Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

Limiting Factors and Threats

Deterioration of Food Resources During Spring Migration

The principal known threat to knot populations (rufa, Florida/SE US and Maranhão, Brazil populations of roselaari) migrating northwards through eastern North America is the dwindling supply of horseshoe crab eggs at their final spring stopover in Delaware Bay; with rufa particularly at risk because of its much longer migration. Several studies have confirmed that horseshoe crab eggs are the major component of the diet of knots and other shorebirds during northward migration in Delaware Bay (Castro and Myers 1993; Botton et al. 1994; Tsipoura and Burger 1999; Haramis et al. 2002, 2005). This once superabundant food supply was literally decimated as a result of over-fishing of horseshoe crabs: mid-Atlantic state landings of horseshoe crabs rose from less than 1 million pounds before 1993 to a peak of over 6 million pounds in 1998 (falling to between 2 and 3 million pounds by 2002-2003; Morrison et al. 2004). As the number of breeding crabs decreased, egg densities in the upper 5 cm of sand on beaches in New Jersey fell from a mean of 33 373 ± 18 906 SD eggs m-2 in the period 1985-1991 to a mean of 3 026 ± 1 675 SD from 1996-2005 (ANOVA F1,12 = 28.77, p = 0.0002; Niles et al. 2005, data from Loveland and Botton (unpublished data) for 1985 - 1999, NJ Endangered and Nongame Species Program (unpublished data) for 2000 - 2005), a reduction of some 90%. Studies by Stillman et al. (2003) and Hernandez (2005) have shown that the latter densities are too low for efficient foraging by knots and that the birds may not be able to meet their energetic requirements during their stopover. The result is that the birds are unable to attain adequate departure masses before the flight to their Arctic breeding grounds, at least in some years (Baker et al. 2004). Failure to attain the required stores before migration can have severe fitness consequences. 

Baker et al. (2004) showed that the proportion of knots reaching adequate departure masses in Delaware Bay decreased significantly by 70% during the period 1997-2002, and lower nutrient storage and possibly reduced sizes of intestine and liver during refuelling led to severe consequences for adult survival and recruitment of young in 2000-2002. Adult survival fell from 85% during 1994 - 1998 to 56% in 1999-2001, and decreasing proportions of immature birds were found in flocks of knots in Tierra del Fuego between 1995 and 2001. Population modelling showed these factors predicted a population trajectory closely matching the observed declines of birds on the wintering grounds during the aerial censuses (Morrison et al. 2004), and furthermore predicted that if the survival was to remain at the reduced level (56%), the population was likely to be at risk of extinction as early as 2010 (Baker et al. 2004; see Fluctuations and trends above). Although the population appeared to stabilize from 2002-2004 on the wintering grounds, the large decrease in 2005 (confirmed in 2006) suggests the population is back near the “extinction trajectory”. Other studies with shorebirds, including knots, have shown that birds in poorer condition during migration appear to have lower survival rates (Pfister et al. 1998; Morrison 2005). These studies have provided an authoritative scientific basis for understanding the impact of reduced food supplies at the final stopover area.

Although protective measures have been introduced for knots in Delaware Bay, including cessation of the horseshoe crab harvest and protection from disturbance, initial results suggest that there has not been a noticeable recovery in the crab populations and hence egg availability (L.J. Niles, unpubl. data.). Given that horseshoe crabs do not attain sexual maturity until 8 - 9 years of age, it would appear that a recovery of the food resource would be unlikely in the near future, and could be difficult (Scheffer et al. 2005). It would therefore be anticipated that rufa knots, and the Florida/SE US and Maranhão, Brazil populations of roselaari, will continue to experience difficulty in Delaware Bay for some time. The much longer, time-constrained migration of the Tierra del Fuego knots compared to those wintering in Florida or northern Brazil appears to put them more at risk from the reduced food availability, and several studies have shown lower annual survival of the southern population (Harrington et al. 1988; Baker et al. 2004; Atkinson 2005).

