Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Red Knot
Calidris canutus
in Canada

Rufa subspecies (Calidris canutus rufa)
Roselaari type (Calidris canutus roselaari type)
Islandica subspecies (Calidris canutus islandica)

2007

Species Information

Name and Classification

Class:
Aves
Order:
Charadriiformes
Family:
Scolopacidae
Genus:
Calidris
Species:
canutus (Linnaeus 1758)
English name:
Red Knot
French name:
Bécasseau maubèche
Inuktitut name:
Qajorlak


Subspecies

Red Knots are currently classified into six subspecies, each with distinctive morphological traits, breeding areas, migration routes, wintering areas, and annual cycles (Piersma and Davidson 1992; Tomkovich 1992, 2001; Piersma and Baker 2000; Piersma and Spaans 2004; Figure 1). Three subspecies occur in Canada. They include C. c. rufa, C. c. roselaari, and C. c. islandica.

C. c. rufa breeds in the central Canadian Arctic and winters in southern Patagonia and Tierra del Fuego.

In this report, C. c. roselaari will include three biogeographic populations that will be assessed as one designatable unit: i) the Pacific coast population, which breeds in northwest Alaska and on Wrangel Island and migrates down the Pacific coast through Canada and the northwestern US and winters from California to the Pacific northwest region of Mexico, and possibly the Gulf of Mexico; ii) the Florida/SE US population, which likely breeds in Alaska or the western Canadian Arctic and winters in Florida, Georgia and South Carolina and iii) the Maranhão, Brazil population, which likely breeds in Alaska or the western Canadian Arctic and winters in Maranhão, on the north-central coast of Brazil. The three groups clearly form separate biogeographic populations; there is currently uncertainty over the taxonomic status of knots in the Florida and Maranhão populations.

C. c. islandicabreeds in the northeastern Canadian High Arctic probably as far west as Prince Patrick Island and south to Prince of Wales Island (Godfrey 1992; Morrison and Harrington 1992) and in the high Arctic of Greenland from the northwest around the north coast to about Scoresby Sound on the east coast: it winters in the UK and the Netherlands and migrates to the breeding grounds through Iceland and northern Norway.

C. c. rogersi breeds on the Chukotski Peninsula in eastern Russia and winters in south-east Australia and New Zealand.

C. c. piersmai breeds on the New Siberian Islands in north-central Russia and winters in northwest Australia.


Figure 1: Worldwide Distribution of the Six Recognized Subspecies of the Red Knot

Figure 1: Worldwide distribution of the six recognized subspecies of the Red Knot.

Arrows connect non-breeding (“wintering”) areas (dots, scaled to population size) with breeding areas (dark gray shading). Migration system of rufa knots between wintering areas in Tierra del Fuegoand breeding areas in the central Canadian Arctic is outlined. Note that former wintering populations of rufa on the coast of Patagonia in Argentina have almost disappeared, with the bulk of the population currently confined to Tierra del Fuego. (Adapted from a map drawn by Dick Visser, provided by Jan van Gils, see Niles et al. 2005).

The nominate subspecies C. c. canutus breeds on the Taymyr Peninsula in western Siberia and winters in west and southwest Africa.


Morphological Description

The Red Knot is a medium-sized shorebird with a typical calidridine sandpiper profile: proportionately small head, bill straightish, tapering from thicker base to thinner tip, and not much longer than head; short neck, short tibia, stout tarsus, long tapered wings giving an elongated streamlined profile to the body. It is the largest of the calidridine sandpipers in North America (length 23-25 cm, mass about 135 g though highly variable).

In breeding, or alternate plumage, knots are highly distinctive, with face, neck, breast and much of the underparts coloured a distinctive rufous chestnut-red (Figure 2). The lower belly and vent behind the legs tends to be light, especially in rufa compared to the other subspecies, and some whitish or brownish feathers may be scattered through the breast (thought to be more common on females). Feathers on the upperparts have dark brown-black centres, edged with rufous and grey, giving the bird a spangled appearance that provides a remarkably effective camouflage on the sparsely vegetated High Arctic breeding grounds. Flight feathers range inwards from dark brown/black in the primaries to grey in the secondaries and tail feathers, and there is a narrow whitish wingbar. Males tend to be more brightly coloured than females, with more extensive rufous on the underparts.


Figure 2: Adult Red Knot in Breeding (alternate) Plumage

Figure 2: Adult Red Knot in breeding (alternate) plumage.

