Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The global distribution of the six currently recognized subspecies of Red Knots is shown in Figure 1 and described in the subspecies section. 

Wintering Grounds (outside Canada)

The major wintering areas used by rufa knots were discovered in Tierra del Fuego and Patagonia, Argentina and Chile in the 1980s by Morrison and Ross (1989). In the 1980s, sites in Tierra del Fuego and Patagonia held 79% and 21% of the southern wintering population of birds, but by the early 2000s, Tierra del Fuego held about 98% of the total and the “peripheral” sites in Patagonia held only about 2%. The population thus appears to have contracted to the core sites, leaving few birds at the Patagonian sites (Morrison et al. 2004). The major wintering areas used by roselaari type knots include the i) Pacific coast of the Americas, from California south to Baja California and parts of northwest Mexico around the Gulf of California (Pacific coast population), ii) southeastern US including Florida and Georgia, with smaller numbers in South Carolina and Texas (Florida/SE US population) and iii) Maranhão on the north-central coast of Brazil (Maranhão, Brazil population). Islandica knots winter on the European seaboard (Salomonsen 1950; Godfrey 1953, 1986; Morrison 1975). 


Canadian Range

Breeding Grounds

The breeding range of C. c. rufa falls entirely within the central parts of the Canadian Arctic, while about 40% of the breeding population of C. c. islandica breed in the northeastern Canadian Arctic. Knots breeding in northern and western Alaska and the western Canadian Arctic belong to roselaari type (Figure 5).

Within the central Canadian Arctic, suitable habitat is not continuous, so there are discontinuities within the range and it appears that not all suitable potential habitat is occupied (Figure 6). Rufa breeds on Coats and Mansel islands in northern Hudson Bay, on Southampton Island, on the east coast (Godfrey 1986) as well as the islands of the Foxe Basin (e.g., Prince Charles Island, Rowley Island, but not on Air Force Island (V. Johnston pers. comm. 2005) and the west coast of Baffin Island (RIGM pers. observation; Niles et al. 2005), probably through the Boothia Peninsula area, on King William Island, and on the southern parts of Victoria Island (Parmelee et al. 1967). Suitable habitat does not appear to occur on land between northern Hudson Bay and the Rasmussen Basin (Niles et al. 2005), and the species was not recorded in this area (Godfrey 1986, 1992) or in the Rasmussen Lowlands (Johnston et al. 2000). Rufa appears to breed on the west side of the Boothia Peninsula and on King William Island (Niles et al. 2005), but it is replaced by islandica on Prince of Wales Island to the north (Manning and Macpherson 1961; Godfrey 1992). Although there appears to be suitable habitat on Banks Island at the western edge of the Arctic Islands, knots have not been recorded breeding in this area (Manning et al. 1956; V. Johnston pers. comm. 2005).  


Figure 5: Breeding Range of Red Knots in the Canadian Arctic

Figure 5: Breeding range of Red Knots in the Canadian Arctic. C. c. rufa occupies areas in the Central Canadian Arctic, and breeds entirely within Canada.

C. c. rufa occupies areas in the Central Canadian Arctic, and breeds entirely within Canada. C. c. roselaari populations wintering in Florida/SE US and Maranhão may share parts of this range, most likely towards the western portion. C. c. roselaari wintering on the Pacific coast of the Americas occupy breeding areas in northwestern Alaska (and Wrangel Island). Knots in the High Arctic regions of northeastern Canada and of Greenland are C. c. islandica. Broken lines enclose overall likely range of each subspecies and solid areas represent likely occupied suitable habitat within the range.


Figure 6: Predicted Locations of Nesting Habitats of Red Knots Based on Land Cover Types in the Central Canadian Arctic (and point locations [circles] of Red Knots located on the nesting grounds after being radio-tagged in Delaware Bay during northward migration)

Figure 6: Predicted locations of nesting habitats of Red Knots based on land cover types in the central Canadian Arctic (and point locations [circles] of Red Knots located on the nesting grounds after being radio-tagged in Delaware Bay during northward migration)

From Niles et al. 2005.