Drastic reductions in crab numbers have also been reported in other areas (e.g., Cape Cod, Widener and Barlow 1999; see ASMFC 1998 for discussion). The widespread reductions in horseshoe crabs suggest that alternate suitable spring staging areas are much less available than before. Furthermore, there is some doubt that alternative food resources may be able to replace the loss of horseshoe crab eggs. Knots (rufa and other populations) generally feed on bivalves and other intertidal invertebrates during migration and winter (Bent 1927; Gonzalez et al. 1996; Harrington 2001; Harrington and Winn 2001; Truitt et al. 2001; Sitters 2005), but preliminary studies by Escudero and Niles (2001) have suggested that invertebrates in many Atlantic coast habitats may not, unlike horseshoe crab eggs, supply the energetic needs of knots on spring migration, a suggestion supported by observations of night feeding (Sitters 2001; Sitters et al. 2001).

One of the main threats to C. c. islandica populations appears to be the overharvesting of shellfish on the Dutch Wadden Sea. Here mechanical dredging has resulted in declines in availability of food for the birds, a situation somewhat analogous to that occurring in Delaware Bay for knots on migration in North America (van Gils et al. 2006).


Habitat Loss and Degradation

Extensive wetland losses in the USA have included the disappearance of almost half of the marshes extant in 1900 along the Atlantic and Gulf coasts (Dahl 1990, GLCF 2005). Loss rates in the North and mid-Atlantic regions were high up to 1978 (Ducks Unlimited 2005), though have declined dramatically since protective legislation has been passed (Dahl and Johnson 1991; Dahl 2000; Ducks Unlimited 2005). Nevertheless, it is clear that a large portion of the previously available habitat has been altered or destroyed. This again suggests that knots faced with a decimated food resource in Delaware Bay now have many fewer alternative habitats that they can use, making population recovery potentially much more difficult.

Spartina invasion of major migration habitats in WA state may have affected the Pacific coast population of roselaari knots, though Spartina has been cleared in recent years at a key stopover site (Grays Harbor).

Habitat degradation in wintering areas in the Dutch Wadden Sea may also threaten wintering populations of islandica (see above).


Disturbance

Numerous studies have shown that repeated disturbance can negatively affect shorebirds, disrupting behaviour patterns and affecting their energy balance (e.g., Davidson and Rothwell 1993; Gill et al. 2001; West et al. 2002). Although disturbance was initially a significant problem for shorebirds in Delaware Bay during spring migration (Burger et al. 1995; Sitters 2001), closure of major sections of the New Jersey shore since 2003 to human use at the peak of migration has successfully reduced disturbance (Burger et al. 2004; Niles et al. 2005).

In other parts of the range, disturbance can be a significant factor. Disturbance of roosting and feeding flocks by humans and dogs has been reported from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and Massachusetts (Niles et al. 2005). On the wintering grounds in Tierra del Fuego, roosting flocks at Rio Grande are frequently disturbed by walkers, runners, fishers, dogs, all-terrain vehicles, and motor cycles (Niles et al. 2005; RIGM pers. obs.). In Argentina, disturbance of knots on migration has been reported from Rio Gallegos, Peninsula Valdes, San Antonio Oeste, and Bahia Samborombon (Niles et al. 2005).


Severe Weather Events During Migration

There has recently been a significant increase in the number and strength of hurricanes globally, including those occurring in the North Atlantic region (Webster et al. 2005) at times and in areas used by knots (RIGM unpubl. data). Whether knots have actually been affected is not known, but the increasing number of severe weather events during their southward migration across the North Atlantic certainly represents an increased risk, which is likely to increase with predictions of global warming and increasing ocean temperatures. Hurricanes, which could affect knots, have also recently been recorded in the southern Atlantic Ocean (TRMM 2005).


Oil Pollution and Other Developments in North and South America

Extensive oil developments, with onshore and offshore wells, occur near major wintering areas of rufa knots in both the Chilean and Argentinean sectors of Tierra del Fuego, and represent a considerable potential for disaster (R.I.G. Morrison and R.K. Ross unpublished data). Two oil spills from shipping have been recorded near the Strait of Magellan First Narrows (Niles et al. 2005) and small amounts of oil have been noted on knots captured during banding operations in Bahia Lomas (A. Dey and L.J. Niles unpubl. data). Over the past 8-10 years, oil operations have been decreasing in Chile near Bahia Lomas and increasing on the Atlantic coast of Tierra del Fuego. Petroleum exploration, mangrove clearance, and iron ore and gold mining, which can result in oil and mercury pollution and habitat loss, are important threats on the north-central coast of Brazil and could affect the Maranhão/Brazil population of roselaari (Niles et al. 2005).