In winter, or basic plumage, knots are much plainer, with white underparts and a pale grey back. The upper breast has greyish or brownish streaking, extending laterally along the flanks, and the head has dull greyish patterning with a whitish supercilium.

Juveniles have similar plumage, but can be distinguished by dark subterminal bands on the feathers of the mantle, scapulars and coverts, giving the bird a characteristic scaly appearance. Juveniles may also have a pale dull buffish colour suffusing the breast.

Knots may be distinguished from the superficially similar dowitchers (Limnodromus species) by their shorter bill, paler crown, whitish rump barred with grey (vs a white lower back forming a distinctive “V” in flight in dowitchers), and voice; and from the smaller Dunlin (Calidris alpina) by their straighter bill (Dunlin’s appear proportionately longer with a droop at the tip).


Genetic Description

Genetic differences among knot subspecies have been investigated by sequencing the fast-evolving control region of the mtDNA molecule (Buehler and Baker 2005). Most haplotypes differed by a single base change, producing a minimum spanning network diagram with a star-like pattern characteristic of a species that has undergone a recent bottleneck with subsequent expansion (Slatkin and Hudson 1991; Figure 3). Despite the apparent lack of sorting of haplotypes into discrete genetic lineages in each subspecies, knots showed low but significant population differentiation using both conventional F-statistics and exact tests. Four genetically distinct groups were found, corresponding to C. c. canutus, C. c. piersmai, C. c. rogersi and a North American group containing C. c. roselaari, C. c. rufa and C. c. islandica (Table 1, Pooled Exact test, P < 0.001, Buehler and Baker 2005).

Table 1: Estimates of FST for Population Differentiation in Knots (below diagonal) Calculated using mtDNA Control Region Sequences
 C. c.
canutus
C. c.
islandica
C. c.
piersmai
C. c.
rogersi
C. c.
roselaari
C. c.
rufa
C. c. canutus0+++++
C. c. islandica0.190++--
C. c. piersmai0.070.120+--
C. c. rogersi0.270.200.070+-
C. c. roselaari0.17-0.040.080.150-
C. c. rufa0.230.0050.070.050.0020

Above the diagonal “+” indicates significance at the 0.01 level, and – indicates not significant (P> 0.01). From Buehler and Baker (2005).

Genetic differences between subspecies are also apparent in nuclear DNA. A genomic scan of 836 loci using amplified fragment length polymorphisms (AFLPs) detected different frequencies of the dominant markers at 129 loci, and showed significant genetic differentiation among subspecies (FST = 0.089). The genetic distance between C. c. roselaari and C. c. rufa is small (0.1), but similar to the genetic distance between C. c. rogersi (southeast Australia and New Zealand) and C. c. canutus (Eurasia).

The demographic history of knot populations can be deduced from the genetic signature in the control region sequences, providing they are selectively neutral, which appears to be the case in knots. This can be done by computing the number of mutational differences between each pair of sequences in individual birds. These pair-wise differences in knot subspecies have a single peak pattern that would be expected when a population expands after a recent bottleneck (Avise 2000, Figure 4).

Coalescent modelling of the sequence variation using a rate of molecular evolution calibrated for shorebirds estimated that divergence times of populations representing all six subspecies of knots occurred within the last 20 000 years (95% CI: 5 600-58 000 years ago), thus corresponding to the Last Glacial Maximum 18 000-22 000 years ago. This basal split separated C. c. canutus breeding in central Siberia and migrating to western Africa from a lineage that expanded into eastern Siberia and began to migrate to Australia (the ancestor of C. c. rogersi and C. c. piersmai).


Figure 3: Minimum Spanning Network Diagram Showing the Relationships Between Haplotypes from the Mitochondrial Control Region of Knots

Figure 3: Minimum spanning network diagram showing the relationships between haplotypes from the mitochondrial control region of knots.

Ovals represent haplotypes and connecting lines represent a single base pair change between haplotypes. Small open circles on lines represent multiple base pair changes between haplotypes. From Buehler and Baker (2005).


Figure 4: Observed and Expected Mismatch Distributions of Mitochondrial Control Region Sequences in Knots

Figure 4. Observed and expected mismatch distributions of mitochondrial control region sequences in knots. Knots

Knots closely match the pattern expected under population growth in the recent past. From Buehler and Baker (2005).

