Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the North Atlantic Right Whale (Eubalaena glacialis) in Atlantic Canadian Waters.

1. Background (cont'd)

1.3. Legal Protection

North Atlantic right whales are listed under Schedule 1, Part 2 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA), and therefore the SARA provisions against the killing, harming, harassing, capturing, taking, possessing, collecting, buying, selling, or trading of individuals or its parts (SARA section 32) and the damage or destruction of its residence (SARA section 33) apply directly to this species.  A rationale for not providing a residence description for the North Atlantic right whale has been developed (DFO 2007, Smedbol 2007).

Once identified, prohibitions will also be in place against the destruction of the species’ critical habitat (SARA section 58), where critical habitat is defined under section 2 of the Act as “the habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan”. Section 1.9 will address critical habitat as it relates to North Atlantic right whales in Canadian waters.

In addition to SARA, other federal statutes that offer legal protection for North Atlantic right whales and their habitat in Canada include the 1985 Fisheries Act (under Marine Mammal Regulations and a series of habitat protection provisions) administered by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans. The Marine Mammal Regulations give North Atlantic right whales legal protection from disturbance and deliberate killing, while the habitat protection provisions of the Fisheries Act prohibit works or undertakings that would cause the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat, including the habitat of marine animals. 

1.4. General Biology and Description

1.4.1. Name and classification

Class:               Mammalia

Order:             Cetacea

Family:            Balaenidae

Species:           Eubalaenaglacialis

Common species names 

English: North Atlantic Right Whale

French: Baleine noire de l'Atlantique Nord or baleine franche

1.4.2.Taxonomic status

 A 1998 International Whaling Commission (IWC) workshop recommended using Eubalaena (the right whales) as a separate genus.  The IWC Scientific Committee, after considering genetic and morphological data, decided at its 2000 annual meeting to accept Rosenbaum et al.’s (2000) analysis and proposed nomenclature. It was agreed to retain the generic name Eubalaena for right whales, and to recognize three species, E. glacialis in the North Atlantic, E. japonica in the North Pacific and E. australis in the southern hemisphere (IWC 2001a). 

The population structure of right whales in the North Atlantic is poorly understood.  A right whale workshop hosted by the IWC provisionally divided the North Atlantic (for statistical purposes) into eastern and western sectors and proposed to treat the area off Cape Farewell (60-62ºN, 33-35ºW) separately. However, photographs of identifiable individuals in the western North Atlantic have been matched with photographs of individuals in the Labrador Basin south-southeast of Greenland and off Norway (Knowlton et al. 1992, IWC 2001b). Given what is currently known about right whale movements and distribution, it is perhaps reasonable to continue to view the whales in the eastern and western North Atlantic as separate “stocks” while recognizing that these animals are highly mobile and sometimes move far outside their well-known habitats in the western North Atlantic (Knowlton et al. 1992, Reeves 2001).

1.4.3. Physical description

Right whales are large, relatively rotund whales, with square chins and a generally black colouration with occasional white belly and chin patches and no dorsal fin (Figure 3).  They grow to about 17 m in length, with adult females averaging about 1 m larger than adult males (Allen 1908, Andrews 1908).  Adult right whales weigh approximately 60-70 metric tones. A blubber layer up to 20 cm thick serves for both energy storage and insulation (Angell 2005).  The head is about 25% of the total body length in adults, up to 35% in juveniles.  A strongly arched, narrow rostrum and strongly bowed lower jaws are characteristic of the species.

Gray or black roughened patches of skin, called callosities, are found on the rostrum, behind the blowholes, over the eyes, on the corners of the chin, and variably along the lower lips and jaws (Figure 3).  The callosity pattern is unique to each right whale and is used by researchers to identify individuals (Crone and Kraus 1990, Hamilton and Martin 1999, Kraus et al. 1986a).  Callosities appear light yellow or cream coloured due to infestations of cyamid crustaceans commonly called whale lice.  Baleen plates are black or brown, number 205 to 270 on each side, average 2 to 2.8 m in length, and are relatively narrow (up to 18 cm wide) with fine hair-like fringes facing the interior of the mouth.  There are no grooves along the throat.  The tail flukes are broad, measuring up to 6 m from tip to tip. In the field, when seen along the axis of the animal, the blow is distinctly V-shaped and can reach 7 m in height.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la baleine noire (Eubalaena glacialis) de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique

1.0 Contexte (suite)

1.3. Protection juridique

Les baleines noires sont inscrites à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition de l’annexe 1, partie 2, de la LEP; par conséquent, il est interdit de tuer un individu de l’espèce, de lui nuire, de le harceler, de le capturer ou de le prendre. Il est également interdit de posséder, de collectionner, d’acheter, de vendre ou d’échanger un individu de l’espèce – notamment partie ou produit qui en provient (article 32 de la LEP), ainsi que de détruire ou d’endommager sa résidence (article 33 de la LEP). Smedbol (2007) et MPO (2007) exposent les motifs pour lesquels une description de la résidence de la baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord n’a pas été faite.

