Skip booklet index and go to page content

Red-legged Frog (Rana Aurora)

Population Sizes and Trends

Population Size

The number of adult frogs may vary from hundreds to thousands at breeding sites depending on the size and characteristics of the wetland, but little quantitative information is available. Although population estimates for this species are largely unavailable, there is every indication that there are more breeding adults in Canada than would trigger any of the COSEWIC numerical criteria. Waye (1999) summarized what is known of population sizes of the Red-legged Frog in British Columbia and United States. Two mark-recapture studies at breeding sites were carried out in 1968 – 1970 in southern British Columbia (Licht 1969, 1971, 1974, Calef 1973a, b). At Marion Lake, near Squamish, the number of egg-masses, an index of the number of breeding females, was 618 and 620 in two years, respectively; the average number of adult males was estimated to be 1770 (SE = 280) and 3600 (SE = 775) in the two years (Calef 1973a, b). In marshes near Vancouver, the number of egg-masses was 6 and 33 in two years, respectively; the average estimated number of adults of both sexes was 531 frogs (SE = 19; Licht 1969, 1974). No information exists on current population sizes in these or other breeding sites in the province, or on densities in terrestrial habitats.

Populations of the Red-legged Frog are likely to undergo high year-to-year or longer-term fluctuations in size, similar to those reported for many other species of aquatic-breeding anurans (Pechmann and Wilbur 1994). However, populations have not been monitored over multiple years, and the magnitude of multi-year fluctuations is unknown.

 

Population Distribution and Persistence

On Vancouver Island, the species is relatively widely distributed, based on historical and recent records (Figure 3). The island appears to remain a stronghold of the species’ Canadian distribution, although habitats continue to be modified by forestry, urban developments, agriculture, and other human activities, and by the spread of introduced species. Recent (since 1998) systematic surveys of wetlands for aquatic-breeding amphibians, including the Red-legged Frog, have been conducted in Clayoquot Sound on the west coast of the island (Beasley et al. 2000), on forestry lands on southeastern and northern parts of the island (Wind 2003), and near Victoria (Govindarajulu 2003 and unpublished data). A research project on interactions of this species with forestry activities was carried out on northern Vancouver Island (Chan-McLeod 2003a). Additional locality records are available from researchers working on other amphibian species (Western Toad: Davis, pers. comm.), from the public through the provincial Frog Watch Program, and from serendipitous encounters by various field workers.

In Clayoquot Sound, the Red-legged Frog was located in 26% of the 148 wetlands surveyed in 1998 – 1999 (Beasley et al. 2000). Its frequency of occurrence was similar to that of the Pacific Treefrog (33%) and Rough-skinned Newt (22%). The Northwestern Salamander was the most frequently encountered amphibian (found in 61% of the wetlands), whereas the Western Toad was rare (found in 1% of the wetlands). The Red-legged Frog was unevenly distributed among the four watersheds surveyed; it was not found in one watershed, and its frequency of occurrence ranged from 18 – 50% in the remaining three watersheds.

Wind (2003) surveyed 116 wetlands on northern and 97 wetlands on southeastern Vancouver Island; these wetlands were located both in forested and recently logged areas. Amphibians were detected in 41% of all wetlands surveyed. Overall, the Red-legged Frog was found at 21% of the wetlands, including sites in both recently logged (0‑5 years) and older forest (>150 years). It was the most frequently encountered amphibian in the southeast, followed by the Pacific Treefrog and Rough-skinned Newt. In the north, however, the Northwestern Salamander was by far the most frequently encountered amphibian, followed by the Red-legged Frog and Pacific Treefrog; the difference between the north and southeast possibly reflected higher elevations of the sites surveyed in the north.

