Skip booklet index and go to page content

Harlequin Duck (Histrionicus histrionicus)

INTRODUCTION

Status:  In 2001 the Harlequin Duck (Histrionicus histrionicus) was downlisted from Endangered to Special Concern by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC).  While the western Canadian population of the Harlequin Duck persists with a larger population size, concern was raised for the eastern population in the 1980s, based around a reduced population size (Goudie 1990).  Subsequent study of the species’ movement patterns and population distribution determined that the numbers were higher and the species more widely distributed than originally believed.  Due to their wide distribution during the breeding season, it has been determined that population monitoring is more effective at moulting and wintering locations where Harlequin Ducks are known to regularly and consistently congregate.  Research efforts over the past 15 years have determined two primary wintering areas for the eastern Canadian breeding population of the Harlequin Duck – the southwest coast of Greenland to be hereby referred to as the Greenland wintering population, and the eastern coast of North America ranging from Maryland, USA to southern Newfoundland to be hereby referred to as the eastern North American wintering population.  

Reason for Status: Despite the downlisting in 2001 to Special Concern, the population of the eastern North American wintering population is still low relative to other waterfowl species.  Considering the gregarious nature of the species, these relatively low population numbers warrant the recognition of a species of Special Concern. 

Further information:  The most comprehensive summary to date on the status of the Harlequin Duck is found in the 2001 COSEWIC status report (Thomas and Robert 2001).  For the purposes of this Management Plan status information will only be referenced in a limited manner within this document to allow more concentration on management issues.  For more comprehensive status information, refer to Thomas and Robert (2001).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

l’Arlequin plongeur (Histrionicus histrionicus)

INTRODUCTION

Situation : En 2001, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a reclassé l’Arlequin plongeur (Histrionicus histrionicus) de la catégorie espèce en voie de disparition à celle d’espèce préoccupante. Si la population de l’Arlequin plongeur demeure importante dans l’Ouest canadien, celle de l’Est a accusé dans les années 1980 un déclin suffisant pour soulever des préoccupations (Goudie, 1990). Depuis, l’étude des habitudes de déplacement et de la répartition de cette population a permis de constater que ses effectifs et son aire de répartition sont plus importants qu’on ne le croyait. Compte tenu de la large répartition de l’espèce durant la période de reproduction, il est préférable d’effectuer des relevés sur les emplacements de mue et d’hivernage où les individus reviennent régulièrement en grand nombre. Les recherches réalisées dans les 15 dernières années ont permis de circonscrire deux grandes aires d’hivernage fréquentées par la population reproductrice de l’Est du Canada : la côte sud‑ouest du Groenland (population hivernant au Groenland) et la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord, depuis le Maryland, aux États‑Unis, jusqu’au sud de Terre‑Neuve (population hivernant dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord).

Justification de la désignation : Même si l’Arlequin plongeur est passé à une catégorie de moindre risque en 2001, l’effectif de la population hivernant dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord est relativement faible comparativement aux autres espèces de sauvagine. Compte tenu de la nature grégaire de l’espèce, un effectif aussi faible justifie l’attribution du statut d’espèce préoccupante.

Information additionnelle : Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC préparé par Thomas et Robert (2001) présente l’analyse la plus complète à ce jour de la situation de l’Arlequin plongeur. Le présent plan de gestion ne renferme que des renseignements sommaires sur la situation de l’espèce; il est axé plutôt sur les enjeux liés à sa gestion. Pour obtenir de l’information plus complète sur la situation de l’Arlequin plongeur, il faut se reporter au rapport de situation de Thomas et Robert (2001).