Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Red Knot in Canada

Biology

The information in this section is drawn mostly from material in the species account in Birds of North America (Harrington (2001) and in the US Red Knot status assessment Status of the Red Knot (Calidris canutus rufa) in the Western Hemisphere (Niles et al. 2005).


Life Cycle and Reproduction

Breeding

Red Knots have a monogamous mating system. Egg laying occurs after a period of physiological reorganization, with eggs being formed from local food resources rather than from body stores brought from migration areas (Morrison and Hobson 2004). Pair bonds form soon after arrival and remain intact until shortly after the eggs hatch. Knots generally start breeding at age two. Mating occurs on the breeding grounds. Clutches consists of four eggs, occasionally three. Only one clutch is normally laid per year. Nests are simple scrapes usually placed in small patches of vegetation, and may contain lichens and other pieces of vegetation as lining. Incubation takes 22 days and is shared by males and females. Territories are large (and hence nest densities are low), with nests widely separated (typically 0.75-1 km apart). Although territories are defended from other conspecifics, off-duty birds tend to feed away from their territory in communal feeding areas. Knots often return to the same general breeding area from year to year, though little is known concerning the details of site or mate fidelity. The female departs a few days after hatch, leaving the male to care for the brood; fledging takes approximately 18 days. Hatching occurs in the first half of July. The young leave the nest within 24 hours, and as soon as they are mobile (within a day or two) the brood wanders over large distances (several kilometres or more) across the tundra. Following fledging, the males depart, being followed by the juveniles one to three weeks later. Nesting success may vary considerably from year to year, depending on weather conditions and predator cycles.

Migration and Wintering 

During the non-breeding seasons, knots gather in large flocks on migration and wintering areas, feeding in coastal intertidal areas and roosting on nearby beaches, marshes or fields, where open undisturbed habitat is available. Not all juveniles reach the most southerly parts of the wintering range (Baker et al. 2004, 2005b). Second-year immatures are found on the major wintering areas, and move north to breed when two years old.

Longevity and Survival

The oldest Red Knot recorded (C. c. islandica) was originally banded on The Wash, SE England, in August 1968 as an adult and recaptured there in September 1992 (Wash Wader Ringing Group 2005). Since it could not have hatched later than July 1967, it was at least 25 years old when recaptured. One islandica knot bred near Alert, on the north coast of Ellesmere Island, over a period of at least 11 years between 1992 and 2002 (R.I.G. Morrison unpublished data). The oldest recorded rufa knot was originally banded as a juvenile at Punta Rasa, Argentina, in October 1987 and recaptured on the wintering grounds at Bahía Lomas, Tierra del Fuego, in February 2003, making it 16 years old (Niles et al. unpublished data). Although these records demonstrate that the potential lifespan of a Red Knot is considerable, most live much shorter lives. Annual adult survival in stable populations has been estimated at around 80% and the survival of juveniles is about half that (Boyd and Piersma 2001). Very few knots therefore live for more than about 7 - 8 years. 


Predation

On the breeding grounds in the Canadian Arctic, major predators of nests/eggs include Arctic foxes (Vulpes lagopus) and Long-tailed Jaegers (Stercorarius longicaudus), and sometimes Arctic wolves (Canis lupus arctos); these species, as well as other species of jaegers (Parasitic Jaeger Stercorarius parasiticus, Pomarine Jaeger Stercorarius pomarinus), gulls (Herring Gull Larus argentatus and Glaucous Gull Larus hyperboreus), falcons (Gyrfalcon Falco rusticolus and Peregrine Falcon Falco peregrinus), and owls (Snowy Owl Bubo scandiaca), may take chicks and sometimes adult birds. Predation pressure may vary considerably in different years depending on the abundance of lemmings: in years of high lemming abundance, most of the above predators focus on lemmings as their major prey, whereas in years of low lemming abundance, predators are forced to turn to alternative prey, including shorebirds.  

