Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Red Knots use different habitats for breeding and wintering/migration. In the Arctic, knots nest on barren habitats (often less than 5% vegetation) such as windswept ridges, slopes or plateaus. Nest sites are usually in dry, south-facing locations, and may be located near wetlands or lake edges, where the young are led after hatching. Densities are usually low, with nests often 0.75-1 km apart. An analysis of potential breeding habitat characteristics of rufa developed from locations of 21 nests on Southampton Island and relocations of radio-tagged birds over a wider section of the central Arctic (see Figure 6) indicated knots were generally found at elevations of less than 150 m above sea level, less than 50 m from the coast, and in areas with less than 5% vegetation. Foraging habitats can be considerable distances (up to 10 km) from the nest, and are usually in damp or barren areas.

On migration and wintering areas, knots tend to favour coastal areas with extensive intertidal flats, usually sandflats (sometimes mudflats), where the birds feed on bivalves and other benthic invertebrates. On the wintering grounds, major habitats are the massive intertidal sandflats and mudflats at Bahia Lomas, Chile (also Bahia San Sebastian, Argentina) in Tierra del Fuego. At Rio Grande on the Atlantic coast of Tierra del Fuego, Argentina, and on migration areas on the coast of Patagonia, knots also forage on restinga habitats consisting of rocky intertidal platforms that support a variety of invertebrates. During spring migration in Delaware Bay, knots forage on sandy beaches used by nesting horseshoe crabs (Limulus polyphemus), feeding on the eggs of the crabs. They may on occasion also forage on tide wrack on beaches. In addition to sandy beaches, knots use peat banks (mussel spat), salt marshes, brackish lagoons, mangrove areas, and mudflats on migration (and in winter) in southeast USA and in Brazil (Niles et al. 2005).

An important aspect of habitat quality for knots is the proximity of suitable roosting areas that provide an undisturbed area safe from ground or aerial predators.  


Habitat Trends

It is unlikely that any major changes in the extent of breeding habitat have occurred in the Arctic, though long-term changes resulting from climate change are likely to affect knots, probably in a negative fashion (Meltofte et al. 2005). Knot habitats used on migration are thought to have decreased considerably on both the east and west coasts of North America (see Trends section for a fuller discussion). Habitats in South American locations are generally less disturbed, though they face a variety of potential environmental concerns and threats (see Threats section).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

Some of the more important Red Knot habitats have been recognized by various conservation and habitat protection programs and initiatives, providing a variable amount of formal and informal protection (Table 2). These programs include: (1) the Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network, a non-government organization that identifies and seeks protection for important shorebird sites; (2) the Ramsar Convention, a worldwide intergovernmental treaty that provides the framework for national action and international cooperation for the conservation and wise use of wetlands; (3) the Important Bird Areas (IBA) program of BirdLife International, which identifies and promotes conservation of important areas for birds; and (4) various other designations, often at a national, state, or regional level. These initiatives raise the profile of important areas, and may provide some level of legal protection for key habitats.

Table 2: Recognition/Status of Key Sites Used by Red Knots by Conservation Organizations, Including the Western Hemisphere Shorebird Reserve Network (WHSRN), the Ramsar Convention (Ramsar), the Important Bird Areas Initiative of BirdLife International (IBA), and Other Designations
SiteWHSRNRamsarIBAOther1
Bahia Lomas, Argentina x  
Rio Grande/Bahia San Sebastianxxxx
Peninsula Valdes, Argentina  xx
San Antonio Oeste, Argentinax xx
Lagoa do Peixe, Brazilxx x
Maranhão, Brazilxx  
Delaware Bay, USAxx2 x
James Bay, Canada x3 x
San Francisco Bay, CAx   
Grays Harbor, WAx   
Fraser River estuary, BCx   
Guerrero Negro, Mexico   x
Bahia de Santa Maria, Mexicox   

“x” indicates the site has been officially recognized by the organization.

1 e.g., State or Provincial reserves, wildlife reserves; 2 Delaware estuary; 3 Southern James Bay.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Les Bécasseaux maubèches utilisent différents habitats pour leur reproduction ainsi que durant leur hivernage et leurs migrations. Dans l’Arctique, ils nichent dans des habitats fortement dénudés (avec souvent moins de 5 p. 100 de couverture végétale), notamment sur des crêtes, des pentes et des plateaux balayés par le vent. Les sites de nidification se trouvent habituellement dans des endroits secs orientés au sud, dans certains cas, proches de milieux humides ou de lacs, où les petits sont amenés après l’éclosion. Les densités de nids sont habituellement faibles, les nids se trouvant souvent à 0,75 à 1 km les uns des autres. Une analyse des caractéristiques de l’habitat de nidification potentiel du rufa fondée sur 21 nids localisés dans l’île Southampton et sur la relocalisation d’oiseaux munis de radioémetteurs dans une vaste région du centre de l’Arctique (voir la figure 6) a montré que les Bécasseaux maubèches nichent généralement à des altitudes de moins de 150 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer, à moins de 50 m du littoral, et dans des secteurs où la couverture végétale est inférieure à 5 p. 100. Les habitats d’alimentation peuvent se trouver à des distances considérables (jusqu’à 10 km) du nid et sont habituellement des zones humides ou dénudées.

