Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Consultation workbook Bottlenose Whale

Species Information

Northern bottlenose whale – Scotian Shelf Population

The northern bottlenose whale is a 6-9 m long member of the beaked whale family. A bulbous or melon-like forehead rises abruptly from the short beak in adult females; in young and older males the forehead is less prominent and appears flat. The whale is variable in colour, ranging from blackish in young animals, to light brown in older animals, to yellowish brown or grey (with whitish beaks and heads) in very old males. The small dorsal fin is situated about two-thirds of the length of the body from the nose.  Adult females give birth once every two years after a gestation period of one year.

The northern bottlenose whale is found only in the North Atlantic. In the areas where they are found, the water is deeper than 800 metres and they are rarely seen in shallower areas.  Although there have been few systematic marine mammal surveys in the offshore waters of Atlantic Canada, there are several known centres of abundance, two of which are found off Canada – the edge of the Scotian Shelf and the Davis Strait. The Scotian Shelf population is described as largely or totally distinct from the Labrador population.  For example, the whales of the Scotian Shelf population are approximately 0.7 m shorter than the population seen off northern Labrador. At the edge of the Scotian Shelf, the whales have been seen regularly in three submarine canyons: the Gully, Shortland Canyon, and Haldimand Canyon.  These areas are described as the “primary habitat” of the whales with year-round observations.  The Scotian Shelf represents the most southerly location where the whales are seen regularly in the North Atlantic.

Bottlenose whales feed primarily on deep-living squid from the genus Gonatus. These squid appear to be the most important component of their diet, but the whales also feed on other animals.  Northern bottlenose whales observed in the Gully appear to spend most of their time at great depths foraging for food.

Once whales dive deeper than the reach of sunlight, vision is of little use for navigation.  Bottlenose whales have highly developed vocalizing and hearing abilities that permit them to communicate, navigate, and locate prey in canyons and other deep areas.

Northern bottlenose whales are social animals.  They are most frequently seen in small groups of up to four whales and occasionally in larger groups of up to twenty whales.  They are curious animals who may investigate slow-moving or stationary vessels.

COSEWIC assessment

COSEWIC provides the following rationale for designating the Scotian Shelf population of the northern bottlenose whale as endangered:

This population totals about 130 individuals and appears to be currently stable. Oil and gas development in and around the prime habitat of this population poses the greatest threat and will likely reduce the quality of their habitat. However, there is little information as to how this species is, or is not, affected by oil and gas development activities.

Threats to the northern bottlenose whale – Scotian Shelf Population

The Scotian Shelf population of northern bottlenose whales was targeted by whalers in the 1960s. This whaling effort is thought to have led to a decline in the population size.

 Current threats to the northern bottlenose whale are poorly understood. However, because of the small size of the population, even activities that may impact only one or two whales each year may pose a threat to the overall health of the population.

Noise

 There are a variety of potential sources of anthropogenic noise in the marine waters of the Scotian Shelf that produce underwater sounds within the frequency range detectable by northern bottlenose whales.  These include commercial shipping, hydrocarbon exploration and development, military activity, underwater detonations, fishing, and research.  Based on the global experience with other marine mammals, responses to high levels of anthropogenic noise are mixed and may include habituation, behavioural changes (including displacement), temporary or permanent hearing impairment, and mortality.  Evidence of these impacts on marine mammals in the wild is lacking.  Other species of beaked whales have experienced harmful effects from loud noise, suggesting that the northern bottlenose whale may be particularly susceptible.  The cumulative effects of multiple noise exposure may have long-term population-level effects for marine mammals such as the northern bottlenose whale.

Seismic exploration

The oil and gas industry uses compressed air guns that emit sound pulses to map areas of subsea hydrocarbon deposits.  Research geologists also use airgun technology to study the seabed.  The behavioural and physical responses of northern bottlenose whales to airgun sounds are not understood, but seismic surveys are thought to be a threat to this species.  For example, surveys could cause the displacement of northern bottlenose whales from preferred habitat.  The likelihood and severity of biological effects that might result from being exposed to seismic sounds are thought to vary with the duration and intensity of exposure.  In recent years, seismic exploration has occurred near the whale’s “primary habitat”, with the potential for future activities in or near these areas.