As the ice retreated, the latter lineage eventually expanded across Beringia into Alaska and established the North American lineage about 12 000 (95% CI: 3 300-40 000) years ago. At this time, an ice-free corridor that had opened between the ice sheets covering the Rockies to the west and the Great Plains to the east served as a dispersal route for an assortment of organisms, including humans. This corridor was oriented NW-SE, and may thus have guided the evolution of a new migratory pathway between Alaska or the western Canadian Arctic and the southeast United States. As the ice sheets retreated farther eastwards across the High Arctic of Canada, the ancestral population was fragmented sequentially within the last 5500 years into three breeding populations, corresponding today to C. c. roselaari, C. c. rufa and C. c. islandica. If this is correct, then the present wintering flocks in the southeast US are properly attributed to C. c. roselaari and would be predicted to return annually to their ancestral breeding grounds in Arctic northwest North America. Furthermore, the migration pathways of C. c. rufa and C. c. islandica are newly evolved responses to the eastward expansion of their breeding ranges. The divergence of C. c. piersmai and C. c. rogersi was estimated to have occurred about 6 500 (95% CI: 1 000-23 000) years ago, probably as a consequence of their isolated breeding ranges in the New Siberian Islands and the Chukotski Peninsula in Russia.

Given the recent nature of these divergence times among knot subspecies, it is not surprising that the level of genetic differentiation in the neutral mtDNA sequences and nuclear AFLP is small. There has simply not been enough time for mutations to accumulate in these DNA regions to track evolutionary changes operating in the more immediate scale of ecological time. In such cases, the apparently small genetic differences in neutral DNA sequences should not be misinterpreted in defining subspecies (Avise 1989). Instead, morphological and ecological differences are more likely to reflect adaptive changes that represent responses to positive natural selection. The situation is summarized by Buehler and Baker (2005) thus: “While the six currently recognized subspecies of Red Knots cannot be distinguished by their control region sequences, they are beginning to sort into different lineages and it would be inadvisable to lump them into a single evolutionary unit on genetic grounds alone. Given the passage of time, evolution of neutral genetic markers in Red Knots should catch up with morphological and plumage differences, different migration routes, separate breeding grounds, and different moult schedules to more clearly distinguish subspecies …“


Designatable Units

This assessment will be based on three designatable units that correspond to the three subspecies of Red Knot that occur in Canada; C. c. rufa, C. c. roselaari and C. c. islandica.  Although genetic differences between the three subspecies may be small owing to the relatively short time they have been separated (see above), they occupy widely separated geographic areas (breeding and wintering; Salomonsen 1950; Godfrey 1953, 1986; Morrison 1975), have different migration and life history schedules, differences in morphology and plumage (Conover 1943; Morrison and Harrington 1992; Harrington 2001) and lack interchange between populations (Baker et al. 2005a,b).

The main uncertainty with the assigned designatable units concerns the inclusion of the Florida/SE US and the Maranhão, Brazil populations within C. c. roselaari.  The taxonomic status of the Florida/SE US population is currently under revision. The genetic evidence suggests, however, that it is closer to C. c. roselaari than to C. c. rufa (Niles et al. 2005). This population also differs from rufa in morphology (Niles et al. 2005) and banding of thousands of birds in the flyway has clearly shown no detectable interchange between the two groups on the wintering grounds (Baker et al. 2005a). For these reasons, we will include the Florida/SE US population of knots with C. c. roselaari.

The taxonomic status of the Maranhão, Brazil population is also uncertain. Genetic (Baker et al. 2005a; Niles et al. 2005) and stable isotope evidence (Atkinson et al. 2005) from feathers suggests a closer affinity to the Florida/SE US population than C. c. rufa.  Also, this population differs from rufa in morphology (Baker et al. 2005a; Niles et al. 2005) and migration scheduling. Like the Florida/SE population, there appears to be no interchange between the Maranhão populations and rufa wintering in Tierra del Fuego. Given the wide geographic separation from rufa wintering in southern South America, the lack of interchange, the relative proximity to more northerly wintering groups in Florida/SE US, and the proposed evolution of migratory patterns based on genetic evidence (see above), we also assign the Maranhão birds to the roselaari group. We will refer to this group as the roselaari type for purposes of assessment.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Bécasseau maubèche
Calidris canutus
au Canada

sous-espèce rufa (Calidris canutus rufa)
type roselaari (Calidris canutus roselaari type)
sous-espèce islandica (Calidris canutus islandica)

