Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Yucca Moth (Tegeticula yuccasella)

Habitat

Habitat requirements

In Alberta, Yucca Moths are restricted to the Dry Mixed Grass Subregion (ANHIC 2001).  This semi-arid subregion has a continental climate with extremes of weather and large daily and seasonal variations in temperature characterized by low precipitation, hot summers and a high rate of evaporation.  The rate of evaporation is exacerbated by a high average wind speed, often approaching 100 km/hr.

At the northern edge of its range in Alberta and Montana, the Yucca Moth uses only Soapweed for oviposition and for larval feeding.  There is no other Yucca sp. naturally occurring within Canada that could act as a host plant for the Yucca Moth.  This plant grows in sparsely distributed populations on well-drained, mostly south-facing coulee slopes.  Typically, these slopes are eroded, dry and sparsely vegetated with prickly pear cactus (Opuntia polyacantha) and sagebrush (Artemisia cana).  The aspects of slopes supporting Soapweed in Alberta range from 34º (northeast) to 200º (south-southwest), and generally face away from prevailing southwest winds, except in cases where slopes are protected by adjacent slopes.  Soils tend to be alkaline and regosolic without shallow hardpan (Milner 1977, Fairbarns 1984).  In areas further south (northern Wyoming), Soapweed grows on flatter ground and occurs in sand dunes, pine forests and glades in the east and grassland in the southwest, and ranges in altitude from 0 to 1920 m (Pellmyr 1999).

Trends

Appropriate habitat for Yucca Moths is naturally limited at the northern edge of  the species' range in Alberta.  Although there are numerous south-facing coulee slopes throughout the southeastern part of Alberta, many of these locations are grass-covered rather than eroded and are not inhabited by either the Soapweed or the Yucca Moth.  Available habitat has not been reduced by agricultural practices (other than the negligible effects of cattle grazing) because Soapweed grows on steep coulee slopes that are unusable for crop production.

Protection/ownership

Although the Soapweed is designated as Threatened by COSEWIC and the Yucca Moth is recommended to be listed as Endangered by the provincial government in Alberta, neither the Yucca Moth nor the Soapweed has any formal protection.  Preliminary planning for a recovery team and plan for both species is underway.  Fortunately, both populations occur in relatively isolated, undisturbed sites.  The largest population of the Yucca Moth occurs on the Lost River, near Onefour, AB on land owned and managed by Agri-food and Agriculture Canada.  The smaller, declining population, is located on a public grazing reserve managed by the province of Alberta.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

l’oponce de l’Est (Opuntia humifusa)

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

En Alberta, la teigne du yucca est confinée à la sous-région sèche à graminées mixtes (ANHIC, 2001). Cette sous-région semi-aride est soumise à un climat continental caractérisé par des conditions météorologiques extrêmes et d’importantes fluctuations journalières et saisonnières des températures, des précipitations faibles, des étés chauds et un fort taux d’évaporation. L’évaporation est amplifiée par la présence de forts vents qui soufflent souvent à près de 100 km/h.

À l’extrémité nord de son aire, en Alberta et au Montana, la teigne du yucca pond ses œufs et se nourrit à l’état larvaire exclusivement sur le yucca glauque. Aucune des autres espèces de yucca utilisées ailleurs comme plantes hôtes n’est naturellement présente au Canada. Le yucca glauque se rencontre en peuplements épars sur des pentes de coulée bien drainées et généralement exposées au sud. Ces pentes sont habituellement érodées et sèches et couvertes d’une végétation clairsemée dominée par l’oponce à épines nombreuses (Opuntia polyacantha) et l’armoise argentée (Artemisia cana). L’exposition des pentes colonisées par le yucca glauque en Alberta varie de 34° (nord-est) à 200° (sud-sud-ouest). Ces pentes sont généralement orientées dans la direction opposée aux vents dominants du sud-ouest, sauf lorsqu’elles sont protégées par d’autres pentes adjacentes. Les sols sont habituellement alcalins et régosoliques, sans croûte (Milner, 1977; Fairbarns, 1984). Plus au sud (Nord du Wyoming), le yucca glauque est associé aux terrains plus plats et se rencontre dans les dunes de sable, les pinèdes et les clairières dans l’Est et dans les milieux à graminées dans le Sud-Ouest, à des altitudes de 0 à 1920 m (Pellmyr, 1999).

Tendances

À l’extrémité nord de l’aire de la teigne du yucca, en Alberta, la disponibilité des milieux favorables est limitée par des facteurs naturels. Bien que les pentes de coulée exposées au sud soient nombreuses dans le Sud-Est de l’Alberta, nombre d’entre elles sont couvertes de graminées et non érodées et ne sont habitées ni par le yucca glauque, ni par la teigne du yucca. Si l’on fait exception des effets négligeables du pâturage par le bétail, l’agriculture n’a eu aucun effet sur la disponibilité des habitats favorables, car le yucca glauque pousse sur des pentes de coulée abruptes impropres à l’agriculture.

Protection et propriété des terrains

Bien que le yucca glauque soit désigné espèce menacée par le COSEPAC et que le gouvernement de l’Alberta ait recommandé l’ajout de la teigne du yucca à la liste des espèces en voie de disparition, ces deux espèces ne bénéficient d’aucune forme de protection structurée. La planification préliminaire d’une équipe et d’un plan de rétablissement pour les deux espèces est en cours. Heureusement, les populations de la teigne du yucca et de sa plante hôte occupent des sites relativement isolés et non perturbés. La plus grande population de teignes du yucca est établie sur les rives de la rivière Lost, près de Onefour (Alberta), sur des terres appartenant à Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et gérées par ce ministère. L’autre population, plus petite et en déclin, se trouve dans une réserve de pâturage publique gérée par le gouvernement de l’Alberta.