Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Carmine Shiner and Rosyface Shiner in Canada

Distribution

 

Rosyface Shiners are found in central and eastern North America (Figure 2).  In the east the limit of the range is the upper St. Lawrence River drainage of southern Quebec, south through New York and Vermont to the James River drainage of Virginia, but excluding the Delaware.  The range extends west through most of the Great Lakes drainage (excluding most tributaries to the north shore of Lake Superior) to the Red River of the North drainage in Minnesota and north into Manitoba.  West of the Appalachians it occurs in the upper Ohio and Mississippi River basins from Pennsylvania possibly to North Dakota (one location record from the Sheyenne River), Minnesota and Iowa.  East of the Mississippi it is found south to the Tennessee River drainage of North Carolina, Tennessee and Alabama and west of the Mississippi in the Ozark uplands of Arizona, Oklahoma and Kansas to southern tributaries of the Missouri River in Montana (Scott and Crossman 1973; Gilbert and Burgess 1980).


Figure 2.  North American range of the Rosyface Shiner, Notropis rubellus (from sources cited in the text)


Figure 2.  North American range of the Rosyface Shiner, Notropis rubellus (from sources cited in the text).

In Canada, the species is most widely distributed in Ontario, although the range more or less extends from the upper St. Lawrence near Quebec City, west to southcentral western Manitoba (Figure 2), with a hiatus on the north shore system of Lake Superior. The Manitoba records look unusual only if we look at the Canadian populations in exclusion of the distribution in Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota and the Dakotas.

The species is limited to the extreme southern region of Quebec (Figure 3) where it is known from tributaries of the Ottawa River north and west at least to the Black River (Bergeron and Brousseau 1983), and of the St. Lawrence River as far downstream as the Nicolet River at the eastern end of Lake St. Pierre, just upstream of Quebec City (Mongeau et al.1974; Mongeau et al. 1979; Bergeron and Brousseau 1981).  Rosyface Shiners have also been collected from the south shore of the St. Lawrence from the Richelieu and Châteauguay rivers and other St. Lawrence River tributaries east to Leclercville on the River Grande (ROM 42159; Mongeau et al. 1974).  The distribution appears to be restricted to the St. Lawrence and Ottawa River drainages south of a line at approximately 46° N.

Figure 3.  General distribution of collection records of Notropis rubellus in Quebec(from sources cited in the text)


Figure 3.  General distribution of collection records of Notropis rubellus in Quebec(from sources cited in the text).

In Ontario, the species occurs in southwestern Ontario (Figure 4) in streams draining into lakes Ontario, Erie, Huron and the eastern end of lake Superior and the Ottawa River watershed north to about the Mattawa River (Scott and Crossman 1973), as in Quebec at a line approximately at 46° N [(i.e., the Great Lakes watershed and not found in the Hudson, James or Ungava Bay (Arctic watersheds)].  Rosyface Shiners have not been recorded from north shore Lake Superior tributaries, although they have been recorded from several streams in Michigan tributary to that lake (Scott and Crossman 1973; Smith 1979).  Hinks (1943) referred to the species as occurring in the Lake of the Woods watershed, but there are no known records to support the statement.  The species should be looked for there as suitable habitat exists and other cyprinids with similar habitat requirements and distributions, such as Notropis heterodon, previously not known west of Sault St. Marie have recently been recorded from the Rainy River watershed in Quetico Park and the Wabigoon River watershed of the Kenora District of northwestern Ontario (Crossman and McAllister 1986; Crossman 1986; Stewart 1988). 

Figure 4.  General distribution of collection records of Notropis rubellus in Ontario(Mandrak and Crossman 1992)


Figure 4.  General distribution of collection records of Notropis rubellus in Ontario(Mandrak and Crossman 1992).


Figure 5.  General distribution of collection records of Notropis rubellus in Manitoba(from sources cited in the text)


Figure 5.  General distribution of collection records of Notropis rubellus in Manitoba(from sources cited in the text).