2007

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Classe :
Oiseaux
Ordre :
Charadriiformes
Famille :
Scolopacidés
Genre :
Calidris
Espèce :
canutus Linné, 1758)
Nom français :
Bécasseau maubèche
Nom anglais :
Red Knot
nom inuktitut :
Qajorlak


Sous-espèces

Les Bécasseaux maubèches sont actuellement classés en six sous-espèces présentant chacune des caractères morphologiques, des aires de nidification, des voies de migration, des quartiers d’hiver et des cycles annuels distinctifs (Piersma et Davidson, 1992; Tomkovich, 1992; idem, 2001; Piersma et Baker, 2000; Piersma et Spaans, 2004; figure 1). Trois sous-espèces sont présentes au Canada, soit le C. c. rufa, le C. c. roselaari et le C. c. islandica.

Le C. c. rufa niche dans le centre de l’Arctique canadien et hiverne dans le sud de la Patagonie et dans la Terre de Feu.

Dans le présent rapport, le C. c. roselaari comprend trois populations biogéographiques, évaluées en tant qu’unité désignable unique : i) la population de la côte du Pacifique, qui niche dans le nord-ouest de l’Alaska et dans l’île Wrangell et qui migre le long du littoral du Pacifique du Canada et des États du nord-ouest des États-Unis pour hiverner en Californie et sur le littoral du Pacifique du nord-ouest du Mexique, et peut-être jusque dans le golfe du Mexique; ii) la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis, qui niche probablement en Alaska ou dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien et qui hiverne en Floride, en Géorgie et en Caroline du Sud; iii) la population brésilienne du Maranhão, qui niche probablement en Alaska ou dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien et qui hiverne au Maranhão, dans la partie centrale de la côte nord du Brésil. Ces trois groupes constituent trois populations biogéographiques bien distinctes; une incertitude demeure quant au statut taxinomique des Bécasseaux maubèches des populations de la Floride et du Maranhão. 

Le C. c. islandica niche dans le nord-est de l’Arctique canadien, probablement aussi loin à l’ouest que l’île du Prince-Patrick et vers le sud jusque dans l’île du Prince-de-Galles (Godfrey, 1992; Morrison et Harrington, 1992), ainsi que le long de la côte nord du Groenland, depuis le nord-ouest jusqu’au fjord de Scoresby environ, sur la côte est. Il hiverne au Royaume-Uni et aux Pays-Bas, et migre vers ses lieux de reproduction en passant par l’Islande et le nord de la Norvège.

Le C. c. rogersi niche dans la presqu'île de Tchoukotka, dans l’est de la Russie, et hiverne dans le sud-est de l’Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Le C. c. piersmainiche dans les îles de Nouvelle-Sibérie, dans le centre-nord de la Russie, et hiverne dans le nord-ouest de l’Australie.


Figure 1 : Aire de répartition mondiale des six sous-espèces reconnues du Bécasseau maubèche

Figure 1 : Aire de répartition mondiale des six sous-espèces reconnues du Bécasseau maubèche.

Les flèches relient les lieux occupés par les oiseaux en dehors de la période de reproduction (« hivernage »; cercles pleins dont la taille est proportionnelle à la taille de la population) et les aires de nidification (gris foncé). La migration de la sous-espèce rufa entre ses quartiers d’hiver de la Terre de Feu et son aire de nidification du centre de l’Arctique canadien est illustrée. On remarque que les populations du rufahivernant sur la côte patagonienne, en Argentine, ont presque disparu, la Terre de Feu accueillant actuellement le gros de la population. (Adaptation d’une carte dressée par Dick Visser, fournie par Jan van Gils; voir Niles et al., 2005).

La sous-espèce nominative, le C. c. canutus, niche dans la péninsule de Taymyr, dans l’ouest de la Sibérie, et hiverne dans l’ouest et le sud-ouest de l’Afrique.


Description morphologique

Le Bécasseau maubèche est un oiseau de rivage de taille moyenne présentant les caractéristiques morphologiques typiques du genre Calidris : tête proportionnellement petite; bec droit et effilé, seulement légèrement plus long que la tête; cou court; tibia court; tarse trapu; ailes longues et effilées donnant au corps un profil allongé et fuselé. Il s’agit du plus gros des Calidris de l’Amérique du Nord (longueur de 23 à 25 cm, masse d’environ 135 g, mais très variable).