On migration and wintering areas, the most common predators of Red Knots are large falcons, such as the Peregrine Falcon, harriers, accipiters, smaller falcons such as Merlin (Falco columbarius), owls (Short-eared Owl Asio flammeus), and large gulls (Great Black-backed Gull Larus marinus). Butler et al. (2003) and Ydenberg et al. (2004) have pointed out that the increase of raptor populations over the past several decades has affected the behaviour of small shorebirds, and it is possible that knots are also being affected. For instance, it appears that falcons have influenced shorebird distribution between and within the upper arms of the Bay of Fundy (NSDNR 2004). In addition to increasing the risk of direct predation, the presence of aerial predators has the potential to affect energy budgets of the birds through disturbance and forced additional flight. No information is available on whether raptor predation is a significant pressure on the wintering areas.


Physiology

During the final stopover on northward migration, knots undergo a host of physiological changes (Piersma et al. 1999; Baker et al. 2004). For example, during the middle of the stopover period, their digestive organs tend to increase in size, at a time when they are rapidly laying down fat. Towards the end of their stay, the fat deposition continues, while at the same time the “exercise organs” (or “flight machinery” - heart, flight muscles, fat) that will power the flight increase in size; in contrast, the “digestive organs” and muscles that will be used less or not at all during the flight (the “baggage” - leg muscles, gizzard, gut, liver) actually decrease in size, so that by the time the bird departs, it is adapted for the long flight to the Arctic. Knots arrive on the breeding grounds with stores of fat and protein still remaining. These fat and protein stores are lost at the same time that gut, gizzard, heart (which decreased in size during flight), liver, gonads, etc. are regrown in preparation for the breeding attempt (Morrison et al. 2005). Failure to accumulate the needed stores and to undergo the series of physiological transformations before migration and before breeding appear to have severe survival consequences (Baker et al. 2004; Morrison 2005; see Threats section).


Dispersal/Migration

Rufa undertakes one of the longest migrations of all the knot subspecies, moving from breeding grounds in the central Canadian Arctic to wintering grounds at the southern tip of South America (Morrison 1984). The southern “wintering” areas in Tierra del Fuego and Patagonia are occupied from approximately October to February. Knots are found on migration at the Valdes Peninsula and at San Antonio Oeste on the Patagonian coast of Argentina during March and April, before moving on to Lagoa do Peixe in southern Brazil, where they occur from late March through April. By late April or early May the birds move northwards through Maranhão on the north-central coast of Brazil, and then fly to the eastern seaboard of the US, where they pass up the coast of the Carolinas, Virginia, and Maryland, and into Delaware Bay. Rufa refuel in Delaware Bay in May, departing from the last week of May to early June. Small numbers are found migrating through areas such as Point Pelee National Park and Presqu’ile Provincial Park on the Canadian Great Lakes from around mid-May to early June (McRae 1982; Weir 1989; Morrison and Harrington 1992; V. MacKay pers. comm.). They are observed passing northwards through the southern part of James Bay in the last days of May or early June, and arrive on the breeding grounds in early June (Morrison and Harrington 1992).

The return migration begins in the latter half of July, with adult birds passing through James Bay, the north shore of the St. Lawrence River, and the Maritime Provinces in late July or early August (see references in caption for Figure 7). Passage through the New England coast and areas farther south on the Atlantic coast of the US is somewhat later. Juveniles migrate southwards in August, passing through the east coast of Canada from mid-August to around mid-September. Passage through Suriname (Spaans 1978) is in the second half of August and first half of September for adults, a second peak in October probably referring to juveniles. The birds may move farther east along the north coast of South America, before flying across Amazonia, passing through the Atlantic coast of southern Brazil, Uruguay, and northern Argentina from September onwards. Passage down the coast of Argentina occurs during October, with arrivals on the southern wintering area in that month (Baker et al. 2005b).

Most of the rufa occurring in Tierra del Fuegoare adults; juveniles made up 6% of the population in 2004 (Baker et al. 2005b). Many juveniles are thought to remain in southern areas during their first northern summer, perhaps moving some way towards the breeding grounds, but not completing the full migration (e.g., Belton 1984). Birds in their second year (immatures) are found in Tierra del Fuego; percentages in flocks fell from 19% in 1995 to 10-13% in 2001-2004 (Baker et al. 2005b).

Knots concentrate to a remarkable degree at favoured sites during the winter and on migration. In recent years, 97-98% of rufa knots on the wintering areas occurred in Tierra del Fuego, with about 83% of the population at one site, Bahia Lomas (Morrison et al. 2004, unpublished data). On migration, Gonzalez et al. (1996) estimated that at least 20% of the population passed through San Antonio Oeste (based on a high total population estimate of 125 000 knots: the figure was likely closer to half this, indicating about 40% of the population used this site). In Delaware Bay, Atkinson (2005) recently estimated that about 50% of rufa pass through that area in spring.