The important migration stopover area at San Antonio Oeste, Argentina, also faces potential pollution from a soda ash factory (which could release up to 250 000 tons or more of calcium chloride per year, affecting intertidal invertebrate food supplies) and from port activities (e.g., pollution from shipping).

In North America, important estuarine areas such as Delaware Bay and the Gulf of St. Lawrence are at risk from pollution and shipping incidents. The Mingan Islands, in the St. Lawrence, are particularly at risk because large ships carrying titanium and iron navigate through the archipelago to the Havre-St-Pierre harbour throughout the year (Y. Aubry pers. comm. 2007). Some additional large scale developments that could have a major impact on important shorebird migration areas include tidal power in the Bay of Fundy, plans for which have recently been resurrected (CBC 2005). Also, barging has been proposed in connection with diamond mining developments near Attawapiskat on the west coast of James Bay, which could affect the river mouth habitats (W. Crins pers. comm. 2007).

Developments in California (e.g., San Francisco Bay) and Mexico and along the migration route of the Pacific coast population of roselaari could potentially affect wintering and migrating birds, respectively. 


Climate Change: Arctic Breeding Grounds

The Arctic is one of the regions most likely to be affected by climate change (ACIA 2004). Meltofte et al. (2005) have provided a detailed review of potential effects of climate change in the Arctic on shorebirds; major concerns include changes in habitat, especially long-term reductions in High Arctic habitats, and uncoupling of phenology of food resources and breeding events. As the High Arctic zone is expected to shift northwards, Red Knots, as High Arctic breeders, are likely to be among the species most affected. This would be particularly the case for populations breeding towards the southern part of the High Arctic zone, such as rufa breeding in the central Canadian Arctic.


Climate Change: Sea Level Rise and Loss of Coastal Habitat

Potential losses of intertidal habitats owing to sea level rise was projected to range between 20% and 70% during the next century at five major sites in the USA, including Delaware Bay (60%; Galbraith et al. 2002). While detailed effects are difficult to predict (IPCC 2001), the authors concluded that the scale of the losses cast serious doubts on the ability of the sites to continue supporting current numbers of shorebirds, indicating increased future stress on knot populations.


Disease and Parasites

Piersma (1997, 2003) pointed out that long-distance shorebird migrants, such as knots, occupy relatively parasite-free salt water habitats, possibly reflecting a trade-off between the requirements of an energetically and physiologically demanding lifestyle and a reduced need for a highly developed immune system. Shorebirds inhabiting freshwater (parasite and disease rich) habitats tend to have higher parasite loads (Figuerola 1999; Mendes et al. 2005). The occurrence of parasites or disease amongst long-distance shorebird migrants including knots has been recorded in Brazil (Baker et al. 1998; Araújo et al. 2003, 2004; see Niles et al. 2005; Baker 2005), Uruguay (Niles et al. 2005), Florida (Woodward et al. 1977; Forrester and Humphrey 1981), and Delaware (Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study 2002; Niles et al. 2005). The poor condition of Red Knots in Delaware Bay and northern Brazil in recent years (Baker et al. 2004, 2005a) suggests that they may be at an elevated risk of disease or parasitic infection, since birds in poor condition as indicated by low body mass are more prone to infection by parasites and pathogens (Booth et al. 1993).


Predation

Shorebirds have enjoyed what Butler et al. (2003) termed something of a “predator vacuum” over the past 30 years, arising from greatly depleted raptor populations caused by persecution and pesticide poisoning. Whether increasing predation from raptors has affected knots is unclear, but any recovery of the population will take place in a situation with increased numbers of avian predators (see predation section). Human hunting of shorebirds including knots may occur in some areas, including Caribbean islands and north-central Brazil, though this practice is thought to have decreased greatly in the latter area over the past decade (Serrano pers. comm. in Niles et al. 2005).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Détérioration des ressources alimentaires exploitées durant la migration printanière