Le plumage nuptial du Bécasseau maubèche est très caractéristique, la face, le cou, la poitrine et une bonne part des parties inférieures prenant une coloration cannelle roussâtre distinctive (figure 2). La région s’étendant depuis le bas du ventre jusqu’à la zone du cloaque derrière les pattes tend à être de couleur claire, particulièrement chez le rufa par rapport aux autres sous-espèces, et des plumes blanchâtres ou brunâtres peuvent parsemer la poitrine (caractère qu’on pense plus commun chez les femelles). Les plumes des parties supérieures ont le centre brun foncé à noir et sont bordées de roux ou de gris, ce qui donne à l’oiseau une apparence pailletée lui procurant un camouflage remarquablement efficace dans les terrains de nidification à végétation clairsemée de l’Arctique. La couleur des plumes de vol va, de l’extérieur vers l’intérieur, du brun foncé ou du noir (rémiges primaires) au gris (rémiges secondaires et rectrices); il y a présence d’une étroite barre alaire blanchâtre. Les mâles tendent à avoir une coloration plus éclatante que celle des femelles, leurs parties inférieures présentant davantage de roux.

En plumage de base (hiver), le Bécasseau maubèche est terne, ses parties inférieures étant blanches et son dos, gris pâle. Le haut de la poitrine et les flancs sont parcourus de rayures grisâtres ou brunâtres, et la tête présente un motif grisâtre terne et une raie sourcilière blanchâtre.


Figure 2 : Bécasseau maubèche adulte en plumage nuptial

Figure 2 : Bécasseau maubèche adulte en plumage nuptial.

Les juvéniles ont un plumage similaire, mais ils se distinguent par la présence de bandes subterminales foncées sur les plumes du manteau, les scapulaires et les tectrices, ce qui donne à l’oiseau une apparence écailleuse caractéristique. Les juvéniles peuvent aussi présenter une coloration diffuse chamois pâle terne sur la poitrine.

Le Bécasseau maubèche se distingue des espèces superficiellement similaires du genre Limnodromus par son bec plus court, sa calotte plus pâle, son croupion blanchâtre rayé de gris (alors que chez les Limnodromus, le bas du dos, de couleur blanche, forme en vol un « V » distinctif), et ses vocalisations. Par ailleurs, il se distingue du Bécasseau variable (Calidris alpina) par sa plus grande taille et par le bec, celui du Bécasseau variable paraissant proportionnellement plus long et étant légèrement incurvé vers le bas en son extrémité, tandis que celui du Bécasseau maubèche est droit.


Description génétique

Les différences génétiques entre les sous-espèces du Bécasseau maubèche ont été étudiées par séquençage de la région de contrôle, évoluant rapidement, de l’ADNmt (Buehler et Baker, 2005). La plupart des haplotypes différaient par un changement d’une seule paire de bases, ce qui a donné un réseau d’étendue minimum (minimum spanning network) en étoile, caractéristique d’une espèce ayant passé récemment par un goulot d’étranglement génétique, puis connu une expansion subséquente (Slatkin et Hudson, 1991; figure 3). Malgré le fait que les haplotypes ne se sont pas trouvés groupés en lignées génétiques discrètes dans chacune des sous-espèces, des tests exacts et des statistiques F classiques ont révélé entre les populations une différenciation faible, mais significative. Quatre groupes génétiquement distincts ont été trouvés, correspondant au C. c. canutus, au C. c. piersmai,au C. c.rogersi et à un groupe nord-américain comprenant le C. c. roselaari,le C. c. rufaet le C. c. islandica (tableau 1, test exact combiné, P < 0,001, Buehler et Baker [2005]).

Tableau 1 : Estimations des valeurs FST pour la différenciation des populations chez les Bécasseaux maubèches (sous la diagonale), calculées sur la base des séquences de la région de contrôle de l’ADNmt
 C. c.
canutus
C. c.
islandica
C. c.
piersmai
C. c.
rogersi
C. c.
roselaari
C. c.
rufa
C. c. canutus0+++++
C. c. islandica0,190++--
C. c. piersmai0,070,120+--
C. c. rogersi0,270,200,070+-
C. c. roselaari0,17- 0,040,080,150-
C. c. rufa0,230,0050,070,050,0020

Au-dessus de la diagonale, le symbole « + » indique qu’il y a signification statistique au niveau 0,01, et le symbole « - » indique l’absence de signification statistique (P > 0,01). Tiré de Buehler et Baker (2005).