Govindarajulu (2003 and unpublished data) surveyed wetlands on the Saanich Peninsula near Victoria on southern Vancouver Island as a part of her dissertation study on the effects of the Bullfrog on native amphibians. She located the Red-legged Frog at 15 lakes and ponds, most of which were on the west side of the peninsula and lacked Bullfrogs. Several other wetlands, especially on the east side of the peninsula, supported Bullfrogs only. This distribution pattern, together with experimental studies of interactions between the two species, suggest that the Red-legged Frog is in the process of being displaced from this area by the Bullfrog (see section “Limiting Factors and Threats”). The Bullfrog may be influencing the distribution of the Red-legged Frog over a wider area along the east coast of Vancouver Island, as well as on the Lower Mainland.

Only sporadic distribution data are available for other areas of Vancouver Island. For example, the species continues to be found in Jordan Meadows, a large wetland complex on southwestern Vancouver Island from where the Western Toad, for unknown reasons, has disappeared over the past decade (Davis and Gregory 2003). However, no quantitative data on abundance are available for the Red-legged Frog at this site, and the population should be monitored for epidemic disease, which can affect a multitude of amphibian species, spread rapidly, and decimate populations. Many parts of Vancouver Island, such as most of the west coast, mountains in the central part of the island, and the far north have not been surveyed systematically for amphibians, and the present status of populations remain unknown.

Little information exists on the current distribution and abundance of the species in most areas of mainland British Columbia. An exception is the Delta area south of Vancouver, where the Corporation of Delta has assessed fish and amphibian distributions and status within watersheds throughout the district based on historical records and new survey data (R. Rithaler, pers. comm.). The Red-legged Frog occurred in 10 of 23 watersheds within Delta in 1990 – 2002; there were no known disappearances from entire watersheds when this pattern was compared to pre-1990 records (Rithaler 2002, 2003). The species is considered to be uncommon within the district, although it is regularly observed within certain areas (R. Rithaler, pers. comm.). The introduced Bullfrog and Green Frog are widespread in Delta and have been recorded from 18 and 17 watersheds, respectively, in 1990 – 2002 (Rithaler 2002, 2003). Habitat modifications, particularly the removal of riparian vegetation and channel deepening, appear to have contributed to the expansion of these introduced species and the disappearance of the Red-legged Frog from particular wetlands in Delta (R. Rithaler, pers. comm.).

De Solla et al. (2002a, b) studied effects of agricultural pollutants on amphibians in the Lower Fraser River Valley. The Red-legged Frog was primarily found at the periphery of the farmlands in the Sumas Prairie area during surveys in mid-1990s, and subsequent studies using experimental enclosures suggested that poor hatching success in contaminated water might contribute to this pattern (De Solla et al. 2002a). During two other surveys in the mid-1990s, the species was found at 14 sites in the Lower Fraser Valley but not at 25 sites where apparently suitable habitat existed (Haycock 1996 and Knopp 1996, cited in Waye 1999). Haycock (1998) carried out additional surveys of wetlands for amphibians throughout the Fraser River Lowlands in and summarized records from Knopp (1996, 1997) for the same area.  Whereas the Oregon Spotted frog (Rana pretiosa) has virtually disappeared, the Red-legged Frog was found at 50% of the sites surveyed and was considered a common amphibian species in the Fraser River Lowlands. However, much habitat has been lost or seriously degraded in this area.

Only a few old (1940s) locality records exist from the Sunshine coast and farther north, and the species’ past and current distribution there is virtually unknown. 

 

Population Trends

Over the past several decades, the California Red-legged Frog has undergone precipitous population declines, including local extirpations, over most of its range in California (reviewed in Stebbins and Cohen 1995). While exploitation and habitat loss have undoubtedly contributed to the declines, especially in human-modified landscapes, declines in more remote areas are incompletely understood. Wind-borne transport of agricultural pesticides appears to be an important contributing factor (Davidson et al. 2002).

Whereas population trends of the California Red-legged Frog have received much attention, relatively little is known of population trends of the Northern Red-legged Frog. Since the mid-1970s population declines have occurred in the southern portion of its range in the Willamette Valley, Oregon (Blaustein et al. 1994b), but it appears to remain relatively common in at least some areas of Washington State, including human-modified landscapes (Ostergaard et al. 2003).

