Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Cucumber Tree (Magnolia acuminata L.)

RECOVERY

1.   Recovery Goal:

To conserve and if necessary restore Cucumber Tree to self-sustaining (i.e., demographically viable) populations in both regions of its native Canadian range in southern Ontario (i.e. Norfolk County south and west of Simcoe and the Town of Pelham within the Regional Municipality of Niagara).  

2.   Recovery Objectives:

Objective I:  Protect existing natural populations and their habitats, with priority on the critical habitats in the next 5 years (i.e., those identified in section 13.2). 

The landowner contact process for the regulation of remaining unregulated populations under the Ontario Endangered Species Act was completed in 2005.  Significant habitat mapping for the purpose of the Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program (CLTIP) will be undertaken on eligible properties.   The CLTIP offers landowners the option to participate in a tax reduction program on the portion of their property which has been identified as significant habitat for a regulated Endangered Species.  Other means to protect and secure habitats should also be employed, such as stewardship, education and awareness within the local regions, partnering with landscape restoration programs, such as Carolinian Canada’s Big Picture for the entire zone, and local projects of the Long Point and Niagara regions.   Protection of identified endangered species habitat can be achieved by means of implementing Section 2.3 of the Provincial Policy Statement. 

Objective II:  Increase population size to 50 reproductive individuals in at least two sites within each of the two regions where this species occurs over the next 25 years.   

Population increases could be achieved by natural recruitment, through management or restoration that will allow reconnection of forest fragments and thus better contact of sub-populations on adjacent properties.  Achieving populations in the range of 50 reproductive individuals is seen as a measure of success to ensure stable populations and will be used as an initial population and distribution goal.  However, as research continues on the demographic rates of this species, revised objectives may be required to reflect improved knowledge of the species’ population and distribution needs for recovery.  Management to achieve a habitat matrix for pollinators and seed dispersers (once they are better understood), and seedling recruitment (once guidance can be provided from current studies) may also be important to promote population expansion through natural processes. 

Objective III:  Conduct research to better understand this species biology and ecology with respect to its state of jeopardy over the next 3 years.  

Undertake a preliminary assessment of pollination biology, seed dispersal, seedling establishment, population genetics and how these are affected by fragmentation of Cucumber Tree habitat in the landscape of southern Ontario.  Develop a research plan to address the information gaps and provide guidance necessary to effectively manage Cucumber Tree and its ecosystem.          

Objective IV:  Develop and carry out a landscape restoration plan to reduce the impacts of fragmentation or other factors on the identified habitats. Include public awareness and opportunities for landowner stewardship and community participation, with site specific management plans over the next 5 years. 

Work with land owners and seek willing participants; seek partnerships with funding organizations to cover expenses and community volunteers to carry out work.  Participate with partners in landscape restoration initiatives to reduce the habitat fragmentation and maximize effectiveness in natural landscape restoration for Cucumber Tree, including Carolinian Canada’s Big Picture project, stewardship councils and local initiatives in both regions.

3.   Approaches to Meeting Recovery Objectives:  

Table 1.  Recovery Strategy Priorities for Magnolia acuminata L.

  Priority Objective   Broad Approach  Specific Steps  Anticipated Effect  Threats Addressed

 

 

Urgent

I Legal and Policy Protection

·        Complete regulation of new sites under provincial Endangered Species Act (ESA)

·        Develop and apply provincial habitat mapping guidelines for application of the Provincial Policy Statement and Endangered Species Act

·        Provide mapping and information on the status and protection of the species to affected municipalities

·        Identify and map critical habitat on federal lands

·        Legal and policy protection of the species and its habitat

·        Poor forest management practices

·        Habitat fragmentation

UrgentI Habitat protection- Stewardship

·        Contact eligible landowners to encourage participation in the Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program (CLTIP)

·         Encourage stewardship of sites

·        Landowner cooperation to protect occupied habitats

·        Enhanced cooperation over wider habitat area

·        Community awareness

·        Poor forest management practices

·        Habitat fragmentation

Necessary IIHabitat Management

·        Assess best opportunities for restoring connections between small populations