Noise is also created by oil and gas exploratory drilling and production activities, with unknown impacts on the northern bottlenose whale.

Sonars

Sonars have been developed for military, research, and commercial purposes (e.g., fish-finding).  Strandings and deaths of several species of beaked whales after the use of military sonars have been reported in other parts of the world in recent years.  The precise mechanisms that might cause such strandings are unknown, but it has been suggested that sonars may cause disorientation after which the whales surface too quickly.

Explosives

Explosives, such as those used in well-severance and other underwater demolition operations, can cause physiological damage to whales and other marine life close to the source.  Hearing damage is a concern for whales that use sound to navigate or to find food.  Explosions that occur at a distance may change the behaviour of whales.

Commercial shipping

The propellers of large commercial vessels can produce relatively high levels of underwater sound.  This sound may disturb the northern bottlenose whales resulting in displacement or reduced feeding efficiency until the vessel moves away.

Entanglement in Fishing Gear

A small number of northern bottlenose whales have been seen entangled or interacting with fishing gear. In addition, there have been observations of scars and marks on the beaks and backs of this species that are similar to entanglement marks on other whale species.  These marks suggest that interactions, particularly with gear that deploy lines, may happen more frequently than has been observed.

Ship Strikes

Many vessels transit areas occupied by northern bottlenose whales.  Ship strikes are a source of injury and death for some species of endangered and threatened whales and may be a threat to this species as well.  There are some scars or marks on the whales that may be due to interactions with vessels, but there have been no reported cases of injury or death.

Contaminants

Increased levels of contaminants in areas typically frequented by whales can lead to elevated levels of organo-chlorine and heavy metal contaminants in their body tissues.  High levels of contaminants due to industrial development have negatively affected the health of some whale populations in Canada, for example, the beluga whale population in the St. Lawrence River. However, there is no published information specific to contaminants in northern bottlenose whales.

Concerns have been raised about the potential for contaminants from activities such as oil and gas installations and shipping traffic affecting northern bottlenose whales.  Ingestion of marine debris, such as plastics, has also been identified as a potential concern.

Protecting the northern bottlenose whale – Scotian Shelf population

The Marine Mammal Regulations (SOR 93-56) of the Fisheries Act govern many aspects of the management of the northern bottlenose whale.

 Several additional management measures are already in place to protect this species. In 1994, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans designated a "Whale Sanctuary" in the Gully for the northern bottlenose whale in the Canadian Notices to Mariners, providing guidelines for all marine vessels operating in the area.

In the mid-1990s, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans began consultations and studies to evaluate a marine protected area for the Gully.  Interim protection was put in place at that time, including restrictions on petroleum activities in the area.  As well, enhanced environmental assessment requirements for activities potentially affecting northern bottlenose whales were put in place to identify and minimize potential impacts.

Some oil and gas operators have instituted their own “Codes of Practice”for the Gully in order to minimize operational impacts on the whales.

In May 2004, the Gully was designated a Marine Protected Area (MPA) under the Oceans Act.  The regulations limit the type of activities permitted in the Gully.  The MPA provides full ecosystem protection in the central portion of the canyon, an area of known importance to the northern bottlenose whale.  No extractive activities are permitted in this portion of the MPA, but research activities may be approved.

Potential Impacts on Stakeholders

Once added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, the Scotian Shelf population of the northern bottlenose whale will be protected.  If particular activities are assessed to be a threat to the survival and recovery of a listed species, management measures will be put in place to limit those activities and ensure the protection of species at risk.

 These measures may lead to a variety of impacts on stakeholders, including additional costs.  The following list is not exhaustive, and would be developed further during the recovery planning process in consultation with other government departments and the public.  Please use this consultation as an opportunity to comment on omissions.

Aboriginal

Aboriginal peoples will be invited to participate in the development of a recovery strategy for the northern bottlenose whale.  Management strategies that could affect aboriginal people fishing for commercial species inareas inhabited by northern bottlenose whales may be considered.

Fishing Industry

 If a particular fishing activity is identified to be a threat to the survival and recovery of a listed species, management measures will be taken to address the threat.  These measures could include increased observer coverage in certain areas, closed areas, gear modifications, or other measures developed in collaboration with industry that will help prevent and minimize the effects of potential entanglements and interactions.

