (Godfrey 1986). Red Crossbills may not undergo regular seasonal moults, thus plumages can vary throughout the year (for example, males can range from deep brick red to reddish yellow or greenish; Adkisson 1996). Bill sizes and body sizes vary according to the subspecies of Red Crossbill (Adkisson 1996). In an examination of Canadian Red Crossbills, left and right bill crossover were found to occur with the same regularity (James et al. 1987).

The percna subspecies is larger, has a stouter bill and darker and duskier plumage than other North American Red Crossbills (Pyle 1997). Peters and Burleigh (1951) describe the adult male as “dull red, brighter on the rump, with wings and tail blackish,” the adult female as “dull olive-gray, with yellow on rump and often on under parts, wings and tail dark grayish,” and juveniles as “variable, ranging from olive-green to yellow to reddish.” Griscom (1937) points out that both sexes of the percna subspecies are readily recognizable by their dark, dull colouration and that with little practice, specimens of this subspecies can be easily identified. See figures Figure1 and Figure2 for photos of Red Crossbills from Newfoundland. Morphometric and bill measurements for Red Crossbills, percna subspecies, from literature and museum sources are presented in Appendix 1 and Appendix 2.

Figure 1:  Male Red Crossbill on Ornamental Austrian Pine, St. John’s, April 28, 2002


Figure 1.  Male Red Crossbill on ornamental Austrian Pine, St. John’s, April 28, 2002. Photos © Dave Fifield and used with permission.

Photos © Dave Fifield and used with permission.


Figure 2: Male Red Crossbill Specimen from a Road Kill in Terra Nova National Park, 1997

Figure 2.  Male Red Crossbill specimen from a road kill in Terra Nova National Park, 1997.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce Percna (Loxia curvirostra percna) au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Bec-croisé des sapins
de la sous-espèce percna
Loxia curvirostra percna

au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Loxia curvirostra percna Bent 1912
Nom français :
Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce percna
Nom anglais :
Red Crossbill percna subspecies
Classe :
Oiseaux
Ordre :
Passériformes
Famille :
Fringillidés
Sous-famille :
Carduelinés
Genre :
Loxia
Espèce :
curvirostra
Sous-espèce :
percna

 

Noms communs

Parmi les autres noms communs anglais utilisés (actuellement et dans le passé) pour désigner le Bec-croisé des sapins à Terre-Neuve, mentionnons les suivants : Spruce Mope (Peters et Burleigh, 1951), Large Spruce Bird (Reeks, 1869) et Spruce Bird (Montevecchi et Wells, 1987).

Nomenclature de la sous-espèce

Par le passé, le Bec-croisé des sapins (Loxia curvirostra) a été divisé en un certain nombre de sous-espèces en Amérique du Nord, à partir de différences morphologiques dans la taille et la forme du corps et du bec et dans les caractéristiques du plumage (Griscom, 1937). Des recherches plus poussées ont prouvé que la variation de la taille du bec des sous-espèces entraîne des préférences différentes en ce qui a trait aux graines de conifères (Lack, 1944; Benkman, 1993a) et que les divers taxons du Bec-croisé des sapins sont séparés par des vocalisations distinctes qui sont en corrélation avec une homogamie (Groth, 1993a).

Il y a longtemps que les ornithologues reconnaissent le Bec-croisé des sapins observé à Terre-Neuve comme une forme distincte à cause de la forte taille de son corps et de son bec et de son plumage plus foncé. Dans les ouvrages scientifiques, Bent (1912) est le premier à avoir identifié le Bec-croisé des sapins de Terre-Neuve comme une sous-espèce qu’il a appelée Loxia curvirostra percna. Ce classement taxinomique est accepté dans une publication subséquente de Noble (1919) sur l’avifaune de Terre-Neuve, ainsi que dans la Checklist of North American Birds, 4e édition, publié par l’American Ornithologists’ Union (AOU) (American Ornithologists' Union, 1931). Cependant, à la même époque, on a réexaminé les premiers spécimens de Becs-croisés des sapins récoltés, à cause de l’émergence de nouvelles sous-espèces. En 1922, Stresemann a examiné les spécimens du musée de Berlin qui avaient été classés comme étant des Loxia pusilla et/ou des Crucirostra americana par Gloger (1843, question traitée par Groth, 1993b). Stresemann a appelé les gros spécimens pusilla (Groth, 1993b). En 1934, van Rossem a conclu que les spécimens de pusilla conservés à Berlin correspondaient au Bec-croisé des sapins de Terre-Neuve du point de vue morphologique, mais il n’avait examiné aucun autre spécimen de l’Amérique du Nord. Van Rossem a donc changé le nom de sous-espèce du Bec-croisé des sapins de Terre-Neuve, en remplaçant percna par pusilla, même si Stresemann avait conclu que le type pusilla de Berlin venait de Géorgie (voir l’analyse dans Groth, 1993b).

L’ouvrage majeur de Griscom (1937) sur la taxinomie des Becs-croisés appuyait les conclusions de van Rossem, et désignait la sous-espèce de Bec-croisé des sapins de Terre-Neuve sous le nom de Loxia curvirostra pusilla Gloger. Selon l’hypothèse de Griscom, la sous-espèce de Terre-Neuve errait sur de grandes distances, ce qui justifiait le fait que le spécimen-type provienne apparemment de la Géorgie (Griscom, 1937). La désignation pusilla pour la sous-espèce de Terre-Neuve a été adoptée par Peters et Burleigh (1951) dans la publication The Birds of Newfoundland, ainsi que par l’AOU dans le Checklist of North American Birds, 5e édition (American Ornithologists' Union, 1957). Ce classement taxinomique est également utilisé dans l’ouvrage Les oiseaux du Canada de Godfrey (1966) ainsi que dans l’édition révisée de cet ouvrage (Godfrey, 1986).

Vers les années 1980, des auteurs comme Phillips (voir Groth, 1993b et Dickerman, 1987) ont repris l’appellation percna pour la sous-espèce de Terre-Neuve, jugeant que l’utilisation du nom de pusilla était probablement une erreur. Dans une étude approfondie des variations chez la sous-espèce pusilla, Payne (1987) a conclu que l’appellation percna désignait une forme distincte et n’était pas synonyme de pusilla. Selon Phillips, il fallait même éliminer les noms de sous-espèces et regrouper plutôt les divers types de becs-croisés d’Amérique du Nord en fonction des similitudes dans leur taille. En s’appuyant sur les résultats de ses recherches, Phillips a proposé de regrouper la sous-espèce percna et le Bec-croisé des sapins de Californie dans une catégorie formée de types de grande taille et appelée « Classe III » (voir l’analyse dans Dickerman, 1987).

Au début des années 1990, Groth (1993b) a publié un ouvrage important révisant la taxinomie des becs-croisés d’Amérique du Nord. Cet ouvrage s’appuyait sur une étude des caractéristiques morphologiques, vocales et génétiques du « complexe » formé par les divers types de Becs-croisés des sapins du Nouveau Monde. Groth a conclu que ce complexe de Becs-croisés des sapins est constitué d’un groupe de huit espèces jumelles isolées sur le plan reproductif et non de sous-espèces. Les divers types de becs-croisés qui étaient répertoriés dans son analyse ne correspondent généralement pas à la nomenclature traditionnelle des sous-espèces. Il y avait chevauchement entre bien des types de becs-croisés sur les plans morphologique et géographique, de sorte que le chant devenait un critère d’identification essentiel. D’après les résultats de l’analyse génétique effectuée dans le cadre de cette étude, les divers types de Becs-croisés des sapins sont très similaires, montrant des variations génétiques moins grandes que celles que l’on observerait entre différentes espèces appartenant au même genre. De même, on a découvert qu’il était impossible de différencier les diverses espèces de becs-croisés du Royaume-Uni à partir de leurs caractères génétiques (Summers et Piertney, 2003). Groth (1993b) a caractérisé le Bec-croisé des sapins de Terre-Neuve comme un bec-croisé du type 8, en se fondant sur des différences morphologiques et sur l’enregistrement d’un seul chant qui différait de tous les autres chants de Becs-croisés des sapins enregistrés en Amérique du Nord. Groth (1993b) a fait une mise en garde, affirmant que l’on ne sait pas si les becs-croisés du continent ont déjà atteint Terre-Neuve, ni s’il y a des oiseaux du type 8 sur le continent. Groth (1993b) a déclaré qu’il faut recourir à la nomenclature scientifique binominale pour « l’espèce » dans le complexe de Becs-croisés des sapins d’Amérique du Nord et qu’à son avis, le nom le plus approprié pour le type de Terre-Neuve serait percna Bent 1912. Il est probable que la désignation pusilla n’est pas appropriée pour cette sous-espèce de Bec-croisé des sapins parce qu’elle s’applique davantage aux becs-croisés du type 2 (Groth, 1993b). L’American Ornithologists’ Union (1983) a cessé de publier la nomenclature des sous-espèces dans les éditions subséquentes à la 5e édition de sa liste en 1957, mais elle a continué d’entériner l’utilisation de la nomenclature trinominale des sous-espèces. Les révisions historiques de la taxinomie du Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce percna sont présentées dans le tableau 1.