In British Columbia, the species’ range overlaps with heavily urbanized and modified landscapes in the Lower Fraser Valley and on southern and southeastern Vancouver Island, where draining of wetlands, clearing of forest cover and riparian vegetation, and pollution have most likely contributed to the loss of breeding sites and local populations over the past century. Habitats continue to be lost and fragmented at an alarming rate in these areas (see section of “Habitat Trends”), and introduced predators and competitors, such as the Bullfrog, often compromise the quality of remaining habitats (Govindarajulu 2003). However, populations and distribution trends have not been monitored systematically, and there is little documentation of population declines or disappearances.

Limited distribution records suggest that the species continues to be found throughout most of its known range in British Columbia (Figure 3). Distribution records from 1997 to present suggest that the species remains relatively widespread within portions of its range on Vancouver Island (see section “Population Distribution and Persistence”, above). However, “presence/absence” data collected for these surveys do not necessarily reflect patterns of abundance, and even large population declines could go undetected using solely this type of data. In the Lower Fraser Valley, there is some evidence that agricultural pollutants might contribute to the paucity of these frogs within agricultural edges in the Sumas Prairie (De Solla et al. 2002a), but the loss of both aquatic and terrestrial habitats is also likely to be a factor. No information exists on recent or historical population trends on the Sunshine Coast or areas north of Powell River.

Waye (1999) suggested that surveys of both historic sites and other localities with suitable habitat should be undertaken in different parts of the species’ range in British Columbia to fill in many uncertainties about distributional trends and the status of this species. Such surveys have not been undertaken to date, although several recent amphibian surveys on Vancouver Island, as a part of various projects, have contributed to our knowledge of its frequency of occurrence within wetlands. Future surveys should target the Sunshine Coast and the Lower Fraser Valley, where relatively little recent information on the species exists. Intensive monitoring of population trends at selected sites, either those with historic data or where populations of other species have undergone declines, would also be desirable.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Grenouille à pattes rouges (Rana aurora)

Taille et tendances des populations

Taille des populations

Le nombre d’adultes dans les sites de reproduction varie entre des centaines et des milliers, selon la grandeur et les caractéristiques des milieux humides, mais il n’existe que peu d’information quantitative sur le sujet. Bien qu’il y ait très peu d’estimations des populations de grenouilles à pattes rouges, tout semble indiquer qu’il existe plus d’adultes reproducteurs au Canada qu’il n’en faut pour que les populations correspondent à l’un ou l’autre des critères quantitatifs du COSEPAC. Waye (1999) a présenté une synthèse des connaissances sur la taille des populations de grenouilles à pattes rouges en Colombie-Britannique et aux États-Unis. Deux études de marquage-recapture dans des sites de reproduction ont été menées de 1968 à 1970 dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique (Licht, 1969, 1971, 1974; Calef, 1973a, b). Selon Calef (1973a, b), au lac Marion, près de Squamish, le nombre de masses d’œufs, indicateur du nombre de femelles reproductrices, était de 618 une année et de 620 une autre année; pour les deux années, le nombre moyen de mâles adultes était respectivement estimé à 1 770 (écart-type = 280) et à 3 600 (écart-type = 775). D’après Licht (1969, 1974), dans des marais près de Vancouver, le nombre de masses d’œufs était de 6 une année et de 33 une autre année; le nombre estimé d’adultes des deux sexes était respectivement de 531 individus (écart-type = 19). Il n’existe aucune information sur la taille actuelle des populations dans ces sites ou d’autres sites de reproduction de la province ni sur la densité des habitats terrestres.

Les populations de grenouilles à pattes rouges connaissent probablement des fluctuations importantes d’une année à l’autre et à plus long terme, comme c’est le cas chez bien d’autres espèces d’Anoures à reproduction aquatique (Pechmann et Wilbur, 1994). Cependant, comme les populations n’ont pas été étudiées sur plusieurs années, l’ampleur des fluctuations sur plusieurs années est inconnue.