Oil and Gas Industry

Certain oil and gas activities, such as seismic exploration activity, have been identified as potential threats to the recovery of this species.  Such activities will be reviewed and may be restricted in areas defined as critical habitat (if and when identified).  The recovery process could identify a range of operational requirements and guidelines for exploration.  These guidelines might include time and area exclusions, requirements for marine mammal observers, and other measures deemed appropriate.  Proposed oil and gas activities that fall under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA) will need to address the impacts on SARA listed species in accordance with this legislation.

Military Operations

 Maritime Forces Atlantic may be asked to prepare guidelines for exercises or underwater site remediation in areas of northern bottlenose whale habitat.  They may be asked to refrain from undertaking specific types of exercises in these areas or in areas that could impinge on critical habitat (if and when identified).  As identified in SARA, these requirements would be waived in emergencies or if national security were affected.

Research Activity

Those wishing to carry out research on the northern bottlenose whale or in areas of their critical habitat (if and when identified) will be required to comply with strict guidelines.  This may limit the types and/or durations of research permitted and may lengthen the preparation time required for planning research projects.  All research activity will be subject to a rigorous review process.  Research activities in the Gully require additional approvals under the MPA regulations.

Marine Transport

The marine transport industry and regulators may be asked to develop guidelines for vessel traffic, similar to those currently in place for the Gully.  The industry may be asked to monitor and report on their activities in northern bottlenose whale areas.

Eco-tourism/Whale Watching

Although ecotourism activities in the offshore have been limited to date, there may be future interest in regularly visiting areas frequented by northern bottlenose whales.  This activity may require specific guidelines or may be restricted or limited in areas identified as critical habitat.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Cahier de consultation de la baleine à bec commune

Information sur l'espèce

Baleine à bec commune – population du plateau néo-écossais

La baleine à bec commune est un animal de 6 à 9 mètres de long qui appartient à la famille des baleines à bec. Chez la femelle adulte, le front bulbeux s'amorce abruptement à partir du bec court; chez les mâles, jeunes ou vieux, le front est moins protubérant et paraît plat. La couleur de la baleine à bec commune varie, allant d’une teinte noirâtre chez les jeunes, au brun clair chez les individus plus vieux et au brun jaunâtre ou au gris (avec du blanc au niveau du bec et de la tête) chez les mâles d'âge très avancé. La petite nageoire dorsale se situe à peu près aux deux-tiers de la longueur du corps. Les femelles adultes mettent bas tous les deux ans, au terme d’une gestation d’un an.

La baleine commune n’est présente que dans le nord de l’océan Atlantique, où on la trouve rarement à des profondeurs de moins de 800 mètres. Bien qu’il y ait peu de relevés systématiques des mammifères marins dans les eaux au large de la côte du Canada atlantique, on sait que ces animaux se concentrent dans plusieurs zones, dont deux sont situées au large du Canada, soit le bord du plateau néo-écossais et le détroit de Davis.  La population du plateau néo-écossais est décrite comme étant largement ou entièrement distincte de celle du Labrador.  Ainsi, les baleines du plateau néo-écossais ont environ 0,7 m de moins en longueur que celle de la population du nord du Labrador. Sur le bord du plateau néo-écossais, des baleines à bec ont été observées régulièrement dans trois canyons sous-marins : le Gully et les canyons Shortland et Haldimand.  Ces zones représentent l’« habitat principal » des baleines à bec et on les y observe à l’année longue. Le plateau néo-écossais représente la limite méridionale des eaux où l’on retrouve régulièrement  la baleine à bec commune dans l’Atlantique Nord.

La baleine à bec commune se nourrit principalement de calmars des grandes profondeurs du genre Gonatus. Le calmar semble représenter l’essentiel de son alimentation, quoiqu’elle mange aussi d’autres animaux. Les baleines à bec communes observées dans le Gully passent apparemment la plupart de leur temps à de grandes profondeurs en quête de nourriture. 

Une fois qu’elles ont plongé à des profondeurs que n’atteint pas la lumière du soleil, la vision est d’une piètre utilité aux baleines à bec communes pour naviguer. Elles possèdent, toutefois, des facultés vocales et auditives très développées, qui leur permettent de communiquer, de naviguer et de repérer leurs proies dans les canyons et autres zones profondes.

