Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Bering Cisco in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Bering Cisco
Coregonus Laurettae

Species Information

The Bering cisco is troutlike, having an elongate silvery body and terminal jaws. Adults may attain fork lengths of up to 48 cm; however, the average (fork) length of migrating fish in the Yukon River is about 37 cm. The species is distinguished from other cisco by the pale, almost colourless pelvic and pectoral fins and 18 to 25 gill rakers on the lower portion of the first gill arch. The Bering cisco is presumably anadromous, with extensive spawning migrations into the upper reaches of large rivers that flow into the Beaufort, Bering and Chukchi seas.

 

Distribution

In North America, Bering cisco are more commonly encountered in coastal regions of Alaska in the Beaufort, Bering and Chukchi seas. Spawning migrations are almost exclusively limited to Alaska, although some migrants in the Yukon River reach Canadian waters with sporadic observations as far upstream as Dawson City, Yukon Territory. It is conceivable that the species may be found along the Yukon Territory portion of the Beaufort Sea coastline, but its presence there has not been confirmed.

 

Habitat

The Bering cisco is typically found in nearshore coastal habitat of low salinity. It is thought to be less tolerant of the higher saline waters that occur offshore in marine environments. The species prefers river estuaries and brackish water lagoons along coastal Alaska, where they feed on a variety of benthic and planktonic foods. Large annual migrations are made to spawning locations in the mainstem portions of large rivers of Alaska.

 

Biology

The biology of the Bering cisco has received little study in Canada. In Alaska, the life history of Bering cisco is thought to be analogous to Arctic cisco of the Mackenzie River. Fish apparently winter in brackish water near river mouths. Anadromous populations of Bering cisco are thought to have migrations of over 2100 km in the Yukon River. Spawning occurs over loosely compacted gravel beds in swiftly flowing water. Eggs are typically broadcast and abandoned by their parents. After spawning, adults are believed to move downstream to the sea. It is unknown if adults are repeat spawners. The eggs presumably hatch in the spring and the young descend downstream to brackish estuarine habitat. Bering cisco are a schooling species that rear and feed in coastal waters before reaching sexual maturity. Sexual maturity is thought to be attained at 4 to 9 years of age. There is potential for some segment of the annual migration to possibly winter in freshwater.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

There has been very little research, assessment or management effort focused on the Bering cisco throughout their range. Correspondence with management biologists and a literature search revealed little information specific to population size, catch or abundance. The majority of information related to this species is simply reports of their occurrence in a particular region, usually through fisheries investigations on other salmonid species.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The migratory behaviour of Bering cisco makes the species susceptible to obstructions such as causeways and dams. The reduction of water flow or alteration in discharge or water quality, in those rivers where they are known to spawn, could be a limiting factor and threat in the future. Present subsistence harvests are thought to be relatively small and conservative throughout their range, but species-specific harvest data are not available. It is possible that commercial fisheries for other species could threaten the Bering cisco.

 

Special Significance of the Species

In Alaska, large spawning movements in the Yukon River suggest Bering cisco play a significant role in the ecology of the Bering Sea. The species is presumably an important food source to a number of predators in coastal environments. In Canada, their occurrence may represent a population(s) on the farthest edge of its migratory range. The species is utilized in subsistence fisheries throughout its coastal range, although harvests are thought to be conservative relative to salmon.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le cisco de l'Alaska au Canada – Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Cisco de l’Alaska
Coregonus laurettae

Information sur l’espèce

Le cisco de l’Alaska est un poisson qui ressemble à une truite, avec son corps argenté élancé et ses mâchoires terminales. Les adultes peuvent atteindre une longueur à la fourche de 48 cm, mais la longueur à la fourche moyenne des individus en migration dans le fleuve Yukon est d’environ 37 cm. L’espèce se distingue des autres ciscos par ses nageoires pelviennes et pectorales pâles, quasi incolores, ainsi que par la présence de 18 à 25 branchicténies dans la partie inférieure du premier arc branchial. Le cisco de l’Alaska est probablement exclusivement anadrome, effectuant de grandes migrations de fraye jusque dans le cours supérieur de grands cours d’eau se jetant dans les mers de Beaufort, de Béring et des Tchouktches.