·        Connect small  populations to increase recruitment

·        Encourage sustainable forest management to protect habitat and trees and increase recruitment

·        Increased size of small populations (short-term)

·        Enhanced ability of populations to be self-sustaining

·        Increased recruitment at managed sites

·        Fragmentation of habitats

·        Poor forest management practices

·        Low connectivity and small population size

 Urgent/ necessary IIIResearch·        Complete a preliminary assessment of  the effects of habitat fragmentation on pollination 

·        Improved understanding of this threat

·        Development of management & restoration approaches to mitigate threat

·        Improved understanding of biology and ecology to direct management action

·        Development of management & restoration approaches and guidelines

·        Fragmentation of habitats
NecessaryIIIConduct research

·        Conduct detailed pollination,  demographic and seed dispersal studies

·        Determine genetic composition of populations

·        Characterize critical habitats

·        Develop forest management guidelines to mitigate the effects of forest harvest  and promote recruitment

·        Improved understanding of biology and ecology to direct management action

·        Development of management & restoration approaches and guidelines

·        Low connectivity and small population size

·        Poor forest management practices

 NecessaryIV

Landscape restoration

(long term)

·        Assess best  opportunities for creating landscape connections between populations

·        Seek willing landowners and volunteers to participate in restoring landscape connectivity

·        Develop and implement regional  and site-specific management plans

·        Cooperate with other organizations involved in landscape restoration (ex. Carolinian Canada, stewardship councils, etc.)

·        Increased habitat for recruitment

·        Increased effective population sizes

·        Improved connectivity between populations

·        Guidance for targeted landscape restoration activities

·        Coordination among partners for more effective actions and use of resources

·        Low connectivity and small population size
BeneficialIVPublic awareness and participation·        Seek willing land owners and volunteers to carry out planting

·        Raise profile

·        Increase interest by local community

·        Low connectivity and small population size

·        Habitat fragmentation

·        Poor forest management practices

 

4.   Potential Impacts of Recovery Strategy on Other Species/Ecological Processes: 

From management trials we know that regeneration of this species can be enhanced in its natural habitats.  We must also examine impacts (positive and negative) on other species and the ecosystem as a whole.   Contact and cooperation with other recovery teams and taxonomic group specialists will be important before recommending management throughout the two regions.  Management for this species has shown that sensitive opening of the forest promotes regeneration.   For management recommendations the form and size of openings will need to be better defined.  However, it is also important to consider the positive or negative impacts that such management would have on other species in the forest ecosystem. 

5.   Actions Already Completed or Underway:

Cucumber Tree was first regulated by individual sites under the Endangered Species Act in 1986.  New sites representing natural and/or regenerating populations have been discovered since then and were put in regulation under the Act in 2005.  Endangered Species Habitat Mapping was completed for OMNR for the Conservation Land Tax Incentive Program (CLTIP) (initial mapping in 1998, additional sites completed in 2000).  OMNR is currently assessing suitability of identified habitats for CLTIP and, pending the availability of resources, may initiate a new round of landowner contact sometime in the near future.

Carolinian Canada has produced the mapping for the Big Picture Project, including core natural areas and best connections for restoration.  These need to be viewed in light of this species’ habitats and assess where restoration action would be best sited.

Long Point Region Conservation Authority (LPRCA) and the University of Guelph (Uof G) are conducting habitat surveys and analysis of recruitment under different conditions that will add to our understanding of Cucumber Tree habitat characterization and regeneration dynamics.   

In 2002, the Department of Environmental Biology at the University of Guelph conducted investigations on the pollination dynamics of Cucumber Tree, which included the trapping of potentially important pollinators and the examination of their bodies for pollen.  In addition, preliminary monitoring was carried out on mammalian and avian fruit and seed dispersers.  This work continued into 2003.