C. c. roselaari wintering on the Pacific coast of the Americas occupy breeding areas in northwestern Alaska and Wrangel Island. Breeding grounds occupied by Florida/SE US and Maranhão wintering populations are not clearly delineated, but are likely to involve the more westerly parts of the breeding range in Canada. Onepiece of evidence to support this hypothesis is the recovery of a banded bird wintering in Florida in Manitoba on northward migration. This recovery suggests that it was headed towards the western end of the range as opposed to going up the Atlantic coast to the eastern breeding grounds.

The estimated extent of occurrence (EO) of rufa based on a compilation by the Canadian Wildlife Service (A. Baril, pers. comm. 2005) of breeding range maps from NatureServe, WildSpace, and Birds of North America is 205 534 km2. The area of occupancy (AO), or area of suitable habitat occurring within this range, is 128 375 km2 (97 750 km2 <50 km from coast plus 30 425 km2 >50 km from coast; based on potential suitable habitat types, see Figure 6, R. Lathrop, pers. comm. 2005). The estimated EO for the Florida/SE US and Maranhão, Brazil populations of C. c. roselaari is an unknown portion of the EO (i.e. 205 534 km2) assigned to rufa (i.e. it may overlap with some portion of rufa’s range) and the EO for the Pacific coast population is 41 396 km2, which includes the breeding grounds in Alaska. The AO for the Florida and Maranhão populations is some unknown portion of the AO for rufa (i.e. 128 375 km2), while the AO for the Pacific coast population is 25 856 km2 based on suitable breeding habitat in Alaska. The estimated EO for islandica is 455 669 km2, which includes their breeding range in Canada. The AO for islandica in Canada is 284 611 km2 based on suitable habitat.

Migration

On migration, large numbers of knots pass southwards through the southwest coast of Hudson Bay (Manitoba and Ontario) and west and southern coasts of James Bay during July and August (Ontario) (Hope and Shortt 1944; Manning 1952; Ross et al. 2003). The southeast corner of Akimiski Island also appears to be important for knots.  Knots have also been recorded in small numbers (100-350) on the south coast of James Bay in Quebec (Aubry and Cotter 2001a).

The most important areas for rufa knots on migration in eastern Canada are currently along the north shore of the St. Lawrence River in Quebec (Figure 7). The sightings in theMinganIslandsarchipelago in 2006 of many colour-marked birds that had been captured in Argentina confirm the identity of the birds as belonging to the rufa population wintering in southern South America (Y. Aubry, pers. comm. 2006). Ouellet (1969) identified four knots collected from a flock of 200 on Anticosti Island as belonging to the rufa subspecies.

During northward migration, large flights of knots have been observed passing northwards through southern James Bay at the end of May or start of June (RIGM unpubl. data), having probably flown directly from Delaware Bay (Morrison and Harrington 1992). Large concentrations are occasionally found around Lake Ontario, though these probably represent weather-related dropouts from the main migration (McRae 1982; Weir 1989; see Morrison and Harrington 1992). The sighting of a bird colour-banded at Lagoa do Peixe in southern Brazil at Presqu’ile Provincial Park indicates the birds include migrants from the southern rufa population.


Figure 7: Important Areas for Red Knots in Eastern Canada

Figure 7: Important areas for Red Knots in eastern Canada.

Locations shown on the map are: 1. Southwest coast of Hudson Bay (MB, ON) and west and south coasts of James Bay (ON, QC); 2. Saguenay River mouth, St. Lawrence River, QC; 3. Mingan Archipelago, north shore of St. Lawrence River, QC; 4. Miscou Island, NB; 5. Magdalen Islands, Gulf of St. Lawrence, QC; 6. North shore Prince Edward Island; 7. Upper Bay of Fundy (Mary’s Point), NB; 8. southern Cape Breton Island, NS; 9. Grand Manan Island, NB; 10. Cape Sable, NS. (Information compiled from Hope and Shortt 1944; Morrison and Harrington 1979; Morrison et al. 1980; Morrison and Gaston 1986; Hicklin 1987; Aubry and Cotter 2001a; Roberge et al. 2001; Ross et al. 2003; R.I.G. Morrison unpubl. data from Maritimes Shorebird Survey; R.K. Ross and R.I.G. Morrison unpubl. data from Hudson Bay and James Bay aerial surveys, EPOQ database pers. comm. Yves Aubry).

