Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the North Atlantic Right Whale (Eubalaena glacialis) in Atlantic Canadian Waters.

1.5 Biological Limiting Factors

1.5.1 Life history strategy

Right whales are typical of species that exhibit long life spans, mature relatively late and produce fewer, larger young.  These characteristics result in relatively long generation times.  Offspring are typically relatively large and develop slowly, requiring a fair degree of parental investment. Such a life history strategy allows the population to endure periods of low reproductive output.  However, long generation times and low annual reproductive rates may leave the species susceptible to increases in mortality (e.g. human induced).  Over longer periods these species are prone to extinction if mortality remains high.  Population recovery can require long periods (on the order of decades) due to the low reproductive rates.

1.5.2 Low genetic diversity

Reproductive success in North Atlantic right whale may be impaired by low genetic diversity in the population. The ongoing genetic analyses of the right whale have shown that this species has among the lowest levels of genetic diversity identified in a large mammal at all markers tested to date, including: minisatellite markers (Schaeff et al. 1997); mitochondrial DNA sequences (Malik et al. 2000); and microsatellite markers (Waldick et al. 2002).  These findings have led to the hypothesis that the low level of genetic variability may be at least partially responsible for the reduced reproductive performance observed in this species.  Therefore, because this species has such low levels of genetic variability there is an increased probability that mating pairs will have similar genetic profiles, which could subsequently result in a high rate of foetal loss and a reduced reproductive performance.  Although conservation actions could not likely be implemented to mitigate the negative impacts of genetic characteristics on reproduction, this information will provide an estimate of the degree to which reproductive success and species recovery are limited by intrinsic factors.  

Analyses of the genetic characteristics of the extant population did not detect any evidence of a genetic bottleneck (Waldick et al. 2002).  These tests are only sensitive to recent events and suggest that a genetic bottleneck has not occurred since approximately the 1800s.  Additionally, genetic analyses of historic specimens from the 1500s suggest that the impact of Basque whaling on the North Atlantic right whale was much less than has previously been assumed, and that small population size may be a long-term characteristic of this species (Rastogi et al. 2004, Frasier et al. 2007).  In light of these recent data, suggesting that this species had a small population size prior to whaling, the idea of nutritional limitations becomes more feasible.

One hypothesis is that the last ice age reduced this population to a relatively small size, and additionally altered the environment in such a way that the western North Atlantic could only support a small population.  Under this scenario, nutritional factors, as well as genetic factors associated with long-term small population sizes, would be expected to influence present-day population trends.  Although the hypothesis of nutritional limitations (i.e. reduced availability of right whales’ copepod prey) remains to be tested, there is evidence that genetic characteristics are influencing reproductive success as would be expected under this scenario (Frasier et al. 2007). 

1.5.3 Low reproductive rates

The reduced reproductive performance of the right whale is recognized as one of the primary factors limiting the species’ recovery. Both short-term and long-term factors may affect reproductive rates (Kraus et al. 2007), and may have different implications for long-term recovery.

In a recent analysis of calving intervals between 1982 and 2006, Kraus et al. (2007) observed significant variation in the amount of time between births by individual females. The short-term effects of reduced reproduction include an increase in the average inter-birth interval from approximately 3.5 years in the 1980s to approximately 6 years in the 1990s (Kraus et al. 2001), although since 2001 this average appears to be returning to approximately 3 years for some of the adult females (Kraus et al. 2007). 

The long-term reproductive performance of this species is lower than expected, as is demonstrated in the lower number of calves born per year than would be expected given the population parameters.  This productivity deficit can be illustrated with a simple calculation. In 2005 the US National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) estimated population abundance to range from 300 to 350 individuals (NMFS 2005). Sex ratio in this population is approximately 50:50 (Brown et al. 1994), and it is estimated that 60% of the females are adults (Hamilton et al. 1998).  Application of these ratios to the population abundance results in an estimate of approximately 90-105 adult females in any given year. Therefore, since females are capable of giving birth once every 3 years (Knowlton et al. 1994, Kraus et al. 2001), it is expected that approximately 30-35 calves should be born per year, instead of the average of 11 in the 1980s and 1990s (Kraus et al. 2001) and 23 between 2001 and 2005 (Kraus et al. 2007) It appears that a high percentage of adult females have either never given birth or have had only one offspring.  