Literature records of the presence of the species in Manitoba where it is known (A.J. Derksen, Fisheries Specialist, Manitoba Department of Natural Resources, Winnipeg, Manitoba; personal communication) from the Whitemouth-Birch river systems (tributary to the Winnipeg River which it joins above an historically impassable falls), go back at least to Hinks (1943).  However, these records are uncertain as they base the species’ presence on unsupported evidence that it occurred in the Lake of the Woods system.  Fedoruk (1969) also lists the species among the fauna of Manitoba, but he did not give the distribution of any species.  Scott and Crossman (1973) included its distribution in Manitoba as in the Red River in southern Manitoba, perhaps based on a 1955 collection by J.J. Keleher from the Whitemouth River at Whitemouth, Manitoba catalogued at the Royal Ontario Museum (ROM 17539), but more likely because of the reports of the species from the Red River Basin in Minnesota (Derksen, personal communication).  The species does not occur along the axis of the Red River in Manitoba (K. Stewart, Department of Zoology, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba; personal communication).  No other reliable literature records are known, although the species has been collected several times since from the Whitemouth and as recently as 1984 (ROM 45731; NMC 84-0010, NMC 85-0002).  A previously unreported 1976 collection from Lake Manitoba, at Delta Marsh, catalogued in the Canadian Museum of Nature Collection (NMC 76-0421), has been re-examined and it was determined that the fish in this collection were actually Notropis atherinoides, not Notropis rubellus (B. Coad, Canadian Museum of Nature, Ottawa, Ontario; personal communication).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la tête carmin et de la tête rose au Canada

Répartition

 

La tête rose se trouve dans le Centre et l’Est de l’Amérique du Nord (figure 2). À l’est, la limite de son aire de répartition est le bassin hydrographique du haut Saint‑Laurent pour le Sud du Québec, puis vers le sud en traversant l’État de New York et le Vermont jusqu’au bassin hydrographique de la rivière James en Virginie, mais en excluant le Delaware. Son aire de répartition s’étend à l’ouest dans une grande partie du bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs (en excluant la plupart des affluents s’écoulant vers la rive nord du lac Supérieur) jusqu’au bassin hydrographique nord de la rivière Rouge au Minnesota et vers le nord jusqu’au Manitoba. À l’ouest des Appalaches, on la trouve dans les bassins supérieurs de l’Ohio et du Mississippi depuis la Pennsylvanie possiblement jusqu’au Dakota du Nord (un emplacement relevé dans la rivière Sheyenne), au Minnesota et en Iowa. À l’est du Mississippi, on la retrouve vers le sud jusqu’au bassin hydrographique du fleuve Tennessee en Caroline du Nord, au Tennessee et en Alabama, et à l’ouest du Mississippi dans les hautes terres Ozark de l’Arizona, de l’Oklahoma et du Kansas, jusque dans les affluents méridionaux du fleuve Missouri au Montana (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Gilbert et Burgess, 1980).

Figure 2. Aire nord‑américaine de la tête rose (Notropis rubellus) (tirée de sources citées dans le texte)

Figure 2. Aire nord‑américaine de la tête rose (Notropis rubellus) (tirée de sources citées dans le texte).

Au Canada, l’espèce est très largement répartie en Ontario, même si son aire de répartition s’étend plus ou moins du cours supérieur du Saint-Laurent près de Québec, vers l’ouest jusqu’au centre‑sud de l’Ouest du Manitoba (figure 2), avec une interruption dans le réseau de la rive nord du lac Supérieur. Les relevés effectués au Manitoba semblent inhabituels uniquement si l’on examine les populations canadiennes, à l’exclusion de l’aire de répartition en Iowa, au Wisconsin, au Minnesota et dans les Dakotas.

L’espèce est limitée à la région extrême sud du Québec (figure 3) où on la retrouve dans des affluents de la rivière des Outaouais, au nord et à l’ouest au moins jusqu’à la rivière Noire (Bergeron et Brousseau, 1983), et du fleuve Saint-Laurent aussi loin en aval que dans la rivière Nicolet à l’extrémité est du lac Saint‑Pierre, juste en amont de la ville de Québec (Mongeau et al., 1974; Mongeau et al., 1979; Bergeron et Brousseau, 1981. On a également recueilli des têtes roses sur la rive sud du Saint-Laurent depuis les rivières Richelieu et Châteauguay et d’autres affluents du fleuve Saint-Laurent à l’est jusqu’à Leclercville sur la Grande Rivière (ROM 42159; Mongeau et al., 1974). L’aire de répartition semble limitée aux bassins hydrographiques du fleuve Saint‑Laurent et de la rivière des Outaouais, au sud d’une ligne située approximativement à 46° de latitude nord.