Knots appear highly site faithful in all parts of their range. On the wintering grounds, Baker et al. (2005b) reported many recaptures of birds previously banded at Rio Grande at the same place, and many resightings and recaptures of the same (colour marked) individuals have been made at San Antonio Oeste and Delaware Bay (P. Gonzalez, R.I.G. Morrison, A.J. Baker, L.J. Niles unpubl. data). At Alert, many islandica return to the same breeding area from year to year (Morrison et al. 2005, unpublished data), and studies on Southampton Island in 2000-2004 indicate that the same occurs with rufa (Niles et al. 2005).


Interspecific Interactions

Rufa and the Florida/SE US and Maranhão, Brazil populations of C. c. roselaari are dependent on the eggs of the horseshoe crab as their main prey in Delaware Bay and other coastal areas of the US during spring migration.


Adaptability

Given the high site fidelity of knots on their wintering, migration, and breeding areas, it is difficult to predict whether they would adapt readily to new or different areas under changing environmental conditions, even if such areas were available. The fact that knots have declined rapidly in the face of decreasing food resources in Delaware Bay suggests that they have not successfully been able to find alternative foods or foraging areas to meet their requirements on northward migration. Knots show many specializations in life history and physiology (Piersma and Baker 2000; and see Physiology section), and their traits of low fecundity (clutch size ≤4 eggs, high nest failure, only one brood per year), delayed maturity, and high annual survival (70 - 90%) (Sandercock 2003) would appear to make them vulnerable to rapid environmental change. Knots have very low genetic variability and it is not known if this may imply reduced behavioural plasticity and a greater susceptibility to environmental perturbations (Baker et al. 1994; Piersma and Baker 2000).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bécasseau maubèche au Canada

Biologie

L’information présentée dans la présente section est principalement tirée du compte rendu sur l’espèce figurant dans The Birds of North America (Harrington, 2001) et du document états-unien d’évaluation de la situation de l’espèce intitulé Status of the Red Knot (Calidris canutus rufa) in the Western Hemisphere (Niles et al., 2005).


Cycle vital et reproduction

Reproduction

Le Bécasseau maubèche est monogame. La ponte survient après une période de réorganisation physiologique, les œufs étant formés à partir des ressources alimentaires locales plutôt qu’à partir des réserves corporelles accumulées dans les haltes migratoires (Morrison et Hobson, 2004). Les couples se forment rapidement après l’arrivée et demeurent réunis jusque peu après l’éclosion des œufs. Les Bécasseaux maubèches commencent généralement à se reproduire à l’âge de deux ans. L’accouplement se fait dans les lieux de nidification. Les couvées sont de quatre œufs, parfois trois. Normalement, une seule couvée est produite par année. Les nids sont de simples dépressions aménagées au sol, habituellement dans de petites touffes de végétation, et peuvent être garnis de lichens et d’autres éléments végétaux. L’incubation dure 22 jours et est partagée par le mâle et la femelle. Les territoires sont grands (d’où les faibles densités de nids), les nids étant largement séparés les uns des autres (par des distances d’habituellement 0,75 à 1 km). Les oiseaux défendent leur territoire contre leurs congénères, mais, quand ils ne sont pas en train de le faire, ils sont portés à aller s’alimenter à l’extérieur de leur territoire dans des aires d’alimentation commune. Les Bécasseaux maubèches retournent souvent dans le même secteur pour nicher d’année en année, mais les précisions de la fidélité au site et au partenaire sont peu connues. La femelle part quelques jours après l’éclosion, laissant le mâle s’occuper des petits; les jeunes prennent leur envol vers l’âge de 18 jours. L’éclosion a lieu dans la première moitié de juillet. Les petits quittent le nid dans leurs premières 24 heures, et, dès qu’ils sont mobiles (soit à moins de 1 ou 2 jours), ils parcourent ensemble de grandes distances (plusieurs kilomètres ou plus) dans la toundra. Après l’envol des jeunes, les mâles adultes partent, suivis des jeunes 1 à 3 semaines plus tard. Le succès de la nidification peut varier considérablement d’année en année, selon les conditions météorologiques et les cycles des prédateurs.