1.6 Economic, Cultural and Ecological Significance

The right whale is an important resource for several coastal communities in Atlantic Canada (see whale watching below). The right whale is a large, rare species that is becoming better known amongst the general public. There has been some media coverage about conservation issues and actions in Canada and the United States. The species almost certainly has substantial non-consumptive value to Canadian society because members of the public want to preserve the species for future generations (legacy value) or just derive value from knowing the species exists even though they will never personally see or ‘use’ the species (existence value).

1.6.1  Whale watching

Whale watching is an important part of the growing ecotourism sector along the shores of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, particularly in the West Isles and Grand Manan, New Brunswick and Digby Neck, Long Island and Brier Island, Nova Scotia areas.  Right whales are one of four large whale species commonly observed in the Bay of Fundy.  The industry in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia experienced rapid growth in the mid- to late 1990s.  In 1998, there were 140,000 individual whale-watching trips in all of New Brunswick and Nova Scotia with $5.12M in direct expenditures (Hoyt 2000).  Whale watching is also an important economic industry in Québec with occasional sighting of North Atlantic right whales.  The influence of right whale abundance on the overall viability of whale watching tour operators is not currently known as other whale species are also seen.  However, the public’s awareness and sensitivity toward right whale issues is enhanced through the educational component of whale watch excursions.  

1.6.2 Aboriginal

Right whales were found historically, and continue to be seen in the areas ofMi’kmaq, Passamaquoddy, and Maliseet Aboriginal communities. Harvesting of marine mammals is a tradition of Aboriginal communities in many parts of North America that reaches back several thousand years.  Historical and present-day uses and values of the North Atlantic right whale to Aboriginal communities are not known but there are currently no harvests for food, social and ceremonial purposes.

1.6.3 Ecological

Right whales are of great biological and ecological interest since they are one of the few marine mammals of this size that feed so low on the trophic chain (Gaskin 1991). Given this characteristic, right whales may be a good representative of ecosystem health, and a potential useful tool for monitoring the environment, as the species is known to show sensitivity to subtle environmental changes.

The reproductive biology of right whales also makes them an interesting species. Data suggest that right whales represent the most extreme case of sperm competition in the animal kingdom.  Understanding how this mating system impacts population dynamics (including the limits it places on growth and reproduction rates) may not only aid our understanding of this species, but could also aid our understanding of reproduction and reproductive biology in general.

This species may also be important for understanding small populations. The long-term data set and extensive genetic data combine to make this animal one of the most well-documented wild species.  As such, it has the potential to be a model for understanding the biology of small populations.

1.7 Population Size, Structure and Trends

The population of right whales in the western North Atlantic was estimated in the COSEWIC report (2003) to number about 322 animals. The COSEWIC report did not present the methods used to estimate population size, however the estimate represents the number of catalogued right whales thought to be alive in 2003.  Kraus and Rolland (2007) suggest that currently, there are no reliable estimates of right whale population size beyond stating that about 350 animals remain. In terms of trends, the population appeared to have been declining in the 1990s (Caswell et al. 1999, Fujiwara and Caswell 2001, Fujiwara 2002, Caswell and Fujiwara 2004), but only data through 1998 were used in those analyses. 

The North Atlantic right whale population is currently assumed to represent one interbreeding population; however this topic has yet to be adequately addressed.  It is recognized that there are great differences in the habitat use patterns of different individuals (Brown et al. 2001), and that the population shows significant signs of structuring or fidelity in relation to nursery use by mothers (Malik et al. 1999).  However it is not known if these patterns also result in the population being structured into two or more subpopulations separated by some degree of reproductive isolation.  Identifying cryptic population structure such as this represents one of the primary concerns in conservation biology because conservation actions often fail in situations where structuring exists but is undetected or unaccounted for (Taylor and Dizon 1999).  Testing for structure will identify if this species can be managed as one interbreeding population, or if it represents more than one continuous gene pool, with each sub-population requiring different management considerations.  Additionally, these data will reveal previously hidden information on social structure, reproductive biology, and habitat use patterns.  The tools necessary for addressing this issue (genetic profiles at a large number of variable loci) are now available, and this work is currently underway.