LPRCA received funds from the Habitat Stewardship Program (HSP) in 2004 to complete a project titled Long Point Region Natural Heritage Woodland Special Species Protection.  This included inventories and the preparation of management plans for LPRCA properties to assist with the recovery of species at risk.  In 2005 and 2006 the LPRCA embarked on a Cucumber Tree habitat management program for the Smith Tract.   In the winter of 2006 other species of trees and saplings were carefully marked and culled in order to reduce competition and promote the regeneration of Cucumber Tree.   

Management options are currently under consideration for the Shining Tree Woods property.  A document was prepared to investigate the available options and a final decision will be made by the North American Native Plant Society board.  Management options under consideration include: removing some mature trees to open the canopy and promote Cucumber Tree regeneration, encourage the expansion of habitat into the adjacent old fields so that Cucumber Trees might colonize when conditions are favourable, and more active restoration of the old fields including planting some Cucumber Trees from the local seed source.

6.   Statement of when One or More Action Plans in Relation to the Recovery Strategy will be Completed.

An action plan addressing implementation of the recommendations in the strategy will be prepared by 2008 dependent on priorities and constraints of the lead and participating organizations.

7.   Evaluation:

Performance measures for evaluating the success of recovery planning and efforts will include the extent to which goals and objectives have been met, specifically:

1.     Changes in population size, trend, recruitment, productivity, with explanations for the changes.

2.     Characterization and identification of critical habitat.

3.     Proportion of identified critical habitat that has been protected.

4.     The extent to which stakeholders have been consulted with or become involved in recovery activity.

5.     Success in mitigating threats.

6.     Level of public support for recovery work.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Magnolia acuminé (Magnolia acuminata L.)

RÉTABLISSEMENT

1.    But du rétablissement

Assurer la conservation du magnolia acuminé et, au besoin, aménager l’espèce pour qu’elle forme des populations autosuffisantes (c.-à-d. viable sur le plan démographique) dans les deux régions de son aire de répartition canadienne naturelle dans le sud de l’Ontario (c.-à-d. le comté de Norfolk, au sud et à l’ouest de Simcoe, et la ville de Pelham, dans la municipalité régionale de Niagara).

2.    Objectifs du rétablissement

Objectif I : Protéger les populations naturelles existantes et leur habitat, en accordant la priorité à l’habitat essentiel, au cours des cinq prochaines années (c.-à-d. l’habitat désigné à la section 13.2).

Le processus de communication avec les propriétaires fonciers concernant la réglementation des populations existantes non encore réglementées en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de l’Ontario a été achevé en 2005. La cartographie de l’habitat important aux fins du Programme d’encouragement fiscal pour les terres protégées (PEFTP) sera entreprise dans les propriétés admissibles. Le PEFTP offre aux propriétaires fonciers la possibilité de participer à un programme de réduction de l’impôt foncier pour la portion de leur propriété ayant été désignée comme habitat important pour une espèce en voie de disparition réglementée. D’autres méthodes de protection de l’habitat devraient être également employées, telles que l’intendance, l’éducation et la sensibilisation à l’échelle régionale et le partenariat avec les programmes de remise en état du paysage, tels que le Carolinian Canada’s Big Picture pour l’ensemble du territoire, et des projets locaux des régions de Long Point et de Niagara. La protection de l’habitat désigné des espèces en voie de disparition peut être réalisée en mettant en application la section 2.3 de la Déclaration de principes provinciale.

Objectif II : Au cours des 25 prochaines années, augmenter la taille de la population jusqu’à avoir 50 individus reproducteurs dans au moins deux sites à l’intérieur des deux régions occupées par l’espèce.

