Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red-legged Frog (Rana Aurora)

Update
COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Red-legged Frog
Rana aurora
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

The Red-legged Frog belongs to the large, nearly cosmopolitan family of Ranidae or “true frogs” (Amphibia: Anura: Ranidae: Rana: Rana aurora Baird and Girard, 1852). The genus Rana consists of over 250 described species distributed throughout the world, with the exception of southern South America, Australia, and Antarctica (Duellman and Trueb 1996). As currently composed, the genus Rana may be polyphyletic, and its systematics require further investigation (Crother 2000).

Six species of frogs of the genus Rana are native to the west coast of North America: Rana aurora, R. boylii (Foothill Yellow-legged Frog), R. cascadae (Cascades Frog), R. muscosa (Mountain Yellow-legged Frog), R. pretiosa (Oregon Spotted Frog), and R. luteiventris (Columbia Spotted Frog). These species form the R. boylii species group, which molecular evidence suggests is a well-defined, monophyletic group, about 8 million years old (Macey et al. 2001). Relationships within the R. boylii group are incompletely understood, but recent mitochondrial DNA sequencing suggests that R. aurora, R. cascadae, and R. muscosa might be closely related (Macey et al. 2001).

Rana aurora is divided into two geographically separated subspecies: R. a. aurora (the Northern Red-legged Frog), which occurs from British Columbia south to northern California, and R. a. draytonii (the California Red-legged Frog), which occurs from northern California to Baja California, Mexico. The two forms differ in their morphology, behaviour, and genetics (Hayes and Miyamoto 1984), but whether they are sufficiently distinct to warrant the recognition of two separate species is still to be resolved (Crother 2000).

 

Description

The Northern Red-legged Frog is a moderate-sized frog with snout-vent length of adults usually from about 50 to over 70 mm (Green and Campbell 1984); females attain a somewhat larger body size than do males and may be up to about 100 mm long (Nussbaum et al. 1983). As is typical of most other North America ranids, these frogs have a smooth to somewhat rugose skin, a dorsolateral fold along each side of the body extending from near the eye to near the groin, relatively long legs when compared to other groups of frogs, and webbed feet. The back of the Red-legged Frog is brownish, flecked with small black spots with indistinct edges; the dorsal surface of the limbs is often banded with black (Figure 1a). A dark mask typically extends from the eye to the jaw line and is bordered from below by a cream-coloured band. The throat and chest are gray or white with black flecking, whereas the undersides of the hind legs and the lower portion of the trunk are reddish, giving the species its common name. The brightness of the red varies both geographically and with ontogeny (Altig and Dumas 1972); small juveniles may lack the red colour altogether or show only a faint reddish or yellowish tint on the underside of the legs.

Figure 1:  Red-legged Frog, Rana aurora: a) adult (Rocky Point, Vancouver Island, B.C.), b) Egg-mass (Vedder Creek, B.C.), c) Tadpole (Vedder Creek, B.C.)

Figure 1.  Red-legged Frog, Rana aurora: a. adult (Rocky Point, Vancouver Island, B.C.), b. Egg-mass (Vedder Creek, B.C.), c. Tadpole (Vedder Creek, B.C.).

Photographs by Kristiina Ovaska.

Tadpoles are tan or greenish brown, and the trunk, tail, and fins are typically covered with gold- or brass-coloured flecking or blotches; the white underside often has a pinkish tinge. They can attain a relatively large size (up to about 70 – 80 mm) immediately before metamorphosis. The tail is relatively short (about 1.5 times or less the length of the body), and the dorsal fin is relatively tall (taller than the tail musculature at its widest point), resulting in a stubby appearance (Figure 1c; Corkran and Thoms 1996).