The North Atlantic right whale population was probably even smaller in the past than it is today (Reeves et al. 1992, Reeves 2001).  Malik et al. (1999) found only five matrilines represented in the mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA) from over 200 animals sampled in the western North Atlantic population.  Since mtDNA is inherited only from the mother, this suggests that the population went through a very small "bottleneck" at some time in the recent past. It is important to recognize, however, that each mtDNA haplotype could have been represented by more than one female and therefore the study by Malik et al. (1999) does not necessarily imply that only five female North Atlantic right whales existed at some point in the past.

Based on analyses of stranding, entanglement, and photographic data, Kraus (1990) and Kenney and Kraus (1993) estimated that mortality ranged between 5% and 18% during the first three years of life. Moore et al. (2007) determined that calves and juveniles are at significantly greater risk of dying than adults in a given year, though their analysis of all known mortality events shows no particular distribution among age classes or between sexes.  Adult mortality rates are very low, probably less than 1% annually, although population modelling studies (Fujiwara and Caswell 2001, Caswell and Fujiwara 2004) indicate that adult female mortality rates are substantially higher, and are the major contribution to the lack of recovery (Fujiwara and Caswell 2001, Kraus 2002). 

The North Atlantic right whale population has been subject to significant anthropogenic mortality (Knowlton and Kraus 2001)and has experienced a significant decline in reproductive rates during the 1990s (Kraus et al. 2001, Caswell and Fujiwara 2004).  In the period from 1980 to 1992, annual estimates of population size back-calculated from data on calving and mortality indicated a steady increase from 255 in 1986 to 295 in 1992, implying a mean net annual growth rate of 2.5% (Knowlton et al. 1994).  Fujiwara and Caswell (2001) however calculated the asymptotic population growth rates from 1980 to 1995 and found that the rate had, in fact, declined from 1980 to 1995. Those authors suggested that if the 1995 growth rate were maintained, the population would become extinct inperhaps as little as 100, and on average about 200 years. This latter analysis is currently thought to best represent the population growth rate trend for that time period (Kraus et al. 2005). The eastern North Atlantic population probably numbers in the low tens of animals, at most, and is certainly too small to offer any hope of a “rescue effect” on the western population.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la baleine noire (Eubalaena glacialis) de l’Atlantique Nord dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique

1.5 Facteurs biologiques limitatifs

1.5.1 Stratégie de vie

Les baleines noires sont typiques des espèces qui vivent longtemps, n’atteignent la maturité que relativement tard et produisent des petits moins nombreux mais plus gros. Ces caractéristiques résultent en une durée de génération relativement longue. D’ordinaire, les petits sont de taille relativement grande et se développent lentement, ce qui requiert un niveau assez élevé d’attention parentale. Cette stratégie de vie permet à une population de survivre à des périodes de faible production de petits. Cependant, la longue durée de génération et le faible taux de reproduction annuel exposent l’espèce à un accroissement de la mortalité (p. ex. d’origine anthropique). Sur une longue période, une telle espèce est sujette à l’extinction si la mortalité demeure élevée. Le rétablissement d’une population peut donc prendre beaucoup de temps (de l’ordre de décennies) en raison du faible taux de reproduction.

1.5.2 Faible diversité génétique

La faible diversité génétique de la population de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord peut nuire à son succès de reproduction. Les analyses génétiques de la baleine noire en cours ont révélé que l’espèce connaît l’un des plus faibles niveaux de diversité génétique trouvés chez un grand mammifère à tous les marqueurs analysés jusqu’à maintenant, y compris des minisatellites (Schaeff et al., 1997); des séquences d’ADN mitochondrial (Malik et al., 2000) et des microsatellites (Waldick et al., 2002). Ces résultats ont mené à la formulation de l’hypothèse selon laquelle le faible niveau de variabilité génétique peut être responsable, du moins en partie, de la performance de reproduction réduite observée chez cette espèce. En effet, parce que cette espèce présente des niveaux de variabilité génétique faibles, la probabilité qu’un couple possède un profil génétique semblable est accrue, ce qui pourra entraîner un taux élevé de perte fœtale et réduire la performance reproductive. Bien qu’il soit probablement impossible de mettre en œuvre des mesures de conservation pour atténuer les effets négatifs des caractéristiques génétiques sur la reproduction, cette information donne une estimation du degré auquel le succès de reproduction et le rétablissement de l’espèce sont limités par des facteurs intrinsèques.