Figure 3.  Aire de répartition générale des données de collection de Notropis rubellus au Québec (tirée de sources citées dans le texte)

Figure 3.  Aire de répartition générale des données de collection de Notropis rubellus au Québec (tirée de sources citées dans le texte).


En Ontario, on retrouve l’espèce dans le Sud‑Ouest de la province (figure 4) dans des cours d’eau qui se jettent dans les lacs Ontario, Érié, Huron et l’extrémité est du lac Supérieur, et dans le bassin hydrograhique de la rivière des Outaouais vers le nord jusqu’aux environs de la rivière Mattawa (Scott et Crossman, 1973), comme au Québec jusqu’à une ligne située approximativement à 46° de latitude nord [(c’est‑à‑dire dans le bassin hydrographique des Grands Lacs et pas dans la baie d’Hudson, la baie James ou la baie d’Ungava (bassins hydrographiques arctiques)]. On n’a pas trouvé de têtes roses dans les affluents de la rive nord du lac Supérieur, même si on en a observées dans plusieurs cours d’eau du Michigan se jetant dans ce lac (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Smith, 1979). Hinks (1943) a mentionné que l’espèce était présente dans le bassin hydrograhique du lac des Bois, mais aucune observation connue ne vient étayer cette déclaration. On devrait chercher l’espèce là‑bas puisqu’il existe un habitat approprié et que d‘autres cyprinidés ayant des aires de répartition semblables et les mêmes besoins en habitat, comme Notropis heterodon, que l’on n’avait pas rencontrés auparavant à l’ouest de Sault Ste Marie, ont été enregistrés récemment dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière à la Pluie dans le parc Quetico et dans le bassin hydrographique de la rivière Wabigoon du district de Kenora dans le Nord‑Ouest de l’Ontario (Crossman et McAllister, 1986; Crossman, 1986; Stewart, 1988).

Figure 4. Aire de répartition générale des données de collection de Notropis rubellus en Ontario (Mandrak et Crossman, 1992)

Figure 4.  Aire de répartition générale des données de collection de Notropis rubellus en Ontario (Mandrak et Crossman, 1992).


Figure 5.  Aire de répartition générale des données de collection de Notropis rubellus au Manitoba (tirée de sources citées dans le texte)

Figure 5.  Aire de répartition générale des données de collection de Notropis rubellus au Manitoba (tirée de sources citées dans le texte).

Des relevés documentés de la présence de l’espèce au Manitoba, où elle est connue (A.J. Derksen, spécialiste des pêches, ministère des Ressources naturelles du Manitoba, Winnipeg (Manitoba); communication personnelle) dans les bassins hydrographiques des rivières Whitemouth et Birch (affluent de la rivière Winnipeg qu’il rejoint en amont de chutes historiquement infranchissables) remontent au moins jusqu’à Hinks (1943). Toutefois, cet enregistrement est incertain car il établit la présence de l’espèce d’après des preuves non étayées de sa présence dans le réseau du lac des Bois. Fedoruk (1969) énumère également cette espèce parmi la faune du Manitoba, mais sans donner l’aire de répartition d’aucune espèce. Scott et Crossman (1973) ont inclus son aire de répartition au Manitoba comme étant dans la rivière Rouge au sud du Manitoba, peut-être d’après un relevé datant de 1955 effectué par J.J. Keleher dans la rivière Whitemouth à Whitemouth au Manitoba, catalogué au Musée royal de l’Ontario (ROM 17539), mais plus vraisemblablement par suite des relevés de l’espèce dans le bassin de la rivière Rouge au Minnesota (Derksen, communication personnelle). L’espèce n’est pas présente le long de l’axe de la rivière Rouge au Manitoba (K. Stewart, Département de zoologie, Université du Manitoba, Winnipeg (Manitoba); communication personnelle). On ne connaît aucun autre enregistremes fiable dans la documentation, même si l’espèce a été prélevée plusieurs fois depuis lors dans la rivière Whitemouth et aussi récemment qu’en 1984 (ROM 45731; MNC 84-0010, MNC 85-0002). Un relevé précédemment non signalé, effectué en 1976 dans le lac Manitoba, au Delta Marsh, catalogué dans la collection du Musée canadien de la nature (MNC 76-0421), a été réexaminé et a conduit à la décision que les poissons de cette collection étaient en réalité des Notropis atherinoides, et pas des Notropis rubellus (B. Coad, Musée canadien de la nature, Ottawa (Ontario); communication personnelle).