 

Répartition et persistance des populations

Dans l’île de Vancouver, la répartition de l’espèce est, selon des données historiques et récentes, relativement étendue (figure 3). L’île semble demeurer un point chaud pour les populations canadiennes de l’espèce, même si les habitats continuent d’être modifiés par l’exploitation forestière, le développement urbain, l’agriculture et d’autres activités humaines, ainsi que par la prolifération des espèces introduites. Des relevés systématiques d’amphibiens à reproduction aquatique, y compris la grenouille à pattes rouges, ont été menés récemment (depuis 1998) dans des milieux humides de la baie Clayoquot sur la côte ouest de l’île (Beasley et al., 2000), sur des terres forestières du sud-est et du nord de l’île (Wind, 2003) et près de Victoria (Govindarajulu, 2003 et données inédites). Un projet de recherche sur les interactions entre la grenouille à pattes rouges et les activités forestières a été réalisé dans le nord de l’île de Vancouver (Chan-McLeod, 2003a). D’autres renseignements sur les emplacements peuvent être obtenus auprès de chercheurs qui étudient d’autres espèces d’amphibiens (crapaud de l’Ouest : Davis, comm. pers.), auprès du public par l’intermédiaire du Frog Watch Program de la province et auprès de travailleurs sur le terrain rencontrés par hasard.

Dans la baie Clayoquot, la grenouille à pattes rouges a été observée dans 26 p. 100 des 148 milieux humides étudiés en 1998-1999 (Beasley et al., 2000). Sa fréquence d’occurrence était semblable à celle de la rainette du Pacifique (33 p. 100) et du triton à peau rugueuse (22 p. 100). La salamandre foncée était l’amphibien le plus souvent rencontré (dans 61 p. 100 des milieux humides), alors que le crapaud de l’Ouest était rare (dans 1 p. 100 des milieux humides). La répartition de la grenouille à pattes rouges était inégale dans les quatre bassins versants étudiés; celle-ci n’a pas été observée dans l’un d’eux, alors que sa fréquence d’occurrence dans les trois autres variait de 18 à 50 p. 100.

Wind (2003) a mené des relevés dans 116 milieux humides du nord de l’île de Vancouver et dans 97 autres dans le sud-est de l’île. Ces milieux humides se trouvaient dans des zones de forêt et des secteurs récemment déboisés. Des amphibiens ont été observés dans 41 p. 100 des milieux humides étudiés. Dans l’ensemble, la grenouille à pattes rouges a été observée dans 21 p. 100 des milieux humides, dans des sites se trouvant tant dans des zones déboisées (de 0 à 5 ans) que dans des peuplements anciens (plus de 150 ans). La grenouille à pattes rouges était l’amphibien le plus fréquent dans le sud-est, suivi de la rainette du Pacifique et du triton à peau rugueuse. Dans le nord, par contre, la salamandre foncée était de loin l’amphibien le plus fréquent, suivie de la grenouille à pattes rouges et de la rainette du Pacifique. Cette différence de fréquence entre le nord et le sud-est pourrait être attribuable à l’altitude plus élevée des sites étudiés dans le nord.

Govindarajulu (2003 et données inédites) a effectué des relevés dans des milieux humides de la péninsule Saanich, près de Victoria, dans le sud de l’île de Vancouver, dans le cadre de ses travaux de mémoire sur les effets du ouaouaron sur les amphibiens indigènes. Elle a repéré des grenouilles à pattes rouges dans 15 lacs et étangs, la plupart sur le côté ouest de la péninsule, d’où le ouaouaron est absent. Plusieurs autres milieux humides, en particulier sur le côté est de la péninsule, abritaient exclusivement des ouaouarons. Ce type de répartition ainsi que des études expérimentales des interactions entre ces deux espèces indiquent que la grenouille à pattes rouges est en voie d’être délogée de cette région par le ouaouaron (voir la section « Facteurs limitatifs et menaces »). Le ouaouaron influe peut-être sur la répartition de la grenouille à pattes rouges dans un vaste territoire le long de la côte est de l’île de Vancouver, de même que dans les basses-terres continentales.