Les analyses des caractéristiques génétiques de la population existante n’ont pas révélé de signe d’étranglement génétique (Waldick et al., 2002). Ces analyses sont sensibles aux événements récents seulement, et donnent à penser qu’un étranglement génétique ne s’est pas produit depuis environ les années 1800. En outre, les analyses génétiques de spécimens capturés dans les années 1500 donnent à penser que l’impact de la chasse baleinière basque sur la baleine noire de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord a été nettement moindre qu’on ne l’a cru et que la faible taille de la population est une caractéristique à long terme de cette espèce (Rastogi et al., 2004; Frasier et al., 2007). À la lumière de ces récentes données, qui suggèrent que la taille de la population de l’espèce était faible avant le début de la chasse, l’hypothèse de contraintes nutritionnelles devient plus plausible.

Une autre hypothèse veut que la dernière époque glaciaire ait décimé cette population en plus de modifier son milieu de vie au point que seule une petite population pouvait survivre dans l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord. Dans de telles conditions, on pourrait s’attendre à ce que des facteurs nutritionnels ainsi que des facteurs génétiques associés à la faible taille de la population à long terme aient un effet sur sa trajectoire actuelle. Bien que l’hypothèse des contraintes nutritionnelles (abondance réduite des copépodes dont se nourrit la baleine noire) reste à prouver, il existe des preuves que les caractéristiques génétiques ont un effet sur le succès de reproduction, comme on pourrait s’y attendre dans ces conditions (Frasier et al., 2007).

1.5.3 Faible taux de reproduction

La performance de reproduction réduite de la baleine noire est reconnue comme l’un des principaux facteurs entravant le rétablissement de l’espèce. Des facteurs à court terme aussi bien qu’à long terme peuvent avoir une incidence sur le taux de reproduction (Kraus et al., 2007)et influer différemment sur le rétablissement à long terme.

Dans une récente analyse des intervalles de mise bas entre 1982 et 2006, Kraus et al. (2007) ont observé une variation significative dans la période entre les mises bas chez des femelles individuelles. Les effets à court terme d’une baisse du taux de reproduction incluent l’accroissement de l’intervalle moyen entre les naissances, qui est passé d’environ 3,5 ans dans les années 1980 à environ 6 ans dans les années 1990 (Kraus et al., 2001), bien que, depuis 2001, cette moyenne semble revenir à environ 3 ans chez quelques femelles (Kraus et al., 2007).

La performance de reproduction à long terme de cette espèce est plus faible que prévue, comme le démontre le nombre de baleineaux produits par année, qui est inférieur à ce que permettraient d’espérer les paramètres démographiques. Le déficit de productivité peut être illustré par un simple calcul. En 2005, le National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) des États-Unis a estimé la taille de la population comme étant de l’ordre de 300 à 350 individus (NMFS, 2005). Le ratio des sexes dans cette population est d’environ 50/50 (Brown et al., 1994) et quelque 60 % des femelles sont des adultes (Hamilton et al., 1998), ce qui signifie que, dans une année donnée, la population compte de 90 à 105 femelles adultes environ. Étant donné qu’une femelle peut donner naissance à tous les trois ans (Knowlton et al., 1994; Kraus et al., 2001), la production annuelle de baleineaux devrait se situer entre 30 et 35 environ plutôt que la moyenne de 11 dans les années 1980 et 1990 (Kraus et al., 2001) et de 23 de 2001 à 2005 (Kraus et al., 2007). Il semble qu’un pourcentage élevé de femelles adultes n’ont soit jamais mis bas ou n’ont eu qu’un seul baleineau.

1.6 Importance économique, culturelle et écologique

La baleine noire constitue une ressource importante pour plusieurs collectivités côtières du Canada atlantique (voir la section sur l’observation des baleines ci-dessous). Se démarquant par sa taille et sa rareté, elle est en voie d’être mieux connue du grand public. Les enjeux et les mesures de conservation de l’espèce ont fait l’objet d’une certaine couverture médiatique au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il est presque certain qu’elle a une importante valeur rationnelle pour la société canadienne parce que les membres du public veulent la préserver pour les générations futures (valeur de legs) ou tirent une valeur du simple fait de savoir qu’elle existe, même s’ils ne la verront ou ne l’utiliseront jamais (valeur d’existence).