Durant la migration et l’hivernage, les Bécasseaux maubèches préfèrent les zones côtières présentant de vastes estrans, habituellement sableux (parfois des vasières), où les oiseaux s’alimentent de mollusques et crustacés et d’autres invertébrés benthiques. Dans les quartiers d’hiver, les habitats principaux sont les immenses estrans de sable et de vase intertidaux de Bahia Lomas, au Chili (et aussi de Bahia San Sebastian, en Argentine), dans la Terre de Feu. À Rio Grande, sur la côte atlantique de la Terre de Feu, en Argentine, et dans les haltes migratoires de la côte patagonienne, les oiseaux se nourrissent aussi dans un type d’habitat appelé restinga, qui consiste en des plateformes rocheuses intertidales abritant divers invertébrés. Dans la baie du Delaware durant la migration printanière, les Bécasseaux maubèches s’alimentent sur les plages de sable où pondent les limules (Limulus polyphemus), dont ils mangent les œufs. Ils peuvent aussi occasionnellement chercher leur nourriture dans les algues reposant sur les plages. En plus des plages de sable, l’espèce fréquente les bancs de tourbe (naissain de moules), les marais salés, les lagunes saumâtres, les mangroves et les vasières durant sa migration (et en hiver) dans le sud-est des États-Unis et au Brésil (Niles et al., 2005).

Dans leur habitat, il est important pour les Bécasseaux maubèches qu’ils puissent trouver à faible distance des zones de repos propices non perturbées, à l’abri des prédateurs terrestres et aviens.


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Il est peu probable que des changements importants de l’étendue de l’habitat de nidification de l’espèce soient survenus dans l’Arctique, mais des changements sur le long terme dus aux changements climatiques vont sans doute avoir une incidence, probablement négative, sur les Bécasseaux maubèches (Meltofte et al., 2005). On croit qu’il y a eu une réduction considérable des habitats utilisés par l’espèce durant les migrations sur les côtes est et ouest de l’Amérique du Nord (voir la section traitant des tendances des populations, où cette question est examinée davantage). Les habitats fréquentés par l’espèce en Amérique du Sud sont généralement moins perturbés, quoiqu’ils soient exposés à divers problèmes environnementaux et à diverses menaces possibles (voir la section traitant des menaces).


Protection et propriété

Certains des plus importants habitats du Bécasseau maubèche ont été reconnus par divers programmes et diverses initiatives de conservation et de protection des habitats, ce qui leur accorde un degré variable de protection formelle ou informelle (tableau 2). Ces programmes et initiatives sont: 1) le Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage dans l'hémisphère occidental (RRORHO), initiative non gouvernementale qui repère des sites importants pour les oiseaux de rivage et qui s’efforce d’en assurer la protection; 2) la Convention de Ramsar, traité international intergouvernemental fournissant un cadre pour les mesures nationales et la collaboration internationale en vue de conserver et de bien gérer les milieux humides; 3) le programme des Zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux (ZICO) de BirdLife International, qui repère les zones importantes pour les oiseaux et en promeut la conservation; 4) diverses autres désignations, souvent à l’échelle des pays, des provinces et des États ou des régions. Ces initiatives mettent en valeur les zones importantes et peuvent fournir une certaine protection légale aux habitats principaux.

Tableau 2 : Reconnaissance ou statut de sites importants utilisés par les Bécasseaux maubèches, attribués par des initiatives de conservation, soit le Réseau de réserves pour les oiseaux de rivage dans l'hémisphère occidental (RRORHO), la Convention de Ramsar (Ramsar), le programme des Zones importantes pour la conservation des oiseaux (ZICO) de BirdLife International (IBA), et d’autres désignations
SiteRRORHORamsarZICOAutres1
Bahia Lomas, Argentine x  
Rio Grande/Bahia San Sebastianxxxx
Péninsule Valdès, Argentine  xx
San Antonio Oeste, Argentinex xx
Lagoa do Peixe, Brésilxx x
Maranhão, Brésilxx  
Baie du Delaware, États-Unisxx2 x
Baie James, Canada x3 x
Baie de San Francisco, Californiex   
Grays Harbor, État de Washingtonx   
Estuaire du Fraser, Colombie-Britanniquex   
Guerrero Negro, Mexique   x
Bahia de Santa Maria, Mexiquex   

Le symbole « x » indique que le site a été officiellement reconnu par l’initiative concernée.

1 p. ex. réserves d’États ou de provinces, refuges fauniques; 2 estuaire du Delaware; 3 sud de la baie James.