Less information is available to identify migration areas used by roselaari type knots wintering in Florida/SE US and Maranhão. Both groups are known to pass through Delaware Bay during the spring. However, a significant proportion of these groups likely migrates to the breeding areas through the interior of North America, as indicated by a band recovery of a bird wintering in west Florida in Manitoba during spring migration. The Pacific coast population of C. c. roselaari migrates down the Pacific coast of North America, including through coastal British Columbia.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Les aires de répartition mondiales des six sous-espèces du Bécasseau maubèche actuellement reconnues sont illustrées à la figure 1 et décrites plus bas dans les parties traitant des diverses sous-espèces.

Lieux d’hivernage (extérieurs au Canada)

Les principaux lieux d’hivernage de la sous-espèce rufa ont été découverts en Argentine et au Chili, dans la Terre de Feu et en Patagonie, dans les années 1980 par Morrison et Ross (1989). Dans ces années, les sites de la Terre de Feu et de la Patagonie abritaient respectivement 79 p. 100 et 21 p. 100 de la population hivernant dans le sud, mais, au début des années 2000, la Terre de Feu en abritait 98 p. 100 et les sites désormais périphériques de Patagonie, seulement 2 p. 100. La population semblait ainsi s’être concentrée dans les sites principaux, laissant peu d’oiseaux aux sites patagoniens (Morrison et al., 2004). Les principaux lieux d’hivernage du type roselaari comprennent : i) le littoral du Pacifique de l’Amérique le long de la Californie et de la Basse-Californie, avec des régions du nord-ouest du Mexique autour du golfe de Californie (population de la côte du Pacifique); ii) le sud-est des États-Unis, y compris la Floride et la Géorgie, avec de plus faibles effectifs en Caroline du Sud et au Texas (population de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis); iii) l’État de Maranhão, dans la partie centrale de la côte nord du Brésil (population brésilienne du Maranhão). La sous-espèce islandica hiverne sur le littoral européen (Salomonsen, 1950; Godfrey, 1953; idem, 1986; Morrison, 1975). 


Aire de répartition canadienne

Lieux de reproduction

L’aire de nidification du C. c. rufa se trouve entièrement dans les régions centrales de l’Arctique canadien, tandis qu’environ 40 p. 100 de la population nicheuse du C. c. islandica se reproduit dans le nord-est de l’Arctique canadien. Les Bécasseaux maubèches qui nichent dans le nord et l’ouest de l’Alaska ainsi que dans l’ouest de l’Arctique canadien appartiennent au type roselaari (figure 5).


Figure 5 : Aire de nidification des Bécasseaux maubèches dans l’Arctique canadien

 Figure 5 : Aire de nidification des Bécasseaux maubèches dans l’Arctique canadien. Le C. c. rufa occupe des secteurs du centre de l’Arctique canadien et niche seulement au Canada.

Le C. c. rufa occupe des secteurs du centre de l’Arctique canadien et niche seulement au Canada. Les populations du C. c. roselaari hivernant en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis ou au Maranhão peuvent partager certaines parties de cette aire, le plus probablement dans la portion ouest. Les C. c. roselaari hivernant sur la côte du Pacifique des Amériques nichent dans des secteurs du nord-ouest de l’Alaska (et dans l’île Wrangell). Les Bécasseaux maubèches des régions arctiques du nord-est du Canada et du Groenland sont des C. c. islandica. Les lignes tiretées délimitent l’aire de nidification probable totale de chacune des sous-espèces, et les zones ombrées représentent l’habitat propice probablement occupé à l’intérieur des aires de nidification.

