Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) in Canada

Acknowledgements and Authorities Consulted

Funding for the preparation of this status report was supplied by Environment Canada, with additional support provided by Bird Studies Canada. This assessment drew heavily upon information gathered during the two Ontario Breeding Bird Atlas projects. As such, I wish to thank the atlas partners (Bird Studies Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service, Ontario Nature, Ontario Field Ornithologists, and Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources) and the thousands of volunteer participants who gathered data.

I also very much wish to acknowledge the important contributions made by the members of the Prothonotary Warbler recovery team – Sandy Dobbyn (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources), Lyle Friesen (Canadian Wildlife Service), Dan Lebedyk (Essex Region Conservation Authority), Jeff Robinson (Canadian Wildlife Service), Allen Woodliffe (Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources), Phil Roberts (Essex County Field Naturalists), Dean Ware, and Don Wills. Stu Mackenzie, Paul Prior, and Ross Wood also spent their summers slogging through sloughs over the years.

The report also benefited from thoughtful comments provided by the following reviewers: Peter Blancher, Alan Dextrase, Sandy Dobbyn, Lyle Friesen, Elsa Gagnon, Richard Knapton, Vicki McKay, Marty Leonard, Chris Risley, Don Sutherland, and Christine Vance. Thanks to Ron Ridout for permission to use the cover photograph.

Authorities Consulted

  • Sandy Dobbyn, Zone Ecologist, Ontario Parks -- Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, London, ON
  • Lyle Friesen, Songbird Biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Guelph, ON
  • Marty Leonard, Co-chair, Birds Specialist Subcommittee, COSEWIC, DalhousieUniversity, Halifax, NS
  • Vicki McKay, Species at Risk Biologist, Parks Canada, Leamington, ON
  • Lucie Métras, Scientific Project Officer, COSEWIC Secretariat, Ottawa,ON
  • Don Sutherland, Zoologist, Ontario Natural Heritage Information Centre, Peterborough, ON
  • Christine Vance, Species at Risk Biologist, Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario Region, Downsview, ON
  • Allen Woodliffe, District Ecologist, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Chatham, ON

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la Paruline orangée (Protonotaria citrea) au Canada – Mise à jour

Remerciements et experts contactés

Le financement pour la préparation du présent rapport de situation a été fourni par Environnement Canada ainsi qu’avec le soutien  d’Études d’Oiseaux Canada. L’évaluation s’est fondée en grande partie sur l’information recueillie au cours des deux projets de l’Atlas des oiseaux nicheurs de l’Ontario. Nous remercions donc les partenaires de l’Atlas (Études d’Oiseaux Canada, Service canadien de la faune, Ontario Nature, Ontario Field Ornithologists et le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario) ainsi que les milliers de bénévoles qui ont recueilli des données.

Nous tenons également à souligner l’importante contribution des membres de l’équipe de rétablissement de la Paruline orangée : Sandy Dobbyn (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario), Lyle Friesen (Service canadien de la faune), Dan Lebedyk (Office de protection de la nature de la région d’Essex), Jeff Robinson (Service canadien de la faune), Allen Woodliffe (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario), Phil Roberts (Essex County Field Naturalists), Dean Ware et Don Wills. Stu Mackenzie, Paul Prior et Ross Wood ont également, depuis quelques années, passé leur été à travailler avec acharnement dans des marécages.

Le rapport a également tiré profit des précieux commentaires des réviseurs suivants : Peter Blancher, Alan Dextrase, Sandy Dobbyn, Lyle Friesen, Elsa Gagnon, Richard Knapton, Vicki McKay, Marty Leonard, Chris Risley, Don Sutherland et Christine Vance. Nous remercions Ron Ridout de nous avoir autorisés à utiliser la photo de la couverture.

Experts contactés 

  • Sandy Dobbyn, Écologiste de zone, Parcs Ontario, ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, London (Ontario)
  • Lyle Friesen, Biologiste spécialisé en chants d’oiseaux, Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, Guelph (Ontario)
  • Marty Leonard, Coprésident du Sous-comité de spécialistes des oiseaux, COSEPAC, Dalhousie University, Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)
  • Vicki McKay, Biologiste des espèces en péril, Parcs Canada, Leamington (Ontario)
  • Lucie Métras, Agente de projet scientifique, Secrétariat du COSEPAC, Ottawa (Ontario)
  • Don Sutherland, Zoologiste, Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de l’Ontario, Peterborough (Ontario)
  • Christine Vance, Biologiste des espèces en péril, Service canadien de la faune, Région de l’Ontario, Downsview (Ontario)
  • Allen Woodliffe, Écologiste de district, Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, Chatham (Ontario)