Migration et hivernage

En dehors de la saison de reproduction, les Bécasseaux maubèches se rassemblent en grandes bandes dans les haltes migratoires et les quartiers d’hiver, s’alimentant dans les zones côtières intertidales et se reposant sur les plages et dans les marais ou les champs voisins, là où ils peuvent trouver des habitats ouverts non perturbés. Les juvéniles n’atteignent pas tous les régions les plus méridionales de l’aire d’hivernage (Baker et al., 2004; idem, 2005b). Des immatures qui sont dans leur deuxième année sont observés dans les principaux quartiers d’hiver et ils remontent vers le nord pour nicher à l’âge de deux ans.

Longévité et survie

Le plus vieux Bécasseau maubèche connu (C. c. islandica) a été originellement bagué à la baie The Wash, dans le sud-est de l’Angleterre, en août 1968 à l’âge adulte, puis recapturé au même endroit en septembre 1992 (Wash Wader Ringing Group, 2005). Comme il ne pouvait avoir éclos au-delà de juillet 1967, il avait au moins 25 ans au moment de sa recapture. Un oiseau de la sous-espèce islandica a niché près d’Alert, sur la côte nord de l’île d’Ellesmere, au moins de 1992 à 2002, soit durant au moins 11 ans (R.I.G. Morrison, données inédites). Le plus vieux rufa connu a été originellement bagué au stade juvénile à Punta Rasa, en Argentine, en octobre 1987, puis recapturé dans les quartiers d’hiver de Bahía Lomas, dans la Terre de Feu, en février 2003, soit à l’âge de 16 ans (Niles et al., données inédites). Ces records montrent que les Bécasseaux maubèches peuvent atteindre un âge vénérable, mais la plupart vivent beaucoup moins longtemps. Le taux de survie annuel des adultes dans les populations stables a été estimé à environ 80 p. 100, et celui des juvéniles est d’environ la moitié (Boyd et Piersma, 2001). On peut en conclure que très peu de Bécasseaux maubèches vivent plus d’environ 7 ou 8 ans. 


Prédation

Dans les lieux de nidification de l’Arctique canadien, les principaux prédateurs des nids et des œufs comprennent le renard arctique (Vulpes lagopus), le Labbe à longue queue (Stercorarius longicaudus), et, parfois, le loup gris de l’Arctique (Canis lupus arctos); ces espèces, et d’autres espèces de labbes (Labbe parasite [Stercorarius parasiticus] et Labbe pomarin [Stercorarius pomarinus]), des goélands (Goéland argenté [Larus argentatus] et Goéland bourgmestre [Larus hyperboreus]), des faucons (Faucon gerfaut [Falco rusticolus] et Faucon pèlerin [Falco peregrinus]), et des hiboux (Harfang des neiges [Bubo scandiaca]), peuvent prélever des oisillons et, parfois, des adultes. La pression de prédation peut varier considérablement au fil des ans, selon l’abondance de lemmings : quand ce petit mammifère est très abondant, la plupart des prédateurs susmentionnés en font leur principale proie, mais, quand il est peu abondant, les prédateurs doivent se tourner vers d’autres proies, dont des oiseaux de rivage.

Durant la migration et l’hivernage, les prédateurs du Bécasseau maubèche les plus communs sont de gros faucons (p. ex. le Faucon pèlerin), de petits faucons (p. ex. le Faucon émerillon [Falco columbarius]), des Accipitridés (busards et éperviers), des hiboux (Hibou des marais [Asio flammeus]), et de gros goélands (Goéland marin [Larus marinus]). Butler et al. (2003) et Ydenberg et al. (2004) ont fait remarquer que la hausse des populations de rapaces au cours des dernières décennies a affecté le comportement des petits oiseaux de rivage; il est possible que les Bécasseaux maubèches soient aussi affectés. Par exemple, il semble que les faucons aient influé sur la répartition des oiseaux de rivage entre les deux prolongements du fond de la baie de Fundy et à l’intérieur de chacun d’entre eux (NSDNR, 2004). En plus d’accroître le risque de prédation directe, la présence de prédateurs aviens peut affecter les bilans énergétiques des oiseaux de rivage en les perturbant et en les forçant à voler davantage. On ne dispose d’aucune information concernant l’importance de la prédation par les rapaces dans les lieux d’hivernage.