Les différences génétiques entre sous-espèces sont aussi apparentes dans l’ADN nucléaire. Un balayage génomique de 836 loci utilisant le polymorphisme de longueur de fragments amplifiés (AFLP) a détecté différentes fréquences des marqueurs dominants à 129 loci et a montré une différenciation génétique significative entre les sous-espèces (FST = 0,089). La distance génétique entre le C. c. roselaariet le C. c. rufaest petite (0,1), mais elle est semblable à celle entre le C. c. rogersi (sud-est de l’Australie et Nouvelle-Zélande) et le C. c. canutus (Eurasie).

L’histoire démographique des populations de Bécasseaux maubèches peut être déduite de la signature génétique des séquences des régions de contrôle dans la mesure où ces dernières sont neutres sur le plan de la sélection naturelle, ce qui semble le cas chez cette espèce. Il s’agit de calculer le nombre de différences mutationnelles entre les séquences de paires d’oiseaux. Ces différences par paire dans les sous-espèces de Bécasseau maubèche donnent une courbe à un seul pic, ce qui est attendu pour une population connaissant une expansion après un goulot d’étranglement récent (Avise, 2000; figure 4).

Un modèle de coalescence de la variation séquentielle utilisant un taux d’évolution moléculaire ajusté pour les oiseaux de rivage a estimé que les moments de divergence de populations représentant les six sous-espèces du Bécasseau maubèche se situent dans les 20 000 dernières années (IC à 95 p. 100 : de 5 600 à 58 000 années), ce qui renvoie au dernier maximum glaciaire, daté d’il y a 18 000 à 22 000 ans. La séparation initiale a permis, à partir du C. c. canutus se reproduisant en Sibérie centrale et migrant jusque dans l’ouest de l’Afrique, l’apparition d’une lignée qui s’est étendue jusque dans l’est de la Sibérie et qui a commencé à migrer en Australie (soit la lignée à l’origine du C. c. rogersi et du C. c. piersmai).

Avec le retrait des glaces, cette dernière lignée a fini par gagner l’Alaska via le détroit de Béring pour donner lieu à la lignée nord-américaine, il y a environ 12 000 années (IC à 95 p. 100: de 3 300 à 40 000 années). À cette époque, un corridor libre de glace qui s’était formé entre les nappes glaciaires couvrant, à l’ouest, les Rocheuses et, à l’est, les Grandes Plaines servait de voie de dispersion pour divers organismes, dont l’espèce humaine. Comme ce corridor était orienté du nord-ouest vers le sud-est, il a pu favoriser chez les oiseaux l’évolution d’une nouvelle voie de migration entre l’Alaska ou l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien et le sud-est des États-Unis. Avec le retrait des nappes glaciaires vers l’est dans l’Arctique canadien, la population ancestrale s’est trouvée fragmentée séquentiellement au cours des 5 500 dernières années pour donner trois populations nicheuses, qui correspondent aujourd’hui au C. c. roselaari,au C. c. rufaet au C. c. islandica. Si ce scénario est exact, les oiseaux hivernant actuellement dans le sud-est des États-Unis appartiendraient bien à la sous-espèce roselaari et devraient chaque année remonter vers leurs lieux de reproduction arctiques ancestraux du nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord. Par ailleurs, les voies de migration du C. c. rufa et du C. c. islandica seraient des réponses évolutionnaires récentes à l’expansion vers l’est de leurs aires de nidification. Enfin, il est estimé que la divergence entre le C. c. piersmaiet le C. c. rogersi serait survenue il y a environ 6 500 années (IC à 95 p. 100 : de 1 000 à 23 000 années), probablement par suite de l’isolement de leurs aires de nidification des îles de Nouvelle-Sibérie et de la presqu'île de Tchoukotka, en Russie.


Figure 3 : Réseau d’haplotypes d’étendue minimum montrant les relations entre les haplotypes de la région de contrôle mitochondriale des Bécasseaux maubèches

Figure 3 : Réseau d’haplotypes d’étendue minimum montrant les relations entre les haplotypes de la région de contrôle mitochondriale des Bécasseaux maubèches.

Les ovales représentent les haplotypes, et les lignes de jonction représentent un changement d’une seule paire de bases entre haplotypes. Les petits cercles vides sur les lignes représentent des changements de multiples paires de bases entre haplotypes. Tiré de Buehler et Baker (2005).