Dans le centre de l’Arctique canadien, l’habitat propice n’est pas continu, d’où des discontinuités dans l’aire de nidification, et il semble par ailleurs que l’habitat propice potentiel ne soit pas entièrement occupé (figure 6). La sous-espèce rufa niche dans les îles Coats et Mansel dans le nord de la baie d’Hudson, dans l’île Southampton, sise près de la côte est de la même baie (Godfrey, 1986) et dans les îles du bassin de Foxe (p. ex. dans l’île du Prince-Charles, dans l’île Rowley, mais pas dans l’île de l’Aviation; V. Johnston, comm. pers., 2005), ainsi que sur la côte ouest de l’île de Baffin (RIGM, comm. pers.; Niles et al., 2005), probablement dans la région de la péninsule de Boothia, dans l’île du Roi-Guillaume, et dans les secteurs sud de l’île Victoria (Parmelee et al., 1967). Il ne semble pas y avoir d’habitat propice sur le continent entre le nord de la baie d’Hudson et le bassin de Rasmussen (Niles et al., 2005), et l’espèce n’a pas été mentionnée dans cette région (Godfrey, 1986; idem, 1992) ni dans les basses terres de Rasmussen (Johnston et al., 2000). La sous-espèce rufa semble nicher du côté ouest de la péninsule de Boothia et dans l’île du Roi-Guillaume (Niles et al., 2005), mais elle est remplacée par la sous-espèce islandica dans l’île du Prince-de-Galles au nord (Manning et Macpherson, 1961; Godfrey, 1992). Bien qu’il semble y avoir un habitat propice dans l’île Banks à l’extrême ouest des Îles de l’Arctique, aucune mention de nidification de l’espèce n’a été faite pour cette région (Manning et al., 1956; V. Johnston, comm. pers., 2005).  

Les C. c. roselaari hivernant sur la côte du Pacifique de l’Amérique nichent dans des secteurs du nord-ouest de l’Alaska et dans l’île Wrangell. Les lieux de nidification fréquentés par la population hivernant en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis et par celle hivernant au Maranhão ne sont pas clairement délimités, mais correspondent probablement aux régions les plus occidentales de l’aire de nidification canadienne de l’espèce. La récupération au Manitoba d’un oiseau bagué ayant hiverné en Floride, durant la migration vers le nord, va dans le sens de cette hypothèse. En effet, cet oiseau devait se diriger vers l’extrémité ouest de l’aire de nidification de l’espèce, n’ayant pas suivi la côte atlantique pour gagner les lieux de nidification de l’est.

Selon une compilation des cartes de l’aire de nidification du rufa de NatureServe, de WildSpace et de The Birds of North America, réalisée par le Service canadien de la faune (A. Baril, comm. pers., 2005), la superficie de la zone d’occurrence de cette sous-espèce est estimée à 205 534 km2. La superficie de la zone d’occupation, ou la superficie d’habitat propice présent dans la zone d’occurrence, est de 128 375 km2 (97 750 km2 à moins de 50 km du littoral plus 30 425 km2 à plus de 50 km du littoral; estimation fondée sur les types d’habitat propice potentiel – voir la figure 6, R. Lathrop, comm. pers., 2005). On estime que la zone d’occurrence des populations du C. c. roselaari de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis ainsi que du Maranhão (Brésil) consisterait en une portion inconnue de la zone d’occurrence établie (205 534 km2) pour la sous-espèce rufa (elle chevaucherait partiellement la zone d’occurrence établie pour le rufa), et la superficie de la zone d’occurrence de la population de la côte du Pacifique est de 41 396 km2, y compris les lieux de nidification de l’Alaska. La zone d’occupation des populations de la Floride et du Maranhão correspond à une portion inconnue de la zone d’occupation du rufa (128 375 km2), tandis que la superficie de la zone d’occupation de la population de la côte du Pacifique est de 25 856 km2, selon l’habitat de nidification propice en Alaska. Au Canada, la superficie de la zone d’occurrence de la sous-espèce islandica est estimée à 455 669 km2, et la superficie de son aire d’occupation, selon l’habitat propice, à 284 611 km2.

Migration

Durant la migration vers le sud, d’importants effectifs de Bécasseaux maubèches passent par la côte sud-ouest de la baie d’Hudson (Manitoba et Ontario) et les côtes ouest et sud de la baie James (Ontario) en juillet et en août (Hope et Shortt, 1944; Manning, 1952; Ross et al., 2003). L’extrémité sud-est de l’île Akimiski semble aussi un secteur important pour l’espèce. Des Bécasseaux maubèches ont aussi été signalés en petit nombre (de 100 à 350) sur la côte sud de la baie James, au Québec (Aubry et Cotter, 2001a).


