Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the incurved grizzled moss in Canada

COSEWIC Executive Summary

Incurved Grizzled Moss

Ptychomitrium incurvum

Species information

Ptychomitrium incurvum (Schwägr.) Spruce, a small (2-6 mm high) moss species, grows in yellow-brown to blackish-green tufts on rocky substrates.  It was originally described by C.F. Schwägrichen in 1823 as Weissia incurva, and belongs to the moss (division Bryophyta, subdivision Musci) class Bryopsida, order Grimmiales, and family Ptychomitriaceae. Although there appears to be no recent controversy surrounding the taxonomic status of this species, the only known Canadian specimen is an isotype of Grimmia hookeri Drumm., which is presently considered a synonym of P. incurvum.

Distribution

Ptychomitrium incurvum is temperate in global distribution, with populations both east and west of the Atlantic Ocean.  It is relatively widespread in eastern North America but its distribution is concentrated in the southern United States.  In the northeastern United States, it is known from relatively few, historical locations, but more research is required before the existence of a declining trend in the states bordering Canada can be confirmed or rejected. 

A single historical record (1828) of this species constitutes the only known Canadian collection of this species.  The herbarium label for this collection bears no more detail than “On a rock, near the Falls of Niagara, Ontario”.  The precise location is uncertain and no extant populations are known.  Given the fact that almost 200 years have passed without the species being re-discovered despite active collection in the region, doubt exists as to whether or not Ptychomitrium incurvum is currently part of the Canadian flora.

Habitat

Ptychomitrium incurvum is commonly found in hardwood forests, inhabiting surfaces or tiny crevices of exposed or protected rocks of variable chemistry (calcareous or non-calcareous).  It occurs rarely at the bases of trees or on logs.  Although human disturbance, particularly forest destruction and fragmentation, is known to have affected many eastern deciduous forest plant species in southern Ontario, it is not likely that it accounts for the absence of P.  incurvum there.  The fact that P. incurvum can inhabit a variety of anthropogenic and natural rock substrates suggests that substrate availability does not limit its distribution; its southerly distribution may indicate, rather, a climatic limitation.

Biology

Little is known, specifically, of the biology of Ptychomitrium incurvum.  Like most mosses, it is dispersed as spores, although it is occasionally known to produce gemmae (asexual propagules).  P. incurvum is autoicous (and therefore can presumably self-fertilize), and spore production is very common.  The only known Canadian specimen bears abundant sporophytes. Establishment may present particular challenges to mosses like P. incurvum: the rocky habitats preferred by P. incurvum are hostile in that they do not retain moisture well and in that they often offer little protection from the elements.

Cushion-forming mosses like Ptychomitrium incurvum are less adapted to vegetative proliferation than the more branched, spreading mat-forming species.  Species such as P. incurvum, which occur in rock crevices, also have limited space in which to expand before dispersal over longer distances becomes necessary. This preference for discrete habitats necessitates dispersal through unfavourable habitats, which cannot be accomplished through vegetative expansion of colonies.

Population sizes and trends

As no extant populations of Ptychomitrium incurvum are known, and as the historical collector of the species did not make note of the species’ abundance on the herbarium label, population sizes and trends cannot be assessed.

Limiting factors and threats

As noted above, climate appears to limit Ptychomitrium incurvum’s northern extent in eastern North America.  Human activity (pollution, habitat destruction) may also contribute to the species absence from southern Ontario.  Since no living Canadian populations are known, threats cannot be assessed.

Special significance of the species

The Ontario occurrence of Ptychomitrium incurvum is significant in that it represents the only Canadian population of the species and in that it helps to delineate the northernmost occurrence of the species in North America.  P. incurvum ranks among a large suite of Carolinian plants that are endangered in Canada.

COSEWIC logo


COSEWIC MANDATE 

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) determines the national status of wild species, subspecies, varieties, and nationally significant populations that are considered to be at risk in Canada. Designations are made on all native species for the following taxonomic groups: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, lepidopterans, molluscs, vascular plants, lichens, and mosses.

COSEWIC MEMBERSHIP

COSEWIC comprises representatives from each provincial and territorial government wildlife agency, four federal agencies (Canadian Wildlife Service, Parks Canada Agency, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Federal Biosystematic Partnership), three nonjurisdictional members and the co-chairs of the species specialist groups. The committee meets to consider status reports on candidate species.

DEFINITIONS

 

Species: Any indigenous species, subspecies, variety, or geographically defined population of wild fauna and flora.

Extinct (X) : A species that no longer exists.

Extirpated (XT) : A species no longer existing in the wild in Canada, but occurring elsewhere.

Endangered (E) : A species facing imminent extirpation or extinction.

Threatened (T) : A species likely to become endangered if limiting factors are not reversed.

