Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Northern and Southern Resident Killer Whale

1.3 Population Size and Trends

1.3.1 Global

Little is known of the historic abundance of killer whales, except that they were “not numerous” (Scammon 1874).  Since the early 1970s, photo-identification studies have provided reasonable population estimates for killer whales in the near-shore waters of the northeastern Pacific (Washington, British Columbia, Alaska, and California), and similar work is now underway in several other coastal regions (e.g. the Gulf of California, the Russian Far East, New Zealand, Patagonia, Iceland and Norway).  In other areas line transect surveys have been used to provide population estimates.  These include the Antarctic (25,000 whales, Branch and Butterworth 2001) and the Eastern Tropical Pacific (8,500 whales, Wade and Gerodette 1993).  As such, the worldwide abundance of killer whales is probably between 40,000 and 60,000 whales (Forney and Wade in press).  Trend data for killer whales are generally not available, with the exception of resident populations of whales in British Columbia  (discussed below) and southern Alaska (population increasing, Craig Matkin, North Gulf Oceanic Society personal communication, November 2005) and for a small population of transients in Prince William Sound (AT1s, currently in decline, not likely to recover, Saulitis et al. 2002).

1.3.2 British Columbia

There are no population estimates for killer whales in British Columbia prior to 1960. Population censuses for killer whales are now conducted annually using photo-identification of individuals.  Population trends vary by community and clan. For the purposes of the recovery strategy, data held by the Centre for Whale Research (CWR), Friday Harbor, Washington, were used to describe the population status and trends of southern resident killer whales.  Data held by the Cetacean Research Program, DFO Nanaimo, BC (CRP-DFO), were used to describe the northern resident killer whale population.  Whales are censused slightly differently by each research group.[3]

The southern resident count includes all whales that are seen during a calendar year, and mortalities are included in the count depending on when they take place. For example, a whale that is not seen from March onwards is assumed to be dead.  There is less certainty that a whale that is not seen in November or December is dead, and it may be included in the count.  In recent years, observer effort has been high and members of the southern resident community are photographed annually, so the count is reasonably precise.

The northern resident count includes all whales that are known to be alive on July 1 of each year. However, not all members of the resident community are seen each year, so the count data are generally less precise than for the southern residents. 

In 2003, there were a total of 290 northern and southern resident killer whales (unpublished data, CWR, and CRP-DFO).  By comparison there are approximately 220 transient and 200 offshore killer whales, although these numbers are less precise than the resident counts, because not all individuals are encountered each year (Ford et al. 2000).  

Southern Residents

The size of the southern resident community has been known since the first complete photo-identification census in 1976, and was estimated for the years prior to that (Olesiuk et al. 1990, unpublished data CWR).  Figure 2 shows the size of each pod as well as the fluctuation in the total population of the southern resident community from 1974-2003. 

Figure 2 : Population size and trends for southern resident killer whales from 1974-2003. Source: Unpublished data from the Centre for Whale Research 

Figure 2: Population size and trends for southern resident killer whales from 1974-2003. Source: Unpublished data from the Centre for Whale Research

Although the southern resident community was likely increasing in size in the early 1960s, the number of whales in the community dropped dramatically in the late 1960s and early 1970s due to live capture for aquariums (Bigg and Wolman 1975). A total of 47 individuals that are known or likely to have been southern residents were captured and removed from the population (Bigg et al. 1990).  The population increased 19% (3.1% per year) from a low of 70 after the live-captures ended in 1973 to 83 whales in 1980, although the growth rate varied by pod (Figure 2).  From 1981-1984 the population declined 11% (-2.7% per year) to 74 whales as a result of lower birth rates, higher mortality for adult females and juveniles (Taylor and Plater 2001), and lower numbers of mature animals, especially males, which was caused by selective cropping in previous years (Olesiuk et al. 1990).  From 1985 to 1995, the number of southern residents increased by 34% (2.9% per year) to 99 animals.  A surge in the number of mature individuals, an increase in births, and a decrease in deaths contributed to the population growth.  The latest decline began in 1996, with an extended period of poor survival (Taylor and Plater 2001, Krahn et al. 2002) and low fecundity (Krahn et al. 2004) resulting in a decline of 17% (-2.9% per year) to 81 whales in 2001. Since 2001, the number of southern residents has increased slightly to 85 in 2003[4] (unpublished data CWR).  The growth has been in J and K pods, whereas L pod has continued to decline. 