Lorsque l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce aura été identifié, des interdictions seront mises en place pour le protéger de la destruction (article 58 de la LEP). L’habitat essentiel est défini à l’article 2 de la Loi comme étant l’« habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce ». L’habitat essentiel des baleines noires dans les eaux canadiennes est examiné à la section 1.9.

Outre la LEP, d’autres textes législatifs fédéraux protègent les baleines noires et leur habitat au Canada. C’est le cas de la Loi sur les pêches (Règlement sur les mammifères marins et dispositions sur la protection de l’habitat) administrée par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans. Le Règlement sur les mammifères marins confère aux baleines noires une protection juridique contre les perturbations et l’abattage délibéré, tandis que les dispositions relatives à la protection de l’habitat de la Loi sur les pêches interdisent les travaux ou les ouvrages qui pourraient entraîner la détérioration, la destruction ou la perturbation de l’habitat du poisson, y compris de l’habitat des mammifères marins. 

1.4. Biologie générale et description

1.4.1. Nom et classification

Classe :            Mammifères

Ordre :            Cétacés

Famille :            Balénidés

Espèce :          Eubalaenaglacialis

Noms communs de l’espèce 

Français :         Baleine noire de l’Atlantique Nord ou baleine franche

Anglais :           North Atlantic Right Whale

1.4.2. Statut taxonomique

 La Commission baleinière internationale (IWC) a recommandé, lors d’un atelier tenu en 1998, de maintenir le genre Eubalaena (baleines franches). Le comité scientifique de l’IWC, après examen des données génétiques et morphologiques, a décidé en 2000, lors de sa réunion annuelle, d’accepter l’analyse et la proposition de nomenclature de Rosenbaum et al. (2000). Il a été convenu de garder le nom générique Eubalaena pour les baleines franches, et de reconnaître trois espèces, E. glacialis dans l’Atlantique Nord, E. australis dans l’hémisphère Sud et E. japonica dans le Pacifique Nord(IWC, 2001a).

 La structure des stocks de baleines noires dans l’Atlantique Nord est mal connue. Lors d’un atelier de l’IWC sur la baleine noire, on a divisé provisoirement l’Atlantique Nord en zones est et ouest « à des fins statistiques », et proposé de considérer séparément la zone située au large du cap Farewell (de 60 à 62 °N, de 33 à 35 °O). Pourtant, des photographies d’individus identifiables prises dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord ont été appariées avec des photographies d’individus prises dans le bassin du Labrador au sud-sud-est du Groenland et au large de la Norvège (Knowlton et al., 1992; IWC, 2001b). Compte tenu des connaissances actuelles sur les déplacements et la répartition des baleines noires, il serait raisonnable de continuer à considérer les baleines de l’est et de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord comme des « stocks » distincts, tout en reconnaissant que ces animaux sont très mobiles et s’aventurent parfois loin de leurs habitats bien connus de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord (Knowlton et al., 1992; Reeves, 2001).

 1.4.3. Description

 Les baleines noires sont des cétacés de grande taille et assez ronds, reconnaissables à leur menton carré, à leur peau généralement noire parfois tachetée de blanc au ventre et au menton, ainsi qu’à l’absence de nageoire dorsale (figure 3). Elles atteignent une longueur d’environ 17 m, les femelles adultes mesurant en moyenne 1 m de plus que les mâles adultes (Allen, 1908; Andrews, 1908). Les adultes pèsent entre 60 et 70 tonnes métriques. Une couche de graisse mesurant jusqu’à 20 cm d’épaisseur sert à la fois au stockage de l’énergie et à l’isolation(Angell, 2005). La tête représente environ 25 % de la longueur totale du corps chez les adultes, et jusqu’à 35 % chez les jeunes. Le rostre étroit et très arqué, ainsi que la mâchoire inférieure très recourbée, sont caractéristiques de l’espèce.

Des plaques de peau épaissie grises ou noires, appelées callosités, sont observables sur le rostre (le bonnet), à l’arrière de l’évent, au-dessus des yeux, aux coins du menton, et à des emplacements variables le long de la lèvre et de la mâchoire inférieures (figure 3). La disposition des callosités étant unique à chaque baleine noire, les chercheurs s’en servent pour identifier les individus(Crone et Kraus, 1990; Hamilton et Martin, 1999; Kraus et al., 1986a). Les callosités semblent jaune clair ou crème à cause des infestations de crustacés de la famille des Cyamidés (poux de baleine). Les fanons sont noirs ou marrons, au nombre de 205 à 270 de chaque côté, longs de 2 à 2,8 m en moyenne, et relativement étroits (jusqu’à 18 cm de largeur) avec de fines franges analogues à des poils vers l’intérieur de la bouche. Il n’y a aucun sillon le long de la gorge. La queue, large, mesure jusqu’à 6 m de pointe à pointe. En mer, lorsqu’il est observé dans l’axe de l’animal, le jet prend nettement l’apparence d’un V et peut atteindre 7 m de hauteur.