Figure 6 : Lieux de nidification du Bécasseau maubèche prédits selon les types de couverture terrestre dans le centre de l’Arctique canadien (et endroits précis [cercles] occupés par des Bécasseaux maubèches, localisés dans les lieux de nidification grâce à des radioémetteurs posés dans la baie du Delaware durant la migration vers le nord)

Figure 6 : Lieux de nidification du Bécasseau maubèche prédits selon les types de couverture terrestre dans le centre de l’Arctique canadien (et endroits précis [cercles] occupés par des Bécasseaux maubèches, localisés dans les lieux de nidification grâce à des radioémetteurs posés dans la baie du Delaware durant la migration vers le nord).

Tiré de Niles et al., 2005.

Actuellement, les secteurs les plus importants pour les rufa en migration dans l’est du Canada se trouvent le long de la rive nord du Saint-Laurent, au Québec (figure 7). Sur la base de l’observation, en 2006, dans l’archipel de Mingan de nombreux oiseaux portant des marques colorées, qui avaient été capturés en Argentine, on peut conclure que l’archipel est une halte pour des oiseaux de la population de la sous-espèce rufa hivernant dans le sud de l’Amérique du Sud (Y. Aubry, comm. pers., 2006). Ouellet (1969) a identifié quatre Bécasseaux maubèches prélevés à l’île d’Anticosti dans une bande de 200 oiseaux comme appartenant à la sous-espèce rufa.

Durant la migration vers le nord, de grandes volées de Bécasseaux maubèches ont été observées dans le sud de la baie James à la fin de mai et au début de juin (RIGM, données inédites), lesquelles provenaient probablement directement de la baie du Delaware (Morrison et Harrington, 1992). De grandes concentrations sont parfois observées autour du lac Ontario, ces oiseaux s’étant cependant probablement détachés du groupe principal de migrants en raison de conditions météorologiques défavorables (McRae, 1982; Weir, 1989; voir Morrison et Harrington, 1992); l’observation au parc provincial Presqu’île d’un oiseau portant une bague colorée posée à Lagoa do Peixe, dans le sud du Brésil, indique que ces oiseaux comprennent des migrants de la population de rufa du sud.


Figure 7 : Secteurs importants pour les Bécasseaux maubèches dans l’est du Canada

Figure 7 : Secteurs importants pour les Bécasseaux maubèches dans l’est du Canada.

Les lieux indiqués sur la carte sont les suivants : 1. côte sud-ouest de la baie d’Hudson (Manitoba, Ontario) et côtes ouest et sud de la baie James (Ontario, Québec); 2. embouchure du Saguenay, fleuve Saint-Laurent (Québec); 3. archipel de Mingan, rive nord du Saint-Laurent (Québec); 4. île Miscou (Nouveau-Brunswick); 5. îles de la Madeleine, golfe du Saint-Laurent (Québec); 6. côte nord de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard; 7. fond de la baie de Fundy (pointe Mary’s, Nouveau-Brunswick); 8. sud de l’île du Cap-Breton (Nouvelle-Écosse); 9. île Grand Manan (Nouveau-Brunswick); 10. cap de Sable (Nouvelle-Écosse). (Information tirée de Hope et Shortt, 1944; Morrison et Harrington, 1979; Morrison et al., 1980; Morrison et Gaston 1986; Hicklin, 1987; Aubry et Cotter, 2001a; Roberge et al., 2001; Ross et al., 2003; R.I.G. Morrison, données inédites du Recensement des oiseaux de rivage des Maritimes; R.K. Ross et R.I.G. Morrison, données inédites de relevés aériens effectués dans la région de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James, base de données de l’ÉPOQ, comm. pers., Yves Aubry).

On dispose de moins d’information pour repérer les secteurs utilisés durant la migration par les oiseaux du type roselaari hivernant en Floride et dans le sud-est des États-Unis ainsi qu’au Maranhão. On sait que les deux groupes passent par la baie du Delaware au printemps. Cependant, une proportion importante de ces oiseaux migre vers les lieux de nidification en passant probablement par l’intérieur de l’Amérique du Nord, comme en témoigne l’observation au Manitoba, durant la migration printanière, d’un oiseau bagué ayant hiverné dans l’ouest de la Floride. La population de la côte du Pacifique du C. c. roselaari migre vers le sud le long de la côte du Pacifique de l’Amérique du Nord, en passant par le littoral de la Colombie-Britannique.