Population viability analyses (PVA) have been used to estimate the extinction risk of southern resident killer whales (Taylor and Plater 2001, and Krahn et al. 2002, 2004).  As would be expected, extinction risk increases when the frequency and magnitude of catastrophes such as oil spills and disease epidemics is elevated. The models predict that if the mortality and reproductive rates of the 1990s persist, there is a 6-100 % probability that the population will be extinct within 100 years, and a 68-100% risk that the population will be extinct within 300 years.  Extinction of the southern resident population can be regarded as inevitable in these scenarios under the assumptions of the analyses, and catastrophic events simply hasten its demise.  However, when the mortality and reproductive rates of the entire 1974-2000 period are used, the risk of the population going extinct declines to 0-55% over 100 years and 2-100% over 300 years.

In addition to analyses focused solely on the southern residents, Krahn et al. (2002) ran simulations assuming that the southern resident population was part of a larger breeding population including northern and southern Alaskan resident killer whales, which greatly decreased its extinction risk. However this scenario does not reflect present evidence that suggests that southern residents are genetically isolated from other populations (Barrett-Lennard 2000; Barrett-Lennard and Ellis 2001).

Northern Residents

The northern resident community was likely increasing in size during the early 1960s, but was cropped by the live capture fishery of 1964-1973, during which at least 14 individuals were removed.  Twelve of those are known to have been from one pod (A5, Bigg et al. 1990).  When first censused in 1974, the northern resident community was estimated to contain approximately 120 whales.  Although abundance estimates for northern residents are less precise than those for southern residents, because not all matrilines are seen each year, it appears that the northern community grew steadily during the period 1974 to 1991 (approximately 3.4% per year, Figure 3).  The census method used for northern residents is to estimate the population size based on the number of animals that are known to be alive on July 1 of each year.  The population increased to a peak of 220 animals in 1997 (growth of 3.0% per year, unpublished data CRP-DFO).  Several reasons have been postulated for the northern residents’ success relative to southern residents during this period:  the population’s larger size may have buffered changes in birth and death rates, fewer animals were captured during the live-capture fishery (Olesiuk et al. 1990), and in general they are exposed to less disturbance and environmental contamination.  Between 1997 and 2003, the northern resident community declined 7% to 205 whales in 2003 (unpublished data CRP-DFO, Figure 3).  As with southern resident killer whales, the cause(s) of the decline are not known.  No population viability analysis has yet been conducted for the northern resident killer whales exclusively.

Figure 3: Population size and trends for northern resident killer whales from 1974 to 2003.  Values reflect the minimum, maximum and estimated number of animals alive as of July 1 in each year.  Source: Unpublished data, CRP-DFO, Nanaimo.

Figure 3: Population size and trends for northern resident killer whales from 1974 to 2003.  Values reflect the minimum, maximum and estimated number of animals alive as of July 1 in each year.  Source: Unpublished data, CRP-DFO, Nanaimo.



[3]  Note that there are small discrepancies in the southern resident counts in the literature due to different methods of recording when whales are considered to enter or leave the population. For example Krahn et al. (2004) report 83 southern residents in 2003

[4] This estimate includes L98 or Luna, discussed in section 3.2.2 Social Organization

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement : Épaulard populations résidentes du nord et du sud

1.3 Taille de la population et tendances

1.3.1 Vue d’ensemble

On en sait peu sur l’abondance historique des épaulards, si ce n’est qu’ils étaient « peu nombreux » (Scammon, 1874). Depuis le début des années 1970, les études par identification photographique ont permis de fournir des estimations raisonnables de la population d’épaulards dans les eaux du littoral du Pacifique du Nord‑Est (Washington, Colombie-Britannique, Alaska et Californie) et une étude semblable est en cours dans plusieurs autres régions côtières, p. ex. dans le golfe de la Californie, en Extrême‑Orient russe, en Nouvelle‑Zélande, en Patagonie, en Islande et en Norvège. Dans d’autres régions, on a effectué des relevés le long de transects pour fournir des estimations sur la population. Ainsi, la population de l’Antarctique a été estimée à 25 000 individus (Branch et Butterworth, 2001) et celle de l’est du Pacifique tropical à 8 500 individus (Wade et Gerodette, 1993). Comme telle, l’abondance mondiale d’épaulards se chiffre probablement entre 40 000 et 60 000 individus (Forney et Wade, sous presse). L’information sur les tendances relatives aux épaulards n’est généralement pas disponible, sauf pour les populations d’épaulards résidents de la Colombie‑Britannique (voir ci‑après) et du sud de l’Alaska (population en hausse, Craig Matkin, North Gulf Oceanic Society, communication personnelle, novembre 2005) et pour une petite population d’épaulards migrateurs dans le détroit du Prince Williams (groupe AT1, actuellement en déclin, rétablissement peu probable, Saulitis et al., 2002).

