Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the North Atlantic Right Whale (Eubalaena glacialis) in Atlantic Canadian Waters.

1. Background (cont'd)

1.9. Critical Habitat

Critical habitat as defined under section 2 of SARA is the “habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species”.

1.9.1. Characteristics of critical habitat

In February 2007, DFO Science conducted a Recovery Potential Assessment (RPA) for right whales in the western North Atlantic. A component of the RPA was the provision of Science advice on the identification of critical habitat for this species. The RPA had two main goals in relation to critical habitat: to establish a generic definition for critical habitat (i.e., define its biophysical attributes); and to identify, if possible, candidate critical habitat areas that would meet this definition (DFO 2007, Smedbol 2007). Much of the information used to develop a description of generic critical habitat has been presented in Sections 1.4.4. and 1.4.5.

The RPA stated that critical habitat for right whales in Canadian waters must allow successful feeding to ensure that sufficient energy reserves are accumulated to support the energetic cost of basal metabolism, growth, reproduction, and lactation. It has been hypothesized in several studies that variation in right whale condition, reproductive rate, and spatiotemporal distribution may be related to successful foraging (Caswell et al. 1999, Kenney et al. 1995, Kenney 2001). For example, during the 1990s the average calving interval increased from 3 to 6 years (Kraus et al. 2001), and during the same period whales that had usually been sighted in Roseway Basin were seen in the Bay of Fundy (Kenney 2001). A consensus working hypothesis proposed to explain these observations (e.g. Patrician 2005) is that during this period copepod concentrations in Roseway Basin were insufficient to meet right whale energy demands, and thus right whales moved into another predictable habitat nearby – Grand Manan Basin. Grand Manan Basin may have lacked the energy reserves necessary to support the increased number of whales in the Bay, and thus may have played a role in the observed reproductive failure (increased calving intervals and fewer births). This period of extended calving intervals was followed subsequently by five years of relatively higher birth rates, a return to shorter average calving intervals. (Kraus et al. 2005) and an increase in the number of right whales observed in Roseway Basin.

Critical habitat has to provide this level of foraging success for right whales on a predictable, interannual basis. Based on what is known about prey preference of right whales and the distribution of their prey, a fairly robust, science-based description of generic critical habitat for right whales was developed through the RPA, as follows: critical habitat includes areas that possess the environmental, oceanographic and bathymetric conditions that aggregate concentrations of right whale prey, especially stage C5 Calanus finmarchicus copepodites, at interannually predictable locations. It is likely that critical habitat in Canadian waters is seasonal in nature. Both right whale abundance and stage C5 Calanus finmarchicus concentrations peak during the late summer and early autumn in the Bay of Fundy and on the Scotian Shelf.  If in the future evidence was gathered suggesting that an area in Canadian waters supported an activity or behaviour, other than feeding, that is vital to life cycle closure, then the definition of critical habitat could be re-evaluated to determine if expansion of the definition is warranted.

1.9.2. Areas of critical habitat

Grand Manan Basin has been identified as critical habitat for right whales. This area matches the characteristics of critical habitat described above by supporting the highest concentrations of copepods in the Bay of Fundy (See Section 1.4.5.). The edges of Grand Manan Basin lie at about 100 m depth, and the maximum depth of the central Basin is approximately 200 m.  The area is exposed to strong tides and the topography and movement of water masses in Grand Manan Basin concentrate the resident copepod population. Every year the Basin area is frequented by a substantial number of the right whales, and in some years up to two thirds of the known population have been sighted in this region. Many females with calves have been sighted in the Bay of Fundy, and a portion of these right whale mothers regularly bring calves to the Bay. Much of the research concerning right whale habitat that has occurred in Canadian waters has been undertaken in and around Grand Manan Basin. This area has been recognized previously as an important area for right whale aggregation with the designation of the Bay of Fundy Right Whale Conservation Area (Figure 1).  

A map providing the boundaries of critical habitat to be protected under SARA (Section 58) is provided in Figure 4. 