In British Columbia, the Red-legged Frog may be confused with the Oregon and Columbia spotted frogs, which have a similar body form and reddish underside of the hind limbs and the lower portion of the trunk; the two spotted frogs cannot be reliably distinguished from each other based on morphology. The Red-legged Frog is sympatric with the Oregon Spotted Frog in the lower Fraser Valley, whereas it is largely allopatric with the Columbia Spotted Frog. Potential for overlap with the Columbia Spotted Frog exists at the southeastern and northern distributional limits of the Red-legged Frog on the mainland (see section on Canadian Distribution), and specimens from these areas should be examined carefully. Adults of the Red-legged Frog can be distinguished from the spotted frogs by the presence of greenish and black mottling in the groin area, longer legs (the heel extends beyond the snout when pressed against the body), less extensive webbing on the hind feet, lateral rather than upward orientation of the eyes, and pronounced dorsolateral folds (Nussbaum et al. 1983, Leonard et al. 1993). The tadpoles of the Red-legged Frog have a shorter tail and taller dorsal fin than those of the spotted frogs; the dorsal fin of the Red-legged Frog typically has distinct gold-coloured flecks, which are usually absent from tadpoles of the spotted frogs (Corkran and Thoms 1996).

More detailed information on the appearance of this species and its distinguishing characteristics can be found in Altig and Dumas (1972) and various field-guides (Nussbaum et al. 1983, Green and Campbell 1984, Stebbins 1985, Leonard et al. 1993, Corkran and Thoms 1996).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Grenouille à pattes rouges (Rana aurora)

Mise à jour
Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur
grenouille à pattes rouges
Rana aurora
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

La grenouille à pattes rouges appartient à la grande famille quasi cosmopolite des Ranidés, ou « vraies grenouilles » (Amphibiens : Anoures : Ranidés : Rana : Rana aurora; Baird et Girard, 1852). Le genre Rana compte plus de 250 espèces répertoriées présentes dans le monde entier, à l’exception de la partie méridionale de l’Amérique du Sud, de l’Australie et de l’Antarctique (Duellman et Trueb, 1996). Selon sa composition actuelle, le genre Rana pourrait être polyphylétique; sa taxinomie requiert d’autres recherches approfondies (Crother, 2000).

Six espèces de grenouilles du genre Rana sont indigènes de la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord : Rana aurora, R. boylii (« Foothill Yellow-legged Frog »), R. cascadae (grenouille des Cascades), R. muscosa (« Mountain Yellow-legged Frog »), R. pretiosa (grenouille maculée de l’Oregon) et R. luteiventris (grenouille maculée de Columbia). Ces espèces forment le groupe du R. boylii qui, selon les analyses moléculaires, constituerait un groupe monophylétique bien défini existant depuis environ huit millions d’années (Macey et al., 2001). La parenté entre les membres du groupe du R. boylii n’est pas entièrement élucidée, mais de récentes études de séquençage d’ADN mitochondrial indiquent que le R. aurora, le R. cascadae et le R. muscosa seraient étroitement apparentés (Macey et al., 2001).

Le Rana aurora est divisé en deux sous-espèces séparées géographiquement : R. a. aurora (la grenouille du Nord à pattes rouges), présent depuis le sud de la Colombie-Britannique jusqu’au nord de la Californie, et Rana aurora draytonii, présent depuis le nord de la Californie jusqu’à la Basse-Californie, au Mexique. Les deux sous-espèces se distinguent par leur morphologie, leur comportement et certains caractères génétiques (Hayes et Miyamoto, 1984), mais on ignore toujours si elles sont suffisamment différentes pour justifier leur séparation en deux espèces distinctes (Crother, 2000).

 