Figure 4 : Fréquences observées et attendues des différences par paire d’oiseaux dans les séquences des régions de contrôle mitochondriales des Bécasseaux maubèches

Figure 4 : Fréquences observées et attendues des différences par paire d’oiseaux dans les séquences des régions de contrôle mitochondriales des Bécasseaux maubèches.

L’espèce donne une courbe très semblable à celle attendue pour une population en croissance depuis peu de temps. Tiré de Buehler et Baker (2005).

Vu le caractère récent des divergences entre les sous-espèces du Bécasseau maubèche, il n’est pas surprenant que le degré de différenciation génétique dans l’AFLP nucléaire et les séquences d’ADNmt neutres soit faible. Il n’y a tout simplement pas eu assez de temps pour une accumulation de mutations dans ces régions de l’ADN, ce qui rend difficile l’appréciation des changements évolutionnaires qui se produisent à l’échelle plus immédiate du temps écologique. En pareil cas, les différences génétiques apparemment faibles dans les séquences d’ADN neutres ne devraient pas influer outre mesure sur la définition des sous-espèces (Avise, 1989). On doit plutôt penser que les différences morphologiques et écologiques sont plus susceptibles de refléter des changements adaptatifs issus d’une sélection naturelle positive. Selon Buehler et Baker (2005), bien que les six sous-espèces actuellement reconnues ne puissent être distinguées par les séquences de leurs régions de contrôle, elles commencent à se distinguer en lignées différentes, de sorte qu’il serait mal avisé de les fondre en une seule unité évolutionnaire sur des bases génétiques seules; avec le temps, l’évolution des marqueurs génétiques neutres des Bécasseaux maubèches devrait rattraper les différences de morphologie, de plumage, de voies de migration, de lieux de reproduction et de calendriers de mue pour distinguer plus clairement les sous-espèces entre elles.


Unités désignables

La présente évaluation vise trois unités désignables qui correspondent à trois sous-espèces de Bécasseau maubèche présentes au Canada : le C. c. rufa, le C. c. roselaariet le C. c. islandica. Bien que les différences génétiques entre les trois sous-espèces soient faibles du fait de leur séparation relativement récente (voir plus haut), elles occupent des aires géographiques (tant pour ce qui est des aires de nidification que des quartiers d’hiver) largement séparées (Salomonsen, 1950; Godfrey, 1953; idem, 1986; Morrison, 1975) et présentent des régimes temporels différents quant à leurs migrations et à leurs cycles vitaux ainsi que des différences de morphologie et de plumage (Conover, 1943; Morrison et Harrington, 1992; Harrington, 2001), et il n’y a pas d’échanges d’individus entre leurs populations (Baker et al., 2005a; idem, 2005b).

La principale incertitude concernant les unités désignables établies a trait à l’inclusion de la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis et de la population brésilienne du Maranhão dans la sous-espèce roselaari. Le statut taxinomique de la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis est actuellement en révision. Les données génétiques indiquent cependant qu’elle serait plus proche du C. c. roselaari que du C. c. rufa (Niles et al., 2005). Cette population diffère aussi de la sous-espèce rufasur le plan morphologique (Niles et al., 2005), et le baguage de milliers d’oiseaux dans le corridor migratoire a aussi clairement révélé l’absence d’échanges détectables entre les deux groupes dans les lieux d’hivernage (Baker et al., 2005a). Pour ces raisons, nous incluons la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis dans la sous-espèce C. c. roselaari.

Le statut taxinomique de la population brésilienne du Maranhão est aussi incertain. Les données de génétique (Baker et al., 2005a; Niles et al., 2005) et d’isotopes stables (Atkinson et al., 2005) tirées des plumes laissent penser que cette population serait plus apparentée à la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis qu’au C. c. rufa. De plus, elle diffère de la sous-espèce rufa sur le plan de la morphologie (Baker et al., 2005a; Niles et al., 2005) et du calendrier de migration. Comme dans le cas de la population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis, il ne semble pas y avoir d’échanges entre les populations du Maranhão et les rufa hivernant dans la Terre de Feu. Vu le grand éloignement géographique des rufa hivernant dans le sud de l’Amérique du Sud, l’absence d’échanges d’individus, la proximité relative des groupes hivernant plus au nord en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis, et l’évolution des régimes migratoires supposée sur la base des données génétiques (voir plus haut), nous incluons aussi les oiseaux du Maranhão dans le groupe roselaari. Aux fins de l’évaluation, nous désignerons ce groupe sous le nom de type roselaari.