Figure 4: Boundary of North Atlantic right whale SARA Critical Habitat for Grand Manan Basin. (Provided by Oceans and Coastal Management Division, DFO) 

Figure 4. Boundary of North Atlantic right whale SARA Critical Habitat for Grand Manan Basin. (Provided by Oceans and Coastal Management Division, DFO) 

The information used to refine the RPA advice, and derive the critical habitat boundaries, focused on available sighting data and sightings per unit effort (SPUE) analysis.  This is due to the limitations associated with the prey abundance and distribution data, particularly at a regional scale. Distribution of North Atlantic right whale sightings is believed to serve as a reasonable proxy for the distribution of the prey field, which in turn is the best available indicator of the location of areas possessing the conditions that aggregate prey. Areas where concentrations of North Atlantic right whales have been sighted on an interannually predictable basis are likely to coincide with areas where interannually predictable prey concentrations occur, and hence are likely to represent areas that possess the conditions necessary to aggregate right whale prey at interannually predictable locations. The boundary encompasses the highest concentration of SPUE (NEAq) and represents approximately 90% of all right whale sightings in the Bay of Fundy from all sources (see Figure 2). For administrative efficiency, a simple shape and prominent coordinates were chosen. As scientific information improves, the boundaries will be reviewed and updated as necessary to reflect the best available information.

Roseway Basin, on the southwestern Scotian Shelf, is another important area of right whale aggregation wherein right whales have been observed feeding and socializing. Mother-calf pairs have been seen in the area, but are rare. Like Grand Manan Basin, this area has been designated as a conservation area for right whales since 1993 (Figure 1). Although the RPA acknowledged the importance of Roseway Basin for right whales, it concluded that there was insufficient data on prey abundance to determine whether this area constitutes critical habitat as per the definition outlined in Section 1.9.1.

However, following the RPA, DFO and scientists from the academic community initiated a collaborative field program in Roseway Basin to address the information gaps and allow evaluation of Roseway Basin as potential critical habitat. This research program was in progress but still unfinished at the time of completion of this recovery strategy; however, it has provided some provisional information. Preliminary analyses of prey field and hydrographical data support the conclusion that Roseway Basin meets the criteria for inclusion as critical habitat for right whales. Based on the available information, critical habitat has been identified in Roseway Basin in this recovery strategy (see Figure 5). Boundaries have been selected to match the “Area To Be Avoided” (ATBA) designated by the International Maritime Organization (IMO; see section 2.7.1). These boundaries were determined in large part by high SPUE in the area, which was also used as a proxy for identifying critical habitat components in Grand Manan Basin (see above). The ATBA boundaries provide two additional efficiencies: they comprise the shape of a simple polygon, and the ATBA will be marked on updated nautical charts provided by the Canadian Hydrographic service. However, the geospatial boundaries of the critical habitat may require refinement once the ongoing research has been completed, and all of the work will have to undergo the process of scientific peer review.

Figure 5. Boundaries of North Atlantic right whale SARA Critical Habitat for Roseway Basin. (Provided by Oceans and Coastal Management Division, DFO) 

Figure 5. Boundaries of North Atlantic right whale SARA Critical Habitat for Roseway Basin. (Provided by Oceans and Coastal Management Division, DFO) 

Table 1 below outlines a schedule of studies for collecting information needed to further identify critical habitat for the North Atlantic right whale. The schedule of studies includes completion of the research activities discussed above to further evaluate the extent of critical habitat in Roseway Basin. This will be a high priority to address through the action planning process.

Other areas of critical habitat for right whales may exist, but detailed data for evaluation are not available. It is important to recognize that right whales have a migratory life history, and must be able to move in and out of critical habitat areas. Migration routes and movement corridors are required for access to habitat in Canadian waters. In addition, a sufficient amount of critical habitat must exist to allow persistence of a recovered population, and not just for current abundance. The schedule of studies outlined in Table 1 includes research activities that should help to determine whether other areas constitute critical habitat for this species. 