 

Répartition

En Amérique du Nord, le cisco de l’Alaska occupe principalement les régions côtières de l’Alaska, dans les mers de Beaufort, de Béring et des Tchouktches. Les migrations de fraye ont lieu presque exclusivement en Alaska, bien que certains individus remontant le fleuve Yukon atteignent les eaux canadiennes, des observations sporadiques ayant été relevées en amont jusqu’à Dawson, au Yukon. Il est possible que l’espèce occupe la mer de Beaufort le long de la côte du Yukon, mais sa présence n’y a pas été confirmée.

 

Habitat

Le cisco de l’Alaska occupe généralement des habitats littoraux de faible salinité. On pense qu’il tolère moins bien la salinité élevée de l’environnement pélagique. L’espèce privilégie les estuaires et les lagunes saumâtres le long de la côte de l’Alaska, où elle se nourrit d’organismes benthiques et planctoniques variés. Elle effectue une grande migration annuelle vers ses frayères, situées dans le cours principal de grands cours d’eau de l’Alaska.

 

Biologie

La biologie du cisco de l’Alaska a été peu étudiée au Canada. On estime que le cycle vital de l’espèce, en Alaska, est analogue à celui du cisco arctique occupant le fleuve Mackenzie. Les poissons semblent hiverner dans les eaux saumâtres près des embouchures de cours d’eau. On estime que, lors de leur migration, les populations anadromes de ciscos de l’Alaska remontent le fleuve Yukon sur une distance de plus de 2100 km. La fraye a lieu en eau vive sur des lits de gravier faiblement compactés. Les œufs sont généralement libérés dans l’eau et abandonnés par leurs parents. On pense qu’après la fraye, les adultes descendent le fleuve jusqu’à la mer. On ignore si les adultes frayent plus d’une fois. Selon toute probabilité, les œufs éclosent au printemps, et les jeunes descendent le courant vers les eaux saumâtres de leur habitat estuarien. Les ciscos de l’Alaska sont grégaires et assurent leur croissance en s’alimentant dans les eaux côtières avant d’atteindre la maturité sexuelle. On estime que celle-ci est atteinte entre les âges de 4 et 9 ans. Il est possible qu’une partie de la remonte hiverne en eau douce.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Le cisco de l’Alaska a fait l’objet de très peu de travaux de recherche, d’évaluation et de gestion, et ce dans l’ensemble de son aire de répartition. Une correspondance avec des biologistes spécialisés en gestion des espèces sauvages et des recherches bibliographiques ont révélé qu’il existe très peu d’information sur la taille de la population, les prises ou l’abondance. La majorité des renseignements sur cette espèce consistent en de simples mentions de sa présence dans telle ou telle région, provenant généralement de recherches halieutiques concernant d’autres espèces de Salmonidés.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

De par son comportement migratoire, le cisco de l’Alaska est vulnérable aux obstacles, comme les routes sur digue et les barrages. La réduction de l’écoulement ou l’altération du débit ou de la qualité de l’eau dans les cours d’eau empruntés par l’espèce pour la fraye pourraient constituer un facteur limitatif et une menace dans l’avenir. On estime que la pêche de subsistance actuelle est relativement faible dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, mais il n’existe aucune donnée sur les prises par espèce. Il est possible que la pêche commerciale visant d’autres espèces menace le cisco de l’Alaska.

 

Importance de l’espèce

En Alaska, les grandes migrations dans le fleuve Yukon indiquent que le cisco de l’Alaska jouerait un rôle important dans l’écologie de la mer de Béring. L’espèce est probablement une source alimentaire importante pour certains prédateurs dans les environnements côtiers. Sa présence au Canada pourrait être le fait d’une ou de plusieurs populations occupant l’extrême limite de l’aire de migration de l’espèce. L’espèce fait l’objet d’une pêche de subsistance dans l’ensemble de son aire de répartition côtière, mais on pense que les prises sont modérées par rapport aux prises de saumons.