On ne dispose que de données sporadiques sur la répartition de l’espèce dans d’autres régions de l’île de Vancouver. Par exemple, on retrouve encore l’espèce dans les Jordan Meadows, un grand complexe de milieux humides du sud-ouest de l’île de Vancouver, d’où le crapaud de l’Ouest a disparu au cours de la dernière décennie pour une raison inconnue (Davis et Gregory, 2003). Cependant, il n’existe aucune information quantitative sur l’abondance de la grenouille à pattes rouges à cet endroit. Cette population devrait faire l’objet d’une étude en vue d’y détecter la présence de maladies épidémiques, qui peuvent toucher une multitude d’espèces d’amphibiens, se propager rapidement et décimer les populations. Nombre de portions de l’île de Vancouver, par exemple la plus grande partie de la côte ouest, les montagnes centrales et l’extrême nord, n’ont pas fait l’objet de relevés systématiques des amphibiens, et la situation actuelle des populations y est inconnue.

On dispose de peu d’information sur la répartition et l’abondance actuelles de l’espèce dans la plupart des régions de la Colombie-Britannique continentale. La seule exception est la région de Delta, au sud de Vancouver, où la Corporation of Delta a évalué la répartition et la situation des poissons et des amphibiens dans les bassins versants du district en se fondant sur des relevés historiques et récents (R. Rithaler, comm. pers.). La grenouille à pattes rouges était présente dans 10 des 23 bassins versants de la région de Delta de 1990 à 2002; aucune disparition complète d’un bassin versant n’a été relevée en comparant ces données avec les renseignements antérieurs à 1990 (Rithaler 2002, 2003). L’espèce est considérée comme peu commune dans le district, bien qu’elle soit observée régulièrement dans certains secteurs (R. Rithaler, comm. pers.). Le ouaouaron et la grenouille verte, deux espèces introduites répandues dans la région de Delta, ont été observées respectivement dans 18 et 17 bassins versants de 1990 à 2002 (Rithaler, 2002, 2003). La modification des habitats, en particulier l’enlèvement de la végétation riveraine et le dragage de chenaux, semble avoir favorisé la prolifération de ces espèces introduites et la disparition de la grenouille à pattes rouges de certains milieux humides de la région de Delta (R. Rithaler, comm. pers.).

De Solla et al. (2002a, b) ont étudié les effets des polluants agricoles sur les amphibiens dans la vallée du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser. La grenouille à pattes rouges était surtout présente en périphérie des terres agricoles de la prairie de Sumas lors de relevés menés au milieu des années 1990. Des études subséquentes en enclos expérimental indiquaient que cette répartition pourrait être attribuable à un mauvais succès d’éclosion en eaux contaminées (De Solla et al., 2002a). Deux autres relevés menés au milieu des années 1990 ont révélé la présence de l’espèce dans 14 sites de la vallée du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser, mais non dans les 25 sites abritant des habitats apparemment convenables (Haycock, 1996 et Knopp, 1996, in Waye, 1999). Haycock (1998) a mené d’autres relevés d’amphibiens dans des milieux humides des basses terres du Fraser et a synthétisé les observations de Knopp (1996, 1997) dans cette région. Alors que la grenouille maculée de l’Oregon (Rana pretiosa) a pratiquement disparu, la grenouille à pattes rouges a été observée dans 50 p. 100 des sites étudiés et était considérée comme un amphibien commun dans les basses terres du Fraser. Cependant, de grandes portions d’habitat ont été détruites ou sérieusement détériorées dans cette région.

Il n’existe que quelques anciens relevés (années 1940) portant sur la Sunshine Coast et plus au nord; la répartition passée et présente de l’espèce dans ces régions est pratiquement inconnue.