1.9.3.  Schedule of studies to identify critical habitat

The following research activities in Table 1 target key knowledge gaps on the habitat requirements of the North Atlantic right whale while seasonally resident in Canadian waters.  Accompanying each activity is an assessment of the overall priority, potential partners, and estimated timing. It is anticipated that implementing the following schedule will yield information to eventually allow for identification of additional areas of critical habitat for this species.

Table 1. Schedule of studies for North Atlantic right whales in Canadian waters to identify critical habitat

Research ActivitiesPriorityStart DateEstimated Timing
  2007

YR

1

YR

2

YR

3

YR

4

YR

5

Critical habitat identification       
Evaluate prey distribution in Roseway Basin to refine critical habitat boundaries.PrimaryOngoingxxx  
Evaluate prey distribution in Grand Manan Basin and surrounding areas to refine critical habitat boundaries.PrimaryOngoingxxxxx
Evaluate areas outside of the Scotia-Fundy region for potential as critical habitat (e.g. Gaspé area in the Gulf of St. Lawrence)SecondaryOngoingxxxxx
Determine migratory routes of right whales into and out of Canadian waters during their annual migration and evaluate whether migratory routes constitute critical habitat.SecondaryOngoingxxxxx

Other research priorities related to right whale habitat in Canada are described in section 2.5.3 of this document.

Note: Potential partners for the above activities could include but are not limited to the following:

Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Dalhousie University

Memorial University of Newfoundland

Canadian Whale Institute

Grand Manan Whale and Seabird Research Station

New England Aquarium

National Marine Fisheries Service

Aboriginal Representatives

Other Non-Governmental Environmental/Research Organizations

1.9.4 Activities that would destroy critical habitat

According to the RPA, activities that could degrade or destroy critical habitat potentially include oil and gas development, energy development using tidal or current sources, production of intense noise, contamination, or other activities that alter habitat in a way that would affect prey abundance. Climate change and invasive species are also identified as potential threats to critical habitat. Whether a specific activity would destroy critical habitat would depend heavily on the intensity and extent (in time and space) of the activity, how the activity was carried out, and the mitigation measures employed. To constitute destruction of critical habitat, an activity would have to destroy the functionality of the habitat for right whales, either through persistent alteration of the oceanographic and bathymetric features that lead to prey aggregation or persistent exclusion of whales from access to critical habitat.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la baleine noire (Eubalaena glacialis) de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique

1. Contexte (suite)

1.9. Habitat essentiel

En vertu de l’article 2 de la LEP, l’habitat essentiel s’entend de l’« habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce ».

1.9.1. Caractéristiques de l’habitat essentiel

En février 2007, le secteur des Sciences du MPO a effectué une évaluation du potentiel de rétablissement (EPR) de la baleine noire de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord. La prestation d’un avis scientifique sur l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce constitue un élément de l’EPR, qui a deux buts principaux à ce titre : établir une description relativement juste de l’habitat essentiel (c.‑à‑d. en décrire les caractéristiques biophysiques) et identifier, si faire se peut, les parcelles d’habitat essentiel susceptibles de satisfaire à cette description (MPO, 2007; Smedbol, 2007). L’information ayant servi à la description générale de l’habitat essentiel est présentée aux sections 1.4.4. et 1.4.5.

