Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Red Knot
Calidris Canutus

rufa subspecies (Calidris canutus rufa)
roselaari type (Calidris canutus roselaari type)
islandica subspecies (Calidris canutus islandica)

Species Information

The Red Knot (Calidris canutus) is a medium-sized shorebird with a typical “sandpiper” profile: long bill and smallish head, long tapered wings giving the body an elongated streamlined profile, and longish legs. In breeding plumage, knots are highly distinctive, with face, neck, breast and much of the underparts coloured a rufous chestnut red. Feathers on the upperparts are dark brown or black with rufous and grey, giving the back a spangled appearance. In winter plumage, knots are much plainer, with white underparts and pale grey back. Six subspecies are currently recognized worldwide, all of which form distinct biogeographical populations differing in distribution and scheduling of the annual cycle. Subspecies occurring in Canada include C. c. rufa, C. c. roselaari, and C. c. islandica.

Distribution

C. c. rufa breeds in the central Canadian Arctic and winters in Tierra del Fuego at the southern tip of South America. C. c. roselaari, which for the purposes of this report is divided into three subpopulations, includes a Pacific population that winters in California and northwest Mexico and breeds in northern Alaska, passing through western Canada on migration, and two populations wintering in Florida/SE US and Maranhão, Brazil, respectively, that likely breed in central and western parts of the Canadian Arctic. The Florida and Maranhão populations clearly form separate biogeographic populations from the Pacific roselaari and the southern South American rufa populations; their taxonomic status is currently under revision. C. c. islandica breeds in the northeastern Canadian High Arctic (and in Greenland) and winters in areas on the European seaboard.

Habitat

In the Arctic, knots nest on barren habitats such as windswept ridges, slopes, or plateaus, often with less than 5% vegetation. On migration and wintering areas, knots use coastal areas with extensive sandflats (sometimes mudflats), where the birds feed on bivalves and other invertebrates. They are also known to use peat banks, salt marshes, brackish lagoons, mangrove areas, mussel beds, and in South America, restingas, which are rocky intertidal platforms with a rich invertebrate fauna.

Biology

Knots are monogamous, with pairs usually laying a single clutch of four eggs, in the latter half of June, with the eggs hatching around mid-July. Females depart soon thereafter, leaving the males to accompany the young until they can fly. Breeding success varies considerably from year to year, depending on weather and the abundance of predators, which itself varies over a 3-4 year cycle depending on the abundance of lemmings.

Population Sizes and Trends

The current population size for C. c. rufa is 13 500 – 15 000 adult birds based on counts from the wintering areas in Tierra del Fuego and Patagonia. Surveys from the wintering grounds suggest that the population has decreased by 70% since 1982. Numbers at the major wintering sites in Tierra del Fuego remained fairly steady until 2000, but have since declined dramatically. Few knots now remain at “peripheral” sites along the coast of Patagonia, which held significant numbers in the 1980s. Similar declines have been observed throughout the migration range of rufa, confirming an actual population decline rather than a redistribution of the birds to different areas.

The current population size for C. c. roselaari knots wintering in Florida/SE US is approximately 3375 adult birds. This group has declined by about 70% in the last 15 years. Less information is available for the Maranhão population, which may have declined by about 7% over the past 20 years to about 5700 adults. Available evidence suggests the Pacific population of roselaari has also declined by about 60% in the last 15-20 years, with a current population size of 1500-3000 adults. The overall decline for the combined population is 47%.

Current C. c. islandica populations wintering in Europe now number about 202 500 adults. This represents a decline of about 17% since the late 1990s.

Limiting Factors and Threats

The single most important threat to rufa and roselaari knots wintering in Florida/SE US and Maranhão, Brazil has been the overfishing of horseshoe crabs (Limulus polyphemus) in Delaware Bay, leading to a decimation in numbers of horseshoe crab eggs, the most important food used during the final spring stopover. Degradation of habitats in areas such as San Francisco Bay and Grays Harbor, WA has likely affected the Pacific coast populations of roselaari, while overfishing of shellfish on major wintering areas in the Dutch Wadden Sea have affected C. c. islandica wintering in Europe.

Other possible threats include decreased habitat availability during migration in eastern North America (providing few alternative sites for the birds to use), disturbance, increased risk from severe weather events (e.g., hurricanes) during migration, oil and chemical pollution in North and South America, climate change effects including sea level rise and changing conditions on the Arctic breeding grounds, and increased levels of predation from rebounding predator (e.g., falcon) populations.