Cet accroissement de la population peut être réalisé par recrutement naturel grâce à des activités de gestion ou de remise en état qui permettront de recréer des liens entre les fragments de forêt et ainsi amélioreront les échanges entre les sous-populations situées sur des propriétés voisines. L’atteinte de populations comptant autour de 50 individus reproducteurs est considérée comme un indicateur de succès pour assurer des populations stables et constituera l’objectif initial en matière de populations et de répartition. Cependant, comme les recherches sur les taux démographiques du magnolia acuminé sont toujours en cours, il faudra peut-être réviser ces objectifs pour tenir compte de l’amélioration des connaissances sur les besoins de l’espèce en matière de population et de répartition pour son rétablissement. Des mesures de gestion visant à créer une matrice d’habitat pour les pollinisateurs et les disséminateurs de graines (une fois que ceux-ci seront mieux compris) et pour le recrutement des semis (une fois que des orientations auront été tirées des études actuelles) pourraient également être importantes pour favoriser l’expansion de la population par le biais des processus naturels.

Objectif III : Au cours des trois prochaines années, mener des recherches afin de mieux comprendre les aspects de la biologie et de l’écologie de l’espèce qui sont reliés à son statut précaire.

Entreprendre une évaluation préliminaire de la biologie de la pollinisation, de la dispersion des graines, de l’établissement des semis, de la génétique des populations et des effets de la fragmentation de l’habitat du magnolia acuminé sur ces différents éléments, dans le paysage du sud de l’Ontario. Élaborer un plan de recherche visant à combler les lacunes dans les connaissances et à fournir les orientations nécessaires pour une gestion efficace du magnolia acuminé et de son écosystème.

Objectif IV : Élaborer et mettre en œuvre un plan de remise en état du paysage pour réduire les impacts de la fragmentation ou des autres facteurs sur les habitats désignés. Au cours des cinq prochaines années, inclure des mesures de sensibilisation de la population, la possibilité de projets d’intendance par les propriétaires fonciers et la participation des collectivités dans des plans de gestion par site.

Travailler avec les propriétaires fonciers et trouver des participants intéressés; rechercher des partenariats avec des organismes de financement afin de défrayer les dépenses, et des  bénévoles des collectivités pour réaliser le travail. Participer aux initiatives de remise en état du paysage visant à réduire la fragmentation de l’habitat, et maximiser l’efficacité de la remise en état du paysage naturel du magnolia acuminé avec des partenaires, notamment le projet Carolinian Canada’s Big Picture, les conseils d’intendance et les initiatives locales dans les deux régions.

3.    Approches recommandées pour l’atteinte des objectifs du rétablissement

Tableau 1.  Priorités du programme de rétablissement de Magnolia acuminata L.

PrioritéObjectifApproche généraleMesures spécifiquesRésultat escomptéMenaces abordées
UrgenteI Protection par des lois et des politiques

·   Achever la réglementation touchant les nouveaux sites en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de la province.

·   Élaborer et mettre en œuvre des lignes directrices provinciales visant la cartographie de l’habitat dans le cadre de la Déclaration de principes provinciale et de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition.

·   Fournir aux municipalités concernées des données cartographiques et de l’information sur la situation et la protection de l’espèce.

·   Désigner et cartographier l’habitat essentiel sur les terres domaniales.

·   Protection de l’espèce et de son habitat par des lois et des politiques.

·   Mauvaises pratiques d’aménagement forestier

·   Fragmentation de l’habitat

UrgenteI Protection et intendance de l’habitat

·   Communiquer avec les propriétaires fonciers admissibles pour les inciter à participer au Programme d’encouragement fiscal pour les terres protégées (PEFTP).

·   Favoriser l’intendance des sites.

·   Coopération des propriétaires fonciers à la protection des habitats occupés.

·   Amélioration de la coopération sur une plus grande superficie d’habitat.

·   Sensibilisation des communautés.

·   Mauvaises pratiques d’aménagement forestier

·   Fragmentation de l’habitat

NécessaireIIGestion de l’habitat

·   Déterminer les meilleurs moyens de recréer les liens entre les petites populations.

·   Relier les petites populations pour augmenter le recrutement.

·   Favoriser l’aménagement durable des forêts afin de protéger les arbres et l’habitat, et d’augmenter le recrutement.

·   Augmentation de la taille des petites populations (court terme).

·   Amélioration de la capacité des populations à être autosuffisantes.