La principale menace pesant sur les populations de Bécasseaux maubèches (rufa et roselaari de la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis et de la population brésilienne du Maranhão) migrant vers le nord par l’est de l’Amérique du Nord est la diminution de l’abondance d’œufs de limule dans leur dernière halte migratoire printanière, soit la baie du Delaware, le rufa s’en trouvant particulièrement affecté du fait de sa migration beaucoup plus longue. Plusieurs études ont démontré que les œufs de limule sont le principal aliment des Bécasseaux maubèches et d’autres oiseaux de rivage durant la migration vers le nord dans la baie du Delaware (Castro et Myers, 1993; Botton et al., 1994; Tsipoura et Burger, 1999; Haramis et al., 2002; Idem, 2005). Ces œufs autrefois surabondants ont été décimés par suite de la surpêche des limules : les débarquements de limules dans les États de la zone centrale du littoral américain de l’Atlantique sont passés de moins de un million de livres avant 1993 à un maximum de plus de six millions de livres en 1998 (pour tomber à entre deux et trois millions de livres en 2002 et en 2003; Morrison et al., 2004). Avec la baisse du nombre de reproducteurs, les densités d’œufs dans les cinq premiers centimètres du sable des plages du New Jersey sont tombées d’une moyenne de 33 373 ± 18 906 (é.-t.) œufs m-2 durant la période de 1985 à 1991 à une moyenne de 3 026 ± 1 675 (é.-t.) entre 1996 et 2005 (ANOVA F1,12 = 28,77, p = 0,0002; Niles et al., 2005, données inédites de Loveland et Botton pour la période de 1985 à 1999, et du NJ Endangered and Nongame Species Program pour la période de 2000 à 2005), ce qui représente une baisse de quelque 90 p. 100. Des études réalisées par Stillman et al. (2003) et Hernandez (2005) ont montré que les densités récentes sont trop faibles pour assurer une quête de nourriture efficace, les oiseaux pouvant ne pas arriver à satisfaire leurs besoins énergétiques durant leur halte. Il en résulte que les oiseaux ne peuvent atteindre la masse corporelle requise pour le vol vers leurs lieux de reproduction de l’Arctique, du moins certaines années (Baker et al., 2004). Le fait de ne pas acquérir les réserves nécessaires avant le départ peut avoir de graves conséquences pour les oiseaux et leurs populations.

Baker et al. (2004) ont montré que la proportion de bécasseaux atteignant des masses corporelles adéquates avant leur départ de la baie du Delaware a connu une baisse significative de 70 p. 100 durant la période de 1997 à 2002, et la plus faible accumulation de réserves corporelles et la taille peut-être plus faible de l’intestin et du foie chez les oiseaux durant la période d’alimentation ont fortement réduit le taux de survie des adultes et le taux de recrutement de jeunes entre 2000 à 2002. Le taux de survie des adultes est tombé de 85 p. 100 entre 1994 et 1998 à 56 p. 100 entre 1999 et 2001, et on a observé une diminution de la proportion d’oiseaux immatures dans les bandes de Bécasseaux maubèches dans la Terre de Feu de 1995 à 2001. Avec ces facteurs, la modélisation démographique prédit une trajectoire démographique très semblable à celle révélée par les déclins observés dans les quartiers d’hiver durant les relevés aériens (Morrison et al., 2004), et elle prédit de plus que, si le taux de survie demeure au bas niveau de 56 p. 100, la population se trouvera probablement en danger d’extinction dès 2010 (Baker et al., 2004; voir plus haut « Fluctuations et tendances »). Bien que la population se soit stabilisée de 2002 à 2004 dans les lieux d’hivernage, la forte baisse relevée en 2005 (confirmée en 2006) laisse penser que la population s’est rapprochée de la « trajectoire d’extinction ». D’autres études sur les oiseaux de rivage, dont les bécasseaux, ont montré que les oiseaux en mauvais état durant la migration semblent présenter des taux de survie inférieurs (Pfister et al., 1998; Morrison, 2005). Ces études ont fourni des bases scientifiques solides pour la compréhension de l’impact d’un manque d’aliments à la dernière halte migratoire.

Bien que des mesures de protection aient été prises pour les bécasseaux dans la baie du Delaware, dont l’arrêt de la pêche des limules et la protection contre les perturbations, les premiers résultats laissent penser qu’il n’y a pas eu rétablissement notable des populations de limules et donc de l’abondance d’œufs (L.J. Niles, données inédites). Comme le limule n’atteint la maturité sexuelle qu’à l’âge de 8 ou 9 ans, le rétablissement de l’abondance d’œufs n’est pas pour un avenir rapproché et pourrait même être incertain (Scheffer et al., 2005). On peut donc s’attendre à ce que les Bécasseaux maubèches de la sous-espèce rufa et que les roselaari de la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis et de la population brésilienne du Maranhão continueront de connaître des difficultés dans la baie du Delaware pour un certain temps. Comme les oiseaux de la Terre de Feu, par rapport à ceux hivernant en Floride ou dans le nord du Brésil, effectuent une migration beaucoup plus longue comportant des contraintes de temps plus serrées, ils sont plus susceptibles d’être affectés par le manque de nourriture, et plusieurs études ont montré que la population du sud présente des taux annuels de survie inférieurs (Harrington et al., 1988; Baker et al., 2004; Atkinson, 2005).

On a aussi signalé des réductions très marquées des effectifs de limules dans d’autres régions (par exemple à Cape Cod, Widener et Barlow 1999; voir ASMFC 1998 pour un examen de la question). Vu les réductions étendues de l’abondance de limules, on peut penser que les haltes migratoires de remplacement possibles sont beaucoup moins nombreuses que dans le passé. En outre, on doute que d’autres ressources alimentaires puissent compenser la rareté des œufs de limule. Les Bécasseaux maubèches (rufa et autres populations) se nourrissent tous de mollusques et crustacés et d’autres invertébrés intertidaux durant la migration et en hiver (Bent, 1927; Gonzalez et al., 1996; Harrington, 2001; Harrington et Winn, 2001; Truitt et al., 2001; Sitters, 2005), mais des études préliminaires réalisées par Escudero et Niles (2001) laissent croire que les invertébrés de nombreux habitats de la côte atlantique ne pourraient pas, à la différence des œufs de limule, satisfaire les besoins énergétiques des bécasseaux durant la migration printanière, ce que confirmeraient des observations d’alimentation nocturne (Sitters, 2001; Sitters et al., 2001).

L’une des principales menaces pesant sur les populations du C. c. islandica semble être la surpêche des mollusques et crustacés dans la mer des Wadden aux Pays-Bas. La drague mécanique y a réduit la quantité de nourriture pour les oiseaux, situation assez analogue à celle observée dans la baie du Delaware pour les bécasseaux en migration en Amérique du Nord (van Gils et al., 2006).


Destruction et dégradation de l’habitat

Il y a eu des pertes étendues de milieux humides aux États-Unis, dont la disparition de près de la moitié des marais qu’on trouvait en 1900 le long des côtes de l’Atlantique et du golfe du Mexique (Dahl, 1990; GLCF, 2005). Les taux de perte dans les parties nord et centrale de la côte atlantique ont été élevés jusqu’en 1978 (Ducks Unlimited, 2005), mais ils ont fortement chuté depuis l’adoption de mesures législatives de protection (Dahl et Johnson, 1991; Dahl, 2000; Ducks Unlimited, 2005). Il n’en demeure pas moins qu’une grande portion des habitats d’autrefois a été altérée ou détruite. On peut ici encore en conclure que les Bécasseaux maubèches qui font face à un effondrement de leurs sources d’aliments dans la baie du Delaware disposent d’une beaucoup moins grande quantité d’habitat de rechange possible, ce qui peut rendre le rétablissement des effectifs beaucoup plus difficile.

La prolifération de spartines dans d’importantes haltes migratoires de l’État de Washington pourrait avoir affecté la population de la côte du Pacifique du roselaari, mais les spartines ont été enlevées ces dernières années à une halte clé (Grays Harbor).

Par ailleurs, la dégradation de l’habitat dans les lieux d’hivernage de la mer des Wadden aux Pays-Bas pourrait menacer les populations hivernantes de l’islandica (voir plus haut).


Perturbation

De nombreuses études ont montré que la perturbation répétée des oiseaux de rivage peut leur nuire en altérant leur schème de comportement et en affectant leur bilan énergétique (voir par exemple Davidson et Rothwell, 1993; Gill et al., 2001; West et al., 2002). La perturbation des oiseaux de rivage a déjà été un problème important dans la baie du Delaware durant la migration printanière (Burger et al., 1995; Sitters, 2001), mais l’interdiction pour les humains de fréquenter de grandes sections du littoral du New Jersey depuis 2003 au plus fort de l’affluence migratoire a réussi à réduire le problème (Burger et al., 2004; Niles et al., 2005).

Dans d’autres régions de l’aire d’hivernage, la perturbation des oiseaux peut constituer un problème important. La perturbation par les humains et les chiens des bandes de Bécasseaux maubèches qui se reposent et qui s’alimentent a été signalée en Floride, en Géorgie, en Caroline du Nord, en Caroline du Sud, en Virginie et au Massachusetts (Niles et al., 2005). Dans les quartiers d’hiver de la Terre de Feu, les bandes d’oiseaux qui se reposent à Rio Grande sont fréquemment dérangées par les marcheurs, les coureurs, les pêcheurs, les chiens, les véhicules tout-terrain et les motocyclistes (Niles et al., 2005; RIGM, obs. pers.). En Argentine, la perturbation des oiseaux en migration a été signalée à Rio Gallegos, à la péninsule Valdès, à San Antonio Oeste et à Bahia Samborombon (Niles et al., 2005).


Temps violent durant la migration

On observe depuis peu une augmentation notable du nombre et de la force des ouragans partout dans le monde, dont ceux survenant dans l’Atlantique Nord (Webster et al., 2005) dans les périodes et les régions où le Bécasseau maubèche est présent (RIGM, données inédites). On ne sait pas si des Bécasseaux maubèches sont effectivement des victimes d’ouragans, mais la hausse du nombre d’épisodes de temps violent dans l’Atlantique Nord durant la migration vers le sud présente certainement un risque accru, qui devrait aller en augmentant avec le réchauffement prévu du climat et des eaux océaniques. On a aussi signalé récemment des ouragans dans des zones fréquentées par des Bécasseaux maubèches dans l’Atlantique Sud (TRMM, 2005).


Pollution par les hydrocarbures et diverses activités humaines en Amérique du Nord et en Amérique du Sud

D’importantes installations pétrolières, comportant des puits à terre ou en mer, sont présentes près de lieux d’hivernage majeurs du rufa dans les secteurs chilien et argentin de la Terre de Feu et elles peuvent être à l’origine de catastrophes considérables (R.I.G. Morrison et R.K. Ross, données inédites). Deux déversements d’hydrocarbures par des navires pétroliers ont été signalés près de l’entrée du détroit de Magellan (Niles et al., 2005), et de petites quantités d’hydrocarbures ont été observées sur des bécasseaux capturés durant des travaux de baguage à Bahia Lomas (A. Dey et L.J. Niles, données inédites). Au cours des huit à dix dernières années, l’activité pétrolière a diminué au Chili près de Bahia Lomas, tandis qu’elle a augmenté sur la côte atlantique de la Terre de Feu. L’exploration pétrolière, l’élimination des mangroves et l’exploitation du minerai de fer et de l’or, qui peuvent entraîner une pollution par les hydrocarbures et le mercure ainsi qu’une perte d’habitat, sont d’importantes menaces dans la partie centrale de la côte nord du Brésil et pourraient toucher la population brésilienne du Maranhão du roselaari (Niles et al., 2005).

L’importante halte migratoire de San Antonio Oeste, en Argentine, est aussi exposée à un risque de pollution du fait de la présence d’une fabrique de carbonate de soude (qui peut libérer jusqu’à 250 000 tonnes ou plus de chlorure de calcium par année, ce qui peut toucher les populations d’invertébrés intertidaux dont s’alimentent les oiseaux) et d’activités portuaires (pollution liée au transport maritime).

En Amérique du Nord, d’importantes zones estuariennes, comme la baie du Delaware et le golfe du Saint-Laurent, sont exposées à des risques de pollution et à des accidents de transport maritime. L’archipel de Mingan, dans le Saint-Laurent, est particulièrement menacé parce que de grands navires transportant du titane et du fer passent dans l’archipel pour se rendre à Havre-St-Pierre durant toute l’année (Y. Aubry, comm. pers., 2007). Au nombre des grands projets qui pourraient avoir une incidence majeure sur d’importantes haltes migratoires d’oiseaux de rivage, on compte celui de centrale marémotrice dans la baie de Fundy, qui a récemment refait surface (CBC, 2005). De plus, on envisage le transport par barge pour les activités d’exploitation des diamants près d’Attawapiskat, sur la côte ouest de la baie James, ce qui pourrait altérer les habitats estuariens (W. Crins, comm. pers., 2007).

Des activités humaines en Californie (par exemple dans la baie de San Francisco) et au Mexique ainsi que le long de la voie de migration de la population de roselaari de la côte du Pacifique pourraient éventuellement toucher les oiseaux durant respectivement leur hivernage et leur migration.


Changements climatiques : lieux de reproduction arctiques

L’Arctique est l’une des régions les plus susceptibles d’être touchées par les changements climatiques (ACIA, 2004). Meltofte et al. (2005) ont examiné en profondeur les effets possibles des changements climatiques sur les oiseaux de rivage dans l’Arctique; parmi les principaux problèmes redoutés, on compte des changements concernant les habitats, particulièrement un rétrécissement à long terme des habitats, et la désynchronisation de la phénologie des ressources alimentaires d’avec les périodes de reproduction. Comme la zone arctique devrait être refoulée vers le nord, les Bécasseaux maubèches, qui y nichent, seraient probablement parmi les espèces les plus touchées. Les populations se reproduisant dans la partie sud de l’Arctique, comme les rufa, qui nichent dans le centre de l’Arctique canadien, seraient les plus touchées.


Changements climatiques : élévation du niveau de la mer et perte d’habitat côtier

On a prévu des pertes potentielles d’habitat intertidal dues à l’élévation du niveau de la mer de 20 p. 100 à 70 p. 100 au cours du prochain siècle à cinq sites états-uniens majeurs, dont la baie du Delaware (60 p. 100; Galbraith et al., 2002). Les effets exacts sont difficiles à prévoir (GIEC, 2001), mais les auteurs ont conclu que l’ampleur des pertes serait telle qu’il se pourrait bien que ces sites ne puissent plus continuer de soutenir les effectifs actuels d’oiseaux de rivage à l’avenir, d’où une pression accrue sur les populations de Bécasseaux maubèches.


Maladies et parasites

Piersma (1997 et 2003) a fait remarquer que les oiseaux de rivage migrant sur de longues distances, comme le Bécasseau maubèche, occupent des habitats d’eau salée relativement libres de parasites, trouvant peut-être ainsi une façon d’éviter d’avoir à investir dans un système immunitaire hautement développé pour mieux satisfaire les fortes exigences énergétiques et physiologiques de leur mode de vie. Les oiseaux de rivage vivant dans les habitats d’eau douce (où abondent les parasites et les maladies) sont habituellement porteurs de plus fortes charges de parasites (Figuerola, 1999; Mendes et al., 2005). La fréquence de parasites ou de maladies parmi les oiseaux de rivage migrant sur de longues distances, dont le Bécasseau maubèche, a été étudiée au Brésil (Baker et al., 1998; Araújo et al., 2003; Idem, 2004; voir Niles et al., 2005; Baker, 2005), en Uruguay (Niles et al., 2005), en Floride (Woodward et al., 1977; Forrester et Humphrey, 1981), et au Delaware (Southeastern Cooperative Wildlife Disease Study, 2002; Niles et al., 2005). Vu le piètre état des Bécasseaux maubèches dans la baie du Delaware et dans le nord du Brésil ces dernières années (Baker et al., 2004; Idem, 2005a), on peut penser qu’ils se trouvent exposés à un risque élevé de maladie ou d’infection parasitaire, les oiseaux dont l’état est considéré comme mauvais sur la base de leur faible masse corporelle étant plus susceptibles d’être infectés par des parasites et d’autres pathogènes (Booth et al., 1993).


Prédation

Les oiseaux de rivage ont profité au cours des 30 dernières années d’une certaine absence de prédateurs (Butler et al., 2003), du fait de l’effondrement des populations de rapaces causé par leur persécution et leur empoisonnement par les pesticides. On ne sait pas très bien si le Bécasseau maubèche a souffert d’un accroissement de la prédation par les rapaces, mais il est certain que le rétablissement éventuel de sa population se fera en présence d’un nombre accru de prédateurs aviens (voir plus haut sous « Prédation »). La chasse des oiseaux de rivage, dont le Bécasseau maubèche, est pratiquée dans certaines régions, notamment dans les Caraïbes et la partie centrale de la côte nord du Brésil, mais, dans cette dernière région, cette activité semble beaucoup moins populaire depuis une dizaine d’années (Serrano, comm. pers., dans Niles et al., 2005).