Special Significance of the Species

Red Knots have long been regarded as a “flagship” species for shorebird conservation, because of their enormously long, inter-continental migrations and their vulnerability owing to concentration in large numbers (involving a large proportion of the population) at a limited number of key sites. Philosophically, they are a wildlife species shared by many nations, crossing many international boundaries, and are symbolic of the need for international cooperation for their successful conservation. Conservation of sites used by knots will also benefit many other shorebird species.

Existing Protection

Red Knots are protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act (1917, updated in 1994). A formal status assessment in the US resulted in their being listed as a “candidate species,” indicating they qualified for endangered species status. Knots are listed as Threatened in New Jersey and as of Special Concern in Georgia. They have been added to Appendix I of the Convention on Migratory Species (“Bonn” Convention), which lists species threatened with extinction. NatureServe lists the rufa subspecies of Red Knots globally as G4T1, or critically imperiled globally at the subspecies level: national status is N1N, or critically imperiled in its non-breeding range in the US, and N1B and N1N, or critically imperiled in both breeding and non-breeding range in Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Bécasseau maubèche
Calidris canutus

sous-espèce rufa (Calidriscanutusrufa)
type roselaari (Calidris canutus roselaari type)
sous-espèce islandica (Calidris canutus islandica)

Information sur l’espèce

Le Bécasseau maubèche (Calidris canutus) est un oiseau de rivage de taille moyenne présentant les caractéristiques morphologiques typiques du genre Calidris : long bec et petite tête, ailes longues et effilées donnant au corps un profil allongé et fuselé, et longues pattes. Le plumage nuptial du Bécasseau maubèche est très caractéristique, la face, le cou, la poitrine et une bonne part des parties inférieures prenant une coloration cannelle roussâtre. Les plumes des parties supérieures sont brun foncé ou noires, avec du roux et du gris, ce qui donne au dos une apparence pailletée. En plumage d’hiver, le Bécasseau maubèche est terne, ses parties inférieures étant blanches et son dos, gris pâle. Les six sous-espèces actuellement reconnues dans le monde forment toutes des populations biogéographiques distinctes différant quant à leur répartition et au calendrier de leur cycle annuel. Les sous-espèces présentes au Canada sont le C. c. rufa, le C. c. roselaari et le C. c. islandica.

Répartition

Le C. c. rufa se reproduit dans le centre de l’Arctique canadien et hiverne dans la Terre de Feu, à la pointe sud de l’Amérique du Sud. Le C. c. roselaari est divisé en trois populations aux fins du présent rapport : la population du Pacifique, qui hiverne en Californie et dans le nord-ouest du Mexique et qui migre, en passant par l’ouest du Canada, pour aller se reproduire dans le nord de l’Alaska, et deux populations hivernant l’une en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis et l’autre au Maranhão (Brésil) qui se reproduisent probablement dans le centre et dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien. Les populations de la Floride et du Maranhão sont biogéographiquement bien distinctes de la population de roselaari du Pacifique et de la population de rufa du sud de l’Amérique du Sud; leur statut taxinomique est en cours de révision. Le C. c. islandica se reproduit dans le nord-est de l’Arctique canadien (et au Groenland) et hiverne en divers endroits le long du littoral de l’Europe.

Habitat

Dans l’Arctique, les Bécasseaux maubèches nichent dans des habitats dénudés, notamment sur des crêtes, des pentes et des plateaux balayés par le vent, présentant souvent moins de 5 p. 100 de couverture végétale. Les haltes migratoires et les lieux d’hivernage sont des zones côtières présentant de vastes estrans, habituellement sableux (parfois des vasières), où les oiseaux s’alimentent de mollusques et crustacés et d’autres invertébrés. L’espèce fréquente aussi les bancs de tourbe, les marais salés, les lagunes saumâtres, les mangroves, les moulières, et, en Amérique du Sud, les restingas, plateformes intertidales rocheuses riches en invertébrés.

Biologie

Le Bécasseau maubèche est monogame. Les couples produisent habituellement une seule couvée de quatre œufs dans la deuxième moitié de juin, et les œufs éclosent vers la mi-juillet. Les femelles partent peu après, laissant les mâles accompagner les petits jusqu’à ce qu’ils prennent leur envol. Le taux de reproduction varie considérablement d’une année à l’autre, selon les conditions météorologiques et l’abondance de prédateurs, laquelle fluctue à son tour suivant un cycle de trois ou quatre ans selon l’abondance des lemmings.