·   Augmentation du recrutement dans les sites gérés.

·   Fragmentation de l’habitat

·   Mauvaises pratiques d’aménagement forestier

·   Faible connectivité et petite taille de la population.

Urgente/ nécessaireIIIRecherche·   Achever une évaluation préliminaire des effets de la fragmentation de l’habitat sur la pollinisation.

·   Meilleure compréhension de cette menace.

·   Élaboration des approches de gestion et de remise en état pour atténuer cette menace.

·   Amélioration de la compréhension de la biologie et de l’écologie de l’espèce afin d’orienter les mesures de gestion.

·   Élaboration d’approches et de lignes directrices en matière de gestion et de remise en état.

·   Fragmentation de l’habitat
NécessaireIIIActivités de recherche

·   Mener des études détaillées sur la pollinisation, la démographie et la dispersion des graines.

·   Déterminer la composition génétique des populations.

·   Caractériser les habitats essentiels.

·   Élaborer des lignes directrices en matière d’aménagement forestier pour atténuer les impacts de la récolte forestière et faciliter le recrutement.

·   Amélioration de la compréhension de la biologie et de l’écologie de l’espèce afin d’orienter les mesures de gestion.

·   Élaboration d’approches et de lignes directrices en matière de gestion et de remise en état.

·   Faible connectivité et petite taille de la population.

·   Mauvaises pratiques d’aménagement forestier

NécessaireIVRemise en état du paysage (long terme)

·   Déterminer les meilleurs moyens de créer des liens entres les populations dans le paysage.

·   Rechercher des propriétaires fonciers et des bénévoles intéressés pour participer à la remise en état de la connectivité du paysage.

·   Élaborer et mettre en œuvre des plans de gestion à l’échelle régionale et à l’échelle des sites.

·   Coopérer avec d’autres organismes engagés dans la remise en état du paysage (p. ex. Carolinian Canada, conseils d’intendance, etc.).

·   Augmentation de la quantité d’habitat pour le recrutement.

·   Augmentation de la taille effective des populations.

·   Amélioration de la connectivité entre les populations.

·   Existence de lignes directrices pour des activités ciblées de remise en état du paysage.

·   Coordination des efforts des partenaires pour une meilleure efficacité des mesures et de l’utilisation des ressources.

·   Faible connectivité et petite taille de la population.
BénéfiqueIVSensibilisation et participation du public·   Rechercher des propriétaires fonciers et des bénévoles intéressés pour effectuer la plantation.

·   Augmentation de la visibilité.

·   Augmentation de l’intérêt des collectivités locales.

·   Faible connectivité et petite taille de la population.

·   Fragmentation de l’habitat.

·   Mauvaises pratiques d’aménagement forestier.

 

4.    Impacts possibles du programme de rétablissement sur d’autres espèces ou sur des processus écologiques

Des essais de gestion ont montré qu’il est possible d’améliorer la régénération du magnolia acuminé dans son habitat naturel. Il faut aussi examiner les impacts (positifs et négatifs) sur d’autres espèces et sur l’ensemble de l’écosystème. Il sera primordial de communiquer et de coopérer avec d’autres équipes de rétablissement et groupes de spécialistes des espèces de ce groupe taxinomique avant de recommander des mesures de gestion s’appliquant à l’ensemble des deux régions. La gestion de cette espèce a permis d’établir que les petites ouvertures du couvert forestier favorisaient la régénération. Il faudra définir la forme et la taille des ouvertures avant de formuler des recommandations. Il est toutefois également important d’envisager les impacts, tant positifs que négatifs, que de telles mesures de gestion pourraient avoir sur d’autres espèces de l’écosystème forestier.