Physiologie

Durant la dernière halte de leur migration vers le nord, les Bécasseaux maubèches connaissent un ensemble de changements physiologiques (Piersma et al., 1999; Baker et al., 2004). Par exemple, au milieu de cette halte, la taille de leurs organes digestifs s’accroît, à un moment où ils accumulent rapidement des réserves de graisses. Vers la fin de la halte, l’accumulation de graisses se poursuit, tandis que les parties du corps associées à l’activité de vol (le cœur, les muscles du vol et la graisse) augmentent aussi de volume; par contre, les organes digestifs et les muscles qui seront moins ou pas du tout utilisés durant le vol (les « bagages » – les muscles des pattes, le gésier, l’intestin, le foie) perdent du volume, de sorte que, au moment de leur départ, les oiseaux se trouvent bien adaptés au long voyage vers l’Arctique. Les oiseaux arrivent aux lieux de reproduction avec encore des réserves de graisses et de protéines. Ces réserves sont perdues au moment où l’intestin, le gésier, le cœur (dont la taille a diminué durant le vol), le foie, les gonades, etc. se remettent à croître en préparation pour la tentative de reproduction (Morrison et al., 2005). Si les oiseaux ne parviennent pas à accumuler les réserves nécessaires et à passer par la série de transformations physiologiques avant la migration et avant la reproduction, leur survie peut s’en trouver gravement compromise (Baker et al., 2004; Morrison, 2005; voir la section sur les menaces).


Déplacement et dispersion

La sous-espèce rufa effectue l’une des plus longues migrations parmi celles des sous-espèces du Bécasseau maubèche, passant de ses lieux de reproduction du centre de l’Arctique canadien à ses quartiers d’hiver situés aux confins méridionaux de l’Amérique du Sud (Morrison, 1984). Les lieux d’hivernage méridionaux de la Terre de Feu et de Patagonie sont occupés d’environ octobre à février. Durant la migration vers le nord, les oiseaux sont présents à la péninsule Valdès et à San Antonio Oeste, sur la côte patagonienne de l’Argentine, en mars et en avril, puis gagnent Lagoa do Peixe, dans le sud du Brésil, où ils font halte à la fin de mars et en avril. Vers la fin d’avril ou le début de mai, ils poursuivent leur route vers le nord en traversant le Maranhão, le long de la partie centrale de la côte nord du Brésil, puis s’envolent vers le littoral oriental des États-Unis, où ils remontent la côte des Carolines, de la Virginie et du Maryland pour atteindre la baie du Delaware. Le rufa reprend des forces dans cette baie en mai, puis la quitte entre la dernière semaine de mai et le début de juin. De faibles effectifs sont observés à des endroits comme le parc provincial de la Pointe-Pelée et le parc provincial Presqu’île, dans la partie canadienne des Grands Lacs, d’environ la mi-mai jusqu’au début de juin (McRae, 1982; Weir, 1989; Morrison et Harrington, 1992; V. MacKay, comm. pers.). Les oiseaux traversent la partie sud de la baie James dans les derniers jours de mai ou au début de juin, et ils arrivent dans les lieux de reproduction au début de juin (Morrison et Harrington, 1992).

La migration de retour vers le sud commence dans la deuxième moitié de juillet, les oiseaux passant par la baie James, la rive nord du Saint-Laurent, et les provinces Maritimes à la fin de juillet ou au début d’août (voir les références dans la légende de la figure 7). Le passage le long du littoral de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et dans les régions plus méridionales de la côte atlantique des États-Unis se fait un peu plus tard. Les juvéniles, qui migrent vers le sud en août, passent sur la côte est du Canada de la mi-août à environ la mi-septembre. La traversée du Suriname (Spaans, 1978) a lieu dans la deuxième moitié d’août et la première moitié de septembre pour ce qui est des adultes, avec une deuxième affluence en octobre, probablement attribuable aux juvéniles. À partir de septembre, les oiseaux peuvent longer vers l’est la côte nord de l’Amérique du Sud avant de traverser l’Amazonie pour gagner la côte du Brésil méridional, de l’Uruguay et de l’Argentine septentrionale. La descente de la côte argentine a lieu en octobre, mois durant lequel arrivent aussi les premiers oiseaux dans les lieux d’hivernage méridionaux (Baker et al., 2005b).