1.3.2 Colombie-Britannique

Antérieurement à 1960, il n’existe pas d’estimation sur la population d’épaulards en Colombie-Britannique. Les recensements de la population d’épaulards sont maintenant effectués annuellement au moyen de l’identification photographique des individus. Les tendances relatives à la population varient selon les communautés et les clans. Aux fins de la Stratégie de rétablissement, les données du Centre for Whale Research (CWR), à Friday Harbor, dans l’État de Washington, ont été utilisées pour tracer l’état de la population d’épaulards résidents du Sud et les tendances qui les caractérisent. Les données du programme de recherche sur les cétacés (PRC‑MPO), Nanaimo (C.‑B.) ont été utilisées pour décrire la population d’épaulards résidents du Nord. Les méthodes de recensement des épaulards diffèrent légèrement pour chaque groupe de recherche.

Les nombres d’épaulards résidents du Sud comprennent tous les épaulards observés au cours d’une année civile, et les mortalités sont incluses selon le moment où elles ont lieu. Par exemple, un épaulard qui n’a pas été vu depuis le mois de mars est présumé mort. Il est moins certain qu’un épaulard qui n’est pas vu en novembre ou en décembre soit mort, et il peut être inclus dans le calcul. Dans les récentes années, comme l’effort d’observation a été important et que les membres de la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Sud ont été photographiés annuellement, le dénombrement est raisonnablement précis.

Les nombres d’épaulards résidents du Nord comprennent tous les épaulards qu’on sait vivants au 1er juillet de chaque année. Néanmoins, ce ne sont pas tous les membres de la communauté d’épaulards résidents qui sont vus chaque année; par conséquent, les données du dénombrement sont généralement moins précises que celles obtenues pour les résidents du Sud.

En 2003, on comptait en tout 290 épaulards résidents du nord et du sud (données non publiées, CWR et PRC-MPO). En comparaison, il existe environ 220 épaulards migrateurs et 200 épaulards océaniques, quoique ces chiffres soient moins précis que les dénombrements des épaulards résidents, car ce ne sont pas tous les individus qui sont observés chaque année (Ford et al., 2000).

Résidents du Sud

La taille de la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Sud est connue depuis le premier recensement par identification photographique mené en 1976 et a été estimée pour les années antérieures à cette date (Olesiuk et al., 1990, données non publiées, CWR). La figure 2 montre la taille de chaque groupe familial ainsi que la fluctuation observée dans la population totale de la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Sud de 1974 à 2003.

Figure 2 : Taille de la population et tendances observées chez les résidents du Sud de 1974 à 2003. Source : données non publiées provenant du Centre for Whale Research.

Figure 2 : Taille de la population et tendances observées chez les résidents du Sud de 1974 à 2003. Source : données non publiées provenant du Centre for Whale Research.

Bien que la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Sud augmentait vraisemblablement en taille au début des années 1960, le nombre d’épaulards dans la communauté a chuté dramatiquement à la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970 en raison de la capture d’animaux vivants destinés à des aquariums (Bigg et Wolman, 1975). Un total de 47 spécimens qu’on sait avoir été ou qu’on présume avoir été des résidents du Sud ont été capturés et retirés de la population (Bigg et al., 1990). La population a augmenté de 19 % (3,1 % par année) à partir d’un faible niveau de 70 individus après la fin des captures d’animaux vivants en 1973 jusqu’à 83 individus en 1980, quoique le taux de croissance ait varié selon les groupes (figure 2). De 1981 à 1984, la population a diminué de 11 % (-2,7 % par année) pour se situer à 74 épaulards, en raison d’un faible taux de naissance, d’une mortalité plus élevée chez les femelles adultes et les jeunes (Taylor et Plater, 2001) et d’un petit nombre d’animaux matures, de mâles en particulier, conséquence d’un prélèvement sélectif survenu dans les années antérieures (Olesiuk et al., 1990). De 1985 à 1995, le nombre de résidents du Sud a augmenté de 34 % (2,9 % par année) pour totaliser 99 individus. Un accroissement subit du nombre d’individus matures, une hausse des naissances et une baisse des mortalités ont contribué à la croissance de la population. Le plus récent déclin a débuté en 1996, accompagné d’une période prolongée de bas taux de survie (Taylor et Plater, 2001, Krahn et al., 2002) et d’une fécondité peu élevée (Krahn et al., 2004), entraînant ainsi une diminution de 17 % (-2,9 % par année) du nombre d’individus, qui atteignait 81 en 2001. Depuis, le nombre de résidents du Sud s’est légèrement accru pour atteindre 85 individus en 2003[4] (données non publiées, CWR). La hausse s’est produite dans les groupes J et K, tandis que le nombre d’individus du groupe L a continué de décroître.