Il a été établi dans l’EPR que l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire dans les eaux canadiennes doit lui assurer un accès suffisant à la nourriture pour lui permettre d’accumuler les réserves énergétiques dont elle a besoin pour son métabolisme basal, sa croissance, sa reproduction et pour l’allaitement. Plusieurs études ont postulé l’hypothèse selon laquelle lavariation dans l’état des baleines noires, leur taux de reproduction et leur répartition spatio‑temporelle sont reliés au degré de succès de leur recherche de nourriture (Caswell et al., 1999; Kenney et al., 1995; Kenney, 2001). Par exemple, durant les années 1990, l’intervalle moyen entre les mises bas est passé de trois ans à six ans (Kraus et al., 2001) et, durant la même période, les baleines qui étaient auparavant observées dans le bassin Roseway ont été vues dans la baie de Fundy (Kenney, 2001). Selon l’hypothèse de travail généralement admise pour expliquer ces observations (p. ex. Patrician, 2005), les concentrations de copépodes dans le bassin Roseway durant cette période ne suffisaient pas à satisfaire les besoins énergétiques de la baleine noire, ce qui l’a poussée à se replier vers un autre habitat voisin prévisible – le bassin de Grand Manan. Il se peut que le bassin de Grand Manan n’ait pas offert les réserves énergétiques nécessaires à la subsistance du nombre accru de baleines dans la baie et que cela ait joué un rôle dans l’échec observé de la reproduction (intervalle plus long entre les mises bas et donc moins de naissances). Cette période d’intervalles prolongés entre les naissances a été suivie de cinq années de taux de natalité relativement élevés, d’un retour à des intervalles moyens de mise bas moins longs (Kraus et al., 2005) et d’une augmentation du nombre de baleines noires observées dans le bassin Roseway.

L’habitat essentiel doit donc assurer à la baleine noire des concentrations suffisantes de proies de façon prévisible et d’année en année. Compte tenu de ce que l’on sait au sujet de la répartition des proies de la baleine noire et des préférences alimentaires de celle‑ci, l’EPR a permis d’établir une description relativement juste de l’habitat essentiel général de cette espèce à savoir :l’habitat essentiel comprend les aires qui possèdent les conditions environnementales, océanographiques et bathymétriques qui favorisent la concentration des proies de la baleine noire, surtout les jeunes stades copépodites C5 de Calanus finmarchicus, à des endroits prévisibles, année après année.Il est probable que l’habitat essentiel en eaux canadiennes est de nature saisonnière. L’abondance de baleines noires et les concentrations des stades copépodites C5 de C. finmarchicusatteignent un pic à la fin de l’été et au début de l’automne dans la baie de Fundy et sur le plateau néo‑écossais. Si de nouvelles données sont recueillies prouvant qu’une aire en eaux canadiennes soutient une activité ou un comportement (non alimentaire) essentiel au cycle de vie, on pourra réexaminer la définition de l’habitat essentiel afin de déterminer si elle devrait être élargie.

1.9.2.  Parcelles d’habitat essentiel

Le bassin de Grand Manan a été identifié comme un habitat essentiel des baleines noires. Les conditions du bassin correspondent aux caractéristiques de l’habitat essentiel décrites ci‑dessus, dans la mesure où le bassin attire les plus fortes concentrations de copépodes de la baie de Fundy(voir la section 1.4.5). En bordure, le bassin atteint environ 100 m de profondeur, tandis qu’au centre, sa profondeur maximale est d’à peu près 200 m. Toute cette région est exposée à de fortes marées. La topographie et le mouvement des masses d’eau du bassin de Grand Manan favorisent les concentrations de la population résidente de copépodes. Chaque année, la zone du bassin est fréquentée par un nombre substantiel de baleines noires et, certaines années, jusqu’aux deux tiers de la population connue sont observés dans cette région. De nombreuses paires femelle‑baleineau sont observées dans la baie de Fundy et une partie de ces femelles amènent régulièrement leur baleineau dans la baie. Une grande proportion des études relatives à l’habitat de la baleine noire réalisées dans les eaux canadiennes, l’ont été dans le bassin de Grand Manan et aux alentours. Cette région a déjà été reconnue comme une importante aire de rassemblement des baleines noires lorsqu’elle a été désignée aire de conservation de la baleine noire dans la baie de Fundy (figure 1). 

La figure 4 montre les limites de l’habitat essentiel qui doit être protégé en vertu de la LEP (article 58).

Figure 4. Limites de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, aux termes de la LEP, dans le bassin de Grand Manan. (Carte établie par la Division de la gestion côtière et des océans du MPO).

Figure 4. Limites de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, aux termes de la LEP, dans le bassin de Grand Manan. (Carte établie par la Division de la gestion côtière et des océans du MPO).

Les données accessibles sur les observations et l’analyse des observations par unité d’effort (OPUE) ont constitué l’essentiel de l’information utilisée pour affiner l’avis fourni dans l’EPR et établir les limites de l’habitat essentiel, en raison des contraintes imposées par les données sur l’abondance et la répartition des proies, en particulier à l’échelle régionale. On estime que l’aire de répartition des observations de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord donne une indication raisonnable de la situation de l’aire de répartition des proies de cette espèce, qui à son tour est le meilleur indicateur disponible des endroits présentant des conditions favorables à la concentration de proies. Les zones de concentration de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord, qui ont été observées sur une base interannuelle prévisible, coïncideront vraisemblablement avec les aires de concentration de proies prévisibles d’année en année. Ces zones sont donc également susceptibles de posséder les conditions nécessaires pour favoriser la concentration de proies de la baleine noire à des endroits prévisibles, année après année. Les limites englobent la concentration la plus élevée d’OPUE (NEAq) et représentent environ 90 % des observations de baleines noires dans la baie de Fundy, toutes sources confondues (voir la figure 2). Pour des raisons d’efficacité administrative, des coordonnées et une forme simples ont été choisies. À mesure qu’on disposera de meilleures données scientifiques, on réexaminera et on mettra à jour les limites pour prendre en compte la meilleure information disponible.

Le bassin Roseway, dans le sud-ouest du plateau néo‑écossais, est une autre zone de rassemblement importante, où l’on a observé des baleines noires en train de se nourrir et de socialiser. Il est arrivé que l’on voie des femelles et leur baleineau dans cette zone, mais rarement. Comme le bassin de Grand Manan, ce bassin est désigné aire de conservation de la baleine noire depuis 1993 (figure 1). Bien que l’importance du bassin Roseway pour les baleines noires ait été reconnue dans l’EPR, il n’a pas été possible de déterminer si ce bassin correspondait aux caractéristiques de l’habitat essentiel définies à la section 1.9.1 puisqu’on ne dispose pas d’information détaillée sur la concentration des proies.

Toutefois, suite à l’EPR, le MPO a entrepris un programme de travaux concertés dans le bassin Roseway afin de combler les lacunes dans les données et d’établir si ce bassin est un habitat essentiel potentiel. Le programme de recherche se poursuivait au moment de l’achèvement du présent programme de rétablissement. Il a toutefois permis de recueillir des données provisoires. Les analyses préliminaires des données hydrographiques et des données sur la distribution des proies étayent la conclusion voulant que le bassin Roseway réponde aux critères de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire. Au vu des données disponibles, on a désigné dans le présent programme de rétablissement une aire d’habitat essentiel dans le bassin Roseway (voir la figure 5). Les limites de cette aire ont été choisies de sorte à coïncider avec les limites de la zone à éviter (ZAE) désignée par l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI; voir la section 2.7.1). Ces limites ont été choisies en grande partie en raison des OPUE élevées dans le secteur, qui ont également été utilisées comme indicateurs pour l’identification des parcelles d’habitat essentiel dans le bassin de Grand Manan (voir ci‑dessus). Les limites de la ZAE sont efficaces sur deux autres plans : elles forment un polygone simple et la ZAE sera indiquée sur les nouvelles cartes hydrographiques diffusées par le Service hydrographique du Canada. Il sera peut-être nécessaire, cependant, de préciser les limites géospatiales de l’habitat essentiel lorsque les recherches en cours seront terminées et que tous les travaux auront été évalués par les pairs.

Figure 5. Limites de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, aux termes de la LEP, dans le bassin Roseway. (Carte établie par la Division de la gestion côtière et des océans du MPO).

Figure 5. Limites de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord, aux termes de la LEP, dans le bassin Roseway. (Carte établie par la Division de la gestion côtière et des océans du MPO).

Un calendrier d’études pour la collecte des renseignements requis pour combler les lacunes dans les connaissances sur les besoins en matière d’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord est dressé au tableau 1. Il inclut l’achèvement des activités de recherche décrites ci‑dessus visant à évaluer l’étendue de l’habitat essentiel dans le bassin Roseway, une priorité élevée qui doit être abordée durant le processus d’établissement du plan d’action.

