Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

The Red Knot rufa subspecies has been designated a “candidate” species for Endangered Species Act protection by the USF&WS. This decision acknowledges that protection of the Red Knot is warranted but precluded by other, higher priority activities. The Red Knot was the subject of a petition to the US Fish and Wildlife Service to list the species as endangered and a request for an emergency listing under the Endangered Species Act (Delaware Riverkeeper Network et al. 2005). In the USA, the Red Knot rufa subspecies is listed as Threatened in the state of New Jersey and as a species of Special Concern in Georgia (Niles et al. 2005). In 2004, the Canadian Arctic-Atlantic Coast population of Red Knots was listed as Highly Imperiled in an update to shorebirds considered of High Priority in the U.S. Shorebird Conservation Plan (US Shorebird Conservation Plan 2004).

In 2005, rufa was added to Appendix 1 of the Convention on Migratory Species (CMS, or “Bonn” Convention; CMS 2005); this Appendix I lists migratory species threatened with extinction. The NatureServe website (October 2005) lists the population of C. c. rufa, globally as G4T1, or critically imperilled globally at the subspecies level, and nationally as N1N, or critically imperiled in its non-breeding range in the USA, and as N1B and N1N, or critically imperiled in both the breeding and non-breeding ranges in Canada (NatureServe 2006). Individual state and provincial/territorial assessments listed by NatureServe are shown in Table 4.

Table 4: NatureServe Categories for Red Knots rufa Subspecies in US States and Canadian Provinces (NatureServe 2006)
CategoryUSA, no. of statesCanada: no of provinces or territories
S1: critically imperiled4 (DC, OK, VA, WI) 
S2: imperiled5 (AK, DE, MA, MS, TN)2 (NB, PE)
S3: vulnerable8 (AL, GA, ME, NJ, NC, RI, TX, WA)3 (NL, NS)
S4: apparently secure2 (LA, WY) 
S5: secure1 (OR)1 (SK)
Other: not applicable, etc.22 (AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, IL, IN, KS, KY, MD, MI, MN, MO, NE, NH, NY, ND, OH, PA, SC, SD, UT)7 (AB, BC, MB, NT, NU, ON, QC)

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species lists Red Knots on a worldwide basis as being of Least Concern (BirdLife International 2004), but this assessment clearly does not take into account the status of the various subspecies and biogeographic units of Red Knots and is thus of very limited use in terms of conservation of biodiversity on a national, state, provincial, or regional level. C. c. islandica is given an Amber listing in the U.K., Concern listing in Europe and Least Concern listing Globally by the British Trust for Ornithology.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Le Bécasseau maubèche de la sous-espèce rufaa été désigné candidat à la liste de protection de l’Endangered Species Act des États-Unis par le United States Fish and Wildlife Service. Une telle décision témoigne du fait que la protection de l’espèce est justifiée mais ne peut être mise en œuvre à cause d’autres activités jugées plus prioritaires. Une pétition a été déposée auprès du US Fish and Wildlife Service pour que l’espèce soit désignée en voie de disparition (endangered), et une demande a été adressée pour qu’elle soit désignée d’urgence sous le régime de l’Endangered Species Act (Delaware Riverkeeper Network et al., 2005). Aux États-Unis, le Bécasseau maubèche de la sous-espèce rufa est désigné comme menacé (threatened) au New Jersey et comme espèce préoccupante (species of special concern) en Géorgie (Niles et al., 2005). En 2004, la population de Bécasseaux maubèches de la côte atlantique nichant dans l’Arctique canadien a été désignée comme gravement en péril (highly imperiled) dans une mise à jour visant les oiseaux de rivage considérés hautement prioritaires dans le plan états-unien de conservation des oiseaux de rivage (US Shorebird Conservation Plan, 2004).

En 2005, le rufa a été inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices appartenant à la faune sauvage (Convention de Bonn; CMS, 2005); l’annexe 1 est la liste des espèces migratrices jugées en danger. Les classements trouvés sur le site Web de NatureServe (octobre 2005) pour la population de C. c. rufa sont G4T1, c’est-à-dire sous-espèce gravement en péril à l’échelle mondiale, et N1N pour les États-Unis, c’est-à-dire population non nicheuse gravement en péril; pour le Canada, les classements sont N1B et N1N, c’est-à-dire populations nicheuse et non nicheuse gravement en péril (NatureServe, 2006). Les classements qu’on trouve dans NatureServe pour les États, les provinces et les territoires sont présentés au tableau 4.

Tableau 4 : Classements de NatureServe pour les Bécasseaux maubèches de la sous-espèce rufa dans les États des États-Unis et les provinces et les territoires du Canada (NatureServe, 2006)
ClassementÉtats-Unis – nombre d’ÉtatsCanada – nombre de provinces et territoires
S1 : gravement en péril4 (DC, OK, VA, WI) 
S2 : en péril5 (AK, DE, MA, MS, TN)2 (NB, PE)
S3 : vulnérable8 (AL, GA, ME, NJ, NC, RI, TX, WA)3 (NL, NS)
S4 : apparemment non en péril2 (LA, WY) 
S5 : non en péril1 (OR)1 (SK)
Autres : non applicable, etc.22 (AR, CA, CO, CT, FL, IL, IN, KS, KY, MD, MI, MN, MO, NE, NH, NY, ND, OH, PA, SC, SD, UT)7 (AB, BC, MB, NT, NU, ON, QC)

La liste rouge des espèces menacées de l’UICN classe à l’échelle mondiale le Bécasseau maubèche dans la catégorie « préoccupation mineure » (least concern) (BirdLife International, 2004), mais cette évaluation ne prend clairement pas en considération la situation des diverses sous-espèces et unités biogéographiques de l’espèce; elle est donc de peu d’intérêt en ce qui concerne la conservation de la biodiviversité à l’échelle des pays, des États, des provinces ou des régions. Le British Trust for Ornithology a placé le C. c. islandica sur la liste orange (Amber List) au Royaume-Uni, parmi les espèces préoccupantes (Concern) en Europe, et parmi les espèces suscitant une préoccupation mineure (least concern) à l’échelle mondiale.