5.    Mesures achevées ou en cours

Le magnolia acuminé a d’abord fait l’objet d’une réglementation par site individuel en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition en 1986. De nouveaux sites portant des populations naturelles et/ou en régénération ont été découverts depuis, et ont été inclus à la réglementation en vertu de ladite loi en 2005. La cartographie de l’habitat des espèces en voie de disparition a été complétée aux fins du Programme d’encouragement fiscal pour les terres protégées (PEFTP) pour le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO) (cartographie initiale en 1998, sites additionnels en 2000). Le MRNO évalue actuellement l’admissibilité des habitats désignés au PEFTP et, selon la disponibilité des ressources, pourra peut-être entamer une nouvelle ronde de communications avec les propriétaires fonciers dans un proche avenir.

Carolinian Canada a produit, pour le projet Big Picture, une cartographie qui comprend les aires naturelles principales et les meilleures connexions à remettre en état. Ces éléments doivent être considérés en fonction de l’habitat du magnolia acuminé et on doit déterminer les endroits où les mesures de remise en état seraient le plus appropriées.

L’Office de protection de la nature (OPN) de la région de Long Point et la University of Guelph effectuent actuellement des relevés de l’habitat et une analyse du recrutement dans différentes conditions; ces activités élargiront nos connaissances au sujet des caractéristiques de l’habitat du magnolia acuminé et de la dynamique de régénération de l’espèce.

En 2002, le Department of Environmental Biology de la University of Guelph a mené des recherches sur la dynamique de la pollinisation du magnolia acuminé; celles-ci incluaient le piégeage de pollinisateurs potentiellement importants et l’examen de leur corps en vue d’y détecter du pollen. On a aussi procédé à un suivi préliminaire des mammifères et des oiseaux disséminateurs de fruits et de graines. Ces travaux se sont poursuivis jusqu’en 2003.

L’OPN de la région de Long Point a obtenu des fonds du Programme d’intendance de l’habitat (PIH) en 2004 pour réaliser un projet intitulé Protection de certaines espèces des terrains boisés faisant partie du patrimoine naturel de la région de Long Point. Ce projet comportait la réalisation d’inventaires et l’élaboration de plans de gestion des propriétés de l’OPN, lesquels devaient contribuer au rétablissement des espèces en péril. En 2005 et en 2006, l’OPN de la région de Long Point s’est engagé dans un programme de gestion de l’habitat du magnolia acuminé pour la parcelle Smith. Au cours de l’hiver 2006, des arbres et des gaulis d’autres espèces ont été marqués et éliminés dans le but de réduire la compétition et de promouvoir la régénération du magnolia acuminé.

Différentes options de gestion sont actuellement envisagées pour la propriété Shining Tree Woods. Un document a été rédigé en vue d’étudier les options disponibles et une décision finale sera rendue par le conseil de la North American Native Plant Society. Les options de gestion examinées sont les suivantes : abattre certains arbres matures en vue d’ouvrir le couvert forestier et de favoriser la régénération du magnolia acuminé; faciliter l’expansion de l’habitat sur des terres en friche adjacentes de sorte que le magnolia acuminé puisse les coloniser lorsque les conditions seront favorables; remettre en état de manière plus active les terres en friche, notamment en plantant quelques magnolias acuminés provenant de graines d’origine locale.

6.    Échéancier prévu pour l'élaboration d'un ou de plusieurs plans d'action

Un plan d’action visant la mise en œuvre des recommandations du programme de rétablissement sera préparé d’ici 2008, selon les priorités et les contraintes de l’organisation principale et des organisations participantes.

7.    Évaluation

Les mesures de rendement pour évaluer le succès de la planification et des efforts de rétablissement s’attarderont à évaluer l’atteinte du but et des objectifs du rétablissement, elles porteront plus spécifiquement sur les éléments suivants :

1)     les variations de la taille, des tendances, du recrutement et de la productivité de la population, avec explications des variations;

2)     la caractérisation et la désignation de l’habitat essentiel;

3)     la proportion de l’habitat essentiel désigné qui a été protégée;

4)     la mesure dans laquelle les intervenants ont été consultés ou ont participé aux activités de rétablissement;

5)     l’atténuation des menaces;

6)     le soutien du public à l’égard des travaux de rétablissement.