1.6.1 Observation des baleines

L’observation des baleines constitue un élément important du secteur de l’écotourisme en expansion le long des côtes du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, en particulier à West Isles et à Grand Manan, au Nouveau-Brunswick, et dans l’isthme de Digby, l’île Long et l’île Brier, en Nouvelle-Écosse. La baleine noire est l’une des quatre espèces de grands cétacés fréquemment vuesdans la baie de Fundy. Au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse, l’industrie a connu un essor rapide du milieu à la fin des années 1990. En 1998, 140 000 sorties d’observation des baleines, qui ont rapporté 5,12 millions de dollars, ont eu lieu dans les eaux de ces deux provinces (Hoyt, 2000). L’observation des baleines représente aussi une activité économique importante au Québec, où quelques baleines noires ont été signalées.  L’influence de l’abondance de la baleine noire sur la viabilité globale des entreprises d’observation des baleines est inconnue à l’heure actuelle car d’autres espèces de cétacés sont également recherchées. Toutefois, le volet éducatif des sorties d’observation des baleines permet de rehausser le niveau de sensibilisation du public à l’égard des problèmes de la baleine noire.

1.6.2 Importance pour les Autochtones

Par le passé et aujourd’hui encore, des baleines noires sont vues à proximité des collectivités des Premières nations Mi’kmaq, Passamaquoddy et Malécite. Dans de nombreuses parties de l’Amérique du Nord, la récolte de mammifères marins est une tradition des collectivités autochtones qui date de plusieurs milliers d’années. On ignore ce que la baleine noire représentait (et représente peut-être toujours) pour les collectivités autochtones et comment celles-ci l’utilisaient; quoi qu’il en soit aucune baleine noire n’est récoltée à l’heure actuelle à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles.

1.6.3 Importance écologique

Les baleines noires présentent un grand intérêt au plan biologique et écologique car elles comptent parmi les quelques grands mammifères marins qui se nourrissent à un niveau trophique inférieur (Gaskin, 1991). De par cette caractéristique, ce cétacé peut être un bon indicateur de l’état de santé de l’écosystème et un outil utile pour la surveillance de l’environnement, car on sait que l’espèce est sensible à des modifications environnementales subtiles.

La biologie reproductive de la baleine noire en fait également une espèce intéressante. Les données donnent à penser que ce cétacé représente le cas le plus extrême de compétition du sperme dans le royaume animal. La compréhension de l’effet du système de reproduction sur la dynamique de la population (y compris les limites qu’il place sur le taux de croissance et de reproduction) peut nous éclairer non seulement sur l’espèce mais aussi sur la biologie de la reproduction en général.

Cette espèce peut également nous permettre de mieux comprendre la dynamique des populations de petite taille. Les ensembles de données à long terme et de données génétiques exhaustives dont on dispose sur la baleine noire en font l’une des espèces sauvages les mieux documentées. À ce titre, elle pourrait servir de modèle pour comprendre la biologie des populations de petite taille.

1.7 Taille, structure et tendances despopulations

Le rapport du COSEPAC (2003) chiffre la population de baleines noires de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord à 322 individus. Bien qu’aucune mention n’y soit faite des méthodes de calcul de la taille de cette population, ce chiffre représente le nombrede baleines noires cataloguées et présumées encore vivantes en 2003. Selon Kraus et Rolland (2007), il n’existe aucune estimation fiable de la taille de la population à l’heure actuelle; tout ce que l’on peut dire, c’est qu’il reste environ 350 animaux. Sur le plan des tendances, la population semble avoir connu un déclin dans les années 1990 (Caswell et al., 1999; Fujiwara et Caswell, 2001; Fujiwara, 2002; Caswell et Fujiwara, 2004), mais seules des données allant jusqu’à 1998 ont été utilisées dans ces analyses.