La baleine à bec commune est un animal social. On la voit le plus souvent en petits groupes réunissant tout au plus quatre individus et, à l’occasion, en grandes concentrations comptant jusqu’à vingt individus. C’est un animal curieux, qui peut s’approcher pour examiner les navires lents ou immobiles. 

Évaluation du COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC justifie ainsi la désignation de la baleine à bec commune comme espèce en voie de disparition :

Cette population compte environ 130 individus et semble stable à l'heure actuelle. Les exploitations pétrolières et gazières à l'intérieur et autour de l'habitat principal de cette population représentent les plus grandes menaces et réduiront probablement la qualité de l'habitat. Cependant, il existe peu de renseignements sur la façon dont l'espèce est touchée ou non par les activités de l'exploitation pétrolière et gazière.

Menaces qui pèsent contre la baleine à bec commune - population du plateau néo-écossais

La population de baleines à bec communes du plateau néo-écossais a été ciblée par les chasseurs de baleine dans les années 1960, ce qui aurait occasionné un déclin de la population.

On connaît mal les menaces auxquelles est exposée actuellement la baleine à bec commune. Toutefois, compte tenu du faible effectif de sa population, toute activité qui risque de nuire ne serait-ce qu’à un ou deux de ses individus représente une menace pour l’ensemble de la population.  

Le bruit

 Il y a dans les eaux du plateau néo-écossais diverses activités anthropiques qui produisent des bruits sous-marins se situant dans la gamme des fréquences perceptibles par la baleine à bec commune. C’est le cas de la navigation commerciale, de la prospection et de la  mise en valeur du pétrole et du gaz, des opérations militaires, des détonations sous-marines, de la pêche et de la recherche scientifique. D’après des expériences réalisées ailleurs dans le monde avec d’autres mammifères marins, la réaction à de hauts niveaux de bruits anthropiques varie et peut comprendre l’accoutumance, des changements de comportement (dont le déplacement), une perte auditive temporaire ou permanente et la mort. Ces effets sur les mammifères marins retrouvés dans la nature sont mal documentés. On sait, toutefois, que d’autres espèces de baleine à bec ont subi des effets néfastes dûs à des bruits puissants, ce qui donne à croire que la baleine à bec commune pourrait, elle aussi, être particulièrement vulnérable à cet égard. Les effets cumulés d’une exposition à des bruits multiples pourraient nuire à long terme à une population de mammifères marins comme celle de la baleine à bec commune.

Prospection sismique

L’industrie du pétrole et du gaz utilise des canons à air comprimé émettant des pulsations sonores pour détecter les gisements d’hydrocarbures sous-marins. Les géologues recourent aussi à des canons à air pour étudier le fond marin. On ne sait pas quelles sont les réactions physiques et comportementales de la baleine à bec commune au bruit de ces canons, mais on pense que les relevés sismiques sont une menace pour l’espèce. Ils pourraient, par exemple, provoquer l’éloignement des baleines à bec communes de leur habitat de prédilection. La probabilité d’effets biologiques découlant de l’exposition à des bruits sismiques et la gravité de tels effets varieraient, croit-on, selon la durée et l’intensité de l’exposition. Ces dernières années, il y a eu des activités de prospection sismique près de « l’habitat principal » de la baleine, et il se pourrait que de telles activités se poursuivent à l’avenir dans ces zones ou près d’elles.

Le forage exploratoire et la production de pétrole et de gaz sont aussi source de bruit, mais on n’en connaît pas les effets sur la baleine à bec commune. 

Sonars

Les sonars ont été conçus à des fins militaires, scientifiques et commerciales (p. ex. pour détecter les bancs de poisson). Ailleurs dans le monde, on a signalé ces dernières années des cas d’échouage et de mortalité chez plusieurs espèces de baleine à bec après l’utilisation de sonars militaires. On ne sait pas quels sont les mécanismes précis qui peuvent causer l’échouage de ces animaux, mais, de l’avis de certains, les sonars pourraient provoquer chez les baleines une désorientation qui les amèneraient à remonter à la surface trop rapidement.

