Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Paxton Lake, Enos Lake, and Vananda Creek Stickleback Species Pairs (Gasterosteus spp.) in Canada [Final]


Appendix I - Record of Cooperation and Consultation

The stickleback species pairs are listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA), and as an aquatic species are under federal jurisdiction and managed by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO): 200 - 401 Burrard Street, Vancouver, BC.

To assist in the development of an initial draft of this Recovery Strategy, as well as those for other listed freshwater fishes in British Columbia, DFO in cooperation with the Province of BC assembled a group of experts from various levels of government, academia, consultants, and non-governmental organizations to form the Pacific Region Non-Game Freshwater Fish Recovery Team. This team, co-chaired by DFO and the Province of BC, is responsible for drafting recovery strategies for Pacific Region freshwater fish species listed under SARA, including the stickleback species pairs. The recovery planning process for the stickleback species pairs was initiated through a stakeholder workshop in Nanaimo in March 2002. In addition, local stakeholders have subsequently established Recovery Implementation Groups for the Texada Island and Enos Lake species pairs.

Consultation on the draft Recovery Strategy was provided through a series of multi-stakeholder Community Dialogue Sessions and First Nations information exchanges in BC communities, as part of DFO Pacific Region's Fall Consultation Program. A consultation weblink was sent to 198 First Nations, Tribal Councils and Aboriginal Fisheries Commissions, as well as other stakeholders, and notices announcing the Community Dialogue Sessions were placed in 74 newspapers. Specific presentation and discussion sessions on the proposed Recovery Strategy for Stickleback Species Pairs were held in Sechelt in September 2005, and Nanaimo in November 2005, with no attendees at the Nanaimo session.

Additional input on the draft Recovery Strategy was sought through a discussion guide and feedback form available on the internet (October – December 2005). One response was received from a local resort developer. Input from the Province of BC was received through recovery team participation. An external peer review was conducted by Dr. Joe Nelson of the University of Alberta. All feedback received was considered in the finalization of the Recovery Strategy.

Recovery Team:

  • Jordan Rosenfeld, British Columbia Ministry of Environment (Co-chair)
  • Dan Sneep, Fisheries & Oceans Canada (Co-chair)
  • Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research (Coordinator)
  • Don McPhail, University of British Columbia
  • John Richardson, University of British Columbia
  • Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia
  • Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia
  • Paul Wood, University of British Columbia

External Review:

Joseph Nelson, University of Alberta

Page 6

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement des épinoches du lac Paxton, du lac Enos et du ruisseau Vananda (Gasterosteus spp.) au Canada [version finale]


Annexe 1 – Collaboration et consultation

Les paires d'espèces d'épinoches sont inscrites à l'Annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). En outre, en tant qu'espèces aquatiques, elles relèvent de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral et sont régies par Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) – 200 - 401 Burrard Street, Vancouver, C.-B.

Pour élaborer la première ébauche du présent programme de rétablissement ainsi que des programmes de rétablissement d'autres espèces de poissons d'eau douce inscrites de la Colombie-Britannique, le MPO, en collaboration avec le gouvernement de la C.-B., a réuni un groupe de spécialistes des divers paliers de gouvernement, du milieu universitaire, de services-conseil et d'organisations non gouvernementales pour former l'Équipe de rétablissement des espèces de poissons d'eau douce non pêchées de la région du Pacifique. Cette équipe, co-présidée par un représentant du MPO et un représentant du gouvernement de la C.-B., est responsable de la rédaction des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces de poissons d'eau douce de la région du Pacifique qui sont inscrites en vertu de la LEP, dont les paires d'espèces d'épinoches. Le processus de planification du rétablissement des paires d'espèces d'épinoches a été lancé en mars 2002 dans le cadre d'un atelier réunissant divers intervenants à Nanaimo. Par la suite, des intervenants locaux ont mis sur pied des groupes de mise en œuvre du rétablissement des paires d'espèces de l'île Texada et du lac Enos.

La consultation sur l'ébauche du programme de rétablissement a eu lieu par le biais d'une série de séances de discussion réunissant divers intervenants et d'échanges d'informations avec les Premières nations dans les communautés de la C.-B. dans le cadre du programme de consultation d'automne de la Région du Pacifique du MPO. Un lien Web pour la consultation a été envoyé à 198 Premières nations, Conseils tribaux et Commissions des pêches autochtones ainsi qu'à d'autres intervenants; des avis annonçant les séances de discussion communautaires ont aussi été publiés dans 74 journaux. Des exposés scientifiques et des séances de discussion sur la proposition de programme de rétablissement les paires d'espèces d'épinoches ont eu lieu à Sechelt, en septembre 2005 (4 personnes y ont participé), et à Nanaimo, en novembre 2005 (aucun participant).

Une consultation supplémentaire sur l'ébauche du programme de rétablissement a été effectuée par le truchement d'un guide de discussion et d'un formulaire de rétroaction publiés sur Internet (d'octobre à décembre 2005). Un promoteur de centre de villégiature local a répondu. Le gouvernement de la C.-B. a quant à lui participé au processus par l'entremise de membres de l'équipe de rétablissement. Un examen par un pair externe a été mené par le Dr Joe Nelson de l'University of Alberta. Tous les commentaires reçus ont été pris en considération pendant le processus de finalisation du Programme de rétablissement.

Équipe de rétablissement

  • Jordan Rosenfeld, British Columbia Ministry of Environment (Co-présidente)
  • Dan Sneep, Pêches et Océans Canada (Co-président)
  • Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research (Coordonnateur)
  • Don McPhail, University of British Columbia
  • John Richardson, University of British Columbia
  • Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia
  • Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia
  • Paul Wood, University of British Columbia

Examen externe:

Joseph Nelson, University of Alberta