 

Tendances des populations

Au cours des dernières décennies, le R. a. draytonii a subi des déclins de population soudains, y compris des disparitions locales, dans la majeure partie de son aire de répartition californienne (questions traitées dans Stebbins et Cohen, 1995). Bien que l’exploitation et les pertes d’habitats aient sans doute contribué à ce déclin, en particulier dans les paysages modifiés par l’humain, on explique mal ce déclin dans les régions éloignées. Le transport éolien de pesticides agricoles semble y jouer un rôle important (Davidson et al., 2002).

Alors que les tendances des populations du R. a. draytonii ont reçu beaucoup d’attention, on en sait relativement peu sur celles de la grenouille du Nord à pattes rouges. Depuis le milieu des années 1970, des déclins de populations ont eu lieu dans la partie sud de son aire de répartition, soit la vallée de la Willamette, dans l’État de l’Oregon (Blaustein et al., 1994b), mais l’espèce semble demeurer relativement commune au moins dans certaines régions de l’État de Washington, y compris dans des paysages modifiés par l’humain (Ostergaard et al., 2003).

En Colombie-Britannique, l’aire de répartition de l’espèce chevauche les paysages fortement urbanisés et modifiés de la vallée du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser et du sud et du sud-est de l’île de Vancouver, où l’assèchement des milieux humides, le déboisement, l’enlèvement de la végétation riveraine et la pollution ont fort probablement favorisé la perte de sites de reproduction et la disparition de populations locales au cours du siècle dernier. Les habitats continuent à disparaître et à se fragmenter à une vitesse alarmante dans ces régions (voir la sous-section « Habitat, Tendances »), et les prédateurs et compétiteurs introduits, comme le ouaouaron, compromettent souvent la qualité des habitats restants (Govindarajulu, 2003). Cependant, les tendances des populations et de leur répartition n’ont pas été suivies systématiquement, et il existe peu de documents sur les déclins ou les disparitions des populations.

Le peu d’information sur la répartition semble indiquer que l’espèce demeure présente dans la plus grande partie de son aire de répartition connue en Colombie-Britannique (figure 3). Les mentions de répartition datant de 1997 à aujourd’hui indiquent que l’espèce demeure relativement répandue dans certaines portions de son aire de répartition dans l’île de Vancouver (voir la section « Répartition et persistance des populations » précédemment). Cependant, les données relatives à la présence et à l’absence recueillies lors de ces relevés ne reflètent pas nécessairement l’abondance de l’espèce. Même des déclins importants de population peuvent passer inaperçus si l’on se fie uniquement à ce genre de données. Dans la vallée du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser, certains indices semblent indiquer que les polluants agricoles seraient en partie responsables de la rareté de ces grenouilles en périphérie des zones agricoles dans la prairie de Sumas (De Solla et al., 2002a), mais la perte d’habitats aquatiques et terrestres est également un facteur probable. Il n’existe aucune information sur les tendances historiques ou récentes des populations de la Sunshine Coast ou des régions au nord de Powell River.

Waye (1999) propose d’effectuer des relevés dans des sites historiques et d’autres régions où l’on trouve des habitats favorables à l’espèce, en différents secteurs de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce en Colombie-Britannique, afin de lever certaines incertitudes sur ses tendances de répartition et sa situation. De tels relevés n’ont pas été entrepris à ce jour, mais plusieurs études récentes sur les amphibiens de l’île de Vancouver, menées dans le cadre de divers projets, ont permis d’approfondir nos connaissances sur la fréquence d’occurrence de l’espèce dans les milieux humides. À l’avenir, les relevés devraient viser la Sunshine Coast et la vallée du cours inférieur du fleuve Fraser, pour lesquelles on dispose de relativement peu d’information récente sur l’espèce. Un suivi intensif des tendances des populations dans des sites choisis, soit sur lesquels on dispose de données historiques, soit sur lesquels un déclin important d’autres espèces a été observé, serait également souhaitable.