Explosifs

Les explosifs, tels que ceux qui sont utilisés pour creuser les puits et pour d’autres opérations sous-marines de démolition, peuvent causer des dommages physiologiques aux baleines et aux organismes marins proches de la source de l’explosion. Les dommages auditifs représentent un problème dans le cas des baleines qui utilisent les sons pour naviguer ou rechercher leur nourriture. Quant aux explosions distantes, elles risquent de provoquer des changements dans le comportement des baleines.

Navigation commerciale

Les hélices des grands navires commerciaux peuvent produire des sons relativement forts. Ceux-ci risquent de perturber les baleines à bec communes et d’occasionner leur éloignement ou encore de réduire l’efficacité de leur quête de nourriture tant que les navires d’où ils émanent sont dans les alentours.

Empêtrement dans des engins de pêche

Un petit nombre debaleines à bec communes ont été trouvées empêtrées dans des engins de pêche ou vues en train d’interagir avec des engins de pêche. De plus, on a observé sur le bec et le dos de baleines à bec communes des cicatrices et marques qui ressemblent à celles qu’occasionne chez d’autres baleines l’empêtrement dans des engins de pêche. Ces marques donnent à croire que les interactions avec les engins, en particulier avec ceux comportant des lignes, sont peut-être plus fréquentes que ce qu’on a pu observer jusqu’ici.

Collisions avec des navires

De nombreux navires traversent les zones fréquentées par les baleines à bec communes. Les collisions avec les navires sont une source de blessure et de mortalité chez certaines espèces de baleine en voie de disparition ou menacées et elles pourraient l’être aussi pour la baleine à bec commune. Certaines des cicatrices ou marques que portent ces baleines peuvent avoir été causées par des collisions avec des navires, mais aucun cas de blessure ou de mortalité n’a été signalé.

Contaminants

Une hausse des concentrations de contaminants dans les eaux généralement fréquentées par les baleines peut se traduire par une teneur accrue en substances organochlorées et en métaux lourds dans les tissus de ces baleines.  Les fortes concentrations de contaminants associées au développement industriel ont eu une influence négative sur la santé de certaines populations de baleines au Canada, par exemple la population de bélugas du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Toutefois, il n’y a pas d’information publiée concernant spécifiquement les contaminants chez la baleine à bec commune.

On s’est inquiété de ce que les éventuels contaminants qui émaneraient des installations pétrolières et gazières et du trafic maritime puissent avoir des effets sur les baleines à bec communes.  L’ingestion de débris marins, comme le plastique, peut aussi être source d’inquiétude.

Protection de la baleine à bec commune (population du plateau néo-écossais)

Le Règlement sur les mammifères marins (DORS 93-56) découlant de la Loi sur les pêches régit de nombreux aspects de la gestion de la baleine à bec commune.

Plusieurs autres mesures de gestion protégeant cette espèce sont aussi en place. Ainsi, en 1994, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans a désigné le Gully comme étant une « réserve naturelle » pour la baleine à bec commune dans les Avis aux navigateurs et fourni des directives connexes à l’intention de tous les navires évoluant dans cette zone. 

Au milieu des années 1990, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans a entrepris des consultations et des études visant la désignation du Gully comme zone de protection marine.  Des mesures provisoires de protection ont été prises alors, notamment des restrictions sur les activités pétrolières dans la région. De plus, des exigences accrues en matière d’évaluation environnementale ont été instaurées dans le but de cerner et de réduire les effets éventuels des activités susceptibles de toucher les baleines à bec communes.

Certaines entreprises pétrolières et gazières ont établi leur propre code de bonne pratique en vue de réduire les effets de leurs activités sur les baleines du Gully.

En mai 2004, le Gully a été désigné zone de protection marine (ZPM) aux termes de la Loi sur les océans. Le règlement connexe limite le genre d’activités permises dans le Gully. La désignation comme ZPM permet de protéger pleinement l’écosystème de la partie centrale du canyon, zone connue comme étant importante pour la baleine à bec commune. Aucune activité d’extraction n’est permise dans cette partie de la ZPM, mais des activités scientifiques peuvent y être autorisées.