Special Concern (SC)* : A species of special concern because of characteristics that make it particularly sensitive to human activities or natural events.

Not at Risk (NAR)* : A species that has been evaluated and found to be not at risk.

Data Deficient (DD)*** : A species for which there is insufficient scientific information to support status designation.

 

* : Formerly described as “Vulnerable” from 1990 to 1999, or “Rare” prior to 1990.

** : Formerly described as “Not In Any Category”, or “No Designation Required.”

*** : Formerly described as “Indeterminate” from 1994 to 1999 or “ISIBD” (insufficient scientific information on which to base a designation) prior to 1994.

 

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) was created in 1977 as a result of a recommendation at the Federal-Provincial Wildlife Conference held in 1976. It arose from the need for a single, official, scientifically sound, national listing of wildlife species at risk. In 1978, COSEWIC designated its first species and produced its first list of Canadian species at risk. Species designated at meetings of the full committee are added to the list.

 

Environment Canada          Environnement Canada

Canadian Wildlife Service          Service canadien de la faune

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, provides full administrative and financial support to the COSEWIC Secretariat.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées au Canada

COSEPAC Résumé

Ptychomitre à feuilles incurvées

Ptychomitrium incurvum

Information sur l’espèce

Le Ptychomitrium incurvum (Schwägr.) Spruce est une petite mousse (de 2 à 6 mm de hauteur) qui pousse en touffes brun jaune à vert noirâtre, sur des substrats rocheux. L’espèce a été décrite pour la première fois par C.F. Schwägrichen, en 1823, sous le nom de Weissia incurva. Elle appartient à l’embranchement des Bryophytes, au sous‑embranchement des Mousses, à la classe des Bryopsides, à l’ordre des Grimmiales et à la famille des Ptychomitriacées. Il ne semble exister aucune controverse récente quant au statut taxinomique de l’espèce. Cependant, le seul spécimen canadien connu est en fait un isotype du Grimmia hookeri Drumm., aujourd’hui considéré comme synonyme du P. incurvum.

Répartition

À l’échelle mondiale, le Ptychomitrium incurvum est une espèce de la zone tempérée et possède des populations des deux côtés de l’Atlantique. Dans l’Est de l’Amérique du Nord, l’espèce est assez répandue, mais ses populations sont concentrées dans le Sud des États-Unis. Dans le Nord-Est de ce pays, on n’en connaît qu’un nombre assez faible de sites, tous historiques, mais il faudrait des recherches plus approfondies avant de pouvoir confirmer ou infirmer que l’espèce tend à décliner dans les États bordant la frontière canadienne.

La seule mention canadienne de l’espèce est historique et se rapporte à un spécimen récolté en 1828. La seule indication que porte l’étiquette du spécimen, rédigée en anglais, peut se traduire par « Sur une roche, près des chutes Niagara, en Ontario ». La localité exacte est incertaine, et il n’existe actuellement aucune population canadienne connue. Comme près de deux siècles se sont écoulés sans que l’espèce ne soit retrouvée au Canada depuis la seule récolte connue, il existe un doute quant à l’appartenance actuelle du Ptychomitrium incurvum à la flore canadienne.

Habitat

Le Ptychomitrium incurvum se rencontre habituellement dans des forêts de feuillus, à la surface ou dans les petites fissures de blocs rocheux exposés ou abrités à composition chimique variée (calcaires ou non). L’espèce pousse parfois à la base d’arbres ou sur des troncs morts couchés. On sait que les perturbations anthropiques, notamment la destruction ou fragmentation des forêts, ont nui à de nombreuses espèces végétales de la forêt décidue dans le Sud de l’Ontario, mais il est peu probable que ce facteur soit responsable de l’absence du P. incurvum dans cette région. En effet, comme le P. incurvum peut pousser sur une variété de substrats rocheux naturels et artificiels, il ne semble pas que sa répartition soit limitée par le manque de substrats adéquats. Des facteurs climatiques seraient plutôt en cause, puisque l’espèce est surtout présente plus au sud.

Biologie

On ne sait presque rien des caractéristiques biologiques propres au Ptychomitrium incurvum. Comme la plupart des mousses, la plante se propage au moyen de ses spores, mais on sait qu’elle produit à l’occasion des gemmules (propagules asexuées). Le P. incurvum est autoïque (ce qui devrait permettre l’autofécondation), et la production de spores est très fréquente. D’ailleurs, le seul spécimen canadien de l’espèce porte beaucoup de sporophytes. L’établissement peut présenter des difficultés particulières pour une espèce saxicole comme le P. incurvum. En effet, les milieux rocheux retiennent mal l’humidité et offrent souvent peu de protection contre les intempéries.