La plupart des rufa qui fréquentent la Terre de Feu sont des adultes; en 2004, les juvéniles ne constituaient que 6 p. 100 de la population (Baker et al., 2005b). On pense que de nombreux juvéniles demeurent dans les régions méridionales durant ce qui serait autrement leur premier été nordique, entamant peut-être une partie du chemin vers les lieux de reproduction sans accomplir la migration entière (voir par exemple Belton,1984). Des oiseaux se trouvant dans leur deuxième année (immatures) sont observés dans la Terre de Feu; les pourcentages dans les bandes sont tombés de 19 p. 100 en 1995 à 10 à 13 p. 100 entre 2001 et 2004 (Baker et al., 2005b).

Les Bécasseaux maubèches se rassemblent à un degré remarquable dans leurs sites préférés durant l’hiver et au cours de leurs migrations. Ces dernières années, 97 ou 98 p. 100 des rufa hivernants se trouvaient réunis dans la Terre de Feu, environ 83 p. 100 de la population occupant un seul et même lieu, soit Bahia Lomas (Morrison et al., 2004, données inédites). Durant la migration, Gonzalez et al. (1996) ont estimé qu’au moins 20 p. 100 de la population est passée par San Antonio Oeste (sur la base d’une estimation de la population totale de 125 000 oiseaux, sans doute excessive; la population comptait probablement deux fois moins d’individus, d’où une fréquentation du site de San Antonio Oeste par environ 40 p. 100 de la population). Par ailleurs, Atkinson (2005) a récemment estimé qu’environ 50 p. 100 des rufa passent par la baie du Delaware au printemps.

Les Bécasseaux maubèches semblent très fidèles à leurs sites dans toutes les parties de leur aire de répartition. Dans les lieux d’hivernage, Baker et al. (2005b) ont signalé de nombreuses recaptures d’oiseaux, d’abord bagués à Rio Grande, au même endroit, et de nombreuses réobservations et recaptures des mêmes individus (marques colorées) ont été faites à San Antonio Oeste et dans la baie du Delaware (P. Gonzalez, R.I.G. Morrison, A.J. Baker, L.J. Niles, données inédites). À Alert, de nombreux islandica retournent au même lieu de nidification d’une année à l’autre (Morrison et al., 2005, données inédites), et des études réalisées à l’île Southampton entre 2000 et 2004 révèlent le même phénomène chez le rufa (Niles et al., 2005).


Relations interspécifiques

Le rufa et les populations de roselaari de la Floride et du sud-est des États-Unis ainsi que du Maranhão s’alimentent principalement d’œufs de limule dans la baie du Delaware et d’autres zones littorales des États-Unis durant la migration printanière.


Adaptabilité

Étant donné la grande fidélité des Bécasseaux maubèches à leurs lieux d’hivernage et de reproduction et à leurs haltes migratoires, il est difficile de prévoir s’ils s’adapteraient facilement à des endroits nouveaux ou différents par suite de changements des conditions environnementales. La baisse rapide du nombre de Bécasseaux maubèches associée à la diminution de leurs ressources alimentaires habituelles dans la baie du Delaware laisse penser que les oiseaux n’ont pu se tourner efficacement vers des aliments de remplacement ou de nouveaux lieux d’alimentation pour satisfaire leurs besoins durant la migration vers le nord. Le cycle vital et la physiologie de ces oiseaux comptent de nombreuses spécialisations (Piersma et Baker, 2000; voir aussi la section « Physiologie »), et leur faible fécondité (couvées de quatre œufs ou moins, taux élevé d’échec des nids, une seule couvée par année), leur maturité tardive et leur fort taux annuel de survie (de 70 à 90 p. 100) (Sandercock, 2003) devraient les rendre vulnérables aux changements environnementaux rapides. De plus, l’espèce montre une très faible variabilité génétique, et on ne sait pas s’il en découle une plasticité comportementale réduite et une plus grande vulnérabilité aux perturbations environnementales (Baker et al., 1994; Piersma et Baker, 2000).