On a utilisé des analyses de viabilité de la population (AVP) pour estimer le risque d’extinction des résidents du Sud (Taylor et Plater, 2001, et Krahn et al., 2002, 2004). Comme on pourrait s’y attendre, le risque d’extinction s’accroît lorsque la fréquence et l’ampleur de catastrophes comme les déversements d’hydrocarbures et les épidémies sont élevées. Selon le modèle, s’il y a persistance des taux de mortalité et de reproduction observés dans les années 1990, la probabilité que la population disparaisse d’ici 100 ans est de 6 à 100 % et le risque que l’extinction se produise d’ici 300 ans est de 68 à 100 %. Dans ces scénarios, l’extinction de la population d’épaulards résidents du Sud peut être considérée comme inévitable selon les hypothèses d’analyses, et les événements catastrophiques ne font que hâter cette fatalité. Cependant, lorsqu’on utilise les taux de mortalité et de reproduction de toute la période comprise entre 1974 et 2000, le risque d’extinction de la population diminue (0 à 55 % sur 100 ans et 2 à 100 % sur 300 ans).

En plus des analyses centrées uniquement sur les résidents du Sud, Krahn et al. (2002) ont mené des simulations en prenant pour hypothèse que la population d’épaulards résidents du Sud faisait partie d’une plus grande population de reproduction comprenant des résidents du Nord et des résidents du sud de l’Alaska, ce qui a grandement atténué les risques d’extinction. Par contre, ce scénario ne reflète pas les preuves actuelles, qui semblent indiquer que les résidents du Sud sont isolés génétiquement des autres populations (Barrett-Lennard, 2000; Barrett-Lennard et Ellis, 2001).

Résidents du Nord

Selon toute vraisemblance, la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Nord a augmenté en taille durant le début des années 1960 mais a fait l’objet de prélèvements dans le cadre de la capture d’animaux vivants entre 1964 et 1973, période pendant laquelle au moins 14 individus ont été prélevés. On sait que douze d’entre eux provenaient d’un même groupe familial (A5, Bigg et al., 1990). Lors du premier recensement en 1974, on a estimé que la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Nord était composée d’environ 120 individus. Quoique les estimations de l’abondance des résidents du Nord soient moins précises que celles des résidents du Sud, parce que les lignées maternelles ne sont pas toutes observées chaque année, il semble que la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Nord a connu une croissance constante pendant la période entre 1974 et 1991 (environ 3,4 % par année, figure 3). La méthode de recensement utilisée pour les résidents du Nord consiste à estimer la taille de la population en fonction du nombre d’animaux qu’on sait être vivants au 1er juillet de chaque année. La population a augmenté pour atteindre un sommet de 220 individus en 1997 (une croissance de 3,0 % par année, données non publiées, PRC-MPO). Plusieurs raisons ont été avancées pour expliquer le succès des résidents du Nord par rapport aux résidents du Sud au cours de cette période : la plus grande taille de la population a pu amortir les changements dans les taux de naissance et de mortalité, moins d’individus ont été capturés lors de la capture d’animaux vivants (Olesiuk et al., 1990) et, en général, ils sont exposés à moins de perturbations et de contaminations du milieu. Entre 1997 et 2003, la communauté d’épaulards résidents du Nord a connu une baisse de 7 %, se situant à 205 individus en 2003 (données non publiées, PRC-MPO, figure 3). Comme pour les résidents du Sud, on ignore la ou les causes du déclin. Aucune analyse de la viabilité de la population n’a encore été menée uniquement pour les résidents du Nord.

Figure 3 : Taille de la population et tendances observées chez les résidents du Nord entre 1974 et 2003. Les valeurs reflètent le nombre minimal, maximal et estimé d’animaux vivants au 1er juillet de chaque année. Source : données non publiées, PRC-MPO, Nanaimo.

Figure 3: Taille de la p opulation et tendances observées chez les résidents du Nord entre 1974 et 2003. Les valeurs reflètent le nombre minimal, maximal et estimé d’animaux vivants au 1er juillet de chaque année. Source : données non publiées, PRC-MPO, Nanaimo.



[4] Cette estimation comprend L98 ou Luna (voir la section 3.2.2 Organisation sociale).