Conséquences possibles pour les intervenants

Une fois ajoutée à la liste des espèces en péril, la population de baleines à bec communes du plateau néo-écossais sera protégée. Si certaines activités sont jugées menaçantes pour la survie et le rétablissement d’une espèce figurant sur la liste, des mesures de gestion seront prises pour limiter ces activités et voir à la protection des espèces en péril.

Les mesures précitées sont susceptibles d’avoir des répercussions diverses sur les intervenants, notamment d’entraîner pour eux des frais supplémentaires. La liste suivante n’est pas exhaustive et elle est susceptible d’être étoffée pendant le processus de planification du rétablissement, en consultation avec d’autres ministères et le public. Nous vous invitons à profiter de la présente consultation pour signaler les omissions qu’elle comporte.

Autochtones

 Les peuples autochtones seront invités à participer à l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement de la baleine à bec commune. Des stratégies de gestion pourraient être envisagées, qui auraient des répercussions sur les peuples autochtones pêchant des espèces commerciales dans des eaux fréquentées par la baleine à bec commune.

Industrie de la pêche

 Si une activité de pêche particulière est jugée menaçante pour la survie et le rétablissement d’une espèce inscrite sur la liste, des mesures de gestion seront prises pour éliminer la menace. Il pourrait notamment s’agir d’accroître la présence d’observateurs dans certaines zones, de fermer des zones à la pêche, de faire modifier les engins ou d’adopter d’autres mesures élaborées en collaboration avec l’industrie pour éliminer ou réduire les cas éventuels  d’empêtrement dans des engins de pêche ou l’interaction avec ces derniers.

 Industrie du pétrole et du gaz

 Certaines activités de l’industrie du pétrole et du gaz, comme la prospection sismique, sont considérées comme des menaces possibles pour le rétablissement de la baleine à bec commune. Après examen, ces activités pourraient être interdites dans les zones considérées comme faisant partie de l’habitat essentiel (si celui-ci a été défini). Le processus de rétablissement pourrait aboutir à diverses exigences opérationnelles et lignes directrices concernant les activités de prospection. Ces lignes directrices pourraient notamment prévoir des zones et des périodes d’exclusion, l’obligation d’avoir des observateurs des mammifères marins ou toute autre mesure jugée pertinente. Les projets d’activités pétrolières et gazières visés par la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (LCEE) devront, conformément à cette loi, tenir compte des effets de ces activités sur les espèces inscrites sur la liste de la LEP.

Activités militaires

 Il est possible qu’on demande aux Forces maritimes de l’Atlantique d’établir des lignes directrices pour leurs exercices et pour la restauration du milieu sous-marin dans les eaux faisant partie de l’habitat de la baleine à bec commune. Il se pourrait aussi qu’on leur demande de ne pas procéder à certains types d’exercice dans les secteurs où ils risqueraient d’empiéter sur l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce (si celui-ci a été défini). Tel qu’il est indiqué dans la LEP, ces exigences pourraient être levées en cas d’urgence ou pour des motifs de sécurité nationale.

Activités scientifiques

Il est possible que les personnes qui veulent effectuer des recherches sur les baleines à bec communes ou dans les zones faisant partie de leur habitat essentiel aient à se conformer à des lignes directrices plus strictes. Il pourrait s’agir de limiter encore davantage le type de recherche autorisée sur la baleine à bec commune et d’accroître les délais de planification des projets de recherche. Toute activité scientifique sera assujettie à un processus d’examen rigoureux. Aux termes du règlement sur la ZPM,

les activités scientifiques menées dans le Gully nécessitent des autorisations supplémentaires.

Transport maritime

L’industrie et les responsables de la réglementation du transport maritime pourront être appelés à élaborer des lignes directrices sur la circulation des navires comparables à celles qui sont déjà en place dans le Gully. L’industrie pourra être appelée à surveiller et à signaler les mouvements des navires dans les zones fréquentées par des baleines à bec communes.

Écotourisme/observation des baleines

Quoique l’écotourisme ait été limité jusqu’ici dans les eaux du large, il est possible qu’à l’avenir on veuille visiter régulièrement des zones fréquentées par la baleine à bec commune. C’est une activité qui pourrait nécessiter des lignes directrices précises ou qui pourrait être interdite ou limitée dans les zones constituant l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce.