Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the North Atlantic Right Whale (Eubalaena glacialis) in Atlantic Canadian Waters.

1. Background 

1.1 Status

1.1.1 Canadian 

Species Assessment Information from COSEWIC

Common name: North Atlantic Right Whale

Scientific name: Eubalaena glacialis

Last Examination and Change: May 2003

Status : Endangered

Canadian Occurrence: Atlantic Ocean

Reason for Designation: The species, found only in the North Atlantic, was heavily reduced by whaling. The total population currently numbers about 322 animals (about 220-240 mature animals), has been decreasing during the last decade (1990s), and is experiencing high mortality from ship strikes and entanglement in fishing gear. A sophisticated demographic model gives an estimated mean time to extinction of 208 years.

Status History: The right whale was considered a single species and designated Endangered in 1980. Status re-examined and confirmed in April 1985 and in April 1990. Split into two species in May 2003 to allow a separate designation of the North Atlantic right whale. North Atlantic right whale was designated Endangered in May 2003. Last assessment based on an updated status report. 

1.1.2 Global

 Status in the United States (U.S.)

In U.S. waters, the North Atlantic right whale (originally jointly listed with the North Pacific right whale as ‘northern’ right whale) was first protected in June 1970 by the Endangered Species Conservation Act, which was the precursor to the Endangered Species Act (ESA). The species was subsequently listed as ‘endangered’ under the ESA since its passage in 1973.  In the same year, the species was designated as endangered and ‘depleted’ under the Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA).

Mandated under the ESA, in 1991 the U.S. Department of Commerce published a Recovery Plan for the Northern Right Whale (including both the North Atlantic and North Pacific right whale), which reviewed knowledge about natural history and human impacts, along with an outline of steps needed to reduce the risks of extinction and enhance the prospects of population recovery (NMFS 1991). The NMFS revised the 1991 plan and developed a separate recovery plan for the North Atlantic right whale population in 2005 (NMFS 2005). Under the ESA and MMPA, the NMFS produces annual stock assessments, which include for each stock the allowable “potential biological removal” (PBR) level. The current PBR for the North Atlantic right whale population is zero whales per year. 

Under U.S. law, “critical habitat” of endangered species must be designated and given special protection. Three areas were officially designated in 1994 as “critical habitat” under the ESA for the North Atlantic right whale population: Great South Channel and Cape Cod Bay (both in the southern Gulf of Maine) and the nearshore calving ground off northern Florida and Georgia (Figure 1).

International status

All right whales have been protected from commercial whaling since 1935, and further protected under the International Whaling Commission (IWC) since 1949. 

Globally, the right whale was listed as endangered and receives protection under the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES).  For countries that are signatories to the Convention, including Canada, CITES is an international agreement to ensure that trade in products derived from wild animals and plants does not threaten their survival.  Right whales were listed as ‘endangered’ by CITES in 1975 in Appendix 1, which consists of species threatened with extinction; trade of such species is only permitted under exceptional circumstances.

1.2 Disribution

1.2.1 Global Range

  The known historical range of right whales, based on whaling records, included a large area of the eastern seaboard of North America. This area extended from northern Florida along the coast to the waters of Atlantic Canada (Figure 1), east to southern Greenland, Iceland, and Norway, and south along the European coast to northwestern Africa (IWC 1986, Mead 1986, Mitchell et al. 1986, Reeves and Mitchell 1986).

Since the 1920s, sightings in the eastern North Atlantic have been sporadic (e.g., in the Canaries, Madeira, Spain, Portugal, United Kingdom, Iceland, and Norway), (Brown 1986, Martin and Walker 1997).  In the western North Atlantic, right whales once occurred from Florida to Labrador, including the Strait of Belle Isle and Gulf of St. Lawrence (Aguilar 1986, Reeves et al. 1999, Reeves 2001).  Prior to the 1930s they were also encountered and hunted during the summer in pelagic waters, particularly near the eastern edge of the Grand Bank and in an area directly east and southeast of Cape Farewell, the southern tip of Greenland (Reeves and Mitchell 1986).  

Figure 1: Western Atlantic range and present day distribution of the North Atlantic right whale. Critical habitat areas in U.S. waters are those areas formally designated under the  U.S. Endangered Species Act. (Prepared by K. Lagueux, New England Aquarium).

 

Figure 1: Western Atlantic range and present day distribution of the North Atlantic right whale. Critical habitat areas in U.S. waters are those areas formally designated under the  U.S. Endangered Species Act. (Prepared by K. Lagueux, New England Aquarium).

 1.2.2. Canadian Range

Two of the five known high-use habitat areas for this species are located in Atlantic Canada (Figures 1 and 2) with the other three located in the U.S. (Figure 1).  In the summer and autumn, North Atlantic right whales are observed suckling, feeding, and socializing in the lower Bay of Fundy between New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, and feeding and socializing in Roseway Basin between Browns and Baccaro Banks on the western Scotian Shelf (Stone et al. 1988, Kraus and Brown 1992, Brown et al. 1995).  The Bay of Fundy has been monitored annually since 1980 by researchers from the New England Aquarium (NEAq, Boston, Massachusetts). Monitoring of Roseway Basin has been more sporadic with surveys occurring in 1979-1980, 1985-1993, and 1998-2006 by the NEAq and other research groups. 

In addition, there are several other areas of Atlantic Canadian waters where North Atlantic right whales have been seen (Figure 2).  For example, North Atlantic right whales have been sighted in deep basins on the eastern Scotian Shelf (Mitchell et al. 1986; T. Cole, personal communication [1]), in the St. Lawrence Estuary near the confluence of the Saguenay River in 1998 (R. Michaud, pers. comm.), near the Mingan Islands off the lower north shore of Quebec in 1994, 1995, and 1998 (R. Sears, pers. comm.), and more than 30 different individuals over a decade near the mouth of the Baie des Chaleurs south of the Gaspé Peninsula in 1995-1998, and 2000-2006 (N. Cadet, J.F. Blouin pers. comm.). A dead North Atlantic right whale was found near the Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St. Lawrence in 2001 (NEAq unpublished data), and in the same year an entangled North Atlantic right whale was tracked with a satellite-monitored transmitter along the eastern Scotian Shelf into the Gulf of St. Lawrence to the Magdalen Islands and back to the Scotian Shelf, then south into the Gulf of Maine (Provincetown Center for Coastal Studies, unpublished data). Photographed sightings of North Atlantic right whales during the summer months from the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Gaspé Peninsula, and Labrador Basin, (Knowlton et al. 1992) have been matched to individuals in the identification catalogue for the North Atlantic right whale (Hamilton and Martin 1999).

North Atlantic right whales have not been sighted for more than a century in the historical whaling grounds in the Strait of Belle Isle between Labrador and Newfoundland. Here the species’ range is believed to have overlapped that of the bowhead whale (Aguilar 1986, Cumbaa 1986).  Recent analyses of DNA extracted from bone indicate that, contrary to what was previously believed, a very high proportion of the whales taken by the Basque whalers at Red Bay, Labrador, were bowheads (Balaena mysticetus) rather than North Atlantic right whales (Rastogi et al. 2004).

Figure 2. Canadian range of the North Atlantic right whale: 1951-2005. This map is based on individual North Atlantic right whale sightings from the North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium 1951-2005, the St. Andrews Biological Station whale sightings database 1992-2005 and the DFO Newfoundland Region whale sighting database 1975-2003.  Dots indicate North Atlantic right whale sightings (with U.S. waters data removed) and the red dotted lines are the boundaries of the exclusive economic zone of Canada, the United States and St. Pierre and Miquelon (France). (Prepared by Oceans and Coastal Management Division, DFO)

Figure 2: Canadian range of the North Atlantic right whale: 1951-2005. This map is based on individual North Atlantic right whale sightings from the North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium 1951-2005, the St. Andrews Biological Station whale sightings database 1992-2005 and the DFO Newfoundland Region whale sighting database 1975-2003.  Dots indicate North Atlantic right whale sightings (with U.S. waters data removed) and the red dotted lines are the boundaries of the exclusive economic zone of Canada, the United States and St. Pierre and Miquelon (France). (Prepared by Oceans and Coastal Management Division, DFO)



[1] Institutional affiliation for personal communications can be found at end of the References section.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la baleine noire (Eubalaena glacialis) de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique

1. Contexte

1.1.   Statut

1.1.1.  Statut au Canada

Sommaire de l’évaluation du COSEPAC

Nom commun : Baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord

Nom scientifique : Eubalaena glacialis

Dernier examen ou dernière modification : Mai 2003

Statut : Espèce en voie de disparition

Répartition auCanada : Océan Atlantique

Justification de la désignation: Cette espèce, qui n’habite que l’Atlantique Nord, a été grandement réduite par la chasse à la baleine. La population totale compte actuellement 322 baleines, dont environ 220 à 240 animaux adultes.  Elle a diminué au cours de la dernière décennie et connaît une mortalité élevée attribuable aux collisions avec des navires et à l’enchevêtrement dans des engins de pêche. Un modèle démographique perfectionné fixe à 208 ans le délai moyen de sa disparition de la planète.

Historique du statut : La baleine noire a été considérée comme une espèce distincte et a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en 1980. Réexamen de la situation et confirmation du statut en avril 1985 et en avril 1990. Division en deux espèces en mai 2003 afin de permettre une désignation séparée pour la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord. La baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en mai 2003. Dernière évaluation fondée sur une mise à jour d’un rapport de situation.

1.1.2.  Situation actuelle de l’espèce à l’étranger

Situation aux États-Unis (É.-U.)

En eaux américaines, la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord (regroupée à l’origine avec la baleine noire du Pacifique Nord sous le nom de baleine noire du Nord) est protégée depuis juin 1970 en vertu de la Endangered Species Conservation Act, précurseur de la Endangered Species Act (ESA). L’espèce a par la suite été inscrite à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition de l’ESA depuis sa promulgation en 1973. La même année, elle a été désignée comme étant en voie de disparition et décimée en vertu de la Marine Mammal Protection Act (MMPA).

L’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de plans de rétablissement sont exigées en vertu de l’ESA. Le département du Commerce des États-Unis a publié en 1991 un Plan de rétablissement de la baleine noire boréale (de l’Atlantique Nord et du Pacifique Nord), qui consistait en un survol des connaissances sur l’histoire naturelle de l’espèce et l’impact de l’homme sur ce cétacé, et qui exposait les étapes nécessaires pour réduire le risque d’extinction de l’espèce et augmenter les probabilités d’en voir se rétablir les effectifs (NMFS, 1991). Le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) a fait une mise à jour du Plan de 1991 et élaboré un plan de rétablissement distinct pour la population de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord en 2005 (NMFS, 2005). Dans le cadre de l’ESA et de la MMPA, le NMFS procède à une estimation annuelle des stocks, laquelle comprend pour chaque stock le niveau de prélèvement biologique potentiel (PBP) permis. Le niveau actuel de PBP pour la population de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord est de zéro baleine par an.

En outre, en vertu du droit américain, l’« habitat essentiel » des espèces en voie de disparition doit être désigné et se voir accorder une protection spéciale. En 1994, trois zones ont été officiellement désignées comme « habitat essentiel » de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord en vertu de l’ESA : le Grand chenal Sud et la baie du cap Cod (tous les deux dans le sud du golfe du Maine) et les aires de mise bas, près de la côte du nord de la Floride et de la Géorgie (figure 1).

Situation à l’échelle mondiale

La chasse commerciale des baleines noires est interdite depuis 1935. Elles bénéficient de la protection additionnelle de la Commission baleinière internationale (International Whaling Commission – IWC) depuis 1949.

À l’échelle mondiale, la baleine noire est reconnue comme une espèce en voie de disparition. Elle est protégée en vertu de la Convention sur le commerce international des espèces de faune et de flore sauvages menacées d’extinction (CITES). La CITES est un accord international qui vise à assurer que le commerce des produits dérivés d’espèces sauvages d’animaux et de plantes ne menace pas leur survie. Le Canada compte parmi les pays signataires. Les baleines noires ont été inscrites à l’annexe 1 de la CITES, qui regroupe les espèces menacées d’extinction. Le commerce de ces espèces n’est autorisé que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

1.2.  Répartition

1.2.1.  Aire de répartition mondiale

Dans le passé, l’aire de répartition de la baleine noire, d’après les registres de chasse à la baleine, comprenait une grande zone longeant la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord, s’étendant du nord de la Floride jusqu’au Canada atlantique (figure 1), à l’est vers le Groenland méridional, l’Islande et la Norvège, et vers le sud le long des côtes européennes jusqu’au nord-ouest de l’Afrique (IWC, 1986; Mead, 1986; Mitchell et al., 1986; Reeves et Mitchell, 1986).

Depuis les années 1920, des observations sporadiques ont eu lieu dans l’est de l’Atlantique Nord, p. ex. aux Canaries, à Madère, en Espagne, au Portugal, au Royaume-Uni, en Islande et en Norvège (Brown, 1986; Martin et Walker, 1997). Dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord, la baleine noire était autrefois présente depuis la Floride jusqu’au Labrador, y compris dans le détroit de Belle-Isle et le golfe du Saint-Laurent (Aguilar, 1986; Reeves et al., 1999; Reeves, 2001). Avant les années 1930, elle était également vue et chassée l’été dans les eaux pélagiques, notamment près du rebord oriental du Grand Banc et dans une zone située directement à l’est et au sud-est du cap Farewell, qui constitue la pointe sud du Groenland (Reeves et Mitchell, 1986).

Figure 1. Aire de répartition de la baleine noire dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord. Les parcelles d’habitat essentiel en eaux américaines sont celles officiellement désignées en vertu de la Endangered Species Actdes États-Unis. (Carte établie par K. Lagueux, New England Aquarium).

 Figure 1. Aire de répartition de la baleine noire dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord. Les parcelles d’habitat essentiel en eaux américaines sont celles officiellement désignées en vertu de la Endangered Species Actdes États-Unis. (Carte établie par K. Lagueux, New England Aquarium).

1.2.2.  Aire de répartition canadienne

 Deux des cinqzones connues d’habitat à utilisation intensive sont situées dans les eaux du Canada atlantique (figures 1 et 2) et les trois autres, dans les eaux américaines (figure 1). En été et en automne, on peut voir des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord allaiter leurs petits, se nourrir et socialiser à l’embouchure de la baie de Fundy entre le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse, tandis que dans le bassin Roseway, entre les bancs Browns et Baccaro, dans la partie ouest du plateau néo-écossais, on les voit en train de se nourrir et de socialiser (Stone et al., 1988; Kraus et Brown, 1992; Brown et al., 1995). Depuis 1980, la baie de Fundy est inventoriée annuellement par des chercheurs du New England Aquarium (NEAq, Boston [Massachusetts]). La surveillance du bassin Roseway a été plus sporadique; le NEAq et d’autres groupes de chercheurs y ont effectué des relevés en 1979 et 1980, de 1985 à 1993 et de 1998 à 2006. 

De plus, des baleines noires ont été vues à plusieurs autres endroits dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique (figure 2). Par exemple, des individus ont été vus dans les bassins profonds de la partie est du plateau néo-écossais (Mitchell et al., 1986; T. Cole, comm. pers.[1]), dans l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent près du confluent avec le Saguenay en 1998 (R. Michaud, comm. pers.) et près des îles Mingan sur la Basse-Côte-Nord québécoise en 1994, 1995 et 1998 (R. Sears, comm. pers.). Plus de 30 individus différents ont été observés près de l’embouchure de la baie des Chaleurs, au sud de la Gaspésie durant les périodes 1995-1998 et 2000-2006 (N. Cadet, J.F. Blouin, comm. pers.). En 2001, une baleine noire morte a été trouvée près des îles de la Madeleine, dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent (NEAq, données inédites). La même année, un individu pris dans un filet, suivi à l’aide d’un transmetteur satellitaire, s’est déplacé le long de la partie est du plateau néo-écossais vers le golfe du Saint-Laurent, pour se diriger vers les îles de la Madeleine, est revenu vers le plateau néo-écossais, puis est allé vers le sud jusqu’au golfe du Maine (Provincetown Center for Coastal Studies, données inédites). Des individus photographiés en été dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, en Gaspésie et dans le bassin du Labrador (Knowlton et al., 1992) ont été repérés dans le catalogue d’identification des baleines noires de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord (Hamilton et Martin, 1999).

Aucune baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord n’a été vue depuis plus d’un siècle dans les zones traditionnelles de chasse à la baleine du détroit de Belle-Isle, entre le Labrador et Terre-Neuve, région où l’aire de cette espèce semble avoir chevauché celle de la baleine boréale (Aguilar, 1986; Cumbaa, 1986). Des analyses récentes d’ADN extrait de matériel osseux révèlent que, au contraire de ce que l’on croyait, une très forte proportion des baleines capturées par les baleiniers basques à Red Bay, au Labrador, étaient des baleines boréales(Balaena mysticetus) plutôt que des baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord (Rastogi et al., 2004).

Figure 2. Aire de répartition canadienne de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord de 1951 à 2005. Cette carte illustre les observations de baleines noires tirées des dossiers du North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium (1951-2005), de la base de données sur les observations de baleines de la Station biologique de St. Andrews (1992-2005) et de la base de données sur les observations de baleines de la région de Terre-Neuve du MPO (1975-2003). Les points noirs indiquent les observations de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord (données pour les eaux américaines exclues) et les lignes tiretées rouges, les limites de la zone économique exclusive du Canada, des États-Unis et de Saint-Pierre et Miquelon (France).(Carte établie par la Division de la gestion côtière et des océans du MPO).

Figure 2. Aire de répartition canadienne de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord de 1951 à 2005. Cette carte illustre les observations de baleines noires tirées des dossiers du North Atlantic Right Whale Consortium (1951-2005), de la base de données sur les observations de baleines de la Station biologique de St. Andrews (1992-2005) et de la base de données sur les observations de baleines de la région de Terre-Neuve du MPO (1975-2003). Les points noirs indiquent les observations de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord (données pour les eaux américaines exclues) et les lignes tiretées rouges, les limites de la zone économique exclusive du Canada, des États-Unis et de Saint-Pierre et Miquelon (France).(Carte établie par la Division de la gestion côtière et des océans du MPO).



[1]L’affiliation institutionnelle des chercheurs avec lesquels on a communiqué personnellement est indiquée à la fin de la section des références.