Il se peut qu’il existe d’autres parcelles d’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire, mais des données détaillées ne sont pas disponibles pour les évaluer. Il est important de reconnaître que la baleine noire est une espèce migratrice et qu’elle doit pouvoir aller et venir librement dans les parcelles de son habitat essentiel. L’accès à ces parcelles d’habitat en eaux canadiennes requiert des couloirs de migration et de déplacement. En outre, il doit exister un nombre suffisant de parcelles d’habitat essentiel pour assurer la persistance d’une population rétablie et non seulement maintenir l’abondance à son niveau actuel. Le calendrier des études dressé au tableau 1 inclut des activités de recherche qui devraient permettre de déterminer si d’autres aires constituent un habitat essentiel de l’espèce.

1.9.3.  Calendrier des études visant à désigner l’habitat essentiel

Les activités de recherche énumérées au tableau 1 ciblent des lacunes importantes dans les connaissances sur les exigences de la baleine noire en matière d’habitat lors de son séjour saisonnier dans les eaux canadiennes. Pour chaque activité, le niveau de priorité, les partenaires éventuels et le délai prévu sont précisés. On prévoit que la mise en œuvre des activités indiquées dans le calendrier suivant fournira des renseignements qui permettront, à terme, de localiser de nouvelles zones d’habitat essentiel pour la baleine noire.

Tableau 1. Calendrier des études visant à identifier l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes

Activités de recherchePrioritéDébutDélai prévu (an)
  200712 345
Désignation de l’habitat essentiel       
Évaluer l’aire de répartition des proies dans le bassin Roseway pour préciser les limites de l’habitat essentiel.PrincipaleEn coursxxx  
Évaluer l’aire de répartition des proies dans le bassin de Grand Manan et les zones avoisinantes pour préciser les limites de l’habitat essentiel.PrincipaleEn coursxxxxx
Évaluer le potentiel de certaines aires à l’extérieur de la région de Scotia‑Fundy à titre d’habitats essentiels (p. ex. région de la Gaspésie dans le golfe du Saint‑Laurent)SecondaireEn coursxxxxx
Déterminer les voies de migration de la baleine noire vers l’intérieur et vers l’extérieur des eaux canadiennes durant sa migration annuelle et évaluer les voies de migration pour savoir si elles constituent un habitat essentiel.SecondaireEn coursxxxxx

D’autres priorités de recherche reliées à l’habitat de la baleine noire au Canada sont décrites dans la section 2.5.3 de ce document.

Remarque : Les intervenants suivants pourraient compter parmi les partenaires éventuels pour les activités susmentionnées :

Ministère des Pêches et des Océans

Université Dalhousie

Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve

Canadian Whale Institute

Centre de recherche sur la vie marine de Grand Manan

New England Aquarium

National Marine Fisheries Service

Représentants des Autochtones

Autres organisations de recherche ou organisations environnementales non gouvernementales

1.9.4.  Activités menaçant l’habitat essentiel

Selon l’EPR, les activités qui pourraient entraîner la détérioration ou la destruction de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire incluent l’exploration et la production pétrolières et gazières, la production d’énergie à l’aide de marées ou de courants, la production de bruit de forte intensité, la contamination et d’autres activités qui perturbent l’habitat d’une manière qui nuit à l’abondance des proies. Le changement climatique et les espèces envahissantes sont également considérés comme des menaces potentielles à l’habitat essentiel. Le fait qu’une activité particulière entraîne ou non la destruction de l’habitat essentiel dépend fortement de l’intensité et de l’ampleur de l’activité (dans le temps et l’espace), de la manière dont elle est exécutée et des mesures d’atténuation appliquées. On considère qu’une activité détruit l’habitat essentiel de la baleine noire lorsqu’elle détruit la fonctionnalité de cet habitat, soit en modifiant systématiquement les caractéristiques océanographiques et bathymétriques qui favorisent la concentration des proies, soit en privant continuellement les baleines de l’accès aux parcelles