Description

La grenouille du Nord à pattes rouges est de taille moyenne; les adultes ont généralement une longueur, du museau au cloaque, qui varie entre 50 mm et un peu plus de 70 mm (Green et Campbell, 1984). Les femelles sont un peu plus grandes que les mâles et peuvent atteindre une longueur d’environ 100 mm (Nussbaum et al., 1983). À l’instar de la plupart des autres Ranidés de l’Amérique du Nord, la grenouille du Nord à pattes rouges a une peau lisse à légèrement rugueuse, un pli dorsolatéral sur chaque flanc, qui commence près de l’œil et se termine près de l’aine, des membres relativement longs par comparaison aux autres groupes de grenouilles, et des pattes palmées. Le dos de la grenouille à pattes rouges est brunâtre, parsemé de petites taches noires aux contours indistincts; la surface dorsale des membres porte souvent des barres noires (figure 1a). Un masque foncé, délimité vers le bas par une bande de couleur crème, s’étend généralement de l’œil à la mâchoire. La gorge et la poitrine sont grises ou blanches, avec des taches noires, alors que le dessous des pattes postérieures et la partie postérieure du tronc sont rougeâtres, d’où le nom commun de l’espèce. La vivacité de la coloration rouge varie selon l’emplacement géographique et l’ontogénie (Altig et Dumas, 1972); le rouge peut être complètement absent chez les grenouilles juvéniles ou se présenter comme une faible coloration rougeâtre ou jaunâtre sur le dessous des pattes.

Les têtards sont de couleur brun havane ou brun verdâtre; le tronc, la queue et les nageoires sont généralement couverts de taches ou de marbrures de couleur dorée ou cuivrée; le ventre, de couleur blanche, a souvent une nuance rosée. Les têtards atteignent une assez bonne taille (jusqu’à 70 à 80 mm environ) avant la métamorphose. La queue est relativement courte (environ 1,5 fois la longueur du corps ou moins), et la nageoire dorsale est relativement haute (plus haute que le diamètre du tronc de la queue à son point le plus large), ce qui donne au têtard une apparence trapue (figure 1c; Corkran et Thoms, 1996).

En Colombie-Britannique, on confond la grenouille à pattes rouges avec les grenouilles maculées de l’Oregon et de Columbia, qui lui ressemblent par la forme de leur corps et la couleur rougeâtre du dessous de leurs pattes arrière et de la partie postérieure de leur tronc. Les deux grenouilles maculées ne peuvent d’ailleurs pas être distinguées l’une de l’autre de manière fiable par leur morphologie. La grenouille à pattes rouges est sympatrique avec la grenouille maculée de l’Oregon dans la vallée du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser, alors qu’elle est largement allopatrique avec la grenouille maculée de Columbia. Il est possible que les extrémités sud-est et nord de l’aire de répartition continentale de la grenouille à pattes rouges chevauchent l’aire de répartition de la grenouille maculée de Columbia (voir la section « Aire de répartition canadienne »). Les spécimens capturés dans ces régions doivent donc être examinés de près. Les grenouilles à pattes rouges adultes peuvent être distinguées des grenouilles maculées par les caractéristiques suivantes : présence de marbrures verdâtres et noires dans la région de l’aine, pattes plus longues (les talons dépassent le museau lorsque les pattes sont rabattues sur le corps), palmes moins développées sur les pattes arrière, orientation des yeux latérale plutôt que vers le haut et plis dorsolatéraux prononcés (Nussbaum et al., 1983; Leonard et al., 1993). Les têtards de la grenouille à pattes rouges ont une queue plus courte et une nageoire dorsale plus haute que les têtards des grenouilles maculées; la nageoire dorsale de la grenouille à pattes rouges porte des mouchetures dorées caractéristiques, qui sont généralement absentes chez les têtards des grenouilles maculées (Corkran et Thoms, 1996).

Figure 1 : La grenouille à pattes rouges, le Rana aurora : a) Adulte (Rocky Point, île de Vancouver, C.-B.); b) Masse d’œufs (Vedder Creek, C.-B.); c) Têtard (Vedder Creek, C.-B.)

Figure 1.   La grenouille à pattes rouges, le Rana aurora : a. Adulte (Rocky Point, île de Vancouver, C.-B.); b. Masse d’œufs (Vedder Creek, C.-B.); c. Têtard (Vedder Creek, C.-B.). Photographies : Kristiina Ovaska.

Photographies : Kristiina Ovaska.

Une description plus détaillée de l’aspect de ces grenouilles peut être consultée dans Altig et Dumas (1972) et plusieurs guides d’identification (Nussbaum et al., 1983; Green et Campbell, 1984; Stebbins, 1985; Leonard et al., 1993; Corkran et Thoms, 1996).