Tableau 1 : Révisions historiques de la taxinomie du Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce percna
NomAnnéeAire de répartitionAuteur (référence)
L. c. percna1912Terre-Neuve seulementBent (1912)
L. c. pusilla1934Terre-NeuveVan Rossem (Groth, 1988)
L. c. pusilla1937Terre-Neuve, erre le long du littoral estGriscom (1937)
L. c. pusilla1966Terre-Neuve, erre au Canada jusqu’en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-ÉcosseGodfrey (1966)
Classe de taille III1981Terre-Neuve, mais incluant d’autres « gros » becs-croisés d’Amérique du Nord présents sur le continentPhillips (Dickerman, 1987)
L. c. percna1987Terre-Neuve, erre jusque dans le nord-est des États-Unis et dans des régions canadiennes adjacentesDickerman (1987)
Type 81993Terre-Neuve; occurrence sur le continent inconnueGroth (1993b)


Consensus actuel?

Certaines publications scientifiques récentes concernant cette sous-espèce du Bec-croisé des sapins utilisent le nom de sous-espèce percna (voir des exemples dans Pimm, 1990; Parchman et Benkman, 2002). D’autres travaux récents préconisent l’adoption du système de classification par type proposé par Groth (1993b) pour les becs-croisés d’Amérique du Nord (Pyle, 1997; Kaufman, 1999; Sibley, 2000), cette sous-espèce étant classée dans le type 8.

Selon Knox (1992), il serait plus exact de considérer les Becs-croisés des sapins comme des « pseudo-espèces » parce qu’ils sont sympatriques pendant certaines périodes (quand des oiseaux provenant de populations principales différentes se retrouvent ensemble lors d’irruptions), mais isolés sur le plan de la reproduction. Knox (1992) soutient qu’il n’est pas nécessaire de considérer de nombreuses sous-espèces de Becs-croisés des sapins comme des espèces distinctes parce qu’il n’y a aucune preuve qu’elles se comportent comme des espèces distinctes lorsqu’elles se trouvent dans leurs aires de répartition principales, mais il reconnaît que l’on manque de données précises à cet égard. Cependant, Groth (1993b) conclut que les Becs-croisés des sapins d’Amérique du Nord sont des espèces jumelles : le flux génique résultant de leur vagilité n’a pas uniformisé leur morphologie parce que les diverses formes sont isolées sur le plan reproducteur.

À partir de cette conclusion, certains auteurs ont envisagé de promouvoir les diverses formes du Bec-croisé des sapins au statut d’espèces à part entière. Par exemple, DeBenedictis (1995) affirme que les huit types de Becs-croisés des sapins d’Amérique du Nord correspondent aux définitions contemporaines d’une espèce et montrent le même degré de divergence que les Becs-croisés des sapins de l’Ancien Monde qui sont reconnus comme des espèces distinctes. Il admet qu’il faut effectuer d’autres recherches pour confirmer définitivement le statut d’espèces des divers types de becs-croisés du Nouveau Monde. La possibilité d’attribuer un statut d’espèce à part entière aux diverses formes du L. curvirostra a également été démontrée récemment en Europe (Robb, 2000; Summers et al., 2002). Ces becs-croisés ont des aires de répartition sympatriques, mais se reproduisent probablement par homogamie à partir de la reconnaissance du chant.

Sommaire

Le Bec-croisé des sapins de la sous-espèce percna constitue un groupe distinct. Il diffère des autres formes de Becs-croisés des sapins d’Amérique du Nord sur le plan morphologique et est considéré comme l’une des huit formes isolées sur le plan reproducteur qui sont présentes en Amérique du Nord. L’emploi antérieur de la désignation pusilla pour cette sous-espèce a peut-être été une erreur, le nom le plus approprié pour cette sous-espèce du Bec-croisé des sapins étant percna.

 

Description

Les becs-croisés sont des Fringillidés de taille moyenne reconnaissables à leurs mandibules croisées uniques. Le Bec-croisé des sapins n’a pas de bandes alaires blanches, ce qui permet de le distinguer de l’autre espèce de bec-croisé d’Amérique du Nord, soit le Bec-croisé bifascié (L. leucoptera). Chez le Bec-croisé des sapins, le mâle adulte est rouge terne en dessus et en dessous, avec une coloration plus vive sur le croupion et plus terne sur le dos où une coloration brune est visible (Godfrey, 1986). En général, la femelle adulte est olive grisâtre plutôt que rouge, avec un croupion jaunâtre (Godfrey, 1986). Les rémiges sont brun noirâtre chez le mâle et la femelle, tout comme la queue très fourchue (Godfrey, 1986; Adkisson, 1996). Le juvénile a la tête et le corps rayés et d’une coloration gris pâle teintée d’olive et de jaune (Godfrey, 1986) et il se distingue généralement des adultes par la présence de bordures chamois sur les tectrices des ailes (Adkisson, 1996). Le plumage des mâles immatures est variable et peut présenter des intermédiaires entre ceux de la femelle et du mâle adultes (Godfrey, 1986). Chez le Bec-croisé des sapins, il peut ne pas y avoir de mues saisonnières régulières, de sorte que le plumage peut varier tout au long de l’année (par exemple, la coloration du mâle peut aller du rouge brique intense au jaune rougeâtre ou au verdâtre; Adkisson, 1996). La taille du bec et du corps varie selon la sous-espèce (Adkisson, 1996). D’après les résultats d’un examen des Becs-croisés des sapins du Canada, la fréquence du croisement du bec vers la gauche ou vers la droite serait la même (James et al., 1987).

La sous-espèce percna est plus grosse, avec un bec plus robuste et un plumage plus foncé et plus sombre que les autres becs-croisés d’Amérique du Nord (Pyle, 1997). D’après Peters et Burleigh (1951), le mâle adulte présente une coloration d’un rouge terne, plus vif sur le croupion, avec des ailes et une queue noirâtres; le plumage de la femelle adulte est gris olive terne, avec du jaune sur le croupion et souvent sur les parties inférieures et des ailes et une queue grisâtre sombre; les juvéniles présentent une coloration variable, allant du vert olive au jaune ou au rougeâtre. Griscom (1937) souligne que les individus des deux sexes de la sous-espèce percna se reconnaissent facilement à leur coloration terne foncée et qu’avec un peu de pratique, il est facile d’identifier les spécimens de cette sous-espèce. Voir les photographies de Becs-croisés des sapins de Terre-Neuve présentées aux figures figure1 et figure2. Des mesures morphométriques de Becs-croisés des sapins de la sous-espèce percna provenant d’ouvrages publiés et de spécimens de musées sont présentées aux annexes annexe1 et annexe2.

Figure 1 :  Bec-croisé des sapins mâle sur un pin noir d’Autriche ornemental, St. John’s, le 28 avril 2002


Bec-croisé des sapins mâle sur un pin noir d’Autriche ornemental, St. John’s, le 28 avril 2002. Photos © Dave Fifield, reproduites avec sa permission.

Photos © Dave Fifield, reproduites avec sa permission.


Figure 2 : Spécimen de Bec-croisé des sapins mâle tué sur la route dans le parc national Terra-Nova, en 1997

Figure 2.  Spécimen de Bec-croisé des sapins mâle tué sur la route dans le parc national Terra-Nova, en 1997.