Les mousses formant des colonies en coussins, comme le Ptychomitrium incurvum, sont moins bien adaptées à la multiplication végétative que les mousses formant des tapis, qui sont plus ramifiées et plus étalées. Les espèces qui poussent dans les fissures de la roche, comme peut le faire le P. incurvum, sont en outre limitées par le peu d’espace qu’elles peuvent occuper avant que la dispersion à plus grande distance devienne nécessaire. La préférence pour des milieux qui sont isolés les uns des autres oblige la plante à se disperser par delà des milieux défavorables, ce qui ne peut être accompli par un accroissement végétatif des colonies.

Taille et tendances des populations

Comme on ne connaît aucune population canadienne actuelle du Ptychomitrium incurvum et comme l’auteur de la seule récolte historique n’a pas précisé l’abondance de l’espèce sur l’étiquette du spécimen, il est impossible d’évaluer la taille et les tendances des populations.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Comme il est expliqué ci-dessus, le climat semble limiter l’expansion vers le nord de l’aire de répartition nord-américaine du Ptychomitrium incurvum. Les activités humaines (pollution et destruction de l’habitat) peuvent également avoir contribué à l’absence actuelle de l’espèce dans le Sud de l’Ontario. Comme on ne connaît actuellement aucune population de l’espèce au Canada, il est impossible d’évaluer les menaces auxquelles l’espèce est exposée.

Importance de l’espèce

Le site ontarien du Ptychomitrium incurvum est important, car il représente la seule population de l’espèce au Canada et aide à préciser la limite nord de la répartition nord-américaine de l’espèce. Le P. incurvum fait partie d’un nombreux cortège d’espèces végétales de la zone carolinienne qui sont en voie de disparition au Canada ou même déjà disparues du pays.

COSEPAC logo


 MANDAT DU COSEPAC 

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) détermine le statut, au niveau national, des espèces, des sous-espèces, des variétés et des populations sauvages  canadiennes importantes qui sont considérées comme étant en péril au Canada. Les désignations peuvent être attribuées à toutes les espèces indigènes des groupes taxinomiques suivants : mammifères, oiseaux, reptiles, amphibiens, poissons, lépidoptères, mollusques, plantes vasculaires, mousses et lichens.

COMPOSITION DU COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC est composé de membres de chacun des organismes fauniques des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, de quatre organismes fédéraux (Service canadien de la faune, Agence Parcs Canada, ministère des Pêches et des Océans, et le Partenariat fédéral sur la biosystématique, présidé par le Musée canadien de la nature), de trois membres ne relevant pas de compétence, ainsi que des coprésident(e)s des sous-comités de spécialistes des espèces et des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. Le Comité se réunit pour étudier les rapports de situation des espèces candidates.

DÉFINITIONS

 

Espèce : Toute espèce, sous-espèce, variété ou population indigène de faune ou de flore sauvage géographiquement définie.

Espèce disparue (D) : Toute espèce qui n’existe plus.

Espèce disparue du Canada (DC) : Toute espèce qui n’est plus présente au Canada à l'état sauvage, mais qui est présente ailleurs.

Espèce en voie de disparition (VD)* : Toute espèce exposée à une disparition ou à une extinction imminente.

Espèce menacée (M) : Toute espèce susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si les facteurs limitatifs auxquels elle est exposée ne sont pas renversés.

Espèce préoccupante (P)** : Toute espèce qui est préoccupante à cause de caractéristiques qui la rendent particulièrement sensible aux activités humaines ou à certains phénomènes naturels.

Espèce non en péril (NEP)*** : Toute espèce qui, après évaluation, est jugée non en péril.

Données insuffisantes (DI)**** : Toute espèce dont le statut ne peut être précisé à cause d’un manque de données scientifiques.

 

* : Appelée « espèce en danger de disparition » jusqu’en 2000.

** : Appelée « espèce rare » jusqu’en 1990, puis « espèce vulnérable » de 1990 à 1999.

*** : Autrefois « aucune catégorie » ou « aucune désignation nécessaire ».

**** : Catégorie « DSIDD » (données insuffisantes pour donner une désignation) jusqu’en 1994, puis « indéterminé » de 1994 à 1999.

 

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a été créé en 1977, à la suite d’une recommandation faite en 1976 lors de la Conférence fédérale-provinciale sur la faune. Le comité avait pour mandat de réunir les espèces sauvages en péril sur une seule liste nationale officielle, selon des critères scientifiques. En 1978, le COSEPAC (alors appelé CSEMDC) désignait ses premières espèces et produisait sa première liste des espèces en péril au Canada. Les espèces qui se voient attribuer une désignation lors des réunions du comité plénier sont ajoutées à la liste.

 

Environment Canada         Environnement Canada

Canadian Wildlife Service          Service canadien de la faune

Le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada assure un appui administratif et financier complet au Secrétariat du COSEPAC.