Taille et tendances des populations

La taille actuelle de la population de C. c. rufa est de 13 500 à 15 000 adultes, selon les dénombrements effectués dans ses quartiers d’hiver de la Terre de Feu et de Patagonie. Les relevés réalisés à ces endroits laissent penser que la population a diminué de 70 p. 100 depuis 1982. Les effectifs observés dans les principaux lieux d’hivernage, dans la Terre de Feu, sont demeurés assez stables jusqu’en 2000, après quoi ils ont fortement chuté. Il reste peu de rufa aux sites « périphériques » qu’on trouve le long de la côte patagonienne, où des effectifs importants étaient observés dans les années 1980. Des déclins similaires ont été signalés dans l’ensemble de la voie de migration du rufa, ce qui confirme qu’on assiste à un déclin démographique réel plutôt qu’à une redistribution des oiseaux dans des endroits différents.

La taille actuelle de la population de C. c. roselaari hivernant en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis est d’environ 3 375 adultes. Ce groupe a diminué d’environ 70 p. 100 au cours des 15 dernières années. On dispose de moins d’information sur la population du Maranhão, qui pourrait être tombée d’environ 7 p. 100 au cours des 20 dernières années, à environ 5 700 adultes. Les données existantes laissent croire que la population de roselaari du Pacifique aurait diminué d’environ 60 p. 100 au cours des 15 à 20 dernières années, son effectif actuel étant d’environ 1 500 à 3 000 adultes. Dans l’ensemble, le déclin  se solde par une diminution globale de la population de roselaari de 47 p. 100.

Les populations de C. c. islandicadénombrées durant leur hivernage en Europe comptent actuellement au total environ 202 500 adultes, ce qui représente un déclin d’environ 17 p. 100 depuis la fin des années 1990.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La principale menace pesant sur les Bécasseaux maubèches de la sous-espèce rufa et sur ceux de la sous-espèce roselaari hivernant en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis ou au Maranhão (Brésil) découle de la surpêche du limule (Limulus polyphemus) qui a été pratiquée dans la baie du Delaware et qui a conduit à la décimation des œufs de cet invertébré, lesquels constituent pour les oiseaux l’aliment le plus important durant leur dernière halte migratoire printanière. Par ailleurs, la dégradation des habitats dans des régions comme celles de Grays Harbor (État de Washington) et de la baie de San Francisco a probablement touché les populations de roselaari de la côte du Pacifique, tandis que la surpêche des mollusques et crustacés dans des lieux d’hivernage importants de la mer des Wadden aux Pays-Bas a touché les C. c. islandica durant leur hivernage en Europe.

Au nombre des autres menaces possibles, on compte la diminution de la quantité d’habitat disponible durant la migration dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord (laissant peu de sites de remplacement utilisables par les oiseaux), la perturbation des oiseaux, l’accroissement des épisodes de temps violent (p. ex. des ouragans) durant la migration, la pollution par les hydrocarbures et d’autres produits chimiques en Amérique du Nord et en Amérique du Sud, les effets des changements climatiques, dont l’élévation du niveau de la mer et l’altération des conditions existant dans les lieux de reproduction de l’Arctique ainsi que l’accroissement de la prédation associée à un regain des populations de prédateurs (p. ex. des faucons).

Importance de l’espèce

Le Bécasseau maubèche est depuis longtemps une espèce emblématique de la conservation des oiseaux de rivage en raison de ses immenses migrations intercontinentales et de sa vulnérabilité découlant de ses rassemblements considérables (regroupant des proportions importantes de la population) dans un nombre limité de sites clés. Le fait que cet oiseau sauvage franchisse nombre de frontières internationales et qu’il est partagé par moult pays a valeur d’exemple en ceci que la collaboration internationale est indispensable pour assurer la conservation de l’espèce. La conservation des sites fréquentés par l’espèce profitera aussi à de nombreux autres oiseaux de rivage.

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Le Bécasseau maubèche est protégé en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs (1917, mise à jour en 1994). Une évaluation officielle effectuée aux États-Unis a conduit à son inscription comme « espèce candidate », ce qui le rend apte à être désigné espèce en voie de disparition (endangered) aux États-Unis. Le Bécasseau maubèche est désigné espèce menacée (threatened) au New Jersey et espèce préoccupante (special concern) en Géorgie. Il a été inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Convention sur la conservation des espèces migratrices appartenant à la faune sauvage (Convention de Bonn), laquelle est la liste des espèces migratrices menacées de disparition. NatureServe donne à la sous-espèce rufa la cote mondiale G4T1, c’est-à-dire sous-espèce gravement en péril à l’échelle mondiale; les cotes nationales sont N1N pour les États-Unis, c’est-à-dire population non nicheuse gravement en péril, et N1B et N1N pour le Canada, c’est-à-dire populations nicheuse et non nicheuse gravement en péril.