On suppose actuellement que les baleines noires de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord font partie d’une seule et même population interféconde; cette question doit toutefois être élucidée. Il est reconnu qu’il existe de grandes différences dans les habitudes d’utilisation de l’habitat (Brown et al., 2001) et que les mères montrent des signes marqués de structuration ou de fidélité par rapport à l’utilisation des pouponnières (Malik et al., 1999). On ne sait toutefois pas si ces habitudes mènent aussi à la division de la population en deux sous-populations ou plus, séparées par un certain niveau d’isolement reproductif. L’établissement de la structure cachée d’une population comme celle-ci constitue l’une des principales préoccupations en biologie de conservation, parce qu’il arrive souvent que les mesures de conservation d’une espèce échouent lorsqu’une structuration existe mais n’a pas été décelée ou n’a pas été prise en compte (Taylor et Dizon, 1999). Le dépistage d’une structure permet d’établir si une espèce peut être gérée comme une seule population interféconde ou si elle représente plus d’un fonds génétique continu, de sorte que chaque sous-population nécessitera des mesures de gestion différentes. De plus, ces données révèleront de l’information jusque-là cachée sur la structure sociale, la biologie de la reproduction et les habitudes d’utilisation de l’habitat de l’espèce. Les outils requis pour résoudre ce problème (profils génétiques à un grand nombre de loci variables) sont maintenant disponibles, et les travaux sont en cours.

La population de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord s’est probablement déjà trouvée plus petite encore autrefois qu’elle ne l’est aujourd’hui (Reeves et al., 1992; Reeves, 2001). Malik et al. (1999) ont trouvé seulement cinq lignées maternelles représentées dans l’ADN mitochondrial (ADNmt) de plus de 200 animaux échantillonnés dans la population de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord. Étant donné que l’ADNmt n’est transmis que par la mère, cela porte à croire que la population est passée par un « goulot d’étranglement » très étroit dans un passé récent. Néanmoins, il est important de reconnaître que chaque haplotype d’ADNmt peut avoir été représenté par plus d’une femelle. Par conséquent, l’étude de Malik et al. ne signifie pas nécessairement qu’il n’y avait que cinq baleines noires femelles vivantes à un certain moment dans le passé.

D’après les analyses des échouages, des enchevêtrements dans des engins de pêche et des données photographiques, Kraus (1990) et Kenney et Kraus (1993) ont estimé que le taux de mortalité variait entre 5 et 18 % pendant les trois premières années de vie. Moore et al. (2007) ont déterminé que les baleineaux et les juvéniles couraient un risque de décès nettement plus élevé que les adultes dans une année donnée, bien que leur analyse de tous les cas de mortalité connus ne révèle aucune distribution particulière entre les classes d’âge ou entre les sexes. Le taux de mortalité des adultes est très faible, probablement inférieur à 1 % par année, quoique des études de modélisation des populations (Fujiwara et Caswell, 2001; Caswell et Fujiwara, 2004) montrent que celui des femelles adultes est beaucoup plus élevé et contribue pour une bonne part à l’absence de rétablissement (Fujiwara et Caswell, 2001; Kraus, 2002).

La population de baleines noires de l’Atlantique Nord a été exposée à une mortalité anthropique importante (Knowlton et Kraus, 2001) et a connu une chute notable des taux de reproduction durant les années 1990 (Kraus et al., 2001;Caswell et Fujiwara, 2004).Toutefois, entre 1980 et 1992, les estimations annuelles de la taille de la population, rétrocalculées à partir des données concernant la mise bas et la mortalité, ont été en augmentation constante, passant de 255 individus en 1986 à 295 en 1992, ce qui suppose un taux de croissance annuel moyen net de 2,5 % (Knowlton et al., 1994). Fujiwara et Caswell (2001) ont calculé les taux de croissance asymptotiques de la population entre 1980 et 1995; ils ont trouvé que le taux avait effectivement chuté. Ces auteurs jugent que si le taux de croissance de 1995 est maintenu, la population va disparaître d’ici 100 à 200 ans. On considère actuellement cette dernière analyse comme étant celle qui représente le mieux la tendance du taux de croissance de cette population pour cette période (Kraus et al., 2005). Par ailleurs, comme la population de l’est de l’Atlantique Nord se chiffre en dizaines tout au plus, elle est certainement trop réduite pour que l’on puisse espérer qu’elle ait un quelconque « effet de sauvetage » sur